Rinvoq (upadacitinib) for vitiligo: evidence, approval, and risks

The peer-reviewed vitiligo evidence behind Rinvoq is one phase 2 trial of 185 adults; the phase 3 numbers are still only what AbbVie has reported.

Medicine snapshot

Rinvoq · upadacitinib · an oral JAK inhibitor from AbbVie

European Union
Authorized on July 24, 2026 for adults and adolescents age 12 years and older with nonsegmental vitiligo who are candidates for systemic therapy.
United States
The current US product information does not include vitiligo, so use for vitiligo here is off-label.
United Kingdom
The UK product information reviewed here does not include vitiligo either.

An authorization in one place is not an approval in another, and none of it decides whether this medicine fits you. Status can change after the dates above.

What is Rinvoq, and what is it trying to change?

Rinvoq is the brand name for upadacitinib, an oral medicine made by AbbVie that changes JAK–STAT immune signaling throughout the body. Picture JAK enzymes as relay switches inside immune cells. When an outside signal arrives, the switch flips and passes on a message that keeps up immune activity tied to pigment loss. Upadacitinib is designed to jam that switch everywhere the medicine reaches in the body, not only in the skin a clinician is watching. That pathway is a supported rationale for studying vitiligo, but the exact JAK effect that explains benefit in one person is not proven. Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

Rinvoq acts throughout the body rather than only where a cream is applied. I read the current product label. It documents JAK signaling effects, and it also says the relevance of inhibiting particular JAK enzymes to effectiveness and safety remains unknown.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

A pathway explanation is not proof that the medicine fits you, that it will restore pigment, or that one body area will respond like another.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. What goal would a systemic medicine address for me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What is known versus inferred about how it works in vitiligo?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Is Rinvoq approved for vitiligo where I live?

Status depends on where you live. On July 24, 2026, the European Commission authorized Rinvoq for adults and adolescents age 12 years and older with nonsegmental vitiligo who are candidates for systemic therapy. I read the current US and UK product information, and neither one includes vitiligo. So use for vitiligo there is off-label unless a newer regulator record says otherwise. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read the European Commission record. It defines the authorized population: adults and adolescents age 12 years and older with nonsegmental vitiligo who are candidates for systemic therapy. The US DailyMed label and the UK product information I read list other immune-mediated indications, but not vitiligo.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

This is a dated status check, not a guarantee of access. A regulator decision, label revision, national reimbursement decision, or local availability can change after review. Whether you fit the authorized population, and whether this medicine is appropriate at all, is a prescriber judgment.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. Which exact jurisdiction and current label apply to me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. If use is off-label, what changes about evidence, consent, monitoring, and coverage?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Who was studied, and what were the reported results?

A peer-reviewed randomized phase 2 trial enrolled 185 adults. At the primary week-24 assessment, the facial outcome was statistically supported in two of the three studied Rinvoq groups versus placebo, but not the third. AbbVie later reported week-48 results from two randomized phase 3 studies: Study 1 included 206 people assigned Rinvoq and 102 assigned placebo; Study 2 included 205 and 101. At least 50% improvement in the total-body score occurred in 19.4% versus 5.9% and 21.5% versus 5.9%. At least 75% improvement in the facial score occurred in 25.2% versus 5.9% and 23.4% versus 6.9%. The phase 3 percentages are sponsor-reported topline results, not peer-reviewed findings. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Limited evidence

The phase 2 study was peer reviewed; its primary facial assessment was statistically supported in two of three studied Rinvoq groups, but not the third. The phase 3 design was randomized and placebo controlled, but the numerical results I read came from AbbVie’s topline report rather than a full peer-reviewed publication. “Total-body response” here means at least 50% improvement in the total-body score, and “facial response” means at least 75% improvement in the facial score, both at week 48.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

The evidence does not provide reliable separate response estimates for every priority area. Phase 2 adults, phase 3 systemic-therapy candidates, and trial eligibility rules may not represent children, localized or segmental vitiligo, lower disease burden, or excluded health conditions.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. Which result reflects the face or body area that matters to me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What did the sponsor report that has not yet been peer reviewed?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What serious risks and monitoring belong in the conversation?

The current US Rinvoq label carries boxed warnings for serious infections, mortality, malignancy, major cardiovascular events, and thrombosis. It lists known hypersensitivity to upadacitinib or an ingredient as a contraindication. The EMA says Rinvoq must not be used with tuberculosis or another serious infection, severe liver problems, or pregnancy. It also describes additional limits when no suitable alternative exists for older adults or people with cardiovascular or cancer risk. Screening, laboratory monitoring, vaccine review, pregnancy and breastfeeding precautions, medicine interactions, and personal infection, cancer, cardiovascular, clotting, and gastrointestinal history belong in specialist care. Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read the US label. It distinguishes the formal hypersensitivity contraindication from warnings and situations where use should be avoided or is not recommended. The EMA overview lists separate EU restrictions for tuberculosis or another serious infection, severe liver problems, and pregnancy. The safety conversation also requires context for infections, hepatitis, blood counts, liver tests, lipids, skin cancer, immunization, breastfeeding, and drug interactions.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Several serious boxed-warning observations are not vitiligo-specific event rates. I cannot calculate how the warnings combine for you, or decide that monitoring makes the risk acceptable.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. Which warning is most relevant to my history?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What screening and follow-up would be required?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  3. What symptoms or results would change or stop the plan?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Eight more answers: access and burden, combining with narrowband UVB, unknowns, dosing frequency and duration, cost and assistance, off-label insurance review, patient descriptions, and what to track

What practical burden and access barriers should I expect?

Rinvoq is a systemic treatment with continuing screening, laboratory, follow-up, and access burden. EU authorization does not guarantee local availability or reimbursement, and off-label US or UK use may face additional prescribing and coverage barriers. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Limited evidence

The burden includes more than taking a pill: screening, lab visits, medicine reconciliation, infection vigilance, follow-up, and a plan for interruptions or changing health all matter. Approval and reimbursement are separate decisions.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

I cannot give you a reliable personal price or coverage answer. The prescriber, pharmacy, payer, country, prior-authorization rules, and support-program terms can change what happens.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. Who coordinates screening, lab results, refills, and interruptions?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What written coverage rule applies to this exact use?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  3. What would I pay if coverage is denied or delayed?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What is known about combining Rinvoq with narrowband UVB?

A registered Viti-Up substudy is evaluating Rinvoq with narrowband UVB in selected inadequate responders, but no combination result was posted when reviewed. Evidence does not yet establish that adding phototherapy improves the benefit–risk balance. Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Not established

The registry shows that the question is being studied. That is useful research context, but a study listing is not a positive result and does not supply a combination plan.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

No posted result means benefit, added harms, monitoring, and burden remain unresolved. Separate evidence for Rinvoq and NB-UVB cannot be joined into a claim about the pair.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. Is the proposed combination established, off-label, or investigational?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What evidence supports the exact pair rather than each component alone?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  3. Who owns one coordinated plan?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What remains unknown, and how should I use patient stories?

The evidence does not establish equal response across face, hands, feet, or every other body area, and the phase 3 numbers remain sponsor-reported rather than peer reviewed. Patient stories may reveal burden and priorities, but they cannot establish effectiveness, safety, or who should take a systemic medicine. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Limited evidence

Patient experience can reveal acne, lab burden, access friction, missed work, uncertainty, family concerns, and which questions were hard to answer. Those are meaningful lived realities when they are labelled as experience.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

A post, photograph, or testimonial cannot identify cause, rule out selective reporting, establish a typical response, or replace the label and trial population. Let personal experience generate questions, not a prescription.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. What important outcome or body area was not reported?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What would make us reassess whether the burden is worth it?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  3. What are the realistic alternatives, including no active treatment now?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How often is Rinvoq taken, and how long before you would know if it is working?

The European Commission authorization sets the vitiligo dose at 15 mg upadacitinib by mouth once a day. It applies to adults and adolescents age 12 and older who weigh at least 30 kg. The two phase 3 studies assessed their co-primary results at week 48 - about eleven months after starting, not sooner. AbbVie’s own release describes response continuing to build across that full period rather than appearing early. Do not read any of this as a personal dose or schedule. A regulator record and a label are not a prescription, and neither am I. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read AbbVie’s dated approval announcement and the European Commission authorization record. Both describe the once-daily dose and the age/weight-qualified population. The phase 3 co-primary endpoints, total-body and facial response, were measured at week 48 in AbbVie’s own topline report.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

I could not pull the full authorized dosing text out of the European Commission’s own register page. It returned only a navigation template when I asked for it. The dose figure here rests on AbbVie’s dated announcement, not a regulatory document I read directly. Whether an individual should expect to notice change earlier or later than week 48 is not settled here. Whether a different dose could apply to a specific person is a prescriber decision.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. What dose and schedule are you recommending for me, and why?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. When would we first check whether it is working?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What does Rinvoq cost, and what assistance exists?

AbbVie’s own cost page lists a wholesale acquisition cost of $7,090.41 for a 30-day Rinvoq supply, as of January 6, 2026. That is the list price before insurance, discount, or any program applies, and it is not specific to the 15 mg vitiligo dose. For eligible patients with commercial insurance, the RINVOQ Complete Savings Card can bring the monthly cost to $0, subject to a monthly maximum and other program terms. It excludes anyone with Medicare, Medicaid, or another government plan. AbbVie’s myAbbVie Assist program can provide the medicine at no cost to qualifying uninsured or underinsured patients who meet AbbVie’s income and other criteria. AbbVie also gives example Medicaid and Medicare Part D costs. Medicaid runs $8 or less a month; Part D runs $0 to $2,100, depending on the coverage phase. Those are AbbVie’s own examples, not a quote for any specific plan. Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Limited evidence

I read AbbVie’s own cost page. It states the list price, the commercial-insurance savings card, the assistance program for uninsured or underinsured patients, and example Medicaid/Medicare Part D ranges.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

This is a manufacturer page describing its own programs, not independent pricing evidence or a personal quote. Program eligibility, monthly maximums, and terms can change, and the source does not confirm what any specific reader would actually pay.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. Would I qualify for the savings card or the assistance program?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What would this actually cost me under my specific plan?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

It is off-label here. Would insurance even review covering it?

Current US labeling does not include vitiligo, so a US prescription for it is off-label. Off-label use goes through its own insurance review, separate from an approved use. One commercial insurer’s own published policy shows how that review works for a non-cancer request. It first checks a recognized drug compendium, such as DrugDex. Next it checks a national cancer-drug compendium. Last it checks for a published phase 3 randomized trial. A request that clears none of those steps is denied as experimental or investigational. That same policy treats a Medicare Part D request more narrowly: it accepts only two named compendia there, and a published trial alone does not qualify. Step therapy can still apply after an off-label request is approved. A drug with no FDA approval anywhere, unlike Rinvoq, is not eligible under this kind of policy at all. Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Limited evidence

One commercial insurer’s own published policy lays out a stepped review for a non-cancer off-label request. It checks a drug compendium first, then a cancer-drug compendium, then a published phase 3 trial.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

This is one payer’s own policy, not a nationwide rule. Another plan can use a different compendium or order. It does not say whether Rinvoq’s own vitiligo evidence would clear these specific tests, or what any one plan will decide for any one patient.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. Does my plan publish an off-label review policy like this, and can I see it?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Which compendium or literature standard would my plan apply to a vitiligo request specifically?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What do other patients say about using Rinvoq, and what does Ajith’s experience add?

People I have heard from ask about side effects, and about the boxed warnings, before they ask how well a medicine works. No reader has sent me a first-hand account of Rinvoq for vitiligo yet, and I have no documented pattern of what people taking it describe. I will not invent one. This answer will grow as reader accounts come in. Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Limited evidence

What is documented instead: this is a systemic pill taken once daily, with a slow, months-long path to a measured result. It also comes with a safety conversation that belongs with a prescriber before starting.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

No one has shared yet what taking a daily pill with these warnings feels like day to day. It also cannot describe what the screening and monitoring visits are actually like, or what people wish they had known before starting.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. What have your other patients told you about staying on a systemic medicine like this for months?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What is worth tracking while taking Rinvoq?

Keep a dated log of each dose and any missed day, plus any new or worsening symptom - especially infection signs. The boxed warnings and monitoring plan above depend on catching those early. Log each screening and lab visit your prescriber sets, since the safety conversation above requires ongoing blood-count, liver, and infection review, not a one-time check. Add a same-conditions photo - same light, distance, and angle - at your first review point, then again near the week-48 mark. That is when the phase 3 studies assessed their result, so a comparison sits against the same timeline the evidence uses. Evidence Evidence

Pending clinical review

This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.

Why this matters

  • Limited evidence

A dated dose, symptom, and lab-visit record is what lets a scheduled review answer whether treatment is working and whether monitoring stays on track. The phase 3 studies’ own week-48 assessment point gives a documented timeline to compare a personal photo record against.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

A photo and symptom log do not replace a clinical exam or lab result, and cannot by themselves catch a reaction that has not yet become visible.

Questions for the prescribing specialist

  1. What should I record between now and my first review?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Which symptoms should prompt me to call before the next scheduled visit?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Questions that can change the next decision

  1. For your specialistIs systemic treatment proportionate to my goal?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. For your specialistWhich infection, cancer, clotting, cardiovascular, pregnancy, or interaction risks matter most for me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  3. For your specialistWhat is approved where I live, and what would screening and follow-up require?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence snapshot

Peer-reviewed phase 2 evidence and sponsor-reported phase 3 results answer different questions and remain limited to the studied populations and outcomes.

Phase 2
Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of 185 adults.
Phase 3
Two randomized studies with 614 adults and adolescents; week-48 numerical results remain sponsor-reported.
Body sites
Face and total-body outcomes; no reliable separate estimate for every individual site.
Combination
An NB-UVB substudy is registered; no result was posted when reviewed.
Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Applicability check

Who was studied?

These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.

A peer-reviewed randomized phase 2 trial enrolled 185 adults. At the primary week-24 assessment, the facial outcome was statistically supported in two of the three studied Rinvoq groups versus placebo, but not the third. AbbVie later reported week-48 results from two randomized phase 3 studies: Study 1 included 206 people assigned Rinvoq and 102 assigned placebo; Study 2 included 205 and 101. At least 50% improvement in the total-body score occurred in 19.4% versus 5.9% and 21.5% versus 5.9%. At least 75% improvement in the facial score occurred in 25.2% versus 5.9% and 23.4% versus 6.9%. The phase 3 percentages are sponsor-reported topline results, not peer-reviewed findings.

Age range
The phase 2 study enrolled adults. The phase 3 program enrolled adults and adolescents.
Condition subtype
Nonsegmental vitiligo.
Severity or extent
The trials required measurable facial and total-body involvement; the phase 3 population was considered eligible for systemic therapy.
Sample size
185 adults in phase 2 and 614 people across the two phase 3 studies.
Geography and care setting
Phase 2 ran at 33 sites in the United States, Canada, France, and Japan.
Skin tone or phototype
Not reported
Race
Not reported
Ethnicity
Not reported
Body sites
Facial and total-body outcomes were reported. Separate reliable response estimates for hands, feet, genitals, scalp, or other individual regions were not reported in the reviewed sources.

What that means for this page: These group results apply most directly to people resembling the trial populations. They do not predict response for an individual, establish equal effects by body site, or settle benefit and safety outside the studied population.

The current US Rinvoq label carries boxed warnings for serious infections, mortality, malignancy, major cardiovascular events, and thrombosis. It lists known hypersensitivity to upadacitinib or an ingredient as a contraindication. The EMA says Rinvoq must not be used with tuberculosis or another serious infection, severe liver problems, or pregnancy. It also describes additional limits when no suitable alternative exists for older adults or people with cardiovascular or cancer risk. Screening, laboratory monitoring, vaccine review, pregnancy and breastfeeding precautions, medicine interactions, and personal infection, cancer, cardiovascular, clotting, and gastrointestinal history belong in specialist care.

Age range
Not reported
Condition subtype
Not reported
Severity or extent
Not reported
Sample size
Not reported
Geography and care setting
Not reported
Skin tone or phototype
Not reported
Race
Not reported
Ethnicity
Not reported
Body sites
Not reported

What that means for this page: The current label supplies a general systemic JAK-inhibitor safety boundary. Some boxed-warning evidence comes from another JAK inhibitor in older rheumatoid-arthritis populations with cardiovascular risk. That evidence must not be converted into a vitiligo-specific event rate or a personal risk estimate.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. European Commission Union Register of medicinal productsRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the European Commission authorization decision dated July 24, 2026.

    What it does not support

    The authorized vitiligo population is adults and adolescents age 12 years and older with nonsegmental vitiligo who are candidates for systemic therapy. It does not establish US or UK approval, individual suitability, comparative superiority, access or an individual treatment plan.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. European Medicines AgencyRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the EMA safety overview, including EU restrictions concerning tuberculosis or another serious infection, severe liver problems, pregnancy, and additional caution when no suitable alternative exists for older adults or people with cardiovascular or cancer risk. It does not calculate personal risk, establish reimbursement, or supply a vitiligo regimen.

    What it does not support

    The product-information document linked from this page was dated before the July 24, 2026 vitiligo authorization decision and must not be treated as the source of the new vitiligo indication.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for current US labeling but not independent efficacy evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports the current US indications and boxed safety information.

    What it does not support

    Vitiligo is not among the current US indications. The label does not settle a pending application, establish approval elsewhere or create a vitiligo treatment plan.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. AbbVie via PR NewswireManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: AbbVie manufactures Rinvoq and issued this announcement. It is a current first-party statement about the regulatory status, not independent clinical evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports AbbVie’s dated statement that the European Commission approved Rinvoq for a defined nonsegmental-vitiligo population and that the US indication remained under FDA review on July 29, 2026. Also states the approved dose - 15 mg upadacitinib by mouth once daily - and the age/weight-qualified adolescent population (age 12 and older, at least 30 kg).

    What it does not support

    It does not establish a later FDA decision, UK approval, independent comparative benefit, individual suitability, access or a treatment plan.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. AbbVieManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: AbbVie manufactures Rinvoq and operates this cost and savings-program page. It is a first-party statement about list price and its own support programs, not independent pricing evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports the stated wholesale acquisition cost figure for a 30-day Rinvoq supply as of January 6, 2026. Also supports the commercial-insurance eligibility limits of the RINVOQ Complete Savings Card, the myAbbVie Assist patient-assistance program for uninsured or underinsured patients who meet AbbVie’s criteria, and AbbVie’s own example Medicaid and Medicare Part D cost ranges.

    What it does not support

    Does not establish what any one reader would actually pay, insurance-specific cost beyond the ranges AbbVie states, eligibility for a specific patient, or a price guaranteed to remain unchanged. It is not specific to the 15 mg vitiligo dose.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. Excellus BlueCross BlueShieldPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports how this payer reviews a non-cancer off-label request for an already FDA-approved drug. A commercial or exchange request is checked against DrugPoints or DrugDex first, then a cancer-drug compendium, then a published phase 3 randomized trial. A Medicare Part D request only accepts two named compendia; a published trial alone does not qualify there. A request that clears none of these steps is denied as experimental or investigational. Step therapy can still apply after an off-label request is approved. The policy also states plainly that a drug with no FDA approval anywhere is not eligible for coverage under it at all.

    What it does not support

    This is one commercial New York payer’s own published policy, not a nationwide rule. A different plan can use a different compendium, order, or standard. It does not say whether a specific drug’s vitiligo evidence would clear any of these specific tests, and it does not predict what any one plan will decide for any one patient.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. eClinicalMedicine (Passeron T, et al.)Randomized trial · Clinical research, tier 2Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: AbbVie funded the study, and multiple authors were AbbVie employees. The peer-reviewed design and results remain sponsor-linked evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports the reported randomized phase 2 design, 185-adult study population, facial and total-body outcomes, continued improvement during follow-up, and reported adverse events.

    What it does not support

    It does not establish approval, comparative superiority, reliable outcomes for individual hands or feet, long-term safety, or an individual result.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. ClinicalTrials.gov, U.S. National Library of MedicineTrial registry · Supporting research, tier 3Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: ClinicalTrials.gov hosts the record, while AbbVie sponsors the studies and supplies the registered information.

    What this source supports

    Supports the replicate randomized phase 3 protocol, enrolled population, study status, and the registered exploratory narrowband-UVB substudy. The registry did not post phase 3 result tables or a combination result when reviewed.

    What it does not support

    Registration is not peer review, regulatory approval, proof that adding phototherapy helps, or a personal treatment plan.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. AbbVieManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: AbbVie manufactures Rinvoq, sponsored the studies, analyzed the results, and issued the release before full peer-reviewed publication.

    What this source supports

    Supports only AbbVie’s reported Viti-Up enrollment, facial and total-body response percentages, selected adverse-event summary, and sponsor interpretation.

    What it does not support

    The release is not peer-reviewed trial publication, direct comparison with another treatment, body-site-specific proof for hands or feet, long-term safety evidence, or an individual prediction.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. electronic Medicines Compendium / AbbVie LtdManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The electronic Medicines Compendium hosts company-supplied UK product information. It is useful for current listed indications but is not independent clinical evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports that the UK product information reviewed did not list a vitiligo indication.

    What it does not support

    It does not prove that no later MHRA decision exists or establish status outside the UK.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

Join the waitlist

Hear when SteadySkin is available

We send only your email address and Buttondown’s non-personal embed control. We do not send a topic tag, condition, reading history, or page path, and we never sell your address. You will get a confirmation email - click the link in it to finish joining. This waitlist is not directed to children under 13. See the privacy policy. Your address is stored by Buttondown (opens in a new tab), who send the mail on our behalf and show the confirmation page.

Confirm your address, then get one email when SteadySkin is available.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.