Traveling with psoriasis, and what the sun actually does

Plenty of people come home from a sunny week with calmer plaques. What guidance records about light, burns and flares, and what to pack.

Travel and sun snapshot

A sunny week isn't light treatment - and a burn still counts as a trigger.

  1. Sunlight and prescribed narrowband UVB are not the same thing - a burn is recorded as a flare trigger, not progress
  2. Tazarotene and acitretin both raise sun sensitivity - check your treatment list before a sunny trip
  3. Pack prescriptions in the original bottle; TSA allows a medically necessary cream past the standard liquids limit if declared
  4. Cold dry cabins, air conditioning, sunburn and stress are all named flare triggers - trip length measures none of them

Does a sunny week do what light treatment does?

Sunlight and prescribed light treatment are not the same thing. Narrowband UVB is a narrow slice of ultraviolet, set and adjusted by a dermatologist. A holiday sets nothing, and a burn is recorded as a flare trigger. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read what the American Academy of Dermatology records about narrowband UVB. It slows fast-growing skin cells, calms an overactive immune system, reduces inflammation and eases itch. A dermatologist sets the plan and changes it as your skin responds. The AAD and the National Psoriasis Foundation both record the costs of that light. They list redness, stinging and a sunburn-like reaction. They also list rare burns, early skin aging and a raised skin cancer risk. NPF asks for regular check-ups under medical supervision. The AAD trigger record puts sunburn in its skin-injury group, alongside a cut, a scrape or a tattoo. A flare can follow at or near that spot, typically about 10 to 14 days later.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

None of these records measures a beach, a pool or a hot afternoon. None compares a holiday with a prescribed course. So a calmer week outdoors is worth telling your dermatologist about, and a burn is still not progress. If someone is selling sun or a tanning package as psoriasis care, the claim-checking guide covers the questions to ask first.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. My skin looked better after time outdoors. Does that change what you would suggest next?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Could my psoriasis treatments make me burn faster?

Some of them raise sun sensitivity, and the records say so plainly. Tazorac (tazarotene) carries a photosensitivity warning. Soriatane (acitretin) raises the burn risk when it is combined with light treatment. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read the AAD retinoid page. It records that tazarotene raises sun sensitivity, and that sunscreen and protective clothing belong in your routine while you use it. The tazarotene cream label carries a photosensitivity warning of its own. It says to avoid sun, sunlamps and weather extremes, and to wear sunscreen. The Soriatane label records that phototherapy has to be reduced when acitretin is combined with it, because the burn risk goes up. The FDA records that some medicines and skin products can cause photosensitivity, and names retinoids among its groups. It says where questions about your own medicines belong: with a health professional or a pharmacist.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

These records name groups, not your own prescription list. The FDA says plainly that not everyone taking a listed medicine reacts, and that reacting once does not guarantee reacting again. Its list is an incomplete one. None of them sets a sun protection factor or a time outdoors for you. The tazarotene and acitretin pages carry the rest.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. I'm using ___ - could that make me burn faster in strong sun?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Should my pharmacist check my full list before I travel somewhere sunny?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What happens to my narrowband UVB course if I travel?

That is a conversation with the unit running your course, and it is worth having before you book. A UK leaflet records what one hospital unit asks of its own patients while a course is running. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

I read the British Association of Dermatologists leaflet. It asks patients not to sunbathe or use a sunbed for the whole of a course. It asks them to reduce sun exposure so that skin does not burn. It asks them to report a medicine, a cream, or newly exposed skin such as a haircut. It records that narrowband UVB is a small part of the UVB spectrum, and is a different thing from sunlight. Your own unit may ask something different, so ask yours.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

That leaflet is patient education from one UK unit, not current guidance, and it has not been updated since 2022. It says nothing about pausing a course for a holiday, or picking it back up. The sun and vacations guide and the breaks guide cover both.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. What would you like me to do about my light treatment around the dates I am away?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What should I pack, and how do I get it through security?

The CDC says to pack prescription medicines in their original bottles and carry copies of your prescriptions. TSA allows medically necessary creams beyond the usual carry-on limit if you declare them. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

That covers the prescribed topicals and the emollient you get through fastest. The original label lets a pharmacist, an official or a security officer see what a product is and who it was for. TSA draws a line between a medically necessary item and an ordinary one. A medically necessary liquid, gel or cream can exceed the standard 3.4-ounce carry-on limit, in reasonable quantities for the trip. You declare it to an officer at the checkpoint and it is screened. AAD and NPF record that a biologic is given by injection or infusion, and that some injections are taken at home.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

The CDC and TSA records are general travel guidance, not written for psoriasis. TSA policy covers US screening, and security elsewhere sets its own rules. Neither biologics record states a storage temperature, or how long an injection may sit out of a fridge. Take that one to the pharmacy that dispenses it, early enough to get a cool bag.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Can you write me a prescription copy or a letter to carry through airport security?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Who should I ask about keeping my injection cold on a long flight?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What else about a trip can set off a flare?

People I have heard from ask what sets off a flare, and whether one can be headed off. I read the AAD trigger record, and it names several things a trip is full of. Cold, dry weather. Air conditioning. Sunburn. Stress. It also says plainly that triggers differ from person to person. Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Reasonably supported

A plane cabin and a hotel room are both air-conditioned, and dry air is hard on itchy skin. Chlorine and salt water dry skin too, so the plan is the ordinary one: rinse, dry gently, and put the emollient back on. Travel stress and short nights stack on top. NICE assessment covers the impact on daily life, next to the skin, the nails, high-impact sites and joint concerns. So a trip that cost you sleep is fair to raise at your next visit. The itching and sleep guide, the skin care guide and the sleep and stress guide each carry more.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

The trigger list cites no study and counts nobody. It measures no flight, hotel room, pool or sea. A flare on the way home does not prove the trip caused it, and a quiet trip proves nothing either. If you want to look for a pattern, record the dates, the sun and the flares as you go, rather than from memory afterwards.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Is a flare after most of my trips worth planning around, or reading too much into?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence detail: what these records can and cannot establish

Dermatology guidance describes prescribed narrowband UVB and lists flare triggers. Two labels and an FDA page describe sun sensitivity. The CDC and TSA cover travel. None of it measures a holiday.

What is supported
AAD and NPF record what narrowband UVB does, and that a dermatologist sets and adjusts it. They record burns, early skin aging and a raised skin cancer risk as its costs. AAD records sunburn as a skin injury that can trigger a flare at that spot. It names cold dry weather, air conditioning and stress among triggers. The AAD retinoid page and the tazarotene label record raised sun sensitivity. The Soriatane label records a higher burn risk when acitretin is combined with phototherapy. The CDC and TSA records cover original bottles, prescription copies and carry-on items.
What is deliberately not claimed
I do not state that a holiday treats psoriasis, or that sun substitutes for a prescribed course. I publish no exposure time, sun protection factor or drug amount, because your own limits are a clinical decision. I give no storage temperature for a biologic either, since neither biologics record states one. That question goes to the pharmacist.
What remains unmeasured
No record I have read has followed people with psoriasis through a trip and back. None separates sun, heat, water, stress and lost sleep from one another. So a holiday that helped and a holiday that flared are both still unexplained.
Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that selected medicines and skin products can cause photosensitivity. Questions about a person’s medicines belong with a health professional or pharmacist. It names two forms. Photoallergy is an allergic reaction of the skin. It may not appear until several days after sun exposure. Phototoxicity is more common, and is an irritation that can occur within a few hours. Both follow ultraviolet light, from the sun or from a lamp. Its named groups are antibiotics, antifungals, antihistamines, diuretics and retinoids. It also names cholesterol medicines, anti-inflammatory painkillers, oral contraceptives and estrogens. It names phenothiazines, sulfonamides and sulfonylureas for type 2 diabetes. It names psoralens, giving methoxsalen and trioxsalen. It names alpha hydroxy acids in cosmetics.

    What it does not support

    It does not show that every listed medicine causes a reaction. It does not diagnose an unexpected skin change. It does not reconcile a medicine warning with clinician-directed phototherapy. It says plainly that not all people who take these medicines will react. It says that reacting once does not guarantee reacting the next time. Its list is not offered as a complete one. It names no product this site has checked against a reader’s own prescription. Its sun-protection paragraph is guidance this site reports rather than issues.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Travelers' HealthGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: US federal public-health agency; general pre-travel guidance, no product or manufacturer tie.

    What this source supports

    Supports general CDC pre-travel guidance to pack prescription medications and medical supplies, preferably in their original bottles, to carry copies of prescriptions, and to check the Transportation Security Administration website for current rules on what medicines and medical devices are allowed in a carry-on before flying.

    What it does not support

    Is general packing guidance for any traveler, not specific to vitiligo or any topical treatment. It does not itself state a quantity limit or a carry-on-versus-checked-bag rule; it directs travelers to TSA for that.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. Transportation Security AdministrationRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: US federal security agency; general screening-policy guidance.

    What this source supports

    Supports that TSA allows medically necessary liquids, gels and aerosols, including creams, in reasonable quantities for a trip beyond the standard 3.4-ounce carry-on limit, but they must be declared to a security officer at the checkpoint for inspection. Also supports that items over 3.4 ounces that are not medically necessary can trigger an alarm during screening, so TSA recommends packing those in checked luggage instead.

    What it does not support

    Is general US airport-security screening guidance, not specific to vitiligo or any named product. It does not guarantee how any one checkpoint handles a specific item, and it does not apply outside US domestic security screening.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that stress can trigger a psoriasis flare. Supports that skin injury - a cut, scrape, sunburn, tattoo, piercing, bug bite, or shaving nick - can trigger a flare near or at that spot. Typically this appears about 10 to 14 days after the injury. Supports that an infection such as strep throat, an earache, or bronchitis can trigger a flare, reported 2 to 6 weeks later. Supports that starting a medication - including lithium, antimalarial drugs, strong corticosteroids, or some blood pressure drugs - can trigger a flare about 2 to 3 weeks after starting it. Supports that cold, dry weather (such as winter or fall) can worsen flares, and that sunburn or spending time in air conditioning can also worsen them. Supports that smoking, or spending time around secondhand smoke, is a reported trigger. Supports that drinking daily, or more than two drinks on several days a week, can make psoriasis treatment have little or no effect. Supports that triggers differ from person to person.

    What it does not support

    Does not cite a specific study for its trigger list or timing windows, and does not state how many patients experience each trigger. This page displays no revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis disease microsite's treatment-and-diagnosis page, checked the same day. Does not establish that avoiding a listed trigger will prevent a flare for any one person.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.

    What it does not support

    It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that tazarotene, a topical retinoid (synthetic vitamin A), slows rapidly growing skin cells, reduces thick psoriasis, decreases scale, and lessens redness and swelling. Often prescribed alongside a topical corticosteroid, which reduces skin irritation and produces longer-lasting results and a longer remission than tazarotene alone. Applied once daily as a thin layer. A few patients see complete clearing; most see about a 50% reduction, with remission lasting up to three months. Common side effects are irritation (redness, peeling, dryness, itching, burning) and increased sun sensitivity. Must not be used during pregnancy because it can cause birth defects. On nail psoriasis, can reduce nail thickness, treat crumbling nails, and help restore normal nail growth.

    What it does not support

    The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name an exact percentage-of-patients figure beyond "most," quantify how often a side effect occurs, or state a fixed number of weeks before a check-in.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent psoriasis evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports that TAZORAC cream 0.05% and 0.1% are indicated for topical treatment of plaque psoriasis (0.1% also for acne vulgaris). Supports the dosing: a thin layer once daily in the evening, starting at 0.05% with an increase to 0.1% only if tolerated and indicated. Supports the pregnancy contraindication - may cause fetal harm - and the requirement for a negative pregnancy test within two weeks before starting and effective contraception during use. Supports local skin reaction warnings (itching, burning, redness, peeling) and the instruction to avoid eyes, mouth, and mucous membranes and not to use on eczema-affected skin. Supports the photosensitivity warning to avoid sun, sunlamps, and weather extremes and wear sunscreen.

    What it does not support

    The label does not mention a generic version of TAZORAC cream, quantify how often a given side effect occurs, or state a retail price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the boxed warning that Soriatane must not be used by anyone who is pregnant, or who intends to become pregnant at any time within three years of stopping. Supports contraindication in patients with severely impaired liver or kidney function, or abnormally elevated blood lipids, and contraindication for concurrent methotrexate (hepatitis risk) or tetracyclines (intracranial pressure risk). Supports that vitamin A and other oral retinoids must be avoided concurrently, and that phototherapy doses must be reduced when combined with Soriatane because of an increased burn risk. Supports initial dosing of 25 to 50 mg per day as a single dose with the main meal, with maintenance dosing adjusted by individual response. Supports the requirement for two negative pregnancy tests before starting, and two effective forms of birth control for at least one month before through three years after treatment. Supports a repeated pregnancy test every three months during that three-year window. Supports the alcohol restriction for female patients of reproductive potential during treatment and for two months after, due to conversion to a longer-lasting related compound. Supports common reactions in more than three-quarters of patients (cheilitis, dry eyes, skin peeling, dry skin, hair loss, nail disorder, joint pain). Supports serious reactions including hepatitis, pancreatitis, a pressure buildup around the brain, and depression. Supports liver-function and lipid testing before treatment and every one to two weeks until levels are stable.

    What it does not support

    This label, as currently published, does not itself state a fixed outer limit on how long a course of psoriasis treatment may run; it states only that maintenance dosing is adjusted by response. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  11. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing class-grouping, administration-route, and screening context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that biologics for psoriasis are identified by their immune target. Named groupings include TNF-alpha inhibitors (naming Enbrel, Humira, Remicade as examples), IL-17 inhibitors (blocking interleukin 17-A), IL-23 inhibitors (blocking interleukins 12 and 23), IL-36 inhibitors, and T-cell inhibitors. Supports that biologics are taken by injection or IV infusion depending on the label, and that some injections can be self-administered at home. Supports that screening for tuberculosis or other infectious disease is often required before starting, and that biologics can increase infection risk, with fever, cough, or flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.

    What it does not support

    Does not report a complete, single four-class taxonomy in one place, PASI or trial-response data, dosing frequency, cost, or a full side-effect list. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  12. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.

    What it does not support

    Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  13. British Association of DermatologistsPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    It supports a plain-language explanation that NB-UVB uses a small part of the UVB spectrum, is used for conditions including psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo, and is distinct from sunlight or a sunbed. It also supports what a unit asks of its own patients during a course. It asks them not to sunbathe or use a sunbed for the whole of it, and to reduce sun exposure so that skin does not burn. It asks them to report a medicine, a cream, or newly exposed skin such as a haircut. It asks them to arrive without perfume, deodorant, aftershave or other cosmetics, because some of those raise light sensitivity and can leave patchy discolouration for months. It carries the unit’s own account of repeated courses. It states that the full risk of narrowband UVB is not known, and that roughly one in ten people in the UK develop skin cancer. It states that a review becomes usual practice past a stated number of treatments, and that many treatments can bring the wrinkling and discolouration of photoageing.

    What it does not support

    It is patient education, not primary evidence for an efficacy claim. Its printed next review date was June 2025 and it has not been updated since June 2022. It is therefore used only for what it plainly states, and never as current guidance. It is written for a UK hospital unit whose nurses examine skin at every visit, so it sets no rule for a device used at home. Its numbers stay in this record rather than in the copy. Those are the sun protection factor and star rating it names, the hours it names, the treatment count that triggers a review, and the multiple by which it estimates lifetime risk. That multiple is stated there as an assumption that narrowband UVB behaves like sunlight, not as a measurement.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

The app currently supports vitiligo only. You can use every psoriasis guide without the app.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.