Did I cause this, or pass vitiligo to my baby during pregnancy?
Self-blame can arrive fast. No single personal mistake explains every case of vitiligo. You deserve a family-planning conversation without blame. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Current sources describe vitiligo as a condition shaped by immune, genetic, and other factors. They do not support turning one remembered food, stressful event, pregnancy choice, or parenting decision into the cause.
Considerations
- Depends on you
These sources cannot predict whether one child will develop vitiligo. We do not publish an offspring-risk number without a current, resolving primary source.
Questions for the prescriber and pregnancy-care team
What do we know about family history in my case?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which questions belong with dermatology, primary care, or pregnancy care?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Why does pregnancy or breastfeeding change the conversation?
Because safety information is specific to the exact medicine, formulation, health context, and stage of pregnancy or breastfeeding. Review prescription topicals, whole-body medicines, phototherapy, over-the-counter products, supplements, and traditional preparations together. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Treatment labels and guidelines contain different pregnancy, breastfeeding, interaction, and precaution information. A topical product and an oral medicine with a similar-sounding target are not interchangeable.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Evidence may be limited because pregnant people are often underrepresented in trials. Review the exact treatment with the prescriber and pregnancy-care team.
Questions for the prescriber and pregnancy-care team
Which treatments need review before conception or breastfeeding?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Should I stop treatment as soon as I think I may be pregnant?
Do not stop, continue, or restart a prescription from a generic list. Contact the prescriber and pregnancy-care team promptly, and use urgent local care for urgent symptoms. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Abruptly changing a medicine without understanding the exact product and health context can create its own uncertainty. Coordinated care is especially important when more than one clinician prescribes treatment.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The appropriate timing and action are medicine-specific and belong in a plan for the exact product, indication, and person.
Questions for the prescriber and pregnancy-care team
Who should I contact first?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Who records the final plan?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Do “natural,” Ayurvedic, or homeopathic products need review too?
Yes. Natural, traditional, or homeopathic labels do not guarantee pregnancy safety, purity, or lack of interaction. Some Ayurvedic preparations may contain toxic metals, and some products labeled homeopathic contain measurable active ingredients. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
NCCIH advises discussing Ayurvedic, herbal, and homeopathic products with health professionals, particularly during pregnancy or nursing. Product quality and content can vary.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A category-level warning does not establish what is in one product or whether it is safe. Review the exact label, ingredients, formulation, and manufacturer.
Questions for the prescriber and pregnancy-care team
Can we review each product and why I take it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How can I make the conversation easier across clinicians?
Keep one current list of prescriptions, nonprescription products, supplements, devices, allergies, pregnancy or breastfeeding status, and the clinician responsible for each plan. Record changes and questions rather than relying on each team to have the same chart. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A current treatment history supports medication reconciliation and shared decisions. It is useful whether the eventual decision is to continue, change, pause, or use supportive care only.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A personal list can be incomplete and is not a substitute for professional record review or emergency information.
Questions for the prescriber and pregnancy-care team
Which clinician owns and shares the final plan?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence and update context
This optional layer shows the evidence boundary I reviewed as of 2026-09-05.
- What this evidence supports
- Current sources describe vitiligo as a condition shaped by immune, genetic, and other factors. They do not support turning one remembered food, stressful event, pregnancy choice, or parenting decision into the cause.
- What it does not establish
- These sources cannot predict whether one child will develop vitiligo. We do not publish an offspring-risk number without a current, resolving primary source.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
Because safety information is specific to the exact medicine, formulation, health context, and stage of pregnancy or breastfeeding. Review prescription topicals, whole-body medicines, phototherapy, over-the-counter products, supplements, and traditional preparations together.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- The worldwide Task Force position statement and the current Opzelura prescribing information report no study population for this point.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: Neither source studied pregnant or breastfeeding people. The Task Force text names pregnancy just once, to rule out oral PUVA. It gives no other pregnancy advice for topicals, narrowband UVB, or systemic drugs. The Opzelura label calls its own human pregnancy data too thin to judge risk. Its animal data showed harm only at high, toxic doses. It tracks pregnancy outcomes in a registry. It tells users not to breastfeed while on it, and for about four weeks after. Neither text can tell one person, on one drug, at one point in pregnancy, whether to start, keep going, or stop. That is why the exact drug and stage need review with the prescriber and pregnancy team.
Do not stop, continue, or restart a prescription from a generic list. Contact the prescriber and pregnancy-care team promptly, and use urgent local care for urgent symptoms.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- The worldwide Task Force position statement and the current Opzelura prescribing information report no study population for this point.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: Neither source warns against a sudden stop. The Opzelura label has no such warning at all. The Task Force text says nothing about stopping any drug during pregnancy. This page’s advice to call the care team, not act from a generic list, is careful practice. It is not a rule drawn from either document.
Yes. Natural, traditional, or homeopathic labels do not guarantee pregnancy safety, purity, or lack of interaction. Some Ayurvedic preparations may contain toxic metals, and some products labeled homeopathic contain measurable active ingredients.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- Both NCCIH pages are US consumer health information, not vitiligo research, and report no study population.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: Both pages name pregnant and nursing readers and tell them to ask a health care provider before use. The Ayurvedic page reports real cases of lead, mercury, or arsenic in some products. The homeopathy page says some products sold as homeopathic are not, and can hold real amounts of active drug. Neither page checks the one product a reader may take. Neither page is about vitiligo.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and VenereologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The journal is the publisher. This label refers to extensive author relationships disclosed for the recommendation, not to the journal itself.
What this source supports
Supports an expert-consensus map of established, off-label and developing Vitiligo treatment categories and makes clear that research is continuing.
What it does not support
It is an international consensus with extensive author relationships, not independent comparative proof, current U.S. regulatory status for every option or a personal treatment sequence.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the defined US nonsegmental-vitiligo indication, limitations of use, boxed warnings, skin-cancer and ultraviolet precautions, and clinical-study labeling.
What it does not support
It also supports the labeled dosing instruction: "Apply a thin layer of OPZELURA topically twice daily to affected areas of up to 10% body surface area." It further supports the labeled re-evaluation point: "If the patient does not find the repigmentation meaningful by 24 weeks, the patient should be re-evaluated by the healthcare provider." It also supports the vitiligo-trial adverse-reaction rates at 1% incidence or greater: application-site acne 6%, application-site itching 5%, a common-cold-type illness (nasopharyngitis) 4%, headache 4%, urinary tract infection 2%, application-site redness (erythema) 2%, and fever (pyrexia) 1%. It does not guarantee benefit, establish suitability beyond the labeled population, authorize adding phototherapy, or state which reaction should prompt a call to the prescriber beyond directing patients to the Medication Guide and their healthcare provider.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that Ayurveda includes varied products and practices, that high-quality evidence is limited for many health claims and that some preparations may contain toxic metals.
What it does not support
It does not evaluate a specific vitiligo product, establish repigmentation benefit or treat an entire tradition as one intervention.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that evidence does not establish homeopathy as effective for a specific health condition and that some labeled products can contain active ingredients with side effects or interactions.
What it does not support
It is not a vitiligo trial, an assessment of every individual product or a substitute for product-specific safety review.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and VenereologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The journal is the publisher. This label refers to extensive author relationships disclosed for the recommendation, not to the journal itself.
What this source supports
It supports current expert-consensus terminology, clinical assessment, disease-activity evaluation, treatment-goal discussion, and shared decision-making. Its modified assessment check list names where the patches are as a disease feature, and gives genital involvement as its own example. It records white hairs as an item of its own, apart from what the vitiligo has done in the past six months. Its classification table keeps mucosal vitiligo as a subtype, both across more than one site and at one site alone. It supports planning care around what is there to work with, and its example is hair that still has its color. It names stable vitiligo and active vitiligo as two different states that change the care plan. Its shared-decision steps ask what the patient wants from care. At the time it was written, one cream form of a newer drug type had just been approved. Pill forms of that same drug type were still being studied.
What it does not support
It is not independent comparative proof. It cannot diagnose a reader from a description or photograph. It gives no figure for genital involvement, and it does not name lichen sclerosus. It does not set out the Vitiligo European Task Force grading scale. It puts no figure on white hairs and predicts nothing for one person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- British Journal of Dermatology (Eleftheriadou V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the clinical history and assessment domains, evaluation of associated autoimmune conditions, its recommendation for thyroid function and antithyroid antibody screening, current classification context, treatment-option map, psychosocial assessment, medical photography and the limits of pediatric evidence. Its classification table defines mucosal vitiligo as the oral or genital mucosae. One mucosal site alone is filed as undetermined or unclassified. Its differential diagnosis table lists genital or extragenital lichen sclerosus among the conditions that can be mistaken for vitiligo. That table also lists eczema, psoriasis, lichen planus, pityriasis alba and piebaldism. It calls autoimmunity a contributor to the pathogenesis of vitiligo. It reports an earlier review finding a possible negative impact on intimacy and sexual functioning. It tells clinicians to discuss the psychosocial impact of living with the condition. R28 offers a skin camouflage visit to people who want one. R10 to R14 name potent or very potent topical steroids as the first choice, with a topical calcineurin-inhibitor cream as an option for the face. These are different creams with different proof behind them. R20 names narrowband UVB as the first light option. It says the skin often does better on the face and trunk than on hands and feet. It says there is not enough proof to use any one current pill alone for vitiligo that is not changing. R25 and Table 2 keep cell grafting for vitiligo that is not changing and did not respond to other care. They also say a doctor cannot always tell if the vitiligo has truly stopped changing.
What it does not support
It was designed for UK care and reviewed literature through May 2019; it does not establish a universal testing plan, prescribe an individual plan, or establish current US labeling or coverage. Its differential diagnosis table is a list, not a method a reader can apply to their own skin. It does not say how to tell any two of those conditions apart. It gives no figure for how often vitiligo affects genital skin.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports a patient-facing description of clinician diagnosis using history and examination, possible use of a Wood lamp and selected tests, broad treatment categories, variable response and whole-person support.
What it does not support
It is educational context, not primary efficacy evidence, an online diagnostic method or a universal testing checklist.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.