Psoriasis treatment options: how to understand my choices

If you have been diagnosed with psoriasis and are wondering what happens next, start here.

Five treatment paths exist, from supportive care to biologics, compared side by side below.

5treatment paths to compareFrom supportive care to biologics

Compare the paths before choosing one

These are families of treatment, not a ranked ladder. Compare only the paths that are realistic for you.

Supportive care without a new medicine

When it may enter the conversation

When patches are small or settled, or you want time to think.

Possible benefit

Keeps skin comfortable while leaving the decision open.

Harms and limits

Does not aim to clear plaques or stop a flare from spreading.

Time and treatment burden

Low. Agree on what would bring you back sooner.

Access

Usually needs no prescription or prior authorization.

Reversibility and uncertainty

Fully reversible, but psoriasis can change while you wait.

Evidence Evidence

Medicine you apply to the skin

When it may enter the conversation

When a dermatologist thinks a cream, ointment or foam matches your plaques.

Possible benefit

Can flatten plaques, lift scale and calm itch where applied.

Harms and limits

Products differ in approval status, skin reactions and where they can go.

Time and treatment burden

Applying it yourself, and reaching every patch.

Access

Prescription coverage, pharmacy stock and cost vary by product.

Reversibility and uncertainty

Can be stopped with clinical guidance. Stopping a steroid abruptly can trigger a flare.

Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Medically supervised narrowband UVB

When it may enter the conversation

When light treatment is clinically appropriate and repeated visits are workable.

Possible benefit

Treats widespread skin without adding a medicine that circulates.

Harms and limits

Sunburn-like reactions and a long-term skin cancer risk.

Time and treatment burden

Repeated supervised sessions across several weeks, plus travel.

Access

Clinic capacity, device coverage and supplier rules can all limit it.

Reversibility and uncertainty

The care team can pause sessions. Response varies.

Evidence Evidence Evidence

Oral systemic medicine

When it may enter the conversation

When psoriasis is moderate to severe, or a high-impact site is involved.

Possible benefit

Acts throughout the body rather than patch by patch.

Harms and limits

Monitoring, pregnancy rules and drug interactions differ sharply by drug.

Time and treatment burden

Taking it consistently, plus the blood tests a given drug needs.

Access

Coverage rules and a step-therapy requirement may apply.

Reversibility and uncertainty

Stopping is possible with clinical guidance, but some restrictions outlast the course.

Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Injected or infused biologics

When it may enter the conversation

When psoriasis is moderate to severe, or the joints are involved too.

Possible benefit

Targets one part of the immune response, and can help joints too.

Harms and limits

Infection risk rises, and screening is expected before starting.

Time and treatment burden

Injections at home, or infusion visits, and repeat screening.

Access

Prior authorization, specialty pharmacy and copay programs are common.

Reversibility and uncertainty

Treatment can be stopped by the care team. Personal response is uncertain.

Evidence Evidence Evidence

Do I have to start a treatment now?

Not always. Once the diagnosis is settled and urgent changes are ruled out, waiting can be a deliberate choice. You can revisit it whenever your priorities change. Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

The guidance I read treats psoriasis care as parallel options, not one ladder everyone climbs. Supportive skin care and a review date can sit alongside a decision to wait.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Psoriasis can spread while you wait, and joint symptoms can begin separately. Agree which changes should bring you back sooner.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. If I wait, what change in my skin or joints should bring me back sooner?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What can I do for the itch and the scale while I decide?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What are the creams and ointments I might hear about?

Several, and they are not versions of one product. Topical steroids come in many strengths. Calcipotriene and calcitriol are synthetic vitamin D. Tazarotene is a retinoid. Protopic (tacrolimus) and Elidel (pimecrolimus) are eczema medicines used off-label. Roflumilast and tapinarof are steroid-free creams approved for plaque psoriasis. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

Where a plaque sits matters. Thin skin on the face and in skin folds is where a strong steroid carries thinning and stretch-mark risk. That is where the off-label and steroid-free options get discussed.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Evidence for one product does not transfer to another. The patient pages I read give no percentage of people who improve, and coverage can change.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Is this product approved for psoriasis, or is it off-label for me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Which of my patches is this for, and which ones need something different?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

When does light treatment come up?

Narrowband UVB is an established, medically supervised option for psoriasis on the skin. It slows rapidly growing skin cells, quiets an overactive immune response, and reduces inflammation and itch. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the joint dermatology and patient-foundation guideline. It gives narrowband UVB on its own a grade-A recommendation for adults with plaque psoriasis, run as repeated supervised sessions across several weeks.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Response varies, and nothing I read forecasts your own result. Sunburn-like reactions, pigment change and a long-term skin cancer risk belong in the conversation.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Would clinic sessions or a home unit be realistic for my work and travel?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. How will we judge whether the light treatment is helping my plaques?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Could a pill be an option for me?

Oral systemic medicine comes up when psoriasis is moderate to severe, or sits on a high-impact site. Methotrexate, cyclosporine and acitretin are long-established. Apremilast and deucravacitinib are newer targeted tablets. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

What they ask of you differs most in monitoring. Methotrexate needs regular blood tests. Cyclosporine has kidney function and blood pressure watched. Acitretin carries a pregnancy contraindication. The page I read describes apremilast as needing no medical tests while taken.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Nothing I read sets one universal monitoring interval, and nothing predicts your response. Interactions, alcohol rules and pregnancy planning are individual questions.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Given my other medicines and my liver or kidney history, which of these is realistic?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What monitoring would I be signing up for, and who orders it?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

When are biologics considered?

Biologics are grouped by the immune target they block. They reach the body by injection or by an infusion given in a clinic, and some injections can be given at home. People I have heard from ask about side effects before anything else here. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

A dermatologist typically expects blood tests and tuberculosis testing before you start one. Infection risk rises on treatment, so fever, cough or flu-like symptoms are worth reporting promptly. Some also act on psoriatic arthritis.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

The patient pages I read do not report trial-response figures, an exact screening protocol or a price. Prior authorization and copay programs shape what you actually pay.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Which class would you start with for my psoriasis, and why that one first?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What screening do I need before starting, and how often is it repeated?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What would each option ask of me week to week?

Route, effort and monitoring separate these families in daily life. Ask about all three before the appointment ends. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

  • Route: applied to the skin, taken by mouth, injected, infused in a clinic, or given as supervised light.
  • Effort: reaching every patch yourself, or fitting appointments around work.
  • Monitoring: blood tests, blood pressure or kidney checks, screening, or none.

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

Two options with similar published results can still differ sharply here. The sources I read name monitoring for methotrexate, cyclosporine and the biologics, and say apremilast needs none.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Nothing I read describes how a monitoring routine feels to live with, or what your plan will cover. Program terms can change without notice.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Which of these would fit my week best, given my job and my travel?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. If the monitoring becomes too much for me, what is the next option we would look at?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How do I decide which options are worth discussing for me?

Start from the goal you want help with. Then put two or three realistic options beside each other and ask the same questions of each one. Evidence Evidence Evidence

  • What is this option meant to do for me?
  • What harms and precautions come with it?
  • What does it ask of me week to week?
  • What monitoring does it need?
  • What will it cost, and what does my plan require?
  • What would waiting mean instead?

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

The guidance I read supports shared decisions that weigh your skin, your joints, your health history and your life. The families are parallel options, not steps in a fixed order.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

A comparison cannot weigh benefit, harm, burden and cost the way you would. A missing answer stays missing rather than becoming a score.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Which two or three options are realistic for my psoriasis and my goal right now?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What would make us review or change this plan later?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.

    What it does not support

    It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.

    What this source supports

    Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.

    What it does not support

    It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category context.

    What this source supports

    Supports patient-facing context that methotrexate, apremilast, deucravacitinib and acitretin are real oral treatment options discussed in psoriasis care.

    What it does not support

    It does not determine personal suitability, comparative benefit, coverage or a treatment sequence.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch, and slow skin-cell growth. They come in strengths from very mild to extremely strong and are typically applied twice daily. Strong products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. Most people see results with short twice-daily use, and no improvement after four to six weeks is a signal to return to the prescriber.

    What it does not support

    The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name potency classes by number, give a percentage of people who improve, or set a maximum course length.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed.

    What this source supports

    Supports that topical steroids range from super-potent to least potent, and that guidance advises not using one for longer than three weeks without checking with a clinician. Side effects include skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and dilated blood vessels. Systemic absorption is a risk with widespread, prolonged or occluded use, and abruptly stopping a topical steroid can cause a psoriasis flare.

    What it does not support

    It does not name which specific product falls in which potency class, quantify how often a side effect occurs, or set a course length for any specific product or body site.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that synthetic vitamin D (vitamin D analogues) slows rapidly growing skin cells, flattens thick psoriasis, and removes scale, and can treat nail and scalp psoriasis specifically. Most people apply it twice a day and notice improvement within about two weeks. It can be safely combined with a strong corticosteroid. The combination tends to work better than either alone and can reduce the side effects that come with using a strong steroid, which allows longer-term use. Common side effects are irritated skin, burning, itching, swelling, peeling, dryness, and redness, which typically resolve with continued use. A more serious but low-risk side effect is hypercalcemia, which can weaken bones, cause kidney stones, or affect the heart and brain.

    What it does not support

    The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name a specific percentage of people who improve, quantify how often hypercalcemia occurs, or set a maximum course length.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed.

    What this source supports

    Supports that Dovonex (calcipotriene), a synthetic vitamin D3, slows skin cell growth, flattens plaques, and removes scale, and treats scalp and nail psoriasis. Supports that Vectical (calcitriol), the naturally occurring active form of vitamin D3, helps control excessive skin cell production and cannot be applied to the face, lips, or eyes. Supports that Taclonex combines calcipotriene with a steroid. Calcipotriene side effects listed: skin irritation, stinging, burning, dry skin, peeling, rash, dermatitis, and worsening of psoriasis. Calcitriol side effects: excessive calcium in urine is common. An extremely uncommon side effect is a change in calcium metabolism limits, which should stop treatment until calcium normalizes. Increased skin tumor risk from light sensitivity is also noted. Supports that Tazorac (tazarotene), a vitamin A derivative topical retinoid, slows skin cell growth. It is normal for psoriasis plaques to become very red, often intensely so but generally not painful, before clearing when using tazarotene. Tazarotene side effects include skin irritation, dry skin, and increased sun sensitivity; sunscreen and protective clothing are recommended during use.

    What it does not support

    It does not give an application frequency for calcitriol, name a percentage of people who improve, or publish pricing. It does not mention combining tazarotene with a steroid or include a pregnancy warning for tazarotene on this page.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that tazarotene, a topical retinoid (synthetic vitamin A), slows rapidly growing skin cells, reduces thick psoriasis, decreases scale, and lessens redness and swelling. Often prescribed alongside a topical corticosteroid, which reduces skin irritation and produces longer-lasting results and a longer remission than tazarotene alone. Applied once daily as a thin layer. A few patients see complete clearing; most see about a 50% reduction, with remission lasting up to three months. Common side effects are irritation (redness, peeling, dryness, itching, burning) and increased sun sensitivity. Must not be used during pregnancy because it can cause birth defects. On nail psoriasis, can reduce nail thickness, treat crumbling nails, and help restore normal nail growth.

    What it does not support

    The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name an exact percentage-of-patients figure beyond "most," quantify how often a side effect occurs, or state a fixed number of weeks before a check-in.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that tacrolimus ointment and pimecrolimus cream are FDA approved to treat atopic dermatitis (eczema), not psoriasis, so dermatologists prescribe either for psoriasis off-label. Supports use on plaque psoriasis on the face and other delicate areas including the genitals, and on inverse psoriasis (armpits, under the breasts, groin, or face). Supports that most people apply either medicine twice a day, and that no improvement after six weeks is a signal to check back with a dermatologist. Supports that the FDA warns of a possible increased risk of lymphoma or skin cancer, while noting dermatologists have not observed this increased risk in day-to-day practice.

    What it does not support

    The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not explain the calcineurin mechanism of action, name a percentage of people who improve, or state a retail price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that roflumilast (Zoryve) cream is FDA approved for patients with plaque psoriasis, applied once a day as instructed. Supports that in the studies that led to approval it worked quickly to reduce itch and clear psoriasis. Supports that a roflumilast foam version treats scalp and body psoriasis, applied once daily. Supports the patient-facing side-effect list for the cream: diarrhea, headache, and feeling sick to your stomach (nausea). Supports, for tapinarof (VTAMA) cream, that it is prescribed for adults with mild, moderate, or severe psoriasis and can be applied anywhere on the body, including the face. Supports that about 40% of patients were clear or almost clear after 12 weeks of using it, and that patients who stopped after clearing stayed clear for an average of 12 weeks. Supports that the most common side effect is a skin reaction.

    What it does not support

    The page does not name an exact response percentage, a specific check-in timeline, or a retail price for roflumilast. For tapinarof, the page does not name folliculitis specifically, break down its "skin reaction" side effect by exact rate, or state a retail price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  11. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  12. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  13. Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Elmets CA, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: A joint guideline from a specialty society and a patient group. Authors report their own conflicts in the published article. It is authoritative for evidence grading, not independent proof for one reader.

    What this source supports

    Supports a grade-A recommendation for narrowband UVB monotherapy in adults with plaque psoriasis. Supports thrice-weekly dosing for generalized plaque psoriasis at grade B, noting twice-weekly dosing as an alternative some patients prefer despite a longer course. Supports that patients receiving twice-weekly narrowband UVB achieved clearance in a mean of 88 days, compared with 58 days for those receiving three treatments a week. Supports that maintenance therapy, once psoriasis has cleared, can continue as a taper or as an indefinite treatment every one to two weeks. Supports a grade-B recommendation for combining acitretin with PUVA. Cites one 60-patient trial of severe psoriasis in which 96 percent cleared with combined PUVA plus acitretin, compared with 80 percent on PUVA alone, using a 43 percent lower cumulative UVA dose in the combination group. Supports that acitretin can also be combined with broadband UVB for generalized plaque psoriasis, clearing patches more rapidly than UVB monotherapy with a lower required cumulative UVB dose. The full article text could not be fetched directly (blocked to automated retrieval); these figures were cross-verified via independently converging secondary reporting of the published guideline rather than read directly from the publisher page.

    What it does not support

    Does not predict an individual reader’s clearance timeline or guarantee any specific outcome, and does not itself state a retail cost. The acitretin-combination trial is a single 60-patient study, not a larger pooled result. It does not establish the same benefit for narrowband UVB specifically; the broadband-UVB combination finding is reported separately, without the same trial-level statistic. Acitretin carries its own pregnancy contraindication and monitoring needs that this source does not detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  14. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that methotrexate works by suppressing the overactive immune system behind psoriasis, and can effectively treat severe psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, and nail psoriasis. Supports that most people taking methotrexate see less psoriasis in four to six weeks, with full clearing sometimes taking up to six months. Supports that methotrexate is usually taken once a week, never more often without a dermatologist saying so. Supports that it comes as a pill, liquid, or at-home injection, and that it should be supplemented with folic acid. Supports the common side effects of vomiting, nausea, appetite loss, mouth sores, mouth redness and swelling, and fatigue. Supports that these should be reported to a dermatologist right away.

    What it does not support

    Does not report an exact side-effect rate, does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  15. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that methotrexate binds to and inhibits an enzyme involved in the rapid growth of skin cells, slowing that growth. Supports that regular blood tests are required to confirm the drug is being safely processed by the liver, white blood cells, and bone marrow. Supports that less common long-term risks include liver damage and reversible liver scarring, a reduced white blood cell count with higher infection risk, and rare lymphoma or bone marrow toxicity. Supports that alcohol should be avoided to reduce liver problems. Supports that men should be off methotrexate at least three months, and women at least four months, before trying to conceive.

    What it does not support

    Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  16. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that cyclosporine is an immunosuppressant originally developed to prevent organ rejection in transplant recipients, and that its psoriasis benefit was found by accident in transplant patients. Supports that it is taken daily as a pill, at the same time each day, and that a course typically runs 12 to 16 weeks. Supports that 80% to 90% of patients treated for 12 to 16 weeks had rapid improvement, and that remission after stopping lasts about 14 weeks. Supports that the most serious possible side effects are kidney damage and high blood pressure, with blood pressure checked every other week initially. Supports an increased risk of squamous cell skin cancer, higher for people who have had more than 200 PUVA treatments. Supports avoiding grapefruit, grapefruit juice, St. John’s Wort, and heavy alcohol, and consulting a dermatologist before vaccination.

    What it does not support

    Does not report an exact side-effect rate, does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  17. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that cyclosporine suppresses the immune system and slows the growth of certain immune cells. Supports that it is taken daily by mouth as a capsule or liquid, and that a lower dose may be used when combined with a topical treatment. Supports that the FDA recommends cyclosporine not be used for longer than one year, though some doctors prescribe it longer, and that there is no specific guideline for how long to wait before resuming it. Supports that some improvement can appear after two weeks on stronger doses, with three to four months typically needed to reach optimal control. Supports that people previously treated with methotrexate, PUVA, UVB, coal tar, or radiation therapy face an increased skin-cancer risk on cyclosporine. Supports that kidney function is monitored before and during treatment, blood pressure is checked frequently, grapefruit juice should be avoided, and vaccines may be less effective while on cyclosporine.

    What it does not support

    Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  18. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that acitretin is an oral retinoid, related to vitamin A, that the FDA has approved for severe psoriasis and that it does not suppress the immune system. Supports that it treats guttate, plaque, and pustular psoriasis on the hands and feet, extensive pustular psoriasis, erythrodermic psoriasis, and severe psoriasis in HIV-positive patients. Supports that it is taken once a day after the main meal, with fat-containing food or milk to help absorption. Supports that most patients start seeing some improvement after about two weeks, and that it can take up to twelve weeks. Supports common side effects including cracked and swollen lips, dry eyes and mouth, chapped skin, hair loss, brittle nails, unhealthy cholesterol levels, and vision problems. Supports that women who are pregnant or plan to become pregnant should not take acitretin. Supports that they must wait three years after stopping before trying to become pregnant, and should not donate blood during that same three-year window.

    What it does not support

    Does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial adverse-reaction rate table, does not report an alcohol-interaction warning, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  19. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that Soriatane (acitretin) is FDA-approved for severe plaque, guttate, pustular, erythrodermic, or palmoplantar psoriasis in adults, and that the exact way it controls psoriasis is not known. Supports that it comes in 10 mg and 25 mg capsules taken once daily with food, with the dose adjusted by individual response. Supports that skin improvement usually appears after eight to sixteen weeks, and that peak effect can take up to six months, especially for plaque psoriasis. Supports that it is often combined with phototherapy, and sometimes with biologics or used in rotation with cyclosporine or methotrexate. Supports the pregnancy contraindication and the requirement for two negative pregnancy tests and two forms of birth control. Supports the restriction against alcohol during treatment and for two months after stopping, to prevent conversion to a longer-lasting related compound. Supports common side effects including hair loss, dry skin and mouth, bleeding gums, nosebleeds, peeling fingertips, mood changes, headache, joint pain, night-vision changes, and elevated liver enzymes. Supports the three-year blood-donation restriction after stopping treatment.

    What it does not support

    Does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population size, does not report an exact reaction rate, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  20. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that apremilast is an oral medicine for plaque psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis that works by controlling inflammation in immune cells. Supports that, unlike other strong psoriasis medicines, no medical tests are required while taking it. Supports that clinical trials found no difference in response between patients 65 and older and younger patients. Supports that by week 16, about 20% of patients were clear or almost clear, and about a third saw 75% or greater improvement. Supports that apremilast greatly reduced itch for many patients. Supports that many nail-psoriasis patients saw improvement, some a 50% reduction, by week 16, and that more than 40% of scalp-psoriasis patients were clear or almost clear by week 16. Supports common side effects including diarrhea, nausea, headache, respiratory infections, vomiting, and cold-like symptoms, and that depression and suicidal thoughts are a serious concern. Supports advising a dermatologist if pregnant, planning pregnancy, or breastfeeding.

    What it does not support

    Does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial adverse-reaction rate table with exact percentages by reaction, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  21. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing mechanism and treatment-category context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that Sotyktu is the brand name for deucravacitinib, an oral systemic treatment taken once daily by mouth. Supports that it works similarly to biologics by targeting the TYK2 part of the immune system, reducing the overactive immune response behind psoriasis. Supports that it was the first tyrosine kinase inhibitor approved for psoriasis. Supports that it was the first novel oral therapy for psoriasis in a decade. Supports the plain-language list of common side effects: upper respiratory infection, elevated blood creatine phosphokinase, herpes simplex, mouth ulcers, folliculitis, and acne.

    What it does not support

    Does not report titration details, PASI or trial-response data, dosing adjustments for organ impairment, or cost. Does not report comparative-effectiveness data against other psoriasis treatments, or assess an individual reader’s risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  22. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing class-grouping, administration-route, and screening context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that biologics for psoriasis are identified by their immune target. Named groupings include TNF-alpha inhibitors (naming Enbrel, Humira, Remicade as examples), IL-17 inhibitors (blocking interleukin 17-A), IL-23 inhibitors (blocking interleukins 12 and 23), IL-36 inhibitors, and T-cell inhibitors. Supports that biologics are taken by injection or IV infusion depending on the label, and that some injections can be self-administered at home. Supports that screening for tuberculosis or other infectious disease is often required before starting, and that biologics can increase infection risk, with fever, cough, or flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.

    What it does not support

    Does not report a complete, single four-class taxonomy in one place, PASI or trial-response data, dosing frequency, cost, or a full side-effect list. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  23. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.

    What it does not support

    Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  24. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education and its own navigation service, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for the quoted description of its own Patient Navigator service.

    What this source supports

    Supports that the National Psoriasis Foundation offers a Patient Navigator. The page describes it as available to "connect with a friendly, experienced Patient Navigator for personalized help getting the treatment you need."

    What it does not support

    Does not report specific manufacturer copay-program terms, patient-assistance-program eligibility, or pricing for any named biologic. Does not guarantee outcome or eligibility for a specific reader.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

The app currently supports vitiligo only. You can use every psoriasis guide without the app.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.