What is NB-UVB, and how does it work?
Narrowband UVB is medical light therapy given in a treatment booth or panel, under a dermatologist’s supervision. It uses a narrow band of ultraviolet B light, centered close to 311 nanometres. That light slows the overactive growth of skin cells that build up into plaques. It calms an overactive immune response in the skin, and reduces the inflammation behind redness and itch. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the AAD patient education page. It describes narrowband UVB as slowing rapidly growing skin cells, suppressing an overly active immune system, reducing inflammation, and reducing or eliminating itch. I also checked the BAD and British Photodermatology Group guideline, which confirms the narrow wavelength band, centered near 311 nanometres, that traditional narrowband UVB lamps emit.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source explains why plaques clear faster in one person than another, and neither predicts your own response in advance.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is phototherapy a reasonable option given where my psoriasis is and what I have already tried?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Would I do this in your office, or could a supervised home device be an option for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it treat, and can you combine it with other treatments?
Medical narrowband UVB treats psoriasis in the skin. It does not treat inflammation in the joints and is not a treatment for psoriatic arthritis. It can be used alone, or combined with a topical medicine to work faster. In one study, adding a topical vitamin D analogue reached target plaque clearance in 93.3% of participants by 12 weeks. In another, adding a topical retinoid cut the average time to clearance to about 32 days. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The BAD and British Photodermatology Group guideline I read supports clinician-directed narrowband UVB for selected skin disease. I took both combination-therapy findings from a systematic review and meta-analysis of narrowband UVB in psoriasis.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Those combination figures come from specific study populations and specific paired medicines. They are not a guarantee for every reader or every topical pairing, and the review does not compare every possible combination.
Questions for your dermatologist
Would combining this with a topical medicine make sense for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Tanning beds and casual sunlight are not substitutes for this - what should I know about that difference?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you go, and how long until you see results?
Your dermatologist sets how often you go and adjusts that schedule as you respond. The 2019 joint AAD-NPF phototherapy guideline notes that a more frequent schedule clears psoriasis faster than a less frequent one many patients prefer. The comparison: a mean of 58 days to clear versus 88 days on the less frequent schedule. Most people need regular sessions across several weeks, and your dermatologist typically checks your response after the first several treatments. In a systematic review pooling nine studies, 70.5% of participants reached PASI75, meaning at least a 75% improvement in their psoriasis severity score. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the more-frequent-versus-less-frequent recommendation and the 58-versus-88-day clearance comparison in the 2019 joint AAD-NPF phototherapy guideline. I do not restate its specific weekly-session numbers. AAD patient education confirms a check-in point after the first several treatments. The systematic review and meta-analysis reports the 70.5% PASI75 figure from nine pooled studies of about 1,334 participants with Fitzpatrick skin types III through V.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The 58- and 88-day figures and the 70.5% figure are study averages, not a prediction for you. The 70.5% figure comes from a specific population, so it may not generalize to every skin tone. Neither source promises complete clearing for everyone.
Questions for your dermatologist
How often will I need to come in, and how does that change my timeline?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.When will we check whether this is working for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
The most common reaction is sunburn-like: redness, tenderness, mild stinging or burning after a session. Dark spots can appear where you were treated, more often with medium-to-dark skin tones. Itching can happen too. Blisters and true burns are uncommon but possible, especially if a dose runs ahead of what your skin tolerates. Over years of treatment, treated skin can age faster, and the added ultraviolet exposure raises long-term skin cancer risk. That is why your dermatologist matches your dose to your skin type and raises it gradually. Call your dermatologist about a reaction that does not fade quickly, a blister, or pain. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the AAD and NPF patient education pages, and both list these immediate and long-term effects. The BAD and British Photodermatology Group guideline covers the safety framework behind dose calibration and the sunburn-type reaction limit.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources gives an exact percentage for how often each side effect happens in people being treated for psoriasis specifically. None states the long-term skin cancer risk as a specific number, only that it is increased.
Questions for your dermatologist
What is a normal reaction for me to expect after a session, versus one I should call about?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How will you decide what is right for my skin, and how will you adjust it over time?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
People I have heard from are weighing a clinic course against a home unit. A 2026 economic model simulated adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis. It found a mean annual out-of-pocket cost of $5,004 for office-based phototherapy, against $1,450 for a home NB-UVB unit. Mean total annual cost, patient and payer combined, was $14,760 for office-based care versus $6,222 at home. These are simulated averages for a modeled population, not a personal quote. Your real cost depends on your own plan, copay, deductible, and how many sessions you need. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I took the figures from a JAMA Dermatology simulation-modeling study of 500,000 simulated adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis, comparing office phototherapy, home phototherapy, and biologic therapy.
Considerations
- Depends on you
This is a simulated-population model, not a survey of real patient bills. It does not state what your own plan’s copay, deductible, or prior-authorization process will require.
Questions for your dermatologist
Does my plan cover in-office phototherapy, a home unit, or both?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would I actually pay per visit, or would I qualify for a home unit instead?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of NB-UVB phototherapy for psoriasis yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Sessions happen regularly across several weeks, on a schedule your dermatologist sets. There is a check-in after the first several treatments, and results build gradually rather than clearing skin in a single visit.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has written to me yet about fitting sessions into a work or family schedule. No source I read describes the fatigue some people report after a session.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about fitting this into a weekly schedule?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a simple, dated record of which sessions you attend each week. Add a same-conditions photo (same light, distance, and angle) around your four-to-six-treatment check-in, then again at any later review your dermatologist sets. If you switch between office visits and a home device, note the date of the switch. Your dermatologist will want to recalibrate rather than assume continuity. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated, comparable record is what lets the four-to-six-treatment check-in the guideline and AAD both describe actually answer whether the treatment is working.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo log does not replace a clinical exam and cannot by itself tell you whether a rarer side effect has started.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I track between now and my first check-in?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
The most common reaction is sunburn-like: redness, tenderness, mild stinging or burning after a session. Dark spots can appear where you were treated, more often with medium-to-dark skin tones. Itching can happen too. Blisters and true burns are uncommon but possible, especially if a dose runs ahead of what your skin tolerates. Over years of treatment, treated skin can age faster, and the added ultraviolet exposure raises long-term skin cancer risk. That is why your dermatologist matches your dose to your skin type and raises it gradually. Call your dermatologist about a reaction that does not fade quickly, a blister, or pain.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- Two sources are patient education (AAD, NPF), describing the range of possible reactions in plain language. One is a UK clinical guideline (BAD and British Photodermatology Group) covering the safety framework behind dose calibration. None is a study of a psoriasis-specific patient cohort, and none states how often a given reaction happens in people being treated for psoriasis.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These sources describe the range of possible immediate and long-term reactions, including the increased long-term skin cancer risk. Neither quantifies how often any one of them happens or judges one reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports bringing joint, tendon, swelling, stiffness and nail concerns to a clinician because diagnosis uses clinical assessment and may require further evaluation.
What it does not support
It is not an online screening result and cannot diagnose psoriatic arthritis from a checklist.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology (Elmets CA, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: A joint guideline from a specialty society and a patient group. Authors report their own conflicts in the published article. It is authoritative for evidence grading, not independent proof for one reader.
What this source supports
Supports a grade-A recommendation for narrowband UVB monotherapy in adults with plaque psoriasis. Supports thrice-weekly dosing for generalized plaque psoriasis at grade B, noting twice-weekly dosing as an alternative some patients prefer despite a longer course. Supports that patients receiving twice-weekly narrowband UVB achieved clearance in a mean of 88 days, compared with 58 days for those receiving three treatments a week. Supports that maintenance therapy, once psoriasis has cleared, can continue as a taper or as an indefinite treatment every one to two weeks. Supports a grade-B recommendation for combining acitretin with PUVA. Cites one 60-patient trial of severe psoriasis in which 96 percent cleared with combined PUVA plus acitretin, compared with 80 percent on PUVA alone, using a 43 percent lower cumulative UVA dose in the combination group. Supports that acitretin can also be combined with broadband UVB for generalized plaque psoriasis, clearing patches more rapidly than UVB monotherapy with a lower required cumulative UVB dose. The full article text could not be fetched directly (blocked to automated retrieval); these figures were cross-verified via independently converging secondary reporting of the published guideline rather than read directly from the publisher page.
What it does not support
Does not predict an individual reader’s clearance timeline or guarantee any specific outcome, and does not itself state a retail cost. The acitretin-combination trial is a single 60-patient study, not a larger pooled result. It does not establish the same benefit for narrowband UVB specifically; the broadband-UVB combination finding is reported separately, without the same trial-level statistic. Acitretin carries its own pregnancy contraindication and monitoring needs that this source does not detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- PMC (National Library of Medicine)Systematic review · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports a pooled PASI75 response rate of 70.5% (95% CI 65-75%) from nine studies of narrowband UVB in psoriasis, covering roughly 1,334 participants with Fitzpatrick skin types III through V, mostly from Asia. Supports that studied regimens ranged from twice weekly for eight weeks to three times weekly for twelve weeks. Supports that one included study reached 93.3% target plaque clearance by 12 weeks when narrowband UVB was combined with topical tacalcitol. Supports that another study reported a mean time to clearance of about 32 days when combined with topical tazarotene. Supports post-treatment hyperpigmentation as a reported consideration in darker skin tones, and notes that reduced visibility of erythema in some skin of color patients may lead to underreporting of side effects.
What it does not support
Does not report data on skin cancer risk or long-term safety monitoring, and does not report outcomes for Fitzpatrick I-II skin. Its pooled response rate should not be read as a prediction for every skin tone or population.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- JAMA Dermatology (Kong EL, Buzney EA)Observational study · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports a modeling study of 500,000 simulated adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis (mean baseline PASI 20.2). It compares biologic therapy, office-based phototherapy, home phototherapy, and a step-therapy plan. Supports mean yearly out-of-pocket costs of $2,000 for biologics, $5,004 for office phototherapy, and $1,450 for home phototherapy. Supports mean total yearly costs (patient plus payer) of $84,034 for biologics, $14,760 for office phototherapy, and $6,222 for home phototherapy. Supports mean PASI drops at 32 weeks of 91.6% for biologics, 71.1% for phototherapy, and 95.2% for the step-therapy plan. Supports mean QALY gains of 0.24, 0.18, and 0.23 in that same order.
What it does not support
Does not report outcomes for an individual reader: this is a simulated population, not a survey of real patient bills or real trial follow-up. It does not state what one reader’s own insurance plan will charge.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- British Journal of Dermatology (Goulden V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
It supports that traditional NB-UVB fluorescent lamps emit a narrow UVB band peaking around 311 nanometres. It backs wearing UV-protective goggles and keeping UV scatter off people nearby. It records the consent form naming goggles and the same clothing at each session. It also covers clinical uses, how it compares with other light treatments, safety limits including sunburn-type reactions, and the added safeguards home phototherapy needs.
What it does not support
It does not provide a personal treatment plan, approve a particular home setup, or replace the instructions for your own device. SteadySkin never reproduces its treatment schedules.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.