What do the creams and ointments tend to cause?
Most of it is local. It shows up where the product goes, and it is easiest to read against your own skin a week earlier. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
How to use this step
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the AAD first. It records that a strong corticosteroid on thin skin, such as the face, can cause spider veins and stretch marks. NPF lists skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and widened surface blood vessels. NPF also records that stopping a topical steroid abruptly can cause a flare. For synthetic vitamin D, AAD lists irritated skin, burning, itching, swelling, peeling, dryness and redness, and records that these usually settle with use. For tazarotene, AAD lists redness, peeling, dryness, itching and burning, plus more sun sensitivity, and records that it must not be used in pregnancy. Protopic (tacrolimus) ointment and Elidel (pimecrolimus) cream carry an FDA warning AAD records, about a possible raised risk of lymphoma or skin cancer. The Protopic label records burning and itching where the ointment goes, mostly in the first few days.
Check before moving on
- Depends on you
I looked for how often an effect happens, or how likely it is for you, and found no figure. Early on, expected irritation and a reaction worth a call can look much alike. Your dermatologist tells them apart, and a dated note makes that easier.
Questions about reactions and reaching your office
Which of these effects should I expect where I apply this, and which are not normal?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How would I spot early skin thinning on the spots I treat most?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does light therapy leave behind?
Usually something close to mild sunburn in the hours after a session, fading before the next one. Evidence Evidence
How to use this step
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the AAD on the immediate effects of narrowband UVB. A sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, itching, and dark spots that are more common in medium and dark complexions. It records that blisters and burns happen, though rarely. NPF records redness, stinging and burns as well. Both record a higher long-term skin cancer risk, and AAD adds freckles and early skin ageing. NPF asks you to talk the risks through with your provider and keep regular check-ups.
Check before moving on
- Depends on you
Neither page I read puts a number on any of this. Redness reads differently on deeper skin tones, so what you feel counts as much as what you see. A reaction that keeps building after you leave belongs in a message to the team.
Questions about reactions and reaching your office
How much redness after a session is expected for my skin tone?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Who do I contact if a burn or a blister appears between visits?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do the older pills ask of you?
Mostly stomach, mouth and monitoring. Each one keeps an eye on something different in your blood or your body: Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
- Methotrexate: nausea, appetite loss, mouth sores and fatigue, with blood tests behind them.
- Cyclosporine: kidney function and blood pressure checks.
- Soriatane (acitretin): dry lips and skin, hair loss, mood changes, and a pregnancy boundary.
- Otezla (apremilast): diarrhea, nausea, headache, weight loss and mood changes.
How to use this step
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Liver damage and monitoring are what psoriasis readers ask most about methotrexate. AAD lists vomiting, nausea, appetite loss, mouth sores, mouth redness and swelling, and fatigue for methotrexate, and says to report them right away. NPF records that regular blood tests confirm the liver, the white blood cells and the bone marrow are handling it safely. NPF records that kidney function is checked before and during cyclosporine, and that blood pressure is checked often. For Soriatane (acitretin), NPF lists hair loss, dry skin and mouth, bleeding gums, nosebleeds, peeling fingertips, mood changes, joint pain and raised liver enzymes. It records that acitretin must not be taken in pregnancy. For Otezla (apremilast), AAD lists diarrhea, nausea, headache, respiratory infections and vomiting, and names depression and suicidal thoughts as a serious concern. NPF adds weight loss and severe stomach upset from trials.
Check before moving on
- Depends on you
I could not find a rate on these pages, and none predicts yours. A mood change or a weight change is hard to see from the inside. Someone close to you may notice it first, which is a good reason to name the risk out loud before you start rather than after.
Questions about reactions and reaching your office
Which blood tests does my treatment need, and what would an off result change?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What mood or weight change should make me call you instead of waiting?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What about Sotyktu (deucravacitinib) and the biologics?
Infection is the running theme. Each of these quiets a part of the immune system on purpose, so infection signs carry more weight than usual. Evidence Evidence Evidence
How to use this step
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the NPF list of common effects recorded for Sotyktu (deucravacitinib). Upper respiratory infection, a raised blood creatine phosphokinase level, herpes simplex, mouth ulcers, folliculitis and acne. For biologics, AAD lists upper respiratory tract infection, a skin reaction where the injection goes, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection and headache. AAD records that biologics raise infection risk, higher with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history or advanced age. It records that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting. NPF names fever, cough and flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.
Check before moving on
- Depends on you
What I read are class lists, not your own risk. Screening before you start is about a hidden infection waking up, so keep your results where you can find them. A sore injection site for a day is not the same as one spreading.
Questions about reactions and reaching your office
What infection signs would you want to hear about the same day?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Does my tuberculosis screening need repeating while I stay on this?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Which of these can wait, and which cannot?
Three speeds. Sorting what you see into one of them is the whole job here: Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
- Keeps until the next visit: expected local irritation that is settling, a sunburn-like reaction that fades, a question about whether something counts.
- Call the office today: fever, cough or flu-like symptoms on a biologic. Mouth sores or ongoing nausea on methotrexate. A mood change on Otezla (apremilast).
- Call the office today: a burn or a blister after light therapy, or a flare that starts after a topical steroid stops.
- Emergency services: a severe allergic reaction, a sudden widespread pustular rash, or extensive redness spreading fast across your skin.
How to use this step
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read these six records side by side. AAD says to report methotrexate side effects to a dermatologist right away, and NPF says the same for fever, cough or flu-like symptoms on a biologic. AAD names depression and suicidal thoughts as a serious concern with Otezla (apremilast). NPF records that stopping a topical steroid abruptly can cause a flare. The methotrexate label carries a boxed warning, its strongest kind. It covers serious and sometimes fatal reactions affecting the bone marrow, gut, liver, lungs, skin and kidneys. It also rules the drug out after a prior severe allergic reaction to it. NICE identifies generalised pustular psoriasis and erythroderma as needing same-day specialist assessment.
Check before moving on
- Depends on you
I found no hour and no cut-off in these sources, so read the grouping as a way to sort what you are seeing. Your own written plan may move something up a level, and your plan wins. If it frightens you, or it is getting worse quickly, emergency care is the right call and nobody will mind.
Questions about reactions and reaching your office
Which symptoms on my treatment mean I call you the same day?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Who do I reach after hours, and what should I have ready to tell them?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Three speeds for a reaction
You notice something new on a psoriasis treatment. How fast should you act?
- Keeps until the next visit
- If expected local irritation is settling, a sunburn-like reaction is fading, or you are unsure whether something counts.
- Call the office today
- If fever, cough or flu-like symptoms appear on a biologic, mouth sores or nausea persist on methotrexate, or your mood changes on Otezla (apremilast).A burn or blister after light therapy belongs in the same call, and so does a flare after a topical steroid stops.
- Emergency services
- If there is a severe allergic reaction, a sudden widespread pustular rash, or extensive redness spreading fast across your skin.If it frightens you, or it is getting worse quickly, emergency care is the right call and nobody will mind.
From the guidance I cite here.
One more answer: how to record a reaction so the call is short
How should you record a reaction?
Date it, name the spot, say what it felt like, and keep it. A short dated note beats a confident memory at the visit. Evidence Evidence Evidence
How to use this step
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The NPF page I read says to bring a symptom tracker, on paper or on a phone, and to share it at the appointment. It says to describe symptoms clearly and to note changes in severity and in the areas affected. Its flare guide offers a worksheet for daily symptoms and their severity. I put the camera method on tracking flares and photos, and what a stay-or-switch conversation needs on reviewing your plan. NPF also records the rebound flare after a topical steroid stops, and advises checking with a clinician first.
Check before moving on
- Depends on you
Neither page I read puts a number on what tracking changes. Bring the gaps as well as the entries, because a missed week is information too. One point carries across every treatment here. Stopping a systemic medicine on your own is a change to your plan. Make the call first, and let your dermatologist choose the next step.
Questions about reactions and reaching your office
What details do you want written down when a reaction happens?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If a side effect is too much to live with, what are my options besides stopping?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that tracking symptoms and common triggers over time can help a person figure out their own specific triggers. Supports naming stress, alcohol, and diet as examples of common triggers to watch for. Supports naming discolored skin patches and itching as psoriasis symptoms, and joint swelling and fatigue as psoriatic arthritis symptoms, to watch for. Supports using a worksheet to record daily symptoms and their severity, and sharing that worksheet with a health care provider.
What it does not support
Does not give a percentage or timeline for how much tracking changes any one outcome. Does not name every possible trigger - stress, alcohol, and diet are examples, not a complete list. Does not measure whether tracking itself helps or burdens a given person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports bringing a symptom tracker, kept on paper or on a phone, to share with a doctor at an appointment. Supports clearly describing symptoms and noting changes in severity and affected areas as part of preparing for a visit.
What it does not support
Does not mention photographing skin changes specifically. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
Protopic (tacrolimus) ointment: US prescribing information and Medication Guide (opens in a new tab)
DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent efficacy evidence.
What this source supports
It establishes the US atopic-dermatitis indication, boxed warning, local effects, long-term-use precaution, and ultraviolet instructions for this product. Its mechanism-of-action section supports that tacrolimus binds FKBP-12 to block calcineurin phosphatase, preventing the T-cell activation that its boxed warning and local-effect data describe. Its local-adverse-reaction data supports burning in roughly 46-58% and itching in roughly 41-46% of studied patients, most often in the first few days and easing as treatment continues. Its Dosage and Administration section supports applying a thin layer twice daily and re-examining the patient if signs and symptoms do not improve within six weeks.
What it does not support
It does not approve tacrolimus for vitiligo or psoriasis, establish efficacy for either, or resolve off-label guideline discussion of supervised combinations. Its dosing and six-week re-examination window are stated for its approved atopic-dermatitis indication, not as a vitiligo-specific schedule.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.
What it does not support
It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.
What it does not support
It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch, and slow skin-cell growth. They come in strengths from very mild to extremely strong and are typically applied twice daily. Strong products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. Most people see results with short twice-daily use, and no improvement after four to six weeks is a signal to return to the prescriber.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name potency classes by number, give a percentage of people who improve, or set a maximum course length.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed.
What this source supports
Supports that topical steroids range from super-potent to least potent, and that guidance advises not using one for longer than three weeks without checking with a clinician. Side effects include skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and dilated blood vessels. Systemic absorption is a risk with widespread, prolonged or occluded use, and abruptly stopping a topical steroid can cause a psoriasis flare.
What it does not support
It does not name which specific product falls in which potency class, quantify how often a side effect occurs, or set a course length for any specific product or body site.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that synthetic vitamin D (vitamin D analogues) slows rapidly growing skin cells, flattens thick psoriasis, and removes scale, and can treat nail and scalp psoriasis specifically. Most people apply it twice a day and notice improvement within about two weeks. It can be safely combined with a strong corticosteroid. The combination tends to work better than either alone and can reduce the side effects that come with using a strong steroid, which allows longer-term use. Common side effects are irritated skin, burning, itching, swelling, peeling, dryness, and redness, which typically resolve with continued use. A more serious but low-risk side effect is hypercalcemia, which can weaken bones, cause kidney stones, or affect the heart and brain.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name a specific percentage of people who improve, quantify how often hypercalcemia occurs, or set a maximum course length.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that tazarotene, a topical retinoid (synthetic vitamin A), slows rapidly growing skin cells, reduces thick psoriasis, decreases scale, and lessens redness and swelling. Often prescribed alongside a topical corticosteroid, which reduces skin irritation and produces longer-lasting results and a longer remission than tazarotene alone. Applied once daily as a thin layer. A few patients see complete clearing; most see about a 50% reduction, with remission lasting up to three months. Common side effects are irritation (redness, peeling, dryness, itching, burning) and increased sun sensitivity. Must not be used during pregnancy because it can cause birth defects. On nail psoriasis, can reduce nail thickness, treat crumbling nails, and help restore normal nail growth.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name an exact percentage-of-patients figure beyond "most," quantify how often a side effect occurs, or state a fixed number of weeks before a check-in.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that tacrolimus ointment and pimecrolimus cream are FDA approved to treat atopic dermatitis (eczema), not psoriasis, so dermatologists prescribe either for psoriasis off-label. Supports use on plaque psoriasis on the face and other delicate areas including the genitals, and on inverse psoriasis (armpits, under the breasts, groin, or face). Supports that most people apply either medicine twice a day, and that no improvement after six weeks is a signal to check back with a dermatologist. Supports that the FDA warns of a possible increased risk of lymphoma or skin cancer, while noting dermatologists have not observed this increased risk in day-to-day practice.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not explain the calcineurin mechanism of action, name a percentage of people who improve, or state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate works by suppressing the overactive immune system behind psoriasis, and can effectively treat severe psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, and nail psoriasis. Supports that most people taking methotrexate see less psoriasis in four to six weeks, with full clearing sometimes taking up to six months. Supports that methotrexate is usually taken once a week, never more often without a dermatologist saying so. Supports that it comes as a pill, liquid, or at-home injection, and that it should be supplemented with folic acid. Supports the common side effects of vomiting, nausea, appetite loss, mouth sores, mouth redness and swelling, and fatigue. Supports that these should be reported to a dermatologist right away.
What it does not support
Does not report an exact side-effect rate, does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate binds to and inhibits an enzyme involved in the rapid growth of skin cells, slowing that growth. Supports that regular blood tests are required to confirm the drug is being safely processed by the liver, white blood cells, and bone marrow. Supports that less common long-term risks include liver damage and reversible liver scarring, a reduced white blood cell count with higher infection risk, and rare lymphoma or bone marrow toxicity. Supports that alcohol should be avoided to reduce liver problems. Supports that men should be off methotrexate at least three months, and women at least four months, before trying to conceive.
What it does not support
Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the boxed warning, the label’s strongest warning, in four parts. It covers embryo-fetal toxicity, including fetal death; the drug is contraindicated in pregnancy for non-cancer use. It covers contraindication after a prior severe hypersensitivity reaction. It covers serious, sometimes fatal, reactions affecting the bone marrow, GI tract, liver, lungs, skin, and kidneys, which is why close monitoring is required. It covers death reported when tablets were taken daily by mistake instead of weekly. Supports the labeled psoriasis dosage of 10 to 25 mg orally once weekly, raised gradually to a maximum of 30 mg weekly, with folic or folinic acid supplementation recommended. Supports contraception during treatment and for 6 months after the final dose for females of reproductive potential, and 3 months after the final dose for males. Supports an adverse-reaction table from 12-18 week rheumatoid arthritis studies. At 10% or greater: elevated liver tests (15%) and nausea or vomiting (10%). In the 3%-10% range: stomatitis and low platelet count. In the 1%-3% range: rash, diarrhea, hair loss, and low blood-cell counts.
What it does not support
The adverse-reaction rate table comes from rheumatoid arthritis trials, not a study of people with psoriasis, and does not state how often any reaction occurs in psoriasis treatment. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.
What this source supports
Supports that cyclosporine suppresses the immune system and slows the growth of certain immune cells. Supports that it is taken daily by mouth as a capsule or liquid, and that a lower dose may be used when combined with a topical treatment. Supports that the FDA recommends cyclosporine not be used for longer than one year, though some doctors prescribe it longer, and that there is no specific guideline for how long to wait before resuming it. Supports that some improvement can appear after two weeks on stronger doses, with three to four months typically needed to reach optimal control. Supports that people previously treated with methotrexate, PUVA, UVB, coal tar, or radiation therapy face an increased skin-cancer risk on cyclosporine. Supports that kidney function is monitored before and during treatment, blood pressure is checked frequently, grapefruit juice should be avoided, and vaccines may be less effective while on cyclosporine.
What it does not support
Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.
What this source supports
Supports that Soriatane (acitretin) is FDA-approved for severe plaque, guttate, pustular, erythrodermic, or palmoplantar psoriasis in adults, and that the exact way it controls psoriasis is not known. Supports that it comes in 10 mg and 25 mg capsules taken once daily with food, with the dose adjusted by individual response. Supports that skin improvement usually appears after eight to sixteen weeks, and that peak effect can take up to six months, especially for plaque psoriasis. Supports that it is often combined with phototherapy, and sometimes with biologics or used in rotation with cyclosporine or methotrexate. Supports the pregnancy contraindication and the requirement for two negative pregnancy tests and two forms of birth control. Supports the restriction against alcohol during treatment and for two months after stopping, to prevent conversion to a longer-lasting related compound. Supports common side effects including hair loss, dry skin and mouth, bleeding gums, nosebleeds, peeling fingertips, mood changes, headache, joint pain, night-vision changes, and elevated liver enzymes. Supports the three-year blood-donation restriction after stopping treatment.
What it does not support
Does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population size, does not report an exact reaction rate, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that apremilast is an oral medicine for plaque psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis that works by controlling inflammation in immune cells. Supports that, unlike other strong psoriasis medicines, no medical tests are required while taking it. Supports that clinical trials found no difference in response between patients 65 and older and younger patients. Supports that by week 16, about 20% of patients were clear or almost clear, and about a third saw 75% or greater improvement. Supports that apremilast greatly reduced itch for many patients. Supports that many nail-psoriasis patients saw improvement, some a 50% reduction, by week 16, and that more than 40% of scalp-psoriasis patients were clear or almost clear by week 16. Supports common side effects including diarrhea, nausea, headache, respiratory infections, vomiting, and cold-like symptoms, and that depression and suicidal thoughts are a serious concern. Supports advising a dermatologist if pregnant, planning pregnancy, or breastfeeding.
What it does not support
Does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial adverse-reaction rate table with exact percentages by reaction, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and combination context.
What this source supports
Supports that Otezla (apremilast) treats psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis by inhibiting PDE4, an enzyme that controls much of the inflammatory action within cells. Supports that it operates similarly to biologic treatments by targeting specific immune-system components. Supports that it comes as a 30 mg tablet requiring a five-day dose-escalation period before reaching the recommended 30 mg twice-daily dose. Supports that continuous use is necessary to maintain benefits. Supports that Otezla has been shown to be safe and effective when taken with methotrexate, and can be combined with phototherapy or topical treatments. Supports common side effects including diarrhea, nausea, tension headaches, and upper respiratory infections. Supports that severe gastrointestinal issues, depression, and weight loss were documented in some trial patients.
What it does not support
Does not report cost, insurance coverage, patient-assistance-program terms, or comparative-effectiveness data against other psoriasis treatments, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing mechanism and treatment-category context.
What this source supports
Supports that Sotyktu is the brand name for deucravacitinib, an oral systemic treatment taken once daily by mouth. Supports that it works similarly to biologics by targeting the TYK2 part of the immune system, reducing the overactive immune response behind psoriasis. Supports that it was the first tyrosine kinase inhibitor approved for psoriasis. Supports that it was the first novel oral therapy for psoriasis in a decade. Supports the plain-language list of common side effects: upper respiratory infection, elevated blood creatine phosphokinase, herpes simplex, mouth ulcers, folliculitis, and acne.
What it does not support
Does not report titration details, PASI or trial-response data, dosing adjustments for organ impairment, or cost. Does not report comparative-effectiveness data against other psoriasis treatments, or assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing class-grouping, administration-route, and screening context.
What this source supports
Supports that biologics for psoriasis are identified by their immune target. Named groupings include TNF-alpha inhibitors (naming Enbrel, Humira, Remicade as examples), IL-17 inhibitors (blocking interleukin 17-A), IL-23 inhibitors (blocking interleukins 12 and 23), IL-36 inhibitors, and T-cell inhibitors. Supports that biologics are taken by injection or IV infusion depending on the label, and that some injections can be self-administered at home. Supports that screening for tuberculosis or other infectious disease is often required before starting, and that biologics can increase infection risk, with fever, cough, or flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.
What it does not support
Does not report a complete, single four-class taxonomy in one place, PASI or trial-response data, dosing frequency, cost, or a full side-effect list. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.
What it does not support
Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.