What may be at the pharmacy
Many generics are available. The percentage alone does not tell you how strong a topical steroid is; the ingredient and formulation both matter.
US cost and coverage snapshot · checked August 16, 2026
Many generic creams and ointments are available; ingredients and potency are not interchangeable.
Vendor estimates checked August 16, 2026: many commonly used generic topical corticosteroids were roughly $10–$40 per tube with a cash discount. The ingredient, formulation, quantity, pharmacy, and location change the price.
Many are formulary medicines, but plan rules and quantity limits vary. Ask the pharmacy to compare the insurance amount with the live cash-discount amount for the exact product.
- GoodRx (opens in a new tab): Current discounted cash estimates for generic clobetasol products · vendor · low confidence · checked August 16, 2026
- GoodRx (opens in a new tab): Current discounted cash estimates for generic betamethasone dipropionate products · vendor · low confidence · checked August 16, 2026
Patient-community context · anecdotal
What some people described online
The linked discussion raised skin-thinning concerns, regimen questions, and mixed visible response. A single forum discussion cannot determine whether a specific plan is safe or how often these concerns occur.
These are self-selected posts, not clinical evidence. Diagnoses, products, other treatments, and adherence cannot be verified. There is no denominator. The posts cannot establish efficacy, frequency, typical experience, safety, what caused an experience, or support a treatment recommendation.
These posts are registered as Tier 6 lived experience for question discovery. They are not citations supporting a treatment claim. Relationship status: not established.
- Community discussion · mometasone · September 2025Pseudonymous poster in an online support group · Lived experience - not evidence · published September 8, 2025 · checked August 16, 2026The author is pseudonymous. Their identity, product use, other treatments, adherence, and financial or organizational relationships cannot be verified.
Compare this topical with another option
Why might my dermatologist offer a topical corticosteroid?
In the US, using these creams for vitiligo is usually “off-label.” The FDA has not approved them for vitiligo specifically. Your dermatologist can still prescribe them using medical judgment. Off-label does not mean the prescription is wrong for you. It also does not mean it is proven to work for you. Think of the cream as turning down the volume on the local immune signal attacking pigment-making cells in that patch. It doesn’t add color itself. It can just give your own cells room to recover enough to make some again. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the guideline and the label. These medicines affect inflammatory and immune activity in skin, and dermatology has used them for a long time. The exact medicine and the body area matter when balancing possible repigmentation against harm.
Considerations
- Depends on you
“Steroid cream” describes a large family of medicines with different formulations, labels, and risks. Use the current label and your prescriber’s instructions for the exact product.
Questions for your clinician
Why does this off-label medicine fit my vitiligo?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Why did you choose this exact product for this body area?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Where does it work best, and where does it not?
The HI-Light Vitiligo Trial is the largest randomized trial of a topical steroid cream for vitiligo. It found that participant-reported treatment success at 9 months was lower for patches on the hands and feet than for patches on other parts of the body. The trial did not publish the exact percentage for each body region in its main results. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The trial reports its headline results by treatment group, not broken out by body area, in the tables I could read directly. What is clear from that text is the direction: hands and feet did worse.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The study did not publish per-region numbers, so how much worse, or how much your own patch’s location should change what you expect, is not known.
Questions for your clinician
Does the location of my patch change what you would expect from this cream?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Would you consider something else for a harder area, like my hands or feet?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you use it, and how long before you know if it is working?
How often and how long depends on the exact product and its strength. In the HI-Light trial, the cream used was mometasone furoate 0.1% ointment (a mid-strength steroid), applied once daily on alternating weeks, for up to 9 months. For a stronger, “very potent” steroid like clobetasol propionate, the current US label limits continuous use to 2 weeks and no more than 50 grams a week. That cap exists to reduce the risk of skin thinning and other steroid-related harm. The guidelines I read describe this same alternating, or “pulsed,” pattern as a way to keep using a steroid for longer without applying it every day indefinitely. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The labels I read set duration and amount limits for their specific steroid and strength. The mometasone label separately tells prescribers to reassess the diagnosis if there is no improvement within 2 weeks. The vitiligo consensus guideline I checked recommends an intermittent regimen to reduce local side-effect risk when a steroid is used beyond a few weeks.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither the trial nor the labels set one vitiligo-specific schedule for every steroid strength. The exact regimen depends on which product you were prescribed and where.
Questions for your clinician
What exact schedule do you want me to follow - daily, alternating weeks, or something else?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How long before we check whether it is working?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How likely is it to help my patches?
Studies and guidelines show that steroid creams can help color return for some people. They cannot predict whether your patches will respond. They also cannot predict how much change you may see or whether it will last. Results differ across products, body sites, and studies. In the HI-Light trial, 17% of people using the steroid cream alone reached participant-reported treatment success at 9 months. 3% reached the trial’s stricter, blinded-assessed threshold of at least 75% repigmentation at 9 months. Across all groups in that trial, more than 40% had lost some of their treatment response by 21 months. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the evidence-based vitiligo guidelines. They include topical corticosteroids both on their own and in selected combination research. Your dermatologist interprets that evidence alongside your vitiligo pattern, apparent activity, body area, age, previous care, and goal.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Published averages describe groups, while personal response and what happens after treatment stops vary. Compare the medicine, participants, body areas, and outcomes before comparing study headlines.
Questions for your clinician
What change would count as meaningful?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What happens if it does not help?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What side effects should I understand before I start?
Steroid creams can cause skin problems where you apply them. These include thinning, small visible blood vessels, stretch-mark-like lines, and acne-like bumps. In some cases, the medicine can also get into the bloodstream. In the HI-Light trial, skin thinning was reported in about 2.5% of participants (13 of 517) across all trial groups, including one person using a placebo cream. A new skin change during treatment needs your care team’s interpretation, not an assumption either way. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The labels and dermatology guidance I read explain that thinner or sensitive skin and application over broader or covered areas can change risk. Some changes may not be fully reversible, which is why you need clear boundaries and a review plan.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A side-effect list cannot estimate your personal likelihood of harm or prove that a new change was caused by the medicine. Warnings differ by product, and new skin findings need interpretation from your care team.
Questions for your clinician
Which risks matter for this prescription and body area?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What should I track?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which changes should make me contact you?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Four more answers: cost, what other patients say, what to track, and what to settle before you leave with the prescription
What does it cost?
I could not complete a reliable retail-price check. Here is what I confirmed from the FDA labels instead. The three products I name here - mometasone furoate, clobetasol propionate, and betamethasone dipropionate - are each listed under their generic chemical name. A generic version is the standard, currently marketed form of each. Generic topical corticosteroids are, as a class, among the least expensive prescription skin medicines available. Ask your pharmacy to run both your insurance price and a discount-card price for the exact product and strength you were prescribed. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The DailyMed labels confirm each product is currently marketed under its generic chemical name.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I did not check a live pharmacy price for this figure. I could not confirm a manufacturer copay or patient-assistance program specific to these generic products as of 2026-09-08.
Questions for your clinician
Is there a lower-cost product in the same steroid class that would work just as well for this body area?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of topical corticosteroids for vitiligo yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Local skin changes (thinning, stretch marks, small visible blood vessels) are the main things dermatologists watch for with steroid creams. That is why courses are typically time-limited or intermittent.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has told me yet what day-to-day use feels like.
Questions for your clinician
What have your other patients told you about using this day to day?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
People I have heard from want to know week to week whether anything is changing. Keep a simple, dated record: which product and strength, which patch, and when you started. Add a same-conditions photo (same light, distance, and angle) each time, and note the body area, since location changes what to expect. Potent steroids are capped at short continuous courses. Mark your calendar for the reassessment point your prescriber set, rather than relying on memory. That could be as short as 2 weeks for a very potent steroid, or a longer alternating-week schedule for a milder one. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated, comparable, area-labeled record is what lets a scheduled check-in actually answer whether the medicine is working for that specific patch. It also shows whether it is time to pause, per the label’s own duration limits.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo log does not replace a clinical exam and cannot by itself tell you whether a rarer or systemic effect has started.
Questions for your clinician
What should I photograph or note between now and my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.When exactly should I stop or pause, based on what you prescribed?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What should be clear before I leave with the prescription?
Know the exact product, body area, goal, and key precautions. Ask what to track and when to contact your care team. Your prescriber provides all instructions for starting, stopping, switching, or combining treatment. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Benefits and harms can differ by body area, and the guidelines I read support planned review rather than open-ended unsupervised use. If you are also considering phototherapy or another topical, the care team needs to reconcile the full plan and current labels.
Considerations
- Depends on you
You cannot infer your plan from someone else’s prescription or an online before-and-after image. The formulation, your other medicines, age, pregnancy considerations, access, and skin findings may change what is appropriate.
Questions for your clinician
Can you write down the goal and limits for this prescription?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How does it fit with my other skin products, medicines, and treatments?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What should I track before we decide whether to continue?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence and update context
This optional layer shows the evidence boundary I reviewed as of 2026-09-19.
- What this evidence supports
- I read the guideline and the label. These medicines affect inflammatory and immune activity in skin, and dermatology has used them for a long time. The exact medicine and the body area matter when balancing possible repigmentation against harm.
- What it does not establish
- “Steroid cream” describes a large family of medicines with different formulations, labels, and risks. Use the current label and your prescriber’s instructions for the exact product.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
The HI-Light Vitiligo Trial is the largest randomized trial of a topical steroid cream for vitiligo. It found that participant-reported treatment success at 9 months was lower for patches on the hands and feet than for patches on other parts of the body. The trial did not publish the exact percentage for each body region in its main results.
- Age range
- Adults and children over age 5 were randomized. No upper age limit was set. Mean ages across groups were about 37 to 39 years.
- Condition subtype
- Nonsegmental vitiligo. Each patch had to be active within the prior 12 months.
- Severity or extent
- About 10% or less of body surface area affected.
- Sample size
- 517 people were randomized into three groups: steroid cream alone (173), home narrowband UVB alone (169), and the combination (175). All were treated at 16 UK hospitals.
- Geography and care setting
- United Kingdom. 16 hospital dermatology departments. Participants came from clinics and general-practice mailouts.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Fitzpatrick skin phototype (types I through VI) was recorded. Reported shares ran from about 1% (type I) to about 25% (type V), varying by group.
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Participant-reported success at 9 months was lower for hand and foot patches than for patches elsewhere. The trial did not publish an exact number for each body region in its main tables.
What that means for this page: This is one trial of one regimen: mometasone furoate 0.1% ointment, once daily, on alternating weeks. It reports a direction, not a number, for how body area changes response. It is not a prediction for one person, one patch, or one body site.
Studies and guidelines show that steroid creams can help color return for some people. They cannot predict whether your patches will respond. They also cannot predict how much change you may see or whether it will last. Results differ across products, body sites, and studies. In the HI-Light trial, 17% of people using the steroid cream alone reached participant-reported treatment success at 9 months. 3% reached the trial’s stricter, blinded-assessed threshold of at least 75% repigmentation at 9 months. Across all groups in that trial, more than 40% had lost some of their treatment response by 21 months.
- Age range
- Pending exact source review
- Condition subtype
- Pending exact source review
- Severity or extent
- Pending exact source review
- Sample size
- Pending exact source review
- Geography and care setting
- Pending exact source review
- Skin tone or phototype
- Pending exact source review
- Race
- Pending exact source review
- Ethnicity
- Pending exact source review
- Body sites
- Pending exact source review
What that means for this page: This is explicitly gated as a group-level outcome claim, but exact population extraction is still pending. It cannot publish or support an individual prediction until that review is complete.
Steroid creams can cause skin problems where you apply them. These include thinning, small visible blood vessels, stretch-mark-like lines, and acne-like bumps. In some cases, the medicine can also get into the bloodstream. In the HI-Light trial, skin thinning was reported in about 2.5% of participants (13 of 517) across all trial groups, including one person using a placebo cream. A new skin change during treatment needs your care team’s interpretation, not an assumption either way.
- Age range
- Pending exact source review
- Condition subtype
- Pending exact source review
- Severity or extent
- Pending exact source review
- Sample size
- Pending exact source review
- Geography and care setting
- Pending exact source review
- Skin tone or phototype
- Pending exact source review
- Race
- Pending exact source review
- Ethnicity
- Pending exact source review
- Body sites
- Pending exact source review
What that means for this page: This is explicitly gated as a safety claim, but exact population extraction is still pending. It cannot publish or support an estimate of individual risk until that review is complete.
Guidelines support selected topical corticosteroids for limited vitiligo, but one studied mometasone-and-light combination cannot establish benefit for every steroid, formulation, or body area.
- Age range
- Pending exact source review
- Condition subtype
- Pending exact source review
- Severity or extent
- Pending exact source review
- Sample size
- Pending exact source review
- Geography and care setting
- Pending exact source review
- Skin tone or phototype
- Pending exact source review
- Race
- Pending exact source review
- Ethnicity
- Pending exact source review
- Body sites
- Pending exact source review
What that means for this page: The guideline and HI-Light trial cover defined but different populations and treatment contexts. Exact extraction remains pending, and the evidence cannot be transferred to every steroid product, formulation, body site, or plan.
Current mometasone, clobetasol, and betamethasone labels describe local and systemic risks that depend on the exact ingredient, formulation, body area, exposure, and patient context.
- Age range
- Pending exact source review
- Condition subtype
- Pending exact source review
- Severity or extent
- Pending exact source review
- Sample size
- Pending exact source review
- Geography and care setting
- Pending exact source review
- Skin tone or phototype
- Pending exact source review
- Race
- Pending exact source review
- Ethnicity
- Pending exact source review
- Body sites
- Pending exact source review
What that means for this page: These are product-label safety boundaries across different labeled skin conditions, not vitiligo-specific event rates. Exact population and body-site extraction remains pending and the products are not interchangeable.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace; displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.
What this source supports
Supports only one input to the dated generic topical-corticosteroid cost band.
What it does not support
It does not establish another corticosteroid product’s price, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace; displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.
What this source supports
Supports only one input to the dated generic topical-corticosteroid cost band.
What it does not support
It does not establish another corticosteroid product’s price, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent efficacy evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the approved indication and product-specific local and systemic corticosteroid warnings for this ointment.
What it does not support
It is one current US product label, not a vitiligo indication, a class-wide substitute for every corticosteroid label or independent evidence of vitiligo benefit. Its Dosage and Administration section supports discontinuing once control is achieved and reassessing the diagnosis if no improvement is seen within 2 weeks; its Patient Counseling section notes pediatric safety and effectiveness beyond 3 weeks of use is not known. It is one currently marketed product listed under its generic chemical name, not a brand-name label.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent vitiligo evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the 0.05% ointment identity and product-specific potency, local-reaction, skin-atrophy, systemic-absorption, body-area and duration warnings.
What it does not support
It does not approve clobetasol for vitiligo, establish vitiligo benefit, or create a regimen for another product. Its Dosage and Administration section supports that treatment should be limited to 2 consecutive weeks and that amounts greater than 50 g per week should not be used, stated specifically to reduce the risk of HPA-axis suppression and local skin effects. It is one currently marketed product listed under its generic chemical name, not a brand-name label.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent vitiligo evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the 0.05% cream identity, current tube presentations and product-specific warnings.
What it does not support
It does not approve betamethasone dipropionate for vitiligo, establish vitiligo benefit, or show that similarly numbered steroid percentages have the same potency.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- British Journal of Dermatology (Thomas KS, et al.)Randomized trial · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports a group-level benefit for the exact supervised topical-corticosteroid and home handheld-light combination studied in active limited vitiligo, alongside minority success, reactions and limited maintenance after treatment ended.
What it does not support
It does not create a general home plan, support other product-device combinations or predict an individual result. The topical-corticosteroid-alone arm used mometasone furoate 0.1% ointment, applied once daily on alternating weeks for up to 9 months. It supports 17% (20/119) reaching participant-reported treatment success at 9 months, and 3% (4/115) reaching the trial’s stricter blinded-assessed ≥75% repigmentation at 9 months. Skin thinning was reported in 2.5% (13/517) of participants across all trial groups, including one on placebo ointment. Over 40% of participants across all groups reported loss of treatment response by 21 months. It supports that participant-reported treatment success at 9 months was lower for patches on the hands and feet than on other body regions, without publishing an exact per-region percentage in its main results tables. The trial randomized 517 adults and children, aged over 5, with nonsegmental vitiligo covering about 10% or less of body surface area and at least one patch active in the prior 12 months, across 16 UK hospitals.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and VenereologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The journal is the publisher. This label refers to extensive author relationships disclosed for the recommendation, not to the journal itself.
What this source supports
It supports current expert-consensus terminology, clinical assessment, disease-activity evaluation, treatment-goal discussion, and shared decision-making. Its modified assessment check list names where the patches are as a disease feature, and gives genital involvement as its own example. It records white hairs as an item of its own, apart from what the vitiligo has done in the past six months. Its classification table keeps mucosal vitiligo as a subtype, both across more than one site and at one site alone. It supports planning care around what is there to work with, and its example is hair that still has its color. It names stable vitiligo and active vitiligo as two different states that change the care plan. Its shared-decision steps ask what the patient wants from care. At the time it was written, one cream form of a newer drug type had just been approved. Pill forms of that same drug type were still being studied.
What it does not support
It is not independent comparative proof. It cannot diagnose a reader from a description or photograph. It gives no figure for genital involvement, and it does not name lichen sclerosus. It does not set out the Vitiligo European Task Force grading scale. It puts no figure on white hairs and predicts nothing for one person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- British Journal of Dermatology (Eleftheriadou V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the clinical history and assessment domains, evaluation of associated autoimmune conditions, its recommendation for thyroid function and antithyroid antibody screening, current classification context, treatment-option map, psychosocial assessment, medical photography and the limits of pediatric evidence. Its classification table defines mucosal vitiligo as the oral or genital mucosae. One mucosal site alone is filed as undetermined or unclassified. Its differential diagnosis table lists genital or extragenital lichen sclerosus among the conditions that can be mistaken for vitiligo. That table also lists eczema, psoriasis, lichen planus, pityriasis alba and piebaldism. It calls autoimmunity a contributor to the pathogenesis of vitiligo. It reports an earlier review finding a possible negative impact on intimacy and sexual functioning. It tells clinicians to discuss the psychosocial impact of living with the condition. R28 offers a skin camouflage visit to people who want one. R10 to R14 name potent or very potent topical steroids as the first choice, with a topical calcineurin-inhibitor cream as an option for the face. These are different creams with different proof behind them. R20 names narrowband UVB as the first light option. It says the skin often does better on the face and trunk than on hands and feet. It says there is not enough proof to use any one current pill alone for vitiligo that is not changing. R25 and Table 2 keep cell grafting for vitiligo that is not changing and did not respond to other care. They also say a doctor cannot always tell if the vitiligo has truly stopped changing.
What it does not support
It was designed for UK care and reviewed literature through May 2019; it does not establish a universal testing plan, prescribe an individual plan, or establish current US labeling or coverage. Its differential diagnosis table is a list, not a method a reader can apply to their own skin. It does not say how to tell any two of those conditions apart. It gives no figure for how often vitiligo affects genital skin.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.