What may be at the pharmacy
Generic pimecrolimus cream is available in several tube sizes.
US cost and coverage snapshot · checked August 16, 2026
An FDA-approved generic is available.
Vendor estimate checked August 16, 2026: about $70–$80 with a coupon for one 30 g tube of generic pimecrolimus 1%. Pharmacy and location differences were substantial.
Generic coverage is plan-specific, and off-label vitiligo use can still trigger an authorization or quantity limit. No current Elidel-specific manufacturer savings program was verified.
- US Food and Drug Administration (opens in a new tab): FDA lists a first generic approval for Elidel (pimecrolimus) cream · primary · high confidence · checked August 16, 2026
- GoodRx (opens in a new tab): Current live pharmacy price comparison · vendor · low confidence · checked August 16, 2026
Patient-community context · anecdotal
What some people described online
The two linked discussions mentioned slow or absent visible change. One also described the burden of attending clinic-based light-treatment visits. That is too little evidence to claim a community consensus or attribute the burden to pimecrolimus.
These are self-selected posts, not clinical evidence. Diagnoses, products, other treatments, and adherence cannot be verified. There is no denominator. The posts cannot establish efficacy, frequency, typical experience, safety, what caused an experience, or support a treatment recommendation.
These posts are registered as Tier 6 lived experience for question discovery. They are not citations supporting a treatment claim. Relationship status: not established.
- Community discussion · slow response and adherence · February 2025Pseudonymous poster in an online support group · Lived experience - not evidence · published February 27, 2025 · checked August 16, 2026The author is pseudonymous. Their identity, product use, other treatments, adherence, and financial or organizational relationships cannot be verified.
- Community discussion · pimecrolimus · December 2023Pseudonymous poster in an online support group · Lived experience - not evidence · published December 24, 2023 · checked August 16, 2026The author is pseudonymous. Their identity, product use, other treatments, adherence, and financial or organizational relationships cannot be verified.
Compare this topical with another option
Why was I offered pimecrolimus if it is not approved for vitiligo?
People I have heard from find the hardest part is choosing between the creams, not starting one. In the United States, pimecrolimus cream is approved for specified atopic dermatitis use, not vitiligo, so using it for vitiligo is off-label. Clinicians may still offer an off-label medicine when they judge the broader evidence relevant. Elidel is a brand name; the current label for the exact product you receive still matters. Think of the local immune activity in a vitiligo patch as a small, persistent alarm aimed at pigment-making cells. Pimecrolimus is designed to turn that alarm down where you apply it, the same way it dampens the skin’s immune signal in its approved eczema use. It does not add pigment itself; it aims to give surviving pigment cells room to recover. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Elidel (pimecrolimus) is a calcineurin inhibitor, a non-steroid cream that calms the local immune response. The guidelines I read discuss this drug class. Elidel and Protopic (tacrolimus) still do not have the same evidence and are not interchangeable.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Off-label use depends on clinical judgment and is not a regulator-reviewed vitiligo indication. Your age, immune status, body area, other medicines, and the exact formulation can change whether it fits you.
Questions for your clinician
Why do you think pimecrolimus fits me better than another topical option?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What should I expect from off-label use?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What should I track?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Where does the pooled evidence say it works best, and where does it not?
A 2019 meta-analysis pooled tacrolimus and pimecrolimus together across 46 studies and found responses varied sharply by body area. About 35% of people reached a marked response on the face and neck. About 2% did on the trunk and limbs, and almost no one did on the hands and feet. That pooled figure does not isolate pimecrolimus from tacrolimus at any site. The strongest results, on the face, come mostly from studies of tacrolimus or of both drugs together - not from a pimecrolimus-only facial study. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The meta-analysis I read reports these body-area differences from pooled trial data across both calcineurin inhibitors together. It does not separate pimecrolimus results from tacrolimus results at any body site.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I found no published pimecrolimus-specific body-area breakdown, so whether pimecrolimus alone would match the pooled figure at any one site, including the face, is not known.
Questions for your clinician
How much of this pooled evidence actually comes from pimecrolimus rather than tacrolimus?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Does the location of my patch change what you would expect from this cream specifically?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Face and neck
About 35% of people reached a marked response.
Trunk and limbs
About 2% of people reached a marked response.
Hands and feet
Almost no one reached a marked response.
From the same pooled meta-analysis cited above. It pools pimecrolimus with tacrolimus and does not isolate pimecrolimus's own results at any site.
How often do you use it, and how long before you know if it is working?
The current label directs applying a thin layer twice daily to the affected skin. For its approved eczema use, the label tells patients to be re-examined if signs and symptoms persist beyond 6 weeks. It separately states that continuous long-term use should be avoided. The one trial that tested pimecrolimus alone for vitiligo used that same twice-daily schedule for 6 months. Its own early signal, seen at month 2, had mostly faded by month 6. That is a reason not to judge results from a single early look. Have an explicit check-in point with your prescriber rather than open-ended use. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The label I read states the twice-daily frequency, the 6-week re-examination point for its approved use, and the caution against continuous long-term use directly. The pimecrolimus-only vitiligo trial used that same application frequency.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label’s 6-week check-in point is set for its approved eczema use, not vitiligo. Your prescriber sets the actual off-label schedule and review point for you, and it may differ from 6 weeks.
Questions for your clinician
What exact schedule and review point do you want me to follow for vitiligo?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Should we reassess sooner than 6 weeks if I see nothing at all?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What did the one pimecrolimus-specific vitiligo trial find?
One small randomized, double-blind, vehicle-controlled trial tested pimecrolimus cream by itself, not pooled with tacrolimus. It enrolled 20 adults with symmetrical vitiligo patches on the arms and legs - no facial patches. Each person used pimecrolimus on one side and vehicle cream on the other, twice daily, for 6 months. At month 2, modest repigmentation (roughly 1%-25% of the patch) appeared in 12 of 17 evaluable pimecrolimus-treated sides, compared with 9 of 17 vehicle-treated sides. By month 6, that gap had mostly closed: only 3 of 14 pimecrolimus-treated sides still showed improvement, against 2 of 14 on vehicle. The trial found no statistically significant difference in average patch size between the two creams. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
This is the only randomized trial I found of pimecrolimus cream by itself for vitiligo, rather than pooled with tacrolimus or another calcineurin inhibitor. It found no clear benefit over vehicle by the end of the study.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The trial covered only non-facial patches on the arms and legs, in 20 adults. It cannot rule out a different result on the face, in a larger group, or over a longer or shorter course. It is one small trial, not the final word.
Questions for your clinician
Given this trial found no clear pimecrolimus-alone benefit, why does this fit my situation?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Would a different body area, combination, or medicine change what you would expect?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What should I know about the boxed warning and skin reactions?
The US pimecrolimus label carries the FDA’s strongest safety alert. This is called a “boxed warning.” It notes rare cancer reports but says the medicine has not been proven to cause them. It warns against continuous long-term use. Burning can occur where you apply it. The label’s own adult clinical-trial data come from a 1-year trial of 328 adults for its approved eczema use, not a vitiligo-specific safety study. That trial reported application-site burning in about 26% of people, headache in about 25%, nasopharyngitis in about 8%, and influenza in about 10%. Separately, the one small pimecrolimus-only vitiligo trial reported no treatment-related adverse events and no skin thinning in its 20 participants. A trial that size cannot rule out an uncommon reaction. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The boxed warning and the Medication Guide belong in your decision. The label also addresses infections, immune status, lymph-node changes, and other situations that require clinical attention. The percentages above come from the label’s own adult eczema-trial population, and the vitiligo trial’s safety finding comes from only 20 people.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The warning does not calculate your personal risk, and an online symptom list cannot distinguish a known local effect from another skin problem. Your prescriber needs to interpret new or persistent findings. Neither data source estimates how often a reaction happens specifically in someone using pimecrolimus for vitiligo.
Questions for your clinician
How does the boxed warning apply to my health history?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which of the common eczema-trial reactions should I just watch, and which should prompt a call?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which changes should make me contact you?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What if I am also using or considering phototherapy?
Tell both the prescriber and phototherapy team. The pimecrolimus label tells patients to minimize or avoid natural and artificial sunlight, including ultraviolet treatment, while vitiligo guidelines discuss selected clinician-supervised combinations. That conflict needs an explicit, coordinated answer; it is not permission to combine them on your own. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Regulatory labels and clinical guidelines have different roles, and both belong in your decision. The label warning matters before you assume that two separately discussed options are automatically safe together.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Evidence for another calcineurin inhibitor or one supervised study cannot be generalized to your product, device, or circumstances. Your prescriber and phototherapy team provide the application sequence and ultraviolet instructions.
Questions for your clinician
How does the ultraviolet warning affect my plan?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Have both teams agreed on one set of instructions?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a simple, dated record: when you started, that you are applying it twice daily, and a same-conditions photo (same light, distance, and angle) each time. Note the exact treated area - arms, legs, or elsewhere - since the only pimecrolimus-only trial covered non-facial extremities specifically. That trial’s own pattern is a reason to keep looking past an early result: a modest signal at month 2 had mostly faded by month 6. Bring your dated record to the label’s 6-week check-in point, or whatever point your prescriber sets, rather than judging from one early look or from memory. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated, comparable, area-labeled record is what lets a scheduled check-in actually answer whether the medicine is working for that patch. The one specific trial’s early-signal-then-fade pattern is a documented reason not to stop tracking after an early look.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo log does not replace a clinical exam and cannot by itself tell you whether a rarer effect has started.
Questions for your clinician
What should I photograph or note between now and my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.When exactly should we decide this is not working?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence and update context
This optional layer shows the evidence boundary I reviewed as of 2026-09-20.
- What this evidence supports
- Elidel (pimecrolimus) is a calcineurin inhibitor, a non-steroid cream that calms the local immune response. The guidelines I read discuss this drug class. Elidel and Protopic (tacrolimus) still do not have the same evidence and are not interchangeable.
- What it does not establish
- Off-label use depends on clinical judgment and is not a regulator-reviewed vitiligo indication. Your age, immune status, body area, other medicines, and the exact formulation can change whether it fits you.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
A 2019 meta-analysis pooled tacrolimus and pimecrolimus together across 46 studies and found responses varied sharply by body area. About 35% of people reached a marked response on the face and neck. About 2% did on the trunk and limbs, and almost no one did on the hands and feet. That pooled figure does not isolate pimecrolimus from tacrolimus at any site. The strongest results, on the face, come mostly from studies of tacrolimus or of both drugs together - not from a pimecrolimus-only facial study.
- Age range
- Children and adults were pooled together. One subgroup of 162 children, in 5 studies, was reported apart from the rest. The review states no adult age range.
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- 46 of 56 identified studies, 1,499 people, were used to judge response. Pooled response figures came from smaller subsets: 520 people in 19 studies for a marked response, 560 people in 21 studies for at least a mild response. Protopic (tacrolimus) and Elidel (pimecrolimus) were pooled together, not counted apart.
- Geography and care setting
- Studies came from the United States, Mexico, India, France, Spain, Austria, Turkey, Iran, Italy, Germany, China, Thailand, Canada, Belgium, Pakistan, Brazil and Bangladesh.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Face and neck showed the best pooled response, a marked response in about 35%. Trunk and limbs showed about 2%. Hands and feet showed close to none.
What that means for this page: This is a pooled average across studies that used Protopic (tacrolimus), Elidel (pimecrolimus), or both, with considerable differences in design and protocol. It does not isolate pimecrolimus. It is not a prediction for one person, one patch or one body site, and it sets no dose or schedule.
One small randomized, double-blind, vehicle-controlled trial tested pimecrolimus cream by itself, not pooled with tacrolimus. It enrolled 20 adults with symmetrical vitiligo patches on the arms and legs - no facial patches. Each person used pimecrolimus on one side and vehicle cream on the other, twice daily, for 6 months. At month 2, modest repigmentation (roughly 1%-25% of the patch) appeared in 12 of 17 evaluable pimecrolimus-treated sides, compared with 9 of 17 vehicle-treated sides. By month 6, that gap had mostly closed: only 3 of 14 pimecrolimus-treated sides still showed improvement, against 2 of 14 on vehicle. The trial found no statistically significant difference in average patch size between the two creams.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Symmetrical vitiligo patches on the arms and legs. The trial excluded facial patches.
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- 20 adults were randomized in a crossover design, one side of the body treated with pimecrolimus and the other with vehicle. 17 sides were evaluable at month 2 and 14 at month 6.
- Geography and care setting
- Not reported
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Only extremity (arm and leg) patches were studied. No facial or other-site patches were included.
What that means for this page: This is one small trial of one regimen - pimecrolimus cream twice daily for 6 months - in 20 adults with non-facial patches. It found no statistically significant benefit over vehicle by month 6. It cannot rule out a different result on the face, in a larger group, or over a different course, and it is not a prediction for one person.
The US pimecrolimus label carries the FDA’s strongest safety alert. This is called a “boxed warning.” It notes rare cancer reports but says the medicine has not been proven to cause them. It warns against continuous long-term use. Burning can occur where you apply it. The label’s own adult clinical-trial data come from a 1-year trial of 328 adults for its approved eczema use, not a vitiligo-specific safety study. That trial reported application-site burning in about 26% of people, headache in about 25%, nasopharyngitis in about 8%, and influenza in about 10%. Separately, the one small pimecrolimus-only vitiligo trial reported no treatment-related adverse events and no skin thinning in its 20 participants. A trial that size cannot rule out an uncommon reaction.
- Age range
- The label’s adult adverse-reaction table comes from a 1-year active-comparator trial restricted to adults. It reports no exact age range.
- Condition subtype
- Atopic dermatitis, the label’s approved indication - not vitiligo.
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- 328 adults treated with pimecrolimus cream in a 1-year active-comparator trial.
- Geography and care setting
- Not reported
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: The percentages above come from the label’s own adult eczema-trial population, not a vitiligo-specific safety study. It reports rare cancer cases separately and says a causal link is unproven. Neither figure estimates one person’s risk or how often a reaction happens specifically in someone using pimecrolimus for vitiligo.
Tell both the prescriber and phototherapy team. The pimecrolimus label tells patients to minimize or avoid natural and artificial sunlight, including ultraviolet treatment, while vitiligo guidelines discuss selected clinician-supervised combinations. That conflict needs an explicit, coordinated answer; it is not permission to combine them on your own.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is the current US pimecrolimus label. The other two are the 2021 UK vitiligo guideline and the 2023 worldwide Task Force statement. None reports a study population for this point.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: The label sets a US regulatory warning against added ultraviolet exposure. The two guidelines describe selected clinician-supervised combinations from a wider evidence base. A separate small trial added pimecrolimus to supervised light treatment and reported a facial-only difference. That trial is cited on a different page. It does not resolve this conflict for one person, which needs a coordinated prescriber and phototherapy plan.
A small controlled adult pimecrolimus study of selected non-facial vitiligo lesions did not show effectiveness over vehicle and cannot settle outcomes for facial lesions, children, other populations, or combinations.
- Age range
- Adults.
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Pending exact source review
- Sample size
- Pending exact source review
- Geography and care setting
- Pending exact source review
- Skin tone or phototype
- Pending exact source review
- Race
- Pending exact source review
- Ethnicity
- Pending exact source review
- Body sites
- Selected non-facial lesions.
What that means for this page: This limited product-specific evidence applies only to the selected adult, non-facial context studied. Exact sample, demographic, severity, and setting extraction remains pending.
The current pimecrolimus cream label describes local and systemic reactions, a boxed warning, and ultraviolet precautions in its labeled atopic-dermatitis context; vitiligo use is off-label.
- Age range
- Pending exact source review
- Condition subtype
- Pending exact source review
- Severity or extent
- Pending exact source review
- Sample size
- Pending exact source review
- Geography and care setting
- Pending exact source review
- Skin tone or phototype
- Pending exact source review
- Race
- Pending exact source review
- Ethnicity
- Pending exact source review
- Body sites
- Pending exact source review
What that means for this page: The label is for atopic dermatitis rather than vitiligo, and exact population and body-site extraction remains pending. It supports a safety boundary, not a vitiligo-specific adverse-event rate or personal risk estimate.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
Pimecrolimus pharmacy-price comparison - live snapshot captured August 16, 2026 (opens in a new tab)
GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace; displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.
What this source supports
Supports only the dated discounted-cash estimate recorded for a defined generic pimecrolimus prescription.
What it does not support
It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent efficacy evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the US atopic-dermatitis indication, boxed warning, application-site effects, long-term-use precaution and instructions to avoid ultraviolet treatment and minimize natural or artificial sunlight. This label itself is a generic pimecrolimus cream filing (packager Oceanside Pharmaceuticals, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC), not the original brand Elidel label, so it also supports that a generic pimecrolimus cream is currently marketed. Its Dosage and Administration section supports applying a thin layer twice daily and re-examining the patient if signs and symptoms persist beyond six weeks; its boxed warning separately supports that continuous long-term use should be avoided. Its adult 1-year active-comparator adverse-reaction table (328 pimecrolimus-treated subjects) supports application-site burning in about 25.9%, headache in about 25.4%, nasopharyngitis in about 7.6%, and influenza in about 9.8% of that adult trial population.
What it does not support
It does not approve pimecrolimus for vitiligo or psoriasis, establish efficacy for either, or resolve off-label guideline discussion of supervised combinations. Its dosing and six-week re-examination window, and its adult adverse-reaction percentages, are stated for its approved atopic-dermatitis indication and trial population, not as a vitiligo-specific schedule or vitiligo-trial safety rate.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal der Deutschen Dermatologischen Gesellschaft (Dawid M, et al.)Randomized trial · Clinical research, tier 2Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that this randomized, double-blind, vehicle-controlled crossover study enrolled 20 adults with symmetrical vitiligo patches on the extremities (no facial patches), each using pimecrolimus cream on one side and vehicle on the other, twice daily, for 6 months. It supports that modest (roughly 1%-25%) repigmentation appeared at month 2 in 12 of 17 evaluable pimecrolimus-treated sides versus 9 of 17 vehicle-treated sides. It supports that by month 6 only 3 of 14 pimecrolimus-treated sides versus 2 of 14 vehicle-treated sides still showed improvement, and that the study found no statistically significant difference in mean target-patch size between pimecrolimus and vehicle. It supports that treatment was well tolerated, with no treatment-related adverse events and no application-site skin atrophy reported in this small sample.
What it does not support
It does not settle efficacy for facial patches, children, other populations, larger sample sizes, or combinations with phototherapy. An author affiliation creates a commercial-independence limitation, and its small size (20 people) cannot rule out an effect a larger trial might detect, or an uncommon adverse reaction.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- JAMA Dermatology (Lee JH, et al.)Systematic review · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports pooled group-level repigmentation outcomes for topical calcineurin inhibitors alone and with phototherapy, including variation by body area.
What it does not support
Considerable study heterogeneity limits product-specific and individual inference, and the review does not override current product labels or prove one medicine superior. Supports the exact pooled figures: 55.0% (560 patients, 21 studies) reached at least a mild (>=25%) response, 38.5% (619 patients, 23 studies) reached a moderate (>=50%) response, and 18.1% (520 patients, 19 studies) reached a marked (>=75%) response using a calcineurin inhibitor alone, versus 47.5% marked response when combined with phototherapy. Supports a median treatment duration of 3 months (range 2-7 months) across the pooled studies.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and VenereologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The journal is the publisher. This label refers to extensive author relationships disclosed for the recommendation, not to the journal itself.
What this source supports
It supports current expert-consensus terminology, clinical assessment, disease-activity evaluation, treatment-goal discussion, and shared decision-making. Its modified assessment check list names where the patches are as a disease feature, and gives genital involvement as its own example. It records white hairs as an item of its own, apart from what the vitiligo has done in the past six months. Its classification table keeps mucosal vitiligo as a subtype, both across more than one site and at one site alone. It supports planning care around what is there to work with, and its example is hair that still has its color. It names stable vitiligo and active vitiligo as two different states that change the care plan. Its shared-decision steps ask what the patient wants from care. At the time it was written, one cream form of a newer drug type had just been approved. Pill forms of that same drug type were still being studied.
What it does not support
It is not independent comparative proof. It cannot diagnose a reader from a description or photograph. It gives no figure for genital involvement, and it does not name lichen sclerosus. It does not set out the Vitiligo European Task Force grading scale. It puts no figure on white hairs and predicts nothing for one person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- British Journal of Dermatology (Eleftheriadou V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the clinical history and assessment domains, evaluation of associated autoimmune conditions, its recommendation for thyroid function and antithyroid antibody screening, current classification context, treatment-option map, psychosocial assessment, medical photography and the limits of pediatric evidence. Its classification table defines mucosal vitiligo as the oral or genital mucosae. One mucosal site alone is filed as undetermined or unclassified. Its differential diagnosis table lists genital or extragenital lichen sclerosus among the conditions that can be mistaken for vitiligo. That table also lists eczema, psoriasis, lichen planus, pityriasis alba and piebaldism. It calls autoimmunity a contributor to the pathogenesis of vitiligo. It reports an earlier review finding a possible negative impact on intimacy and sexual functioning. It tells clinicians to discuss the psychosocial impact of living with the condition. R28 offers a skin camouflage visit to people who want one. R10 to R14 name potent or very potent topical steroids as the first choice, with a topical calcineurin-inhibitor cream as an option for the face. These are different creams with different proof behind them. R20 names narrowband UVB as the first light option. It says the skin often does better on the face and trunk than on hands and feet. It says there is not enough proof to use any one current pill alone for vitiligo that is not changing. R25 and Table 2 keep cell grafting for vitiligo that is not changing and did not respond to other care. They also say a doctor cannot always tell if the vitiligo has truly stopped changing.
What it does not support
It was designed for UK care and reviewed literature through May 2019; it does not establish a universal testing plan, prescribe an individual plan, or establish current US labeling or coverage. Its differential diagnosis table is a list, not a method a reader can apply to their own skin. It does not say how to tell any two of those conditions apart. It gives no figure for how often vitiligo affects genital skin.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.