What is Litfulo, and why is it being studied?
Litfulo is the brand name for ritlecitinib, an oral Pfizer medicine that inhibits JAK3 and the TEC family of kinases. Those immune-signaling effects supply a rationale for study in vitiligo, but a mechanism cannot show that the medicine will help a particular person. Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
Ritlecitinib changes immune signaling throughout the body. I read the phase 2 study. It gives clinical evidence in active nonsegmental vitiligo, not just a laboratory theory.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A plausible pathway does not identify who will respond, which body site will change, or whether the benefit–risk balance is acceptable for one person.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
What is the goal for my vitiligo?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which evidence is clinical rather than mechanistic?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Is Litfulo approved for vitiligo?
Litfulo is authorized in the United States, European Union, and Great Britain for severe alopecia areata in defined populations, not for vitiligo. Pfizer has reported positive phase 3 vitiligo topline results and plans adult regulatory filings, but a planned filing is not an application decision or a vitiligo indication. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
Approval is indication- and jurisdiction-specific. An alopecia prescription label and a successful vitiligo trial are different facts.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Status may change after this review. Ask for the current regulator-hosted indication rather than relying on a product name, news release, or filing plan. Whether this is a trial, off-label care, or not appropriate at all is a specialist decision.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
What exact indication is authorized where I live?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Would this be research or off-label care?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which current regulator record supports that answer?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Who was studied, and what did the trials show?
A peer-reviewed randomized phase 2 study treated 364 adults with active nonsegmental vitiligo. At week 24, four of five active arms had statistically significant differences from placebo, with three distinct mean facial-score improvements: 21.2% in two arms, 18.5%, and 14.6%. Placebo worsened by 2.1%, and people with stable-only vitiligo were excluded. A sponsor-linked analysis reported group-level facial-score changes in Fitzpatrick types I–III and IV–VI. That does not establish the same response for every skin tone or person. Pfizer later said the 607-person TRANQUILLO and 1,567-person TRANQUILLO 2 studies met facial and total-body endpoints. The release did not provide response percentages or full result tables, and the current TRANQUILLO 2 registry now lists 1,571 enrolled, so the public enrollment counts are not identical. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
I read the phase 2 paper. It supports a group-level facial effect in selected adult active-disease groups. I also read the phase 3 announcement: it says two studies met their endpoints, but not how many people reached them.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The sources I read do not permit an absolute phase 3 benefit estimate, a direct comparison with Rinvoq or povorcitinib, or a reliable prediction for an individual body site.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
Do I resemble the active-disease phase 2 population?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Where are the full phase 3 result tables?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What outcome would be meaningful for my body sites?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What safety boundaries and monitoring matter?
The current US Litfulo label, written for severe alopecia areata, carries boxed warnings for serious infections, mortality, malignancy, major cardiovascular events, and thrombosis. It lists known hypersensitivity to ritlecitinib or an ingredient as a contraindication. It also describes infection and tuberculosis screening, blood-count monitoring, vaccination, interaction, pregnancy, breastfeeding, liver-related precautions, and a June 2026 warning about hypoglycemia in patients with diabetes. Parts of the boxed-warning context come from a large postmarketing study of another JAK inhibitor. That study was in people age 50 or older with rheumatoid arthritis and at least one cardiovascular risk factor. Some events occurred in Litfulo’s alopecia areata safety database. These boundaries matter, but they are not vitiligo-specific event rates or a personal risk calculation. Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read the current label. It requires a systemic safety conversation that includes infection, tuberculosis, blood counts, vaccination, interactions, pregnancy, breastfeeding, liver health, and the boxed warnings.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label cannot calculate personal risk or substitute for vitiligo phase 3 safety tables. A serious warning also does not mean the event is common in every population.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
Which label warnings are based on Litfulo and which use another JAK-inhibitor context?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What screening, monitoring, interaction, and vaccination review would apply?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What symptoms or results would change the plan?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Eight more answers: access and burden, combining with narrowband UVB, unknowns, dosing frequency and duration, cost and assistance, an off-label insurance review, patient descriptions, and tracking
What access and practical burden should I expect?
Current commercial access is for an approved alopecia indication. Vitiligo access would therefore be research or off-label care unless a regulator later authorizes it, and a prescription would not guarantee coverage. Specialist visits, screening, laboratory work, interaction review, follow-up, and payer decisions add burden. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
Research eligibility and off-label prescribing are different access paths. A useful plan names who orders tests, who monitors results, who handles infections or interactions, and what happens if coverage changes.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The sources I read do not establish vitiligo coverage, personal cost, local availability, or approval timing.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
Who would prescribe and monitor this use?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What written coverage decision applies to vitiligo?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What happens if access stops after a trial or insurer change?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is known about combining it with narrowband UVB?
A phase 2 extension compared 43 people in an add-on narrowband-UVB group with 187 receiving ritlecitinib alone. At extension week 24, 44.4% versus 27.4% reached F-VASI75 when missing values used last observation carried forward; that difference was not statistically significant. In the observed-case analysis, 60.9% versus 29.2% reached F-VASI75 and the difference was statistically significant. The add-on group had a stopping rule that the other group did not. These analysis-dependent results cannot establish combination superiority or define a routine sequence. Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
I read the extension closely. It shows why a combination result is a study design first, and two treatments placed together second.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The 43-person add-on group and 187-person medicine-only group had unequal selection and an asymmetric stopping rule. The last-observation-carried-forward analysis was not statistically significant while the observed-case analysis was, so the result cannot support a general combination-superiority claim.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
Was the combination randomized against medicine alone?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Did stopping rules differ between groups?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What added benefit and harm are established for the exact combination?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What remains unknown, and how should I use patient stories?
The sources I read are missing the full peer-reviewed phase 3 response and safety tables. They are also missing durability, phase 3 subgroup findings, and reliable outcomes for hands, feet, or other individual sites. Patient stories can identify burden and priorities, but they cannot establish typical benefit, safety, approval, or who should take a systemic medicine. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
Patient accounts can help name visit burden, uncertainty, side-effect conversations, hopes, disappointment, and questions about stopping or access.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A story or photograph cannot show whether someone met trial criteria, received the same medicine, had an unreported harm, or represents a typical outcome.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
Which phase 3 facts are still missing?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would make me pause, decline, or revisit this path?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which approved, non-systemic, support, or no-treatment paths remain available?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often is Litfulo taken, and how long before you would know if it is working?
Litfulo's current US label sets one authorized dose for its approved severe-alopecia-areata indication: 50 mg by mouth once daily, with no loading dose. No regulator reviewed here has authorized any vitiligo dose or schedule, unlike Rinvoq's EU-authorized vitiligo dose. The phase 2 vitiligo trial measured its facial result at week 24. Pfizer's phase 3 topline reported both studies meeting their co-primary endpoints at week 52, about a year after starting, not sooner. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read Pfizer's dated topline release, which states the week-52 assessment point directly. The current DailyMed label states the 50 mg once-daily alopecia dose with no titration.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I found no regulator-authorized vitiligo dose, so the alopecia dose above cannot be read as a vitiligo prescription. Whether you should expect to notice change earlier or later than week 52 is not settled here. Any dose or schedule for vitiligo is a trial or prescriber decision, not mine.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
What dose or regimen, if any, would apply to me in a trial or off-label use?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.When would we first check whether it is working?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does Litfulo cost, and what assistance exists?
Pfizer's own patient-access page describes a copay card for Litfulo's approved severe-alopecia-areata use. Eligible patients with commercial insurance may pay as little as $0 a month. The annual maximum runs $4,000 to $15,000 across as many as 13 fills a year. The card excludes anyone enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, or Veterans Affairs care, and is not valid for cash-paying patients. A separate Pfizer Interim Care Rx program can supply the medicine at no cost for up to two years. It is for eligible, commercially insured patients facing a coverage delay or denial, and it excludes residents of Massachusetts and Michigan. I went to cash-price trackers after direct GoodRx and Drugs.com fetches were both blocked. They report a 28-capsule supply of Litfulo 50 mg priced from about $4,290 to about $4,691, without any discount applied. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
I read Pfizer's own pages. They state the $0-per-month potential cost, the annual maximum, the fill cap, and the Interim Care Rx program's eligibility rule directly.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these programs is scoped to vitiligo, since Litfulo carries no vitiligo indication anywhere I checked. Whether a copay card, the Interim Care Rx program, or a lower cash price would apply to trial participation or off-label vitiligo use is not established. Program terms, eligibility rules, and prices can change.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
Would any Litfulo assistance program apply to vitiligo research or off-label use, or only to the approved alopecia indication?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would this actually cost me under my specific plan or trial?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
It is off-label here. Would insurance even review covering it?
Litfulo is FDA-approved for severe alopecia areata, so a US vitiligo prescription would be off-label, not unapproved outright. Off-label use goes through its own insurance review, separate from an approved use. One commercial insurer’s own published policy shows how that review works for a non-cancer request. It first checks a recognized drug compendium, such as DrugDex. Next it checks a national cancer-drug compendium. Last it checks for a published phase 3 randomized trial. A request that clears none of those steps is denied as experimental or investigational. That same policy treats a Medicare Part D request more narrowly: it accepts only two named compendia there, and a published trial alone does not qualify. Step therapy can still apply after an off-label request is approved. Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
A commercial payer’s own published off-label-drug policy states its review steps directly: a compendium check, then a cancer-compendium check, then a published-phase-3-trial check.
Considerations
- Depends on you
This is one payer’s policy, not a nationwide rule, and it does not decide what any specific plan will do with a specific vitiligo request.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
Would ___ (my plan) review an off-label Litfulo request the same way, or does it use a different policy?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would my plan need to see to consider covering this for vitiligo?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other patients say about using Litfulo, and what does Ajith’s experience add?
People I have heard from get stuck on which option to choose, with so many now in the mix. No reader has sent me a first-hand account of Litfulo for vitiligo yet, and I have no documented pattern of what people taking it describe. Litfulo has no vitiligo indication, so most current patient experience with the drug itself comes from its approved alopecia-areata use, not vitiligo. I will not invent an account. This answer will grow as reader accounts come in. Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
What is documented instead: this is an investigational vitiligo use of a medicine already approved for a different condition, alopecia areata. It comes with its own separate safety conversation.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has shared yet what taking an investigational systemic medicine feels like day to day. It also cannot describe what a trial visit or an off-label monitoring visit is actually like, or what people wish they had known before starting.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
What have your other patients told you about being in a vitiligo trial, or about taking Litfulo off-label for something other than alopecia?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while taking Litfulo?
If you are in a trial or considering off-label use, keep a dated log of each dose and any missed day. Note any new or worsening symptom, especially an infection sign, since the boxed warnings and monitoring plan above depend on catching those early. Log each screening and lab visit your prescriber or study team sets. The safety conversation above needs ongoing blood-count, liver, and infection review, not a one-time check. Add a same-conditions photo - same light, distance, and angle - near the phase 2 trial's week-24 assessment point. Add another near week 52, the timeline the phase 3 studies used for their own result. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
A dated dose, symptom, and lab-visit record is what lets a scheduled review answer whether monitoring stays on track. The phase 2 and phase 3 studies’ own week-24 and week-52 assessment points give a documented timeline to compare a personal photo record against.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo and symptom log do not replace a clinical exam or lab result, and cannot by themselves catch a reaction that has not yet become visible. Following this log also does not establish trial eligibility, off-label appropriateness, or an outcome.
Questions for a trial investigator or prescribing specialist
What should I record between now and my first review, whether in a trial or with a prescriber?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which symptoms should prompt me to call before the next scheduled visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Questions that can change the next decision
For your specialistIs this research, off-label care, or an approved indication where I live?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.For your specialistWhich infection, cancer, clotting, cardiovascular, pregnancy, or interaction risks matter for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.For the trial teamWhich full phase 3 results and post-study access details can you show me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence snapshot
Peer-reviewed phase 2 evidence and a manufacturer phase 3 topline answer different questions; exact phase 3 response percentages remain unavailable.
- Phase 2
- Randomized study of 366 adults with active nonsegmental vitiligo; 364 received treatment.
- Phase 3
- At week 52, two large studies met sponsor-reported facial and total-body endpoints; full numerical results were not released.
- Status
- Approved for severe alopecia areata in reviewed jurisdictions, not vitiligo.
- Combination
- A small exploratory NB-UVB add-on comparison cannot establish superiority.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
A peer-reviewed randomized phase 2 study treated 364 adults with active nonsegmental vitiligo. At week 24, four of five active arms had statistically significant differences from placebo, with three distinct mean facial-score improvements: 21.2% in two arms, 18.5%, and 14.6%. Placebo worsened by 2.1%, and people with stable-only vitiligo were excluded. A sponsor-linked analysis reported group-level facial-score changes in Fitzpatrick types I–III and IV–VI. That does not establish the same response for every skin tone or person. Pfizer later said the 607-person TRANQUILLO and 1,567-person TRANQUILLO 2 studies met facial and total-body endpoints. The release did not provide response percentages or full result tables, and the current TRANQUILLO 2 registry now lists 1,571 enrolled, so the public enrollment counts are not identical.
- Age range
- The peer-reviewed phase 2 study enrolled adults ages 18–65; TRANQUILLO enrolled people age 12 or older, and TRANQUILLO 2 enrolled adults.
- Condition subtype
- The peer-reviewed phase 2 study required active nonsegmental vitiligo and excluded stable-only disease; the phase 3 registries allowed active or stable nonsegmental vitiligo.
- Severity or extent
- The study required measurable facial and total-body involvement.
- Sample size
- Phase 2 treated 364 adults. The phase 3 records report 607 participants in TRANQUILLO and 1,571 in the current TRANQUILLO 2 registry; Pfizer’s topline release described 1,567 for TRANQUILLO 2.
- Geography and care setting
- The phase 2 study ran at 80 sites across 10 countries.
- Skin tone or phototype
- A sponsor-linked phase 2 analysis reported groups for Fitzpatrick types I–III and IV–VI.
- Race
- The phase 2 publication reported 67.6% White, 2.7% Black, and 23.6% Asian participants.
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Facial and total-body scores were reported. Reliable separate estimates for hands, feet, genitals, scalp, or other individual regions were not provided in the reviewed sources.
What that means for this page: The peer-reviewed numeric result applies most directly to adults with active nonsegmental vitiligo resembling the phase 2 population. The separate phase 3 topline covers broader active-or-stable populations, including adolescents in TRANQUILLO, but supplies no response percentages or demographic subgroup tables. Neither evidence layer establishes the same response for every skin tone, every body site, or an individual person.
The current US Litfulo label, written for severe alopecia areata, carries boxed warnings for serious infections, mortality, malignancy, major cardiovascular events, and thrombosis. It lists known hypersensitivity to ritlecitinib or an ingredient as a contraindication. It also describes infection and tuberculosis screening, blood-count monitoring, vaccination, interaction, pregnancy, breastfeeding, liver-related precautions, and a June 2026 warning about hypoglycemia in patients with diabetes. Parts of the boxed-warning context come from a large postmarketing study of another JAK inhibitor. That study was in people age 50 or older with rheumatoid arthritis and at least one cardiovascular risk factor. Some events occurred in Litfulo’s alopecia areata safety database. These boundaries matter, but they are not vitiligo-specific event rates or a personal risk calculation.
- Age range
- The label safety database included people age 12 or older with severe alopecia areata; only 2.5% of the placebo-controlled population was age 65 or older.
- Condition subtype
- The evidence population had alopecia areata, not vitiligo.
- Severity or extent
- The label safety evidence was collected in severe alopecia areata.
- Sample size
- The label reports 1,628 people with alopecia areata exposed to Litfulo.
- Geography and care setting
- Not reported
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- The placebo-controlled label population was 70.7% White.
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: The current label supplies a material systemic safety boundary in its approved alopecia context. It does not provide vitiligo-specific event rates. Parts of the boxed-warning context rely on a postmarketing study of another JAK inhibitor. That study was in rheumatoid-arthritis patients age 50 or older with at least one cardiovascular risk factor, not the Litfulo alopecia population.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of MedicineTrial registry · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: ClinicalTrials.gov and the National Library of Medicine host the record. The study sponsor supplies the registered study information, so the host name does not make the trial independent.
What this source supports
Supports a sponsor-run phase 3 study of oral ritlecitinib in people age 12 or older with active or stable nonsegmental vitiligo.
What it does not support
The registry reports 607 participants, registered facial and total-body outcomes, completed status, and no posted results. A completed trial is not an FDA vitiligo approval, a published benefit-risk conclusion, a recommendation, or evidence that the medicine is available for vitiligo outside research or off-label care.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Excellus BlueCross BlueShieldPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports how this payer reviews a non-cancer off-label request for an already FDA-approved drug. A commercial or exchange request is checked against DrugPoints or DrugDex first, then a cancer-drug compendium, then a published phase 3 randomized trial. A Medicare Part D request only accepts two named compendia; a published trial alone does not qualify there. A request that clears none of these steps is denied as experimental or investigational. Step therapy can still apply after an off-label request is approved. The policy also states plainly that a drug with no FDA approval anywhere is not eligible for coverage under it at all.
What it does not support
This is one commercial New York payer’s own published policy, not a nationwide rule. A different plan can use a different compendium, order, or standard. It does not say whether a specific drug’s vitiligo evidence would clear any of these specific tests, and it does not predict what any one plan will decide for any one patient.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- PfizerManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Pfizer manufactures Litfulo, sponsored the studies and reported the topline results before full peer-reviewed results were available.
What this source supports
Supports the manufacturer-reported result that two Phase 3 studies met prespecified facial and total-body endpoints, the stated program size of 2,174 participants across 271 sites, and planned global adult regulatory filings; exact response percentages were not released.
What it does not support
It is not peer-reviewed evidence, a regulatory decision, proof of comparative superiority or an approved vitiligo indication.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Ezzedine K, et al.)Randomized trial · Clinical research, tier 2Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Pfizer sponsored the study; several authors were Pfizer employees or consultants, and other authors disclosed company relationships.
What this source supports
Supports the randomized phase 2 design, 364 treated adults with active nonsegmental vitiligo, group-level facial outcome, reported study safety through the extension, and the explicit exclusion of people with stable-only vitiligo.
What it does not support
The sponsor-linked trial does not establish a vitiligo approval, direct superiority over another treatment, stable-vitiligo outcomes, reliable results for every body site, long-term safety or an individual result.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Experimental Dermatology (Peeva E, et al.)Observational study · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Pfizer sponsored the underlying study; several authors were Pfizer employees and other authors disclosed company relationships.
What this source supports
Supports a sponsor-linked analysis of the phase 2 population by Fitzpatrick skin type, including 247 people in types I–III and 117 in types IV–VI, group-level facial-score changes through the extension, and similar reported treatment-emergent-event patterns across those groups.
What it does not support
The analysis does not establish equal response for every skin tone, race or ethnicity, explain an individual result, supply phase 3 subgroup evidence, establish a vitiligo approval or replace body-site-specific evidence.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of MedicineTrial registry · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: ClinicalTrials.gov hosts the record, while Pfizer sponsors the study and supplies the registered information.
What this source supports
Supports the adult randomized phase 3 design, active and stable nonsegmental-vitiligo population, current enrollment record, study status, registered facial and total-body outcomes, and absence of posted result tables when reviewed.
What it does not support
Registration is not peer review, a regulatory decision, proof of benefit, an explanation for differing public enrollment counts or a personal treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
Litfulo (ritlecitinib): current US prescribing information and Medication Guide (opens in a new tab)
DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for current US labeling but not independent efficacy evidence.
What this source supports
Supports Litfulo identity, its current US severe-alopecia indication, boxed warnings, contraindication and other label safety boundaries. Vitiligo is not among the current US indications. Also supports the recommended dosage for the approved indication: 50 mg orally once daily, with or without food, with no loading dose or titration.
What it does not support
The alopecia label does not establish a vitiligo indication, vitiligo-specific event rates, individual suitability, coverage, a vitiligo regimen or approval in another jurisdiction.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- PfizerManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Pfizer manufactures Litfulo and operates this patient-access page. It is a first-party statement about its own copay program, not independent pricing evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the copay-card terms as stated: eligible commercially insured patients may pay as little as $0 a month, with an annual maximum benefit between $4,000 and $15,000 across up to 13 fills a year. Also supports that the card excludes anyone enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, or Veterans Affairs care, and is not valid for cash-paying patients.
What it does not support
A manufacturer copay-card page does not establish a vitiligo-specific program, what any one reader would pay, or that terms will not change. It is scoped to Litfulo’s approved alopecia-areata indication.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- PfizerManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Pfizer manufactures Litfulo and operates this patient-access page describing its own support programs.
What this source supports
Supports that a separate Pfizer Interim Care Rx program can provide Litfulo at no cost for up to two years to certain commercially insured patients experiencing a coverage delay or denial, and that it is not available to residents of Massachusetts or Michigan.
What it does not support
Does not establish eligibility for any specific patient, a vitiligo-specific program, or program terms beyond what this page states; it is scoped to the approved alopecia-areata indication.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- GoodRx / Drugs.comPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: GoodRx and Drugs.com are commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplaces; displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time. Direct WebFetch of both goodrx.com/litfulo and drugs.com/price-guide/litfulo returned 403; the figures here were cross-verified across two independent web searches instead.
What this source supports
Supports only the dated cash-price range recorded for a 28-capsule supply of Litfulo 50 mg without any discount applied: reported figures clustered between about $4,290 and about $4,691. It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.
What it does not support
Does not establish a precise single price, a vitiligo-specific price, or that any reader would pay this amount.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- European Medicines AgencyRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the current European Union severe-alopecia indication and European safety overview. The reviewed European product information does not include a vitiligo indication.
What it does not support
It does not establish a later vitiligo decision, national reimbursement, a vitiligo regimen, individual suitability or status outside the European Union.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- electronic Medicines Compendium / Pfizer LimitedManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The electronic Medicines Compendium hosts company-supplied UK product information. It is useful for current listed indications but is not independent clinical evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the severe-alopecia indication in the current Great Britain product information reviewed by SteadySkin. It does not list vitiligo.
What it does not support
Company-supplied product information does not prove that no later MHRA decision exists, establish status outside Great Britain or provide independent vitiligo evidence.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Yamaguchi Y, et al.)Observational study · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Pfizer sponsored the study; several authors were Pfizer employees and the comparison arose within a sponsor-run extension.
What this source supports
Supports an exploratory extension in which 43 people received add-on narrowband UVB and 187 received ritlecitinib alone, with differing results across missing-data analyses.
What it does not support
The small, non-randomized add-on comparison used a stopping rule only in the combination group. It does not establish combination superiority, a routine sequence, a self-directed light plan or individual suitability.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.