Narrowband UVB phototherapy at home: evidence, safety, and questions

Narrowband UVB is a selected part of ultraviolet B light used in medical phototherapy. Learn how it differs from sunlight, tanning light, PUVA, and targeted treatment. See its uses, side effects, and limits.

Practical snapshot

Connect the plan, the real-world burden, and the follow-up.

  1. Confirm the exact plan
  2. Prepare the routine
  3. Record what happened
  4. Know who to contact

What does “narrowband UVB” mean?

Narrowband UVB lamps concentrate their output in a narrow slice of ultraviolet light, typically peaking around 311 nanometres, instead of putting out the whole UVB range. Think of it like a flashlight with a colored filter over the lens. The filter blocks most wavelengths and lets through mostly the one band that helps your skin. Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

That narrow tuning is the whole point. Lamps built this way concentrate on the band guidelines say has useful effects for several skin diseases, rather than spraying the full UVB range at you.

Questions for your clinician

  • Which kind of phototherapy are you considering for me?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Why does that kind fit the condition we are treating?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

One shared light-therapy path

One path, five decisions - taken in any order.

These steps stay in one shared guide. You can begin with the decision in front of you, move back when life changes, pause, or choose not to treat.

  1. DecideSee where light therapy fitsCompare home, clinic, pausing, and other paths.
  2. FundUnderstand the access pathStart with coverage, paperwork, and your real costs.
  3. AcquireCompare device factsReview form, support, and current source information.
  4. Set upPrepare the spaceCheck delivery, the current manual, and household needs.
  5. UseKeep safety closeFollow your care plan and know what to bring back to your team.
  6. SustainPlan for real lifeKeep questions about reactions, breaks, and maintenance together.
  7. Resell or retireClose ownership carefullyCheck transfer, support, broken-lamp, and disposal questions.

Ultraviolet light map

The names describe different parts or uses of ultraviolet light.

UVBIncludes broadband UVBNB-UVB
UVAUsed with psoralen in PUVA
Sunlight
Contains both UVA and UVB at the skin’s surface.
Narrowband UVB
Uses a selected narrow part of UVB in a medical treatment plan.
PUVA
Pairs UVA with a light-sensitizing medicine called psoralen.
Excimer
Targets selected areas with a focused form of UVB rather than whole-body exposure.

How is it different from sunlight, tanning light, PUVA, or excimer treatment?

Sunlight, tanning devices, broadband UVB, narrowband UVB, PUVA, and excimer treatment are not interchangeable, even though they’re all “UV light.” Medical phototherapy selects and controls one particular light source for a particular reason. Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

  • Broadband UVB uses a wider part of the UVB range.
  • Narrowband UVB uses a selected narrow part of UVB.
  • PUVA pairs UVA with a light-sensitizing medicine called psoralen.
  • Excimer treatment directs focused UVB to selected areas.

Why this matters

Guidelines separate these options because the light used, the area treated, the safety checks, and the clinical purpose all differ. A tanning bed is not a substitute for prescribed phototherapy - it isn’t tuned or dosed the same way.

Questions for your clinician

  • Why are you considering this light source instead of another one?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Would treatment cover selected areas or a wider area?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Which skin conditions can narrowband UVB treat?

Narrowband UVB treats several skin conditions, including vitiligo and psoriasis, and guidelines cover more beyond those two - each with its own recommendation and evidence strength. Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

  • Psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo
  • Some light-sensitive skin conditions
  • Selected forms of cutaneous T-cell lymphoma
  • Selected cases of lichen planus, localized scleroderma, itch, and other inflammatory skin diseases

Why this matters

The 2022 British guideline I’m drawing from reviews narrowband UVB across a broad group of skin diseases, and how strongly it’s recommended changes by condition.

Questions for your clinician

  • How strong is the evidence for narrowband UVB for my exact diagnosis?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Where does it fit among my other options?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Why might narrowband UVB be considered?

Whether narrowband UVB is worth considering for you depends on your diagnosis, your treatment goal, and which body areas are affected. It also depends on what you’ve already tried, your safety context, and how much burden you can take on. Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

It’s an established phototherapy option for several diseases. Choosing home versus clinic treatment changes your travel, oversight, setup, privacy, cost, and support needs - it’s not just a paperwork detail.

Questions for your clinician

  • What problem are we trying to address with narrowband UVB?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What would make its burden worthwhile for me?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Can narrowband UVB cause sunburn or other side effects?

Yes. Narrowband UVB can cause erythema - redness or a sunburn-type reaction. If it turns into pain or blistering, that needs prompt instructions from your treating team, not a guess. Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

Redness is the most commonly reported short-term effect. Itching, dry skin, and cold sores coming back can happen too. Eye protection and a review of your other medicines are part of doing this safely.

Questions for your clinician

  • Which changes mean I should pause and contact you?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • Who should I contact after hours about a reaction?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What can this page not decide for me?

Narrowband UVB is clinician-directed care. I can’t tell you from here whether it’s right for you, or hand you a schedule, a device setting, or a treatment change. Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

A decision that actually works names your diagnosis, goal, body areas, other treatments, safety checks, care setting, follow-up, and contact plan. The exact instructions for your device matter too.

Questions for your clinician

  • What result would we look for, and when would we review the plan?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  • What could make narrowband UVB a poor fit for me?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence and update context

This optional layer shows the evidence boundary reviewed for this page as of 2026-08-21.

What this evidence supports
That narrow tuning is the whole point. Lamps built this way concentrate on the band guidelines say has useful effects for several skin diseases, rather than spraying the full UVB range at you.
What it does not establish
Every lamp and manufacturer tunes that band a little differently, and the wavelength name alone doesn’t hand you a safe plan. Your clinician still has to set up the device and the plan around you.
Evidence Evidence
Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Applicability check

Who was studied?

These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.

Narrowband UVB can cause erythema, including painful sunburn-type reactions, and requires a defined reaction and contact plan.

Age range
Not reported
Condition subtype
Not reported
Severity or extent
Not reported
Sample size
Not reported
Geography and care setting
Not reported
Skin tone or phototype
Not reported
Race
Not reported
Ethnicity
Not reported
Body sites
Not reported

What that means for this page: The cited guidance establishes a general safety boundary. It does not quantify risk or establish that every age, condition, care setting, skin tone, or body site is represented.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. British Journal of Dermatology (Goulden V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    It supports that traditional NB-UVB fluorescent lamps emit a narrow UVB band peaking around 311 nanometres. It backs wearing UV-protective goggles and keeping UV scatter off people nearby. It records the consent form naming goggles and the same clothing at each session. It also covers clinical uses, how it compares with other light treatments, safety limits including sunburn-type reactions, and the added safeguards home phototherapy needs.

    What it does not support

    It does not provide a personal treatment plan, approve a particular home setup, or replace the instructions for your own device. SteadySkin never reproduces its treatment schedules.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. British Association of DermatologistsPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    It supports a plain-language explanation that NB-UVB uses a small part of the UVB spectrum, is used for conditions including psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo, and is distinct from sunlight or a sunbed. It also supports what a unit asks of its own patients during a course. It asks them not to sunbathe or use a sunbed for the whole of it, and to reduce sun exposure so that skin does not burn. It asks them to report a medicine, a cream, or newly exposed skin such as a haircut. It asks them to arrive without perfume, deodorant, aftershave or other cosmetics, because some of those raise light sensitivity and can leave patchy discolouration for months. It carries the unit’s own account of repeated courses. It states that the full risk of narrowband UVB is not known, and that roughly one in ten people in the UK develop skin cancer. It states that a review becomes usual practice past a stated number of treatments, and that many treatments can bring the wrinkling and discolouration of photoageing.

    What it does not support

    It is patient education, not primary evidence for an efficacy claim. Its printed next review date was June 2025 and it has not been updated since June 2022. It is therefore used only for what it plainly states, and never as current guidance. It is written for a UK hospital unit whose nurses examine skin at every visit, so it sets no rule for a device used at home. Its numbers stay in this record rather than in the copy. Those are the sun protection factor and star rating it names, the hours it names, the treatment count that triggers a review, and the multiple by which it estimates lifetime risk. That multiple is stated there as an assumption that narrowband UVB behaves like sunlight, not as a measurement.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

Join the waitlist

Hear when SteadySkin is available

SteadySkin currently supports vitiligo. You can use this guide without the app.

We send only your email address and Buttondown’s non-personal embed control. We do not send a topic tag, condition, reading history, or page path, and we never sell your address. You will get a confirmation email - click the link in it to finish joining. This waitlist is not directed to children under 13. See the privacy policy. Your address is stored by Buttondown (opens in a new tab), who send the mail on our behalf and show the confirmation page.

Confirm your address, then get one email when SteadySkin is available.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.