What is apremilast, and how does it work?
Apremilast (brand name Otezla) is an oral medicine taken as a pill, not an injection or infusion like most biologics. It is a phosphodiesterase-4 (PDE4) inhibitor: it raises a molecule called cAMP inside immune cells, which lowers several inflammatory signals involved in psoriasis. The exact way it controls psoriasis is not fully understood. Unlike methotrexate or cyclosporine, it does not require routine blood tests while you take it. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the current Otezla label. It describes apremilast as a PDE4 inhibitor that increases intracellular cAMP, and says its specific mechanism is not well defined. AAD patient education states apremilast controls inflammation in immune cells, and that, unlike other strong psoriasis medicines, no medical tests are required during treatment. I also checked the 2020 AAD-NPF systemic-therapy guideline, which lists apremilast among established systemic nonbiologic options for psoriasis.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources explains why apremilast works better for some people than others, or predicts your own response.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is apremilast a reasonable option given my psoriasis and what I have already tried?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If I will not need routine blood tests, what symptoms should I still watch for and report?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it treat, and what can it be combined with?
The current label approves apremilast for adult patients with plaque psoriasis who are candidates for phototherapy or systemic therapy, at any severity level. It is also approved for children six and older who meet weight and severity criteria, for psoriatic arthritis, and for the mouth ulcers of Behçet’s disease. National Psoriasis Foundation patient education states apremilast has been shown to be safe and effective when combined with methotrexate. It can also be combined with phototherapy or topical treatments. The label advises against combining it with strong CYP3A4-inducing medicines, such as rifampin, because they can substantially reduce how well apremilast works. If you have severe kidney impairment, the maintenance dose is reduced. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I checked the current Otezla label for the plaque-psoriasis, psoriatic-arthritis, and Behçet’s-disease indications. It also warns against strong CYP3A4 inducers like rifampin, which cut apremilast’s blood levels by most of their usual amount. It states the reduced maintenance dose required for severe kidney impairment. National Psoriasis Foundation patient education states apremilast can be combined with methotrexate, phototherapy, or topical treatments.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source says how combining apremilast with another treatment changes response for you, or lists every medicine that might interact.
Questions for your dermatologist
Would apremilast make sense alongside what I am already using?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Does my kidney function change what dose you would start me on?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you take it, and how long until you know if it is working?
Apremilast starts with a five-day dose increase, called titration, beginning at 10 mg in the morning on day 1. It reaches the full maintenance dose of 30 mg twice daily by day 6. An extended-release version, Otezla XR, is taken as one 75 mg tablet once daily after the same titration. You can take it with or without food, and you need to keep taking it to keep its effect. In clinical trials for plaque psoriasis, about 20% of patients were clear or almost clear by week 16, and about a third saw 75% or greater improvement. Itch, nail psoriasis, and scalp psoriasis also improved for many patients by week 16. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the exact five-day titration schedule and the 30 mg twice-daily (or Otezla XR 75 mg once-daily) maintenance dose in the current Otezla label. AAD patient education reports that by week 16, about 20% of patients were clear or almost clear, and about a third saw 75% or greater improvement. It also reports that many saw improvement in itch, nail psoriasis, and scalp psoriasis.
Considerations
- Depends on you
These are group trial averages, not a prediction for you, and neither source states an exact week when an individual would notice a difference.
Questions for your dermatologist
What response would you expect to see in me by 16 weeks?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Should I take the standard tablet or the extended-release version?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
Apremilast carries no boxed warning, but it does carry several warnings worth knowing. It can increase the risk of depression; the label advises watching for new or worsening depression, suicidal thoughts, or other mood changes. It can also cause weight loss: in trials, 10 to 12% of adults lost 5 to 10% of their body weight, so your dermatologist should monitor your weight regularly. The most common side effects in plaque-psoriasis trials were diarrhea and nausea (17% each), upper-respiratory infection (9%), and headache (6%), most within the first few weeks. If diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting become severe, your dermatologist may lower your dose or pause treatment. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the depression and suicidal-thoughts warning in the current Otezla label, along with the weight-loss monitoring requirement and its trial rate. It also states the plaque-psoriasis adverse-reaction rates, and the dose-reduction guidance for severe GI symptoms.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label does not state how often a side effect leads someone to stop treatment altogether, and does not predict your own risk.
Questions for your dermatologist
What mood or weight changes should make me call you right away?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If diarrhea or nausea does not ease up after a few weeks, what happens next?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
People I have heard from ask first whether they can afford this at all. Otezla has no generic version on the market yet: a generic has FDA approval, but patent litigation is expected to delay its launch until 2028 or 2029. I looked at one pharmacy-price snapshot. It showed an average retail cash price of roughly $6,965 to $7,117 for 60 tablets of Otezla 30 mg, with a GoodRx-coupon price around $3,354. Amgen’s own Otezla Co-Pay Program states eligible patients with commercial insurance can pay as little as $0 a month. It excludes anyone on Medicare, Medicaid, or another government-funded plan. Uninsured or underinsured patients who qualify can be connected to the Amgen Safety Net Foundation for free medicine. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The GoodRx snapshot I read records the dated cash and coupon price range for a defined brand prescription, since no generic is yet commercially available. I checked Amgen’s own Otezla Co-Pay Program page, which states the $0-per-month copay terms and commercial-insurance-only eligibility. It also states the Amgen Safety Net Foundation referral for qualifying uninsured or underinsured patients.
Considerations
- Depends on you
These are commercial price-comparison and manufacturer-program snapshots for one strength and quantity, not a survey of every pharmacy, plan, or eligibility outcome.
Questions for your dermatologist
Does my insurance cover Otezla, and would I qualify for the copay program?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If I do not qualify for the copay card, what other assistance is available?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of apremilast for psoriasis yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The five-day titration schedule and the trial timeline to see results by week 16.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has written to me yet about what starting apremilast feels like day to day. No source I read describes what living with its GI or mood-related side effects feels like.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about the first few weeks on apremilast?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a dated record of each titration dose during the first five days, since missing a step can make GI side effects worse. Track your weight regularly, and note any mood changes, since both are things the label asks your dermatologist to monitor. Track diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting, especially in the first few weeks, since severe symptoms may call for a lower dose. Add a same-conditions photo around the sixteen-week mark, matching the trial timeline patient-education sources describe. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated titration log and a weight/mood record are what let the monitoring the label calls for actually happen. A photo record lets you and your dermatologist compare against the sixteen-week timeline the trial results describe.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A dose log, weight record, and photo do not replace clinical judgment about mood, weight, or GI symptoms. They cannot by themselves catch a depression or weight-related problem early.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I track between now and my first check-in?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
Apremilast carries no boxed warning, but it does carry several warnings worth knowing. It can increase the risk of depression; the label advises watching for new or worsening depression, suicidal thoughts, or other mood changes. It can also cause weight loss: in trials, 10 to 12% of adults lost 5 to 10% of their body weight, so your dermatologist should monitor your weight regularly. The most common side effects in plaque-psoriasis trials were diarrhea and nausea (17% each), upper-respiratory infection (9%), and headache (6%), most within the first few weeks. If diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting become severe, your dermatologist may lower your dose or pause treatment.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- The source is the current US drug label for Otezla (apremilast), reporting its own plaque-psoriasis-trial adverse-reaction rates. It does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of those rates.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These rates come from the label’s own plaque-psoriasis clinical trials, but do not break results down by age, skin tone, race, or ethnicity. They also do not quantify how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or judge one reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.
What it does not support
It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that Otezla (apremilast) is a PDE4 inhibitor that increases intracellular cAMP, and that its specific mechanism of therapeutic action is not well defined. Supports the plaque-psoriasis indication for adult and eligible pediatric patients who are candidates for phototherapy or systemic therapy, regardless of severity, and the separate psoriatic-arthritis and Behçet’s-disease-oral-ulcer indications. Supports the warning against strong CYP3A4 inducers such as rifampin, phenobarbital, carbamazepine, and phenytoin, since rifampin reduced apremilast’s AUC by 72% and loss of efficacy may occur. Supports the reduced maintenance dose (30 mg or 20 mg once daily, by age/weight) for severe renal impairment (creatinine clearance under 30 mL/min). Supports the exact five-day titration schedule (10 mg day 1 AM, up to 30 mg BID by day 6) and the Otezla XR 75 mg once-daily maintenance alternative. Supports the depression/suicidal-ideation warning, the weight-loss monitoring requirement (10-12% of adults lost 5-10% body weight in trials), and the dosage-reduction guidance for severe diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting. Supports the plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates: diarrhea 17%, nausea 17%, upper respiratory tract infection 9%, headache 6%. Supports that no boxed warning is present on this label.
What it does not support
This label does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of its plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates. It also does not state how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or predict an individual reader’s dose or response.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that apremilast is an oral medicine for plaque psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis that works by controlling inflammation in immune cells. Supports that, unlike other strong psoriasis medicines, no medical tests are required while taking it. Supports that clinical trials found no difference in response between patients 65 and older and younger patients. Supports that by week 16, about 20% of patients were clear or almost clear, and about a third saw 75% or greater improvement. Supports that apremilast greatly reduced itch for many patients. Supports that many nail-psoriasis patients saw improvement, some a 50% reduction, by week 16, and that more than 40% of scalp-psoriasis patients were clear or almost clear by week 16. Supports common side effects including diarrhea, nausea, headache, respiratory infections, vomiting, and cold-like symptoms, and that depression and suicidal thoughts are a serious concern. Supports advising a dermatologist if pregnant, planning pregnancy, or breastfeeding.
What it does not support
Does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial adverse-reaction rate table with exact percentages by reaction, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and combination context.
What this source supports
Supports that Otezla (apremilast) treats psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis by inhibiting PDE4, an enzyme that controls much of the inflammatory action within cells. Supports that it operates similarly to biologic treatments by targeting specific immune-system components. Supports that it comes as a 30 mg tablet requiring a five-day dose-escalation period before reaching the recommended 30 mg twice-daily dose. Supports that continuous use is necessary to maintain benefits. Supports that Otezla has been shown to be safe and effective when taken with methotrexate, and can be combined with phototherapy or topical treatments. Supports common side effects including diarrhea, nausea, tension headaches, and upper respiratory infections. Supports that severe gastrointestinal issues, depression, and weight loss were documented in some trial patients.
What it does not support
Does not report cost, insurance coverage, patient-assistance-program terms, or comparative-effectiveness data against other psoriasis treatments, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- AmgenManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Amgen manufactures Otezla and operates this patient-access page. It is a first-party statement about its own copay program, not independent pricing evidence.
What this source supports
Supports that eligible patients with commercial insurance may pay as little as $0 a month out of pocket through the Otezla Co-Pay Program. Supports that the program is available regardless of income level, and that it excludes patients on Medicare, Medicaid, or another government-funded plan. Supports that the Amgen Safety Net Foundation, a nonprofit patient-assistance program, can help qualifying uninsured or underinsured patients access Otezla at no cost.
What it does not support
A manufacturer copay-card page does not state a specific annual dollar maximum, does not guarantee any one reader would qualify, and does not establish what a reader would actually pay.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.
What this source supports
Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price range recorded for 60 tablets of Otezla 30 mg: an average retail cash price between $6,965.58 and $7,116.84 across two independent search snapshots.
What it does not support
Supports a converged GoodRx-coupon price of $3,353.53. Also supports that no generic apremilast is commercially available as of this snapshot. It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.