Every other insurance page here is US. Here's what four other systems actually do

Every other insurance page here is written for the US. I wrote this one for the NHS, Canada, Australia, and Ayushman Bharat instead: what they publish about paying for a dermatologist visit and phototherapy.

Access snapshot

Keep the rule, the record, and the next contact together.

  1. Identify the governing document
  2. Organize the requested record
  3. Keep every notice
  4. Confirm the next route

I don't live in the US. Does the general information here still apply to me, and how does the NHS work in the UK?

Most of it still applies. What vitiligo and psoriasis are, how the treatments work, and what patients report about living with either condition doesn't change by country. What changes is how you pay for care and how you get referred to a dermatologist. The other insurance pages I have written here are for US insurance and do not apply outside it. In the UK, seeing a GP and being treated by an NHS dermatologist is free at the point of use everywhere. What differs is the prescription charge. England charges £9.90 per item. Scotland, Wales, and (per the Welsh Government) Northern Ireland charge nothing at all. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

  • Vitiligo: a GP may start with sun-safety advice, camouflage cream, or topical steroids. They refer to a dermatologist when more than 10% of the body is affected, or when topical steroids have not worked.
  • Psoriasis: a GP can prescribe some treatments directly, or refer to a dermatologist for options such as light therapy and other medicines when the disease is more severe.
  • Camouflage cream matching is a free NHS service, and some camouflage creams can be prescribed.
  • Skin-graft and related depigmentation-reversal procedures are not widely available in the UK and are not NHS-funded.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read what the NHS and the devolved UK governments publish about themselves. These are their own rules, not a prediction of your own waiting time or referral outcome.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

I found no separate charge for phototherapy itself in those sources, and no Northern Ireland primary source at all. Only the Welsh Government's own account says Northern Ireland followed Wales's lead. Referral wait times are not reported by any of these sources.

Questions for your own GP, provincial plan, Medicare office, or scheme helpline

  1. Do I meet the referral threshold you use for a dermatologist?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Is phototherapy available at this practice, and what happens if it is not?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How does it work in Canada?

Canada's public health insurance is run by each province and territory. It covers medically necessary physician and hospital services. That generally includes a dermatologist visit and hospital-based phototherapy. Evidence

  • Covered: medically necessary hospital and physician services, including primary care and specialist visits.
  • Not automatically covered: outpatient prescription drugs and home medical equipment. These usually need a separate provincial drug plan or private insurance.
  • Some provinces and territories add coverage for specific groups, such as seniors or children.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read Health Canada's own federal-level description of how the system is structured. It is not a province-by-province breakdown.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Each province and territory sets its own drug formulary and supplementary rules. This source does not itemize them. If you're in Canada, your own provincial or territorial health ministry is the source for what your plan actually lists.

Questions for your own GP, provincial plan, Medicare office, or scheme helpline

  1. Does my provincial plan cover phototherapy delivered in a clinic or hospital?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What does my province's drug plan cover for a prescribed topical or systemic treatment?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How does it work in Australia?

Medicare pays 85% of the schedule fee for a specialist visit like a dermatologist appointment. That rebate only applies with a referral. Without one, Medicare covers none of the cost. Separately, the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS) subsidizes the cost of medicine for most conditions. Evidence Evidence Evidence

  • A GP referral is needed for the Medicare rebate to apply. Most referrals last 12 months, covering a single course of treatment.
  • A specialist can charge more than the schedule fee. The difference is an out-of-pocket gap, which private hospital insurance may help cover.
  • PBS-listed medicines are dispensed by a pharmacist for use at home. Some higher-risk medicines are only available through a specialized medical service.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read the structural rules Medicare and the PBS publish about themselves. That means what percentage is rebated, and that a referral is required.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

None of these sources give a dollar figure for the schedule fee, the typical gap, or the PBS co-payment. Those change, so I do not put a number here. None of them confirm whether a specific vitiligo or psoriasis medicine is PBS-listed.

Questions for your own GP, provincial plan, Medicare office, or scheme helpline

  1. What will the gap fee likely be for this specialist visit?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Is the medicine you are prescribing me PBS-listed, and if not, what would I pay?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How does it work in India?

India's national government health scheme, Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY, gives eligible families health cover of 5 lakh rupees per family per year. That cover is for hospitalization, not routine outpatient visits. Evidence

  • Eligibility: the scheme identifies over 12 crore families as the poorest 40% of India's population.
  • Covered: secondary and tertiary care hospitalization.
  • Not covered by PM-JAY: an ordinary outpatient dermatology appointment for vitiligo or psoriasis, since that is not a hospitalization.

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read the scheme's own government description. The scope it states is hospitalization cover, not a general outpatient benefit.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

This source does not describe how a family confirms its own PM-JAY eligibility. I have no source for typical out-of-pocket outpatient dermatology costs in India either. Whichever of these four systems you are in, none of them can tell you in advance what your own referral or claim will decide. The practical step is the same everywhere. Ask your system's own front door - a GP, a family doctor, or a scheme helpline - directly. Ask before treatment starts. Ask what your coverage automatically includes and what you would pay if it does not.

Questions for your own GP, provincial plan, Medicare office, or scheme helpline

  1. Is my family PM-JAY-eligible, and does that cover this outpatient visit?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What does my coverage automatically include for this, and what would I pay out of pocket if it does not?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. NHS (UK)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that a GP may recommend sun safety, camouflage cream, or topical steroids first. Supports that a GP refers to a dermatologist when more than 10% of the body is affected by vitiligo, or when topical steroids have not worked. Supports that camouflage cream matching is free, and that some camouflage creams can be prescribed on the NHS. Supports that skin-graft and related procedures are not widely available in the UK and are not funded by the NHS.

    What it does not support

    Does not state whether dermatologist-recommended treatments such as phototherapy carry a separate charge beyond the standard prescription rules. Does not describe access outside the UK.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. NHS (UK)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that a GP can prescribe some psoriasis treatments directly, or refer to a dermatologist. Supports that light therapy and medicines are options for more severe psoriasis, sometimes combined.

    What it does not support

    Does not give referral criteria, such as a percentage-of-body threshold, the way the vitiligo page does. Does not state a specific cost or charge for phototherapy itself.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. NHS (UK)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the current England NHS prescription charge of £9.90 per item. Supports that the charge applies per item rather than per prescription: three medicines on one prescription means paying the charge three times.

    What it does not support

    Does not address Scotland, Wales, or Northern Ireland. Each sets its own prescription-charge rules.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. UK Government legislation (legislation.gov.uk)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that this regulation abolished prescription charges payable on Scottish prescription forms, in force from 1 April 2011. Charges were retained for English prescription forms presented at a Scottish pharmacy.

    What it does not support

    Does not address Wales, Northern Ireland, or England directly.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. Welsh Government (gov.wales)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that Wales has provided free NHS prescription medicine since 1 April 2007. In the Welsh Government’s own account, Scotland and Northern Ireland later followed with their own free-prescription policies.

    What it does not support

    Is a Welsh Government statement, not a Northern Ireland primary source. It does not carry Northern Ireland’s own rule text or start date.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. Health Canada, Government of CanadaRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that provincial and territorial public health plans cover needed hospital and doctor care, and some surgery-dental work. Supports that plans do not automatically cover home care, vision care, dental care, prescription drugs, and ambulance rides. People pay for those themselves, or through private insurance. Some provinces and territories add coverage for certain groups.

    What it does not support

    Is a federal-level overview. It does not break down any one province or territory’s own drug list or extra-coverage rules.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. healthdirect Australia (Australian Government-funded)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that Medicare pays 85% of the set fee for a specialist visit. Supports that a doctor can choose to charge more than that fee. Supports that private hospital insurance may cover part of the gap.

    What it does not support

    Does not give the set fee or gap amount for a dermatology visit. Does not track how those figures change over time.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. healthdirect Australia (Australian Government-funded)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that Medicare will not cover any cost of a specialist visit made without a referral. Supports that a referral lets Medicare cover at least part of the cost. Supports that most GP-to-specialist referrals last 12 months, covering a single course of treatment.

    What it does not support

    Does not address referral rules for a telehealth-only or self-referred visit. It gives only the general 12-month figure.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme, Australian Government Department of HealthRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that the Australian government cuts the cost of medicine for most conditions through the PBS. Supports that most listed medicines come from a pharmacist for use at home. Supports that some higher-risk medicines are only given under specialist medical supervision.

    What it does not support

    Does not state the current patient co-payment amount. Does not say whether any specific vitiligo or psoriasis medicine is PBS-listed.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. Prasar Bharati / newsonair.gov.in (Government of India)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY identifies over 12 crore poor and vulnerable families as the bottom 40% of India’s population. Supports that it gives each of those families 5 lakh rupees per year in health cover. Supports that this cover is specifically for hospital care.

    What it does not support

    Does not state that PM-JAY covers routine outpatient visits. Does not describe how a family confirms its own eligibility. Does not state typical out-of-pocket outpatient costs in India.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

Join the waitlist

Hear when SteadySkin is available

SteadySkin currently supports vitiligo. You can use this guide without the app.

We send only your email address and Buttondown’s non-personal embed control. We do not send a topic tag, condition, reading history, or page path, and we never sell your address. You will get a confirmation email - click the link in it to finish joining. This waitlist is not directed to children under 13. See the privacy policy. Your address is stored by Buttondown (opens in a new tab), who send the mail on our behalf and show the confirmation page.

Confirm your address, then get one email when SteadySkin is available.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.