What is povorcitinib, and why is it being studied?
Povorcitinib is an investigational oral medicine developed by Incyte that selectively inhibits JAK1. That immune-signaling effect supplies a rationale for vitiligo research, but it does not establish clinical benefit, approval, or individual suitability. Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
The peer-reviewed phase 2 study provides clinical evidence in extensive nonsegmental vitiligo, not just a laboratory theory.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A plausible pathway does not identify who will respond, which body site will change, or whether the benefit–risk balance is acceptable for one person.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
What is the goal for my vitiligo?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which evidence is clinical rather than mechanistic?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Is povorcitinib approved and available for vitiligo?
I read the STOP-V1 and STOP-V2 registries and an Incyte update describing povorcitinib as a vitiligo research candidate, with regulatory filings Incyte says are planned for 2027. Those sources do not establish current authorization status in every jurisdiction. A successful trial or future filing plan is not a regulator decision, an approved label, or commercial availability for vitiligo. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
The current records describe a research program. Trial completion, a positive endpoint, and a future filing are milestones - not approval.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Status may change after this review. A trial site or news release cannot substitute for a current regulator-hosted indication and product information. Any access outside a trial, if it exists at all, is a decision for a specialist who can review your history.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
Is access limited to a trial?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Has any regulator issued a vitiligo decision since this review?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which current regulator record supports that answer?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Who was studied, and what did the trials show?
A peer-reviewed randomized phase 2 study enrolled 171 adults with extensive nonsegmental vitiligo. At week 24, the mean total-body score improved by 15.7% to 19.1% across the studied povorcitinib groups while the placebo group worsened by 2.3%; the study reported limited demographic diversity. A later descriptive post hoc analysis followed 103 people who received povorcitinib throughout the study. It reported week-52 VASI50 response proportions from 25.8% for feet to 57.3% for head and neck outside the face. It had no placebo comparison at week 52 and cannot predict an individual site. The registries list 467 participants in STOP-V1 and 450 in STOP-V2. Incyte later said that at week 52, 18.9% reached F-VASI75 (at least 75% improvement from baseline in the facial score). That was versus 6.8% with placebo in STOP-V1, and 18.9% versus 3.1% in STOP-V2. Those phase 3 percentages are sponsor-reported topline results, not posted registry results or peer-reviewed findings. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
The phase 2 paper provides an absolute mean total-body change for 171 adults. The phase 3 sponsor update provides an absolute facial response proportion for each study and comparator.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The phase 2 post hoc body-region analysis is descriptive and has no week-52 placebo group. The sources do not permit a direct comparison with Litfulo or Rinvoq, a reliable individual-site estimate, or an individual prediction. Full phase 3 result tables remain missing.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
Do I resemble the extensive adult phase 2 population?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Where are the full phase 3 result and safety tables?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What outcome would be meaningful for my body sites?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is known, and not known, about safety?
The phase 2 publication reported a similar incidence of grade 3 or higher treatment-emergent adverse events across study groups, and no new safety signal. The phase 3 registries excluded people with several infection, cancer, cardiovascular, clotting, pregnancy, laboratory, and prior-treatment risks. The sources I read do not include an approved povorcitinib vitiligo product label. So they do not supply a complete labeled contraindication, warning, interaction, monitoring, pregnancy, or long-term safety profile. Safety language from another JAK medicine cannot be transferred as if it were povorcitinib evidence. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
The study publications and protocols can report observed events and describe who was excluded. They do not replace the contraindications, warnings, interactions, monitoring, and population sections of an approved product label.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No “class warning” shortcut can calculate the candidate’s full risk or a person’s risk. Longer follow-up and full phase 3 tables remain important.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
Which safety findings were observed, and which risks were excluded by eligibility rules?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What tests, monitoring, pregnancy, infection, and interaction rules does this protocol require?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What remains unknown without an approved product label?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Seven more answers: access and burden, combining with narrowband UVB, unknowns, dosing frequency and duration, cost and assistance, patient descriptions, and what to track
What does research access involve?
The vitiligo access path I found is research, not routine commercial prescribing. Trial sites and eligibility determine research access. Future approval, market supply, specialist workflow, payer coverage, personal cost, and post-trial access are not established by the sources I read. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
I would want a trial conversation to cover randomization, placebo, visits, tests, travel, reporting, leaving the study, usual care, injury, costs, privacy, results, and access after participation.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The registries I read do not guarantee eligibility, a local site, personal benefit, reimbursement, approval, commercial supply, or continued access.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
Which visits, tests, travel, costs, and privacy rules apply?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What care and information do I receive if I leave?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What happens to treatment access after the study?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Has povorcitinib been shown to work better with narrowband UVB?
The phase 2 publication and the STOP-V1 and STOP-V2 registries I read studied povorcitinib against placebo rather than a narrowband-UVB add-on strategy. I did not verify a controlled vitiligo combination result, so separate evidence for phototherapy or another medicine cannot be joined into a povorcitinib combination claim. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Not established
The reviewed pivotal program tests povorcitinib against placebo. That can answer a medicine-versus-placebo question, not a medicine-plus-light question.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A specialist’s proposed combination, a separate phototherapy study, or experience with another JAK medicine does not establish this exact combination.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
Has this exact combination been studied in a controlled vitiligo trial?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which component is expected to add what?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What new harm, monitoring, and burden would the combination add?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What remains unknown, and how should I use participant stories?
Several things remain unresolved: full peer-reviewed phase 3 results, complete safety tables, durability, and phase 3 subgroup findings. So do reliable individual-body-site predictions beyond the small descriptive phase 2 follow-up, regulatory decisions, and commercial access. A trial participant’s story can describe visits, uncertainty, and lived burden, but it cannot establish a typical outcome or replace the protocol and investigator discussion. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
Participant accounts can help name visit burden, uncertainty, side-effect conversations, randomization, hopes, disappointment, and post-trial access questions.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A story or photograph cannot show whether someone represents a typical result, received placebo, met the same eligibility rules, or had an unreported harm.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
Which phase 3 facts are still missing?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would make me pause, decline, leave, or revisit this path?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which approved, support, or no-treatment paths remain available?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often was povorcitinib taken in the trials, and how long before results were measured?
The phase 2 dose-ranging trial randomized adults 1:1:1:1 to oral povorcitinib 15 mg, 45 mg, or 75 mg once daily, or placebo, for a 24-week placebo-controlled period. After week 24, an extension changed some doses. The placebo group crossed to 75 mg once daily, and the 15 mg group escalated to 75 mg once daily. The 45 mg and 75 mg groups continued their assigned dose, for 52 weeks of treatment overall. No regulator reviewed here has authorized any povorcitinib dose or schedule for vitiligo. The peer-reviewed phase 2 result was measured at week 24, and Incyte's phase 3 topline reported results at week 52, about a year after starting, not sooner. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
ClinicalTrials.gov's own registry record for the phase 2 trial states the dosing arms and treatment periods directly.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No regulator I checked has authorized a vitiligo dose, so these trial doses cannot be read as a vitiligo prescription. The phase 3 registries do not publicly disclose their own dosing arms. Whether you would notice change earlier or later than week 24 or week 52 is not settled here. Any dose or schedule for vitiligo is a trial or prescriber decision, not mine to set.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
What dose or regimen, if any, would apply to me in a trial?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.When would we first check whether it is working?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does povorcitinib cost, and does any assistance program exist?
Povorcitinib has no approved indication in the records I read, so no commercial price and no povorcitinib-specific patient-assistance program exist yet. I checked Incyte's own IncyteCARES page, which lists Jakafi, Monjuvi, Niktimvo, Opzelura, Pemazyre, and Zynyz as its covered medicines; povorcitinib does not appear on that list. The sources I read do not establish what a trial participant pays, a future commercial price, or what assistance might exist after any approval. Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
Incyte's own patient-support page lists the medicines its IncyteCARES program currently covers, checked directly.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Because povorcitinib has no approved indication anywhere reviewed here, no commercial price exists to quote. This absence statement cannot rule out a future program once or if it is approved. Trial-related costs, coverage, and post-trial access are not established by the reviewed sources.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
Would trial participation cost me money?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Does Incyte plan a patient-assistance program if povorcitinib is approved?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other patients say about using povorcitinib, and what does Ajith’s experience add?
People I have heard from get stuck on which option to choose, and a research candidate makes that harder. No reader has sent me a first-hand account of povorcitinib for vitiligo yet, and I have no documented pattern of what people taking it describe. Povorcitinib has no approved indication in the records I read, so any current patient experience with the medicine itself comes only from trial participation, not routine use. I will not invent an account, and this answer will grow as reader accounts and a documented pattern come in. Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
What is documented instead: povorcitinib has no approved indication anywhere reviewed here. So any current patient experience with the medicine itself comes only from trial participation, not routine use.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has written to me yet about what taking an investigational systemic medicine feels like day to day. No source I read describes what a trial visit is actually like.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
What have your other patients told you about being in a povorcitinib vitiligo trial?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking during a povorcitinib trial?
If you are in a trial, keep a dated log of each visit, dose (if known to you), and any missed dose. The trial protocol depends on that record, not memory. Note any new or worsening symptom right away, especially anything resembling the infection, cancer, cardiovascular, clotting, or pregnancy risks the phase 3 registries excluded people for. The safety conversation above depends on catching those early. Log every screening and lab visit your study team schedules. Add a same-conditions photo - same light, distance, and angle - near the phase 2 trial's week-24 assessment point. Add another near week 52, the timeline both the phase 2 extension and the phase 3 studies used for their own results. Evidence Evidence Evidence This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off. Pending clinical review
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
A dated visit, dose, and symptom record is what lets a scheduled review answer whether monitoring stays on track. The phase 2 trial's own week-24 and week-52 assessment points give a documented timeline to compare a personal photo record against.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo and symptom log do not replace a clinical exam or lab result, and cannot by themselves catch a reaction that has not yet become visible. Following this log also does not establish trial eligibility or an outcome.
Questions for a trial investigator or systemic-treatment specialist
What should I record between now and my first review?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which symptoms should prompt me to call before the next scheduled visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Questions that can change the next decision
For the trial teamWhich protocol, eligibility rules, randomization, stopping rules, and post-trial access apply?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.For the trial teamWhich safety facts are observed, suspected, excluded by the protocol, or still unknown?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.For your specialistHow does a research path compare with approved, off-label, support, or no-treatment choices for my goal?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence snapshot
The peer-reviewed phase 2 study supplies bounded adult group outcomes; phase 3 percentages remain a manufacturer topline without posted registry result tables.
- Phase 2
- Randomized study of 171 adults with extensive nonsegmental vitiligo.
- Phase 3
- STOP-V1 lists 467 participants and STOP-V2 lists 450. Both met a sponsor-reported facial endpoint; full results remain unpublished.
- Status
- Investigational; future filing plans are not regulator decisions.
- Safety
- No approved povorcitinib product label supplies a complete vitiligo safety and monitoring profile.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
A peer-reviewed randomized phase 2 study enrolled 171 adults with extensive nonsegmental vitiligo. At week 24, the mean total-body score improved by 15.7% to 19.1% across the studied povorcitinib groups while the placebo group worsened by 2.3%; the study reported limited demographic diversity. A later descriptive post hoc analysis followed 103 people who received povorcitinib throughout the study. It reported week-52 VASI50 response proportions from 25.8% for feet to 57.3% for head and neck outside the face. It had no placebo comparison at week 52 and cannot predict an individual site. The registries list 467 participants in STOP-V1 and 450 in STOP-V2. Incyte later said that at week 52, 18.9% reached F-VASI75 (at least 75% improvement from baseline in the facial score). That was versus 6.8% with placebo in STOP-V1, and 18.9% versus 3.1% in STOP-V2. Those phase 3 percentages are sponsor-reported topline results, not posted registry results or peer-reviewed findings.
- Age range
- Adults.
- Condition subtype
- Nonsegmental vitiligo.
- Severity or extent
- Phase 2 studied extensive disease. The phase 3 registries required minimum total-body and facial involvement using prespecified body-surface and VASI thresholds.
- Sample size
- Phase 2 randomized 171 adults. The phase 3 registries list 467 participants in STOP-V1 and 450 in STOP-V2.
- Geography and care setting
- A multicenter study conducted in Canada and the United States.
- Skin tone or phototype
- The descriptive extension analysis reported Fitzpatrick type subgroups.
- Race
- The descriptive extension analysis reported White and non-White subgroups.
- Ethnicity
- The phase 2 publication reported 32 of 171 participants (18.7%) as Hispanic.
- Body sites
- Facial and total-body scores were reported. A descriptive post hoc analysis of 103 extension-evaluable participants reported week-52 VASI50 response proportions from 25.8% for feet to 57.3% for head and neck outside the face. It was pooled, post hoc and lacked a week-52 placebo comparator.
What that means for this page: The peer-reviewed numeric result applies most directly to adults with extensive nonsegmental vitiligo resembling the phase 2 population. The separate STOP-V1 and STOP-V2 percentages are sponsor toplines for phase 3 adults meeting registry-defined minimum facial and total-body involvement. Phase 3 demographic subgroup tables are not public. Limited phase 2 demographic diversity and descriptive post hoc subgroup and body-region analyses restrict generalization; group results do not predict an individual or body-site response.
The phase 2 publication reported a similar incidence of grade 3 or higher treatment-emergent adverse events across study groups, and no new safety signal. The phase 3 registries excluded people with several infection, cancer, cardiovascular, clotting, pregnancy, laboratory, and prior-treatment risks. The sources I read do not include an approved povorcitinib vitiligo product label. So they do not supply a complete labeled contraindication, warning, interaction, monitoring, pregnancy, or long-term safety profile. Safety language from another JAK medicine cannot be transferred as if it were povorcitinib evidence.
- Age range
- Adults.
- Condition subtype
- Nonsegmental vitiligo.
- Severity or extent
- Extensive disease in phase 2.
- Sample size
- 168 treated adults in the phase 2 safety population.
- Geography and care setting
- A multicenter study conducted in Canada and the United States.
- Skin tone or phototype
- The phase 2 publication reported baseline Fitzpatrick skin-type categories.
- Race
- The phase 2 publication reported baseline race categories and noted limited demographic diversity.
- Ethnicity
- The phase 2 randomized population included 32 of 171 participants (18.7%) identified as Hispanic.
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: Shorter-term study reporting and phase 3 eligibility rules do not supply a complete commercial-product safety profile, long-term risk estimate, pediatric evidence, or personal risk calculation.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Pandya AG, et al.)Randomized trial · Clinical research, tier 2Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Incyte sponsored the study; several authors were Incyte employees or shareholders, and other authors disclosed company relationships.
What this source supports
Supports the randomized phase 2 design, 171 adults with extensive nonsegmental vitiligo, group-level total-body outcome, continued improvement in the extension, reported study safety and the explicit limitation of limited demographic diversity.
What it does not support
The sponsor-linked trial does not establish approval, direct superiority over another treatment, every body-site outcome, a full commercial-product safety profile, long-term safety or an individual result.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Advances in Therapy (Passeron T, et al.)Observational study · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Incyte sponsored the underlying study; several authors were Incyte employees or shareholders and other authors disclosed company relationships.
What this source supports
Supports a descriptive post hoc analysis of 103 extension-evaluable adults who received povorcitinib throughout the phase 2 study, including subgroup reporting and week-52 VASI50 response proportions ranging from 25.8% for feet to 57.3% for head and neck outside the face.
What it does not support
The small pooled extension analysis was post hoc, descriptive and lacked a placebo comparator at week 52. It does not establish a reliable individual body-site prediction, phase 3 subgroup results, comparative superiority, approval, long-term safety or a personal treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of MedicineTrial registry · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: ClinicalTrials.gov hosts the record, while Incyte sponsors the study and supplies the registered information.
What this source supports
Supports the adult randomized phase 3 design, nonsegmental-vitiligo eligibility, 467-person enrollment record, study status, registered facial outcome and absence of posted result tables when reviewed.
What it does not support
Registration is not peer review, a regulatory decision, a published benefit-risk conclusion or a personal treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of MedicineTrial registry · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: ClinicalTrials.gov hosts the record, while Incyte sponsors the study and supplies the registered information.
What this source supports
Supports the adult randomized phase 3 design, nonsegmental-vitiligo eligibility, 450-person enrollment record, study status, registered facial outcome and absence of posted result tables when reviewed.
What it does not support
Registration is not peer review, a regulatory decision, a published benefit-risk conclusion or a personal treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Incyte CorporationManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Incyte develops povorcitinib, sponsored the studies, analyzed the results and issued the topline update before full peer-reviewed results were available.
What this source supports
Supports only Incyte’s report that STOP-V1 and STOP-V2 met the facial endpoint, the stated absolute response percentages, selected topline safety language and planned future vitiligo regulatory filings.
What it does not support
The update is not peer-reviewed publication, a regulator decision, proof of availability, direct comparison with another treatment, a complete safety profile or an individual prediction.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of MedicineTrial registry · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: ClinicalTrials.gov hosts the record, while Incyte sponsors the study and supplies the registered dosing-arm information.
What this source supports
Supports the phase 2 dose-ranging trial's four randomized arms: povorcitinib 15 mg once daily escalated to 75 mg, 45 mg once daily, 75 mg once daily, and placebo crossing to 75 mg once daily at week 24. Also supports oral once-daily administration, the 24-week placebo-controlled period, and the 28-week extension to a 52-week total treatment period.
What it does not support
Registration is not peer review, a regulatory decision, a published benefit-risk conclusion, an authorized dose, or a personal treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Incyte CorporationManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Incyte operates the IncyteCARES program and lists only the medicines it chooses to cover on its own page.
What this source supports
Supports that IncyteCARES, fetched live, lists Jakafi/Jakafi XR, Monjuvi, Niktimvo, Opzelura, Pemazyre, and Zynyz as covered medicines, and that povorcitinib does not appear anywhere on the page.
What it does not support
A single-date snapshot of one manufacturer page cannot establish that no assistance program will ever exist for povorcitinib, a future commercial price, or trial-related costs.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.