Is narrowband UVB really used for eczema?
Short answerYes. Narrowband UVB is an established light treatment for eczema, also called atopic dermatitis. Clinicians may discuss it when eczema is moderate to severe and creams alone have not met the goal. Evidence Evidence
More detail
British phototherapy guidance reviews narrowband UVB for atopic eczema among several skin diseases. Current US guidance for adult atopic dermatitis also covers phototherapy when topical care is not enough.
What depends on your situation
Guidelines describe groups, not you. A clinician must confirm the diagnosis, judge severity, and decide whether light treatment fits your skin, health history, and goals.
Questions for your dermatologist
- Is my eczema in the range where light treatment makes sense?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
- What would we try to achieve with it?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Will it fix my eczema for good?
Short answerNo. Light treatment can calm inflamed skin for a time. It does not repair the skin barrier and does not remove the drivers of itch. Flares can return after a course ends. Evidence Evidence
More detail
Guidance presents phototherapy as one management option, not a cure. It sits inside a broader plan that your clinician shapes, which often keeps other parts of eczema care in place.
What depends on your situation
No one can promise how much your skin will improve or how long any improvement will last. Response and durability vary from person to person.
Questions for your dermatologist
- What should we do if my eczema flares during or after a course?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
- What would tell us the treatment is not helping enough?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How does it compare with biologics or JAK-inhibitor pills?
Short answerCurrent US guidance for moderate-to-severe adult eczema also covers whole-body medicines. These include biologic injections, such as dupilumab, and oral JAK-inhibitor pills. This page does not rank those paths. That decision belongs to you and your clinician. Evidence
More detail
The guideline reviews phototherapy and systemic medicines together, with different evidence strength, risks, monitoring needs, and practical burdens for each class.
What depends on your situation
A recommendation grade describes evidence across studied groups. It cannot pick the right option for one person, and access, cost, other health conditions, and preference can change the choice.
Questions for your dermatologist
- Which of these paths are realistic for me, and why?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
- What are the trade-offs of light treatment versus a medicine in my case?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does a course actually ask of me?
Short answerPlan for a repeated commitment. Treatment usually means regular clinic visits over an extended period, or a prescribed home program for selected people. The prescriber sets the plan and adjusts it. You never change settings yourself. Evidence Evidence
More detail
Clinic care includes on-site oversight and adds travel. A home program can reduce trips and adds device and safety responsibilities at home. Eye protection and reaction reporting are part of safe care in both settings.
What depends on your situation
Whether the burden is worth it depends on your schedule, distance, coverage, home setup, and how your skin responds. This page cannot supply a schedule or any device setting.
Questions for your dermatologist
- What would my visit routine and total burden look like?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
- Could a prescribed home program fit me, and what would it require?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What should I ask a dermatologist before deciding?
Short answerBring questions that can change the decision. Ask about fit, alternatives, burden, safety, and the review plan before you commit. Evidence Evidence
More detail
A useful decision names the goal, the options compared, the safety checks, the practical plan, and when you will review progress together.
What depends on your situation
Only your clinician can apply these questions to your diagnosis, medicines, and history. Answers can also change as new treatments and evidence arrive.
Questions for your dermatologist
- Why does narrowband UVB fit my eczema now, and what else is on the table?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
- What result would make us continue, switch, or stop?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
- Which skin changes should I report, and who do I contact?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
- How would light treatment work alongside my current creams and medicines?Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
Yes. Narrowband UVB is an established light treatment for eczema, also called atopic dermatitis. Clinicians may discuss it when eczema is moderate to severe and creams alone have not met the goal.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is the 2022 UK narrowband UVB guideline. It is written for clinic and home phototherapy services. The other is the 2024 US guideline for eczema in adults. Both are consensus guidance. Neither reports a study population.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: Both sources are guideline advice, not a study of one group. The UK guideline covers narrowband UVB for eczema among other skin diseases. It puts the light after creams and before whole-body medicines. The US guideline backs phototherapy for adults when creams are not enough. It calls that a conditional recommendation and rates the evidence as weak. Neither source can say whether one person will respond. The US guideline does not cover children.
No. Light treatment can calm inflamed skin for a time. It does not repair the skin barrier and does not remove the drivers of itch. Flares can return after a course ends.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is the 2024 US eczema guideline for adults. The other is a UK patient leaflet. It was last updated in June 2022 and its June 2025 review date has passed. Neither reports a study population.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: Neither source is a study of one group. The US guideline calls phototherapy one option, not a cure, and rates the evidence as weak. The leaflet describes the light as a treatment given over a course. It says plainly that the full risks are not known. Neither source says the light repairs the skin barrier. Neither says it removes what drives eczema. Neither can say how much one person will improve, or for how long.
Plan for a repeated commitment. Treatment usually means regular clinic visits over an extended period, or a prescribed home program for selected people. The prescriber sets the plan and adjusts it. You never change settings yourself.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is the 2022 UK narrowband UVB guideline, for clinic and home phototherapy services. The other is a UK hospital patient leaflet, past its June 2025 review date. Neither reports a study population.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: Both sources are guidance, not a study. The UK guideline keeps the treatment plan, the dose, and monitoring with the phototherapy service. It adds safeguards for home treatment. The leaflet describes what a unit asks of its patients during a course. That includes eye protection and reporting reactions. Neither source reports a patient group. Neither sets a schedule or a session count. Neither gives a device setting a reader could use alone.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- British Journal of Dermatology (Goulden V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
It supports that traditional NB-UVB fluorescent lamps emit a narrow UVB band peaking around 311 nanometres. It backs wearing UV-protective goggles and keeping UV scatter off people nearby. It records the consent form naming goggles and the same clothing at each session. It also covers clinical uses, how it compares with other light treatments, safety limits including sunburn-type reactions, and the added safeguards home phototherapy needs.
What it does not support
It does not provide a personal treatment plan, approve a particular home setup, or replace the instructions for your own device. SteadySkin never reproduces its treatment schedules.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- British Association of DermatologistsPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
It supports a plain-language explanation that NB-UVB uses a small part of the UVB spectrum, is used for conditions including psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo, and is distinct from sunlight or a sunbed. It also supports what a unit asks of its own patients during a course. It asks them not to sunbathe or use a sunbed for the whole of it, and to reduce sun exposure so that skin does not burn. It asks them to report a medicine, a cream, or newly exposed skin such as a haircut. It asks them to arrive without perfume, deodorant, aftershave or other cosmetics, because some of those raise light sensitivity and can leave patchy discolouration for months. It carries the unit’s own account of repeated courses. It states that the full risk of narrowband UVB is not known, and that roughly one in ten people in the UK develop skin cancer. It states that a review becomes usual practice past a stated number of treatments, and that many treatments can bring the wrinkling and discolouration of photoageing.
What it does not support
It is patient education, not primary evidence for an efficacy claim. Its printed next review date was June 2025 and it has not been updated since June 2022. It is therefore used only for what it plainly states, and never as current guidance. It is written for a UK hospital unit whose nurses examine skin at every visit, so it sets no rule for a device used at home. Its numbers stay in this record rather than in the copy. Those are the sun protection factor and star rating it names, the hours it names, the treatment count that triggers a review, and the multiple by which it estimates lifetime risk. That multiple is stated there as an assumption that narrowband UVB behaves like sunlight, not as a measurement.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Davis DMR, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The journal is the publisher. This label refers to workgroup author relationships disclosed in the guideline, not to the journal itself.
What this source supports
It supports that phototherapy is a reviewed option for adult atopic dermatitis when topical care is not enough, and that current care also includes systemic classes such as biologics and oral JAK inhibitors, each with its own evidence, risks, and monitoring.
What it does not support
It does not rank options for an individual, provide a treatment plan or schedule, or establish pediatric recommendations. SteadySkin never reproduces its regimens.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.