Can anyone catch psoriasis from me?
Short answerNo. A plaque is made by your own immune system. There is nothing in it to pass on by touch, by a towel or in a pool. Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the National Psoriasis Foundation, which records psoriasis as an immune-mediated disease driven by an overactive immune system, and which causes inflammation in the body. Raised plaques with scale are the visible sign. Skin cells that usually take about a month to shed do it in three or four days.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that a shared gym mat, a handshake or a hug puts nobody at risk. Other people may not know that. You may still be asked, and a short plain line is enough.
Questions for your dermatologist
What is the clearest way to describe my psoriasis to someone who asks?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Did poor washing, an allergy or a fungus cause this?
Short answerNone of the three. Psoriasis is driven by the immune system. It is not a germ you failed to wash off, a food, or a fungus that took hold. Evidence Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases, which lists thick, red, scaly patches that itch or burn, and dry, cracked skin that bleeds. It records that managing common triggers can help control symptoms, and names stress and skin injuries. I checked the NICE assessment as well, which covers the skin, the nails, high-impact sites, daily life and joint concerns.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that scrubbing harder will not clear a plaque, and may hurt. A trigger is not a cause. If a cream bought for a fungus has not helped, say so at the visit.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is what I have plaque psoriasis, or could something else look like this?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.I tried ___ on it already. Does that change what you would use now?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Is psoriasis only a skin problem?
Short answerNo. Guidance looks past the plaques. Joints, heart risk, gut, eyes and mood all sit in the same guideline, which is why a skin visit asks about them. Evidence Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the joint AAD and NPF comorbidity guideline, which covers psoriasis alongside other conditions. It names psoriatic arthritis, heart and blood vessel disease, obesity, high blood pressure, raised blood fats and diabetes. It names inflammatory bowel disease and uveitis, an inflammation inside the eye. It names depression and anxiety. It asks clinicians to screen for psoriatic arthritis, check heart risk factors and screen for depression.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that a wider question at a skin visit is normal, not a sign of bad news. A link measured across groups is not a diagnosis. They do not say which of them you have, or will get.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which of these checks would you run for me, and which belong with my doctor?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Will it always get worse, or just go away on its own?
Short answerNeither is a rule. Psoriasis is long-term and has no cure, and how it moves over time differs from person to person. Evidence Evidence Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the National Psoriasis Foundation, which records psoriasis as a chronic disease with no cure. I checked the American Academy of Dermatology, which records that triggers differ from person to person. It names stress, and skin injury with a flare at or near the injured spot. It records cold, dry weather among the conditions that can worsen a flare.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that a quiet spell is real, and is not proof of a cure. A bad month is not proof the disease is winning. Neither forecasts your own course, so a dated record of your skin helps.
Questions for your dermatologist
Looking at my history so far, what pattern do you see?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Are sunbeds a safe way to treat psoriasis?
Short answerA sunbed is not the same thing as prescribed light treatment. Narrowband UVB is a narrow slice of UVB that a dermatologist sets, adjusts and reviews. Evidence Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the American Academy of Dermatology, which records narrowband UVB as a treatment a dermatologist sets and adjusts, with response checked after the first several treatments. It records long-term effects of freckles, early skin aging and raised skin cancer risk. I read a British Association of Dermatologists leaflet as well. It records narrowband UVB as distinct from sunlight or a sunbed, and asks patients not to sunbathe during a course.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that a tanning salon offers no dermatologist, no record and no review. If you are already on a light course, your unit asks you to report a sunbed on top of it.
Questions for your dermatologist
Would prescribed light treatment suit my psoriasis, and where would I have it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Five more myths, checked: biologics and immunity, steroid creams, diet, children, and pregnancy
Do biologics wipe out your immune system?
Short answerThat is not what the records describe. A biologic quiets one targeted part of an overactive immune response. Infection risk does go up, and screening comes first. Evidence Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the American Academy of Dermatology, which records that a biologic quiets the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. It records that biologics raise infection risk, and names diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history and advanced age as things that raise it further. Blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting. The National Psoriasis Foundation names fever, cough or flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is a real risk with a plan around it, rather than an immune system switched off. Neither record gives an infection rate, or predicts your own risk.
Questions for your dermatologist
Given my health history, what is my infection risk on a biologic?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which tests would I need before starting, and who follows them up?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Do steroid creams thin your skin, so I should never use one?
Short answerPeople I have heard from ask whether a steroid cream is safe to keep using. Skin thinning is a recorded side effect, and the risk tracks strength, site and length of use. That is why a prescriber picks the strength and the site. Evidence Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the American Academy of Dermatology, which records that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch, and slow skin-cell growth. It records strengths from very mild to extremely strong. Strong products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. I checked the National Psoriasis Foundation, which records skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and widened blood vessels. It records that stopping one abruptly can cause a flare.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that quietly stopping a prescribed steroid carries its own risk. Neither record counts how often a side effect happens, or sets a course length for you.
Questions for your dermatologist
How strong is the steroid you gave me, and where on my body is it meant for?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What should I do if I want to stop it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Can a special diet cure psoriasis?
Short answerNo diet cures psoriatic disease. Some eating patterns may lessen symptom severity for some people, which is a smaller claim. Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the National Psoriasis Foundation, which records that no diet cures psoriatic disease. It records that eating patterns may lessen symptom severity for some people, and describes a Mediterranean-style pattern. A gluten-free diet is advised only for confirmed gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Omega-3 research is mixed and needs more long-term studies. Supplements should never replace medication.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that a food change is worth trying beside your treatment, not instead of it. That page gives no effect size, so nobody can say how much a change would do.
Questions for your dermatologist
Would a diet change help my psoriasis, or mainly my general health?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Do children grow out of psoriasis?
Short answerThe pediatric guideline states no such thing. It sets out how psoriasis in children is treated and what else to check for. Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the one guideline the American Academy of Dermatology and the National Psoriasis Foundation share for psoriasis in children. It covers topical, light and systemic treatment for children. It records the reported link between guttate psoriasis in a child and strep throat. It asks clinicians to check a child who has psoriasis for other health problems, and names low mood, anxiety and extra weight.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that waiting for a child to outgrow it is not a plan the guideline supports. It gives no figure for how many children get better, so no one can promise an age.
Questions for your dermatologist
What would you watch for as my child grows, and when would we review this?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Does being on treatment rule out having children?
Short answerHaving psoriasis does not close that door. Some treatments carry label warnings and some do not, so this is a planning conversation. Evidence Evidence
More detail
- Reasonably supported
I read the American Academy of Dermatology on this. It records narrowband UVB as safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women and people who are immunocompromised. The NICE treatment map holds topical, light and systemic options, and NICE assessment covers the skin, the nails, daily life and joint concerns.
What depends on your situation
- Depends on you
What that means for you is that the answer depends on the medicine you are on, so raise it early. I set out the label wording on the pregnancy guide linked below.
Questions for your dermatologist
I hope to start a family. Does my current treatment need to change first?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How far ahead of trying should we plan that change?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that poor sleep quality is a listed symptom of psoriasis. Also lists patches of thick, red, scaly skin that itch or burn, and dry, cracked skin that itches or bleeds. Supports that psoriasis carries risk for mental-health concerns including low self-esteem, anxiety, and depression. Supports that managing common triggers, such as stress and skin injuries, can help keep symptoms under control. Supports, by subtype, that guttate psoriasis outbreaks are often triggered by an upper respiratory infection such as strep throat. Also supports that pustular psoriasis symptoms can be triggered by medications, infections, stress, or certain chemicals. Also supports that erythrodermic psoriasis can be triggered by a bad sunburn or certain medications including corticosteroids. Also supports, by subtype, that inverse psoriasis appears as smooth patches of inflamed skin in skin folds. It names the armpits, the groin, and under the breasts as those folds. It records that rubbing and sweating can make inverse psoriasis worse.
What it does not support
Does not give a percentage of patients affected. Does not measure how much sleep is lost. Does not establish that treating the skin fixes the sleep problem for any one person. Its trigger information is organized by psoriasis subtype, not as one general list for plaque psoriasis specifically. It counts nothing for inverse psoriasis either. It gives no share of people affected in a fold or genital site, and it names no treatment for one.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that stress can trigger a psoriasis flare. Supports that skin injury - a cut, scrape, sunburn, tattoo, piercing, bug bite, or shaving nick - can trigger a flare near or at that spot. Typically this appears about 10 to 14 days after the injury. Supports that an infection such as strep throat, an earache, or bronchitis can trigger a flare, reported 2 to 6 weeks later. Supports that starting a medication - including lithium, antimalarial drugs, strong corticosteroids, or some blood pressure drugs - can trigger a flare about 2 to 3 weeks after starting it. Supports that cold, dry weather (such as winter or fall) can worsen flares, and that sunburn or spending time in air conditioning can also worsen them. Supports that smoking, or spending time around secondhand smoke, is a reported trigger. Supports that drinking daily, or more than two drinks on several days a week, can make psoriasis treatment have little or no effect. Supports that triggers differ from person to person.
What it does not support
Does not cite a specific study for its trigger list or timing windows, and does not state how many patients experience each trigger. This page displays no revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis disease microsite's treatment-and-diagnosis page, checked the same day. Does not establish that avoiding a listed trigger will prevent a flare for any one person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Menter A, Cordoro KM, Davis DMR, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The journal is the publisher. This label refers to the author relationships disclosed for the guideline, not to the journal itself.
What this source supports
Supports that the American Academy of Dermatology and the National Psoriasis Foundation share one guideline for psoriasis in children. Supports that it covers topical, light and systemic treatment in that age group. Supports the reported link between guttate psoriasis in a child and strep throat. Supports checking a child who has psoriasis for other health problems. It names low mood and anxiety. It also names extra weight.
What it does not support
It does not judge one child. It names no product, no strength and no course length. It gives no figure for how many children get better. It is US guidance. It sets no coverage rule.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that no diet cures psoriatic disease, and that eating patterns may lessen symptom severity for some people. Supports a Mediterranean-style pattern: cold-water fish at least twice a week, plus fruits, vegetables, whole grains, low-fat dairy, and lean meat and poultry without skin. Supports limiting alcohol, sodium, trans and saturated fats, and refined sugar and processed food. The alcohol limit is one drink a day for women and two for men, or none for severe psoriasis. The sodium limit is under 1,500 mg a day. Supports that a gluten-free diet is recommended only for confirmed gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Supports gradual weight loss, about 1 to 2 pounds a week, for people who are overweight. Supports using the CDC BMI calculator to find a target weight, as one part of managing the disease. Supports that omega-3 supplement research is mixed and needs more long-term controlled studies. Supports that vitamin D research is small and limited, and that too much vitamin D can be dangerous. Supports that no study has found glucosamine or chondroitin reduce psoriatic arthritis symptoms. Supports that supplements should never replace medication, and that you should talk with your health care provider before starting any diet change.
What it does not support
Does not give an effect size for how much any food pattern, weight change, or supplement changes symptoms for a given person. Does not recommend a single named diet over another beyond referencing Mediterranean-style eating. Does not substitute for a treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Elmets CA, Leonardi CL, Davis DMR, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships with industry. It is expert guidance, not independent proof for one person.
What this source supports
Supports that this guideline covers psoriasis alongside other health conditions. Supports naming psoriatic arthritis as one of them. Supports naming heart and blood vessel disease. Supports naming obesity, high blood pressure, raised blood fats and diabetes. Supports naming inflammatory bowel disease. Supports naming uveitis, an inflammation inside the eye. Supports naming depression and anxiety. Supports that it asks clinicians to screen people with psoriasis for psoriatic arthritis. Supports that it asks them to check heart risk factors. Supports naming body weight, blood pressure, blood fats and blood sugar among those checks. Supports that it asks them to screen for depression.
What it does not support
Does not diagnose a reader. Does not say which linked condition one person will get. Does not read a test result or set a personal plan. Its authors report industry relationships. It is US guidance. It does not set practice in another country.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization publishes patient education, but the editorial and funding independence of this page was not separately reviewed.
What this source supports
Supports that psoriasis is an immune-mediated disease. It causes inflammation in the body. Raised plaques and scale on the skin are the visible sign. Supports that an overactive immune system speeds up skin-cell growth. Skin cells normally take about a month to grow and shed. With psoriasis they do so in three or four days. Supports that psoriasis is a chronic, long-term disease with no cure.
What it does not support
Does not predict whether one person will clear, stay the same, or flare. Does not give a share of people who reach a period with little or no psoriasis, or how long such a period lasts. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.
What it does not support
It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch, and slow skin-cell growth. They come in strengths from very mild to extremely strong and are typically applied twice daily. Strong products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. Most people see results with short twice-daily use, and no improvement after four to six weeks is a signal to return to the prescriber.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name potency classes by number, give a percentage of people who improve, or set a maximum course length.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed.
What this source supports
Supports that topical steroids range from super-potent to least potent, and that guidance advises not using one for longer than three weeks without checking with a clinician. Side effects include skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and dilated blood vessels. Systemic absorption is a risk with widespread, prolonged or occluded use, and abruptly stopping a topical steroid can cause a psoriasis flare.
What it does not support
It does not name which specific product falls in which potency class, quantify how often a side effect occurs, or set a course length for any specific product or body site.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing class-grouping, administration-route, and screening context.
What this source supports
Supports that biologics for psoriasis are identified by their immune target. Named groupings include TNF-alpha inhibitors (naming Enbrel, Humira, Remicade as examples), IL-17 inhibitors (blocking interleukin 17-A), IL-23 inhibitors (blocking interleukins 12 and 23), IL-36 inhibitors, and T-cell inhibitors. Supports that biologics are taken by injection or IV infusion depending on the label, and that some injections can be self-administered at home. Supports that screening for tuberculosis or other infectious disease is often required before starting, and that biologics can increase infection risk, with fever, cough, or flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.
What it does not support
Does not report a complete, single four-class taxonomy in one place, PASI or trial-response data, dosing frequency, cost, or a full side-effect list. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.
What it does not support
Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- British Association of DermatologistsPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
It supports a plain-language explanation that NB-UVB uses a small part of the UVB spectrum, is used for conditions including psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo, and is distinct from sunlight or a sunbed. It also supports what a unit asks of its own patients during a course. It asks them not to sunbathe or use a sunbed for the whole of it, and to reduce sun exposure so that skin does not burn. It asks them to report a medicine, a cream, or newly exposed skin such as a haircut. It asks them to arrive without perfume, deodorant, aftershave or other cosmetics, because some of those raise light sensitivity and can leave patchy discolouration for months. It carries the unit’s own account of repeated courses. It states that the full risk of narrowband UVB is not known, and that roughly one in ten people in the UK develop skin cancer. It states that a review becomes usual practice past a stated number of treatments, and that many treatments can bring the wrinkling and discolouration of photoageing.
What it does not support
It is patient education, not primary evidence for an efficacy claim. Its printed next review date was June 2025 and it has not been updated since June 2022. It is therefore used only for what it plainly states, and never as current guidance. It is written for a UK hospital unit whose nurses examine skin at every visit, so it sets no rule for a device used at home. Its numbers stay in this record rather than in the copy. Those are the sun protection factor and star rating it names, the hours it names, the treatment count that triggers a review, and the multiple by which it estimates lifetime risk. That multiple is stated there as an assumption that narrowband UVB behaves like sunlight, not as a measurement.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.