Is a home UVB lamp covered by insurance?

Last updated

Sometimes. It depends on your insurer, your plan, and which condition you’re treating it for. I read the public policy each major US insurer has posted for vitiligo and psoriasis, so you can check yours before you order anything. Your plan’s own written decision is still the one that counts.

The path to home light therapyFive steps: decide, get prescribed, get it covered, choose your device, track and stay consistent.1DecideHome or clinic,for your life, not in general“Can recurring clinicvisits fit my week?”2Get prescribedWhat to ask at theappointment (US law: Rx)“Would you write a homephototherapy script?”3Get it coveredYour insurer’s policy,and the appeal if denied“Which written rulecontrols my plan?”4Choose a deviceForm factor · current quote· space · support route“Which options shouldI compare?”5Track itSessions, skin response,photos - on your iPhone“The SteadySkin app,private by design.”Each person’s path and timing differ. These five guides organize the questions.

Which insurers publish a home-UVB policy, and what does it say?

Here’s the shape of it: Anthem, Aetna, Molina, Kaiser, and Premera each publish a real clinical rule you can read before you order anything. Cigna dropped its published criteria in 2025. UnitedHealthcare, Humana, Centene, Medicare, and TRICARE have no national rule specific to a home device. That is not the same as a promise or a denial - it just means nobody has written one down yet. Show vitiligo only · Show psoriasis only (the toggle isn’t saved anywhere; without it, or before you use it, you’ll see both labeled versions).

See the full insurer-by-insurer table and the questions to bring to each (11 insurers)
Public home-UVB policy language by insurer, with condition-specific detail for vitiligo and psoriasis
InsurerWhat the public policy saysWhat else the record shows
UnitedHealthcare

Vitiligo: We found no national public UHC home-device rule for vitiligo. UHC’s Medicare Advantage list needs prior approval for codes E0692–E0694 only when the purchase or total rental cost passes $1,000. E0691 is not on that list. The lack of a national rule is not an approval or exclusion.

Psoriasis: We found no national public UHC commercial home-device rule for psoriasis. UHC’s Medicare Advantage list needs prior approval for codes E0692–E0694 only when the purchase or total rental cost passes $1,000. E0691 is not on that list. The lack of a national rule is not an approval or exclusion.

I couldn’t find a national public home-device rule from them for either condition.
Anthem / Elevance

Vitiligo: Anthem says home UVB may meet its vitiligo rule when creams alone have not worked. Guideline CG-DME-41 also requires doctor supervision, scheduled exams, and an expected long-term need.

Psoriasis: Anthem says home UVB may meet its psoriasis rule when creams alone have not worked. Guideline CG-DME-41 also requires doctor supervision and scheduled exams. Treatment must be expected to continue for at least three months.

Aetna (CVS Health)

Vitiligo: Aetna says office or home narrowband UVB may meet its vitiligo rule after a listed treatment does not work well enough. That rule is in clinical policy bulletin (CPB) 0422. It also requires a continuation review after six months.

Psoriasis: Aetna may cover prescription-only home UVB equipment for severe psoriasis with frequent flares. The rule applies when clinic access is not workable or prompt home care is needed. It appears in clinical policy bulletin (CPB) 0205.

Vitiligo requests route through CPB 0422; psoriasis through CPB 0205.
Cigna

Vitiligo: Cigna reported removing its home-phototherapy coverage statements because the associated codes were no longer clinically managed. That does not mean the device is automatically covered or excluded.

Psoriasis: Cigna reported removing its home-phototherapy coverage statements because the associated codes were no longer clinically managed. That statement is not a coverage approval or exclusion.

Cigna removed its home-phototherapy statements in 2025.
Humana

Vitiligo: Humana requires prior authorization for common home ultraviolet equipment codes on its current Medicare Advantage list. That list includes Dual Eligible Special Needs Plans (D-SNPs) for people with both Medicare and Medicaid. We found no national public vitiligo-specific medical rule.

Psoriasis: Humana requires prior authorization for common ultraviolet equipment codes on its current Medicare Advantage list. That list includes Dual Eligible Special Needs Plans (D-SNPs) for people with both Medicare and Medicaid. We found no national public psoriasis-specific medical rule.

Humana’s Medicare Advantage list, D-SNPs included, requires prior approval for these codes.
Kaiser Permanente

Vitiligo: Kaiser Mid-Atlantic publishes vitiligo treatment rules and a separate home UVB policy. It requires doctor supervision, follow-up, ongoing need, ability to use the device, and inability to attend clinic treatment.

Psoriasis: Kaiser Mid-Atlantic includes psoriasis in a regional home UVB policy. It requires doctor supervision, follow-up, ability to use the device, ongoing need, and inability to attend clinic care.

The public documents come from the Mid-Atlantic region.
Centene / Ambetter

Vitiligo: Centene’s corporate DME policy CP.MP.107 covers home ultraviolet panel lights for stubborn psoriasis, not vitiligo. No Centene or Ambetter home-UVB vitiligo rule was located. A plan may use plan-specific or licensed clinical criteria instead.

Psoriasis: Centene publishes corporate DME policy CP.MP.107, and some Ambetter plans adopt it; confirm whether your exact plan does. The policy says home ultraviolet panel lights may qualify for psoriasis that has not responded to other treatment. Records must show why treatment must happen at home. The least-cost suitable device must be chosen.

For psoriasis, Centene’s corporate DME policy CP.MP.107 applies only where an Ambetter plan adopts it - for example Buckeye Health Plan in Ohio (revised 08/2025).
Molina Healthcare

Vitiligo: Molina’s Ohio Medicaid policy MCP-292 lists vitiligo among conditions where light therapy may qualify. Home UVB may be covered under a doctor’s direction after documented problems with standard care. Clinic care must be unworkable, or long travel, over about 45 minutes one way, must be a barrier.

Psoriasis: Molina does publish home UVB criteria, and psoriasis is one of the conditions they cover. Treatment has to be under a doctor’s direction. The criteria are written for people who cannot be treated in an office, or who find frequent visits hard to manage. The copy we can retrieve is Molina of Ohio’s Medicaid version, so read it as that plan’s, not as a national rule.

The Ohio Medicaid policy is MCP-292.
Blue plans (Premera, BCBSMA, BCBSRI, other licensees)

Vitiligo: Premera’s Individual Plan may cover home UVB for severe, extensive vitiligo that has not responded to other treatment. Its prescription, device, records, safety, access, and treatment-area rules must also be met.

Psoriasis: No. Blue Cross Blue Shield of Rhode Island states that home phototherapy for skin conditions, including psoriasis, is not covered. The Massachusetts policy is not independently verified - check your plan documents. Check independent Blue plans and the Federal Employee Program (FEPBlue) separately.

A Blue logo does not name the policy that controls. Premera’s Individual Plan vitiligo policy is 2.01.542. Rhode Island publishes a noncoverage rule; I couldn’t independently verify the Massachusetts position.
Original Medicare

Vitiligo: We found no national Medicare home NB-UVB rule for vitiligo. Medicare’s psoriasis national coverage determination (NCD) should not be applied to vitiligo. A billing code alone does not establish coverage.

Psoriasis: Medicare may cover an ultraviolet cabinet for selected people with widespread psoriasis that has not responded to other treatment. Its national coverage determination (NCD 280.1) requires the contractor to find that medical and other factors support home treatment.

NCD 280.1 covers light cabinets for some widespread psoriasis. It should not be stretched to vitiligo.
TRICARE

Vitiligo: TRICARE publishes general DME requirements, but its public pages do not address home phototherapy devices at all. The public DME rule gives the contractor only the rent-or-buy choice. How a vitiligo device request is handled is not independently verified - check your plan documents.

Psoriasis: TRICARE publishes general DME requirements, but its public pages do not address home phototherapy devices at all. The public DME rule gives the contractor only the rent-or-buy choice. How a psoriasis device request is handled is not independently verified - check your plan documents.

What to ask about your own plan

These are about your plan, not the insurer as a company. Save the ones you want and they stay only on your device.

Ask these whatever your plan is

  • What is the exact carrier, product, state, group, and funding arrangement on my plan?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which plan document controls this request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Is the plan fully insured or self-funded?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which in-network DME supplier can submit the request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

UnitedHealthcare

Vitiligo

  • What code-level authorization applies to this member?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which policy or plan term will be used?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • What member-specific code rule applies?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which written medical criterion will be used?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Anthem / Elevance

Vitiligo

  • Does my exact plan use CG-DME-41?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What authorization and supplier rules apply?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Does my exact plan use CG-DME-41?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What must be authorized before delivery?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Aetna (CVS Health)

Vitiligo

  • Will the request be reviewed under CPB 0422?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What continuation records are required?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Will CPB 0205 govern the request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What device and supplier rules apply?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Cigna

Vitiligo

  • Is precertification required for the exact code?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which benefit and supplier process the request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Is precertification required for the exact code?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which benefit and supplier process it?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Humana

Vitiligo

  • Which Humana product is this?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What clinical rule is used after prior authorization starts?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Which Humana product and criterion apply?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Who decides rent versus purchase?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Kaiser Permanente

Vitiligo

  • Which regional Kaiser policy applies?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Will Kaiser rent or purchase the unit?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Which Kaiser regional policy applies?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Who supplies and owns the device?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Centene / Ambetter

Vitiligo

  • Which written criterion will review vitiligo?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Can I receive that criterion or its rationale?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Does my plan follow CP.MP.107?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which home-site rationale and device records are required?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Molina Healthcare

Vitiligo

  • Which Molina product and state policy applies?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What must be submitted before delivery?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Which Molina policy applies to my state and product?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What does the code-level authorization require?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Blue plans (Premera, BCBSMA, BCBSRI, other licensees)

Vitiligo

  • Is this an Individual Plan governed by policy 2.01.542?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which Blue policy controls my plan?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Which Blue licensee and policy number control?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Does my group contract differ?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Original Medicare

Vitiligo

  • Which national or local rule will be used?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Is the supplier enrolled and accepting assignment?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • How will the contractor assess home versus another site?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Is the supplier enrolled and accepting assignment?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

TRICARE

Vitiligo

  • Which written rule will review this request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Will it be rental or purchase?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Psoriasis

  • Which written rule will review this request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Will it be rental or purchase?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

One person’s experience - not benefits advice

The one policy I actually read

Cigna was my insurer when I bought my home device, so that is the one policy I read closely. I have not read every insurer’s policy above, and yours may differ from the row here.

Ask your plan’s equipment-benefit team for the policy by document number and request the answer in writing. That doesn’t guarantee coverage; the exact plan document and official decision still control.

What do the equipment codes E0691 through E0694 mean?

Home ultraviolet devices are billed under four HCPCS codes:

  • E0691 - A small panel that treats an area of two square feet or less. Think hands, feet, or a few patches.
  • E0692 - A four-foot upright panel, sized for a larger region such as an arm, leg, or torso.
  • E0693 - A six-foot upright panel that can reach most of one side of the body at once.
  • E0694 - A multidirectional cabinet at least six feet tall. This is the walk-in booth that surrounds you with lamps.

The code on the order has to match the device actually being requested; a mismatch is an easy, boring reason for a claim to bounce. For how these codes show up on paperwork more broadly, see phototherapy insurance codes.

What does “DME benefit” mean on my plan?

Most plans put reusable medical hardware under a durable-medical-equipment benefit, but the exact category and terms come from your plan. Ask which benefit applies, what deductible or coinsurance applies, whether an in-network supplier has to submit the claim, and whether your plan does rental or purchase. If your coverage comes through work, ask which plan document and review route control - don’t rely on the insurer’s public summary alone.

If Medicare is your plan, Medicare and home phototherapy sticks to the questions that get you a current answer in writing instead of a guess. And getting coverage is only one step: how to get home phototherapy covers the order, supplier, delivery, and follow-up steps around it.

Why do these requests get denied?

Three denial reasons worth knowing before you file anything:

  1. “Not medically necessary” or “experimental” for the condition - check which policy document the notice cites, and whether it’s actually the insurer’s rule for your condition. The table above names each insurer’s document.
  2. No documented failure of conservative therapy - published criteria such as Anthem’s CG-DME-41 may require prior-treatment documentation. Confirm the condition-specific rule - Aetna CPB 0422 for vitiligo, CPB 0205 for psoriasis - and don’t treat meeting a public criterion as approval.
  3. Missing prior authorization - the device shipped before the plan said yes. Humana, for one, lists the home ultraviolet codes on its Medicare Advantage prior-authorization list.

A written decision should name the review options and deadlines that apply to your request. Download the appeal letter template (.docx) (opens in a new tab) and read what to do if coverage is denied.

What if I skip insurance and pay cash?

Documented storefront prices run from about $945 for a handheld unit to $6,225 for a multi-panel setup (Solarc store, checked August 12, 2026) - see what a setup costs for model-level detail. Cash can be the faster path, or it can give up money your plan would have paid. The cash-cost breakdown walks through device, bulb, medication, and HSA/FSA math before you decide.

Questions about your own coverage path (15)

Questions for the plan, clinical office, or supplier

Take these to the plan, the clinical office, or the supplier. Save the ones you need and they stay on your device.

  • Which document controls this benefit?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • How can I get the current version in writing?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which benefit handles this request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Who reviews it?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Where should the request be sent?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Is this plan fully insured or self-funded?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Who is the plan administrator?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which appeal route applies?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which steps must be complete before delivery?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What could I owe if the claim is denied?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Which plan provision supports this decision?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Is any information missing from the request?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What is the reference number?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Who owns the next action?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What deadline is printed on the notice?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
See the sources behind every policy and code above

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. National Association of Insurance CommissionersRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports prioritizing large US carrier groups by 2024 accident-and-health direct written premium.

    What it does not support

    It measures premium share rather than covered lives, does not combine every independent Blue plan, and does not establish any benefit or home-phototherapy coverage rule.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. HealthCare.gov, U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports plain-language distinctions among EPO, HMO, POS, and PPO network designs.

    What it does not support

    It does not determine a home-phototherapy benefit, prior authorization, supplier network, member cost, or the rules of a specific employer or government plan.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports distinguishing fully insured from self-funded employer coverage and identifying the plan or employer as the source of that answer.

    What it does not support

    It does not interpret a plan document, establish a benefit, or make a carrier medical policy controlling for a specific member.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. Anthem / Elevance HealthPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Anthem-family criteria for home UVB in psoriasis and vitiligo, including prior topical treatment, physician supervision, scheduled review, and expected long-term use.

    What it does not support

    The member contract and affiliate implementation control; the policy does not state prior-authorization, supplier, price, or rental terms.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. Aetna / CVS HealthPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Aetna’s current condition-specific criteria for office or home narrowband UVB for vitiligo and its continuation criterion.

    What it does not support

    It does not guarantee a member benefit, identify the supplier, prior-authorization route, rental terms, price, or how another Aetna product applies the bulletin.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. Aetna / CVS HealthPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Aetna’s public home-UVB DME criteria for severe psoriasis with frequent flares and stated access or prompt-treatment circumstances, and directs vitiligo readers to CPB 0422.

    What it does not support

    It does not guarantee coverage or state supplier, authorization, price, or rent-versus-purchase terms.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. Molina Healthcare of OhioPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Ohio Medicaid-specific vitiligo and home-UVB criteria (policy last approval June 11, 2025), prior authorization, physician direction, conventional-treatment history, access burden, and continuation review.

    What it does not support

    It was read in full on 2026-08-22. It names psoriasis and vitiligo among the diagnoses its phototherapy criteria cover. It states home UVB criteria under a physician’s direction. Those criteria are written for people who cannot be treated in an office setting, or for whom frequent office visits are difficult. It excludes home ultraviolet treatment for a stated maintenance pattern. It carries the coding disclaimer that listing a service or device code does not guarantee coverage, because the benefit document governs. Its printed next review date, June 2026, has passed. It must not be generalized to another Molina state, Marketplace, Medicare, or employer product and does not publish rental or supplier terms. Its treatment frequencies and travel-time threshold stay in this record rather than in the copy.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. Kaiser Permanente Mid-Atlantic StatesPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Mid-Atlantic regional home-UVB criteria for listed conditions, including supervision, periodic follow-up, expected ongoing need, ability to operate the device, and inability to attend facility treatment.

    What it does not support

    It is not a national Kaiser rule and does not publish price or rental terms.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. Kaiser Permanente Mid-Atlantic StatesPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Mid-Atlantic regional prior-treatment criteria for vitiligo phototherapy.

    What it does not support

    It must be read with the regional home-device policy and applicable evidence of coverage; it is not a national Kaiser rule or a guarantee of a device benefit.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. Premera Blue CrossPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports current Premera Individual Plan criteria for severe, extensive, refractory vitiligo, dermatologist prescription and records, FDA-cleared UVB-only equipment, appropriate size, ability to follow instructions, and stated access or cost circumstances.

    What it does not support

    It does not apply to every Premera or Blue plan or publish authorization, supplier, or rental terms.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  11. UnitedHealthcarePayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the finding that UHC’s current public national commercial light-and-laser policy does not state condition-specific home-UVB device criteria for vitiligo or psoriasis.

    What it does not support

    Absence from this document is not an approval or exclusion, and product, state, code-level authorization, DME, supplier, and benefit rules may differ.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  12. UnitedHealthcarePayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that UnitedHealthcare’s national Medicare Advantage prior-authorization list requires prior authorization for E0692, E0693, and E0694 only when the retail purchase or cumulative rental cost exceeds $1,000, and that E0691 does not appear on the list.

    What it does not support

    It is the national MA/D-SNP list; certain delegated or regional plans use separate lists, and it does not establish coverage criteria or approval.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  13. Cigna HealthcarePayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Cigna’s statement that home-phototherapy coverage positions were removed because the associated codes were no longer clinically managed.

    What it does not support

    That statement is not an approval, exclusion, benefit promise, supplier rule, or current condition-specific criterion.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  14. HumanaPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports a current Humana Medicare Advantage and D-SNP prior-authorization requirement for the listed ultraviolet-light equipment codes.

    What it does not support

    It does not supply national condition-specific medical-necessity criteria, establish approval, apply to every Humana product, or state supplier and rental terms.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  15. Centene / AmbetterPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports a public copy of Centene corporate DME guideline CP.MP.107 published by Buckeye Health Plan’s Ohio Ambetter plan (revised 08/2025).

    What it does not support

    Some Ambetter plans may adopt the corporate guideline, but the exact plan must be checked. The policy treats home ultraviolet panel lights (HCPCS E0691–E0694) as medically necessary for refractory psoriasis with a documented home-site rationale and least-cost appropriate equipment. It does not establish vitiligo coverage, approval under another plan, or rental terms.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  16. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode IslandPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports BCBSRI’s public noncoverage position for home phototherapy for dermatological conditions, including psoriasis, in its stated commercial and Medicare Advantage scope (policy last reviewed 10/15/2025) and its warning that group contracts may differ.

    What it does not support

    It is not a national Blue rule and may be superseded by a newer policy or member contract.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  17. U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports Original Medicare national coverage language for ultraviolet cabinets for selected patients with generalized, intractable psoriasis and local determination of home-versus-alternate-site justification.

    What it does not support

    It does not establish vitiligo coverage, a member-specific approval, supplier availability, cost, or rent-versus-purchase terms.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  18. TRICARERegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports TRICARE’s general home-DME requirements and the contractor’s stated role in rental-versus-purchase decisions only.

    What it does not support

    The page does not address home phototherapy devices, so it cannot support any claim that contractors have discretion over their coverage; it also does not promise coverage, identify a supplier, or state a member price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  19. U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security AdministrationRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that participants in ERISA-covered plans receive or may request important plan documents, including the summary plan description, and that written requests can matter.

    What it does not support

    It does not apply identically to every coverage regime, interpret a specific plan, establish coverage for phototherapy, or provide legal advice.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  20. HealthCare.gov, U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports a general US individual and group health-plan distinction between internal appeal and eligible external review, and the need to use the denial notice for instructions.

    What it does not support

    Rights, deadlines, urgent pathways and external-review availability vary by plan and jurisdiction, so this source does not supply a universal deadline or guarantee review.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  21. U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports current Medicare context that DMEPOS orders use standardized elements and that supporting documentation is beneficiary-specific.

    What it does not support

    It does not establish that a home phototherapy device is covered, identify a code, apply to commercial plans, or replace the current plan and supplier requirements.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  22. Medicare.gov, U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports current Original Medicare context that covered home durable medical equipment requires an eligible order and Medicare-enrolled supplier, that assignment affects member cost, and that rental or purchase treatment depends on the item and program rules.

    What it does not support

    It does not establish home phototherapy coverage for an individual, a national rental price or term, Medicare Advantage rules, or a supplier’s inventory.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  23. Solarc Systems Inc.Manufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: Solarc manufactures and sells the products whose first-party storefront prices are recorded.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated public price and option range displayed for the cited SolRx handheld family.

    What it does not support

    It does not establish a final cart total, shipping, future price, insurance payment, clinical fit, market-wide price, or independent product value.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  24. Solarc Systems Inc.Manufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: Solarc manufactures and sells the products whose first-party storefront prices are recorded.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated public price and configuration range displayed for cited SolRx panel families.

    What it does not support

    It does not establish a final cart total, shipping, installation, future price, insurance payment, clinical fit, market-wide price, or independent product value.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.