Denied because your vitiligo was called "cosmetic"

A plan can call vitiligo treatment cosmetic in one line and close the file. Dermatology guidance describes vitiligo as a medical condition, and one cream now carries a US label for it. Here is what a written refusal has to answer, reason by reason.

Four questions about a 'cosmetic' vitiligo denial, answered below.

4questions answered belowFrom what a written reason must answer to the two steps after a refusal

The two steps after a refusal

  1. Internal appeal to the plan

    You ask the same insurer to look again, using the file your dermatology office puts together.

  2. External review by an independent third party

    If your case qualifies, someone outside the insurance company gets the final say. Follow the steps printed on your own denial notice.

The letter says my vitiligo treatment is cosmetic

Dermatology guidance does not treat vitiligo as a beauty problem. I read the British Association of Dermatologists guideline, which calls autoimmunity a contributor to how vitiligo arises. The same guideline asks for thyroid function and antithyroid antibody screening. It also tells clinicians to discuss the psychosocial impact of living with the condition. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

  • It is autoimmune in origin, and it travels with other autoimmune conditions.
  • It is assessed by activity, extent, site, age and burden, like any other treated condition.
  • It can affect mucous membranes and the inside of the ear, not only visible skin.

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

People I have heard from describe the word cosmetic as the part that stings, not the refusal itself. I read the International Vitiligo Task Force recommendations, which set out diagnosis, disease-activity assessment, treatment goals and shared decision-making. They name stable and active vitiligo as two different states that change the plan of care. Canadian consensus guidance maps treatment choice onto activity, extent, site, age, goals and burden. That is the shape of medical care, not of a cosmetic request. You can quote those documents by name and date in your appeal.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

None of these documents writes plan policy, and none of them binds an insurer. The British guideline was built for UK care and reviewed studies through May 2019. The Canadian consensus was funded by Incyte, which sells a vitiligo medicine, and the American Academy of Dermatology pages acknowledge support from the same company. What decides your case is the wording your plan published.

Questions for your plan or your dermatology office

  1. Which written exclusion was applied to this decision, and where is its full text?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Does that exclusion name vitiligo, or was it read across from a general cosmetic clause?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

A cream was refused, but it has an FDA approval for vitiligo

Opzelura (ruxolitinib) cream carries US prescribing information with a defined nonsegmental-vitiligo indication. I would state that plainly in an appeal. The request is for a labeled indication, not for an off-label wish. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I checked the same label: it carries limitations of use, boxed warnings, and ultraviolet and skin-cancer precautions. A reviewer can read all of it. Naming the label and its indication moves the argument off taste and onto a regulated document.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Approval is not coverage. A label does not oblige a plan to pay, does not set a formulary tier, and does not say who qualifies under a plan rule. It also does not show that the medicine suits you. Your prescriber decides that part, and your plan decides the money part.

Questions for your plan or your dermatology office

  1. Was this refused on the exclusion, on step therapy, or on a quantity limit?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. If a tube limit applies, what is the limit and how is an exception requested?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What each written reason has to be answered with

Read the reason on the notice first, then answer that reason and no other. A cosmetic exclusion, a step-therapy rule, a tube limit, an age rule and an "experimental" label are five different arguments. Plans put their vitiligo rules in writing, so start with the text. Evidence Evidence

  • Cosmetic exclusion: ask for the clause, then show the medical framing above.
  • Step therapy: list what was already tried, with dates and what happened.
  • Quantity limit: ask for the limit in writing and for the exception route.
  • Phototherapy called experimental: point to the plan policy that already covers it.
  • Age: ask which age rule was applied and where it is published.

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

One published example shows the shape. Aetna bulletin 0422 covers light treatment for vitiligo. It names PUVA, excimer laser, and office or home narrowband UVB. Cover starts after a poor response to at least one earlier treatment. The list is topical Protopic (tacrolimus), steroid cream or pills, or topical Opzelura (ruxolitinib). The same page says light treatment should stop if no new color shows in six months. The VA rules for the cream ask for proof of an earlier trial. The VA can skip that step when the earlier option was unwise or not on hand.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Those are two payers, not a national rule. Neither says what another insurer requires, and neither says what you will be told. The VA document dates from June 2023, and policies are revised on their own schedules. Find your own plan text before quoting anyone else.

Questions for your plan or your dermatology office

  1. Which criterion in your published vitiligo policy was not met, in its own words?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What document version and date was used to decide this request?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What an appeal file needs, and what happens after the first refusal

The clinical case is written out of your chart. A letter of medical necessity is stronger when the record already holds the extent, the body sites, the treatment history and the burden. Photos with dates turn a description into a record. Evidence Evidence

  • How much skin is affected, and which sites, named one by one.
  • Every earlier treatment, with start and stop dates and the result.
  • Psychosocial impact and any quality-of-life measure your office uses.
  • Dated photos of the same area, same light, same distance.

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the HealthCare.gov appeal pages. They describe an internal appeal to the plan, then an external review by an independent third party where a case is eligible. They tell you to follow the instructions printed on the denial notice. The British guideline supports the psychosocial part of the file. It asks clinicians to discuss the impact of living with vitiligo, and reports an earlier review finding a possible negative effect on intimacy.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Filing windows, urgent routes and external-review eligibility vary by plan and by state. The notice in your hand states your own steps and dates. A complete file does not oblige a plan to approve anything.

Questions for your plan or your dermatology office

  1. Can my notes record the affected sites, the extent and every prior treatment with dates?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What is the filing deadline printed on this notice, and is an expedited route open?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

The appeal, stage by stage

  1. Read the notice

    HealthCare.gov tells you to follow the instructions printed on the denial notice, so start with the reason it gives.

  2. Answer that one reason

    A cosmetic exclusion, a step-therapy rule and a tube limit are different arguments, so answer the one you were sent.

  3. Build the file from your chart

    The clinical case is written out of your record: extent, body sites, every earlier treatment with dates, burden, and dated photos.

  4. Internal appeal to the plan

    HealthCare.gov describes an internal appeal to the plan itself as the first stage after a refusal.

  5. External review, where eligible

    An independent third party can review the case after that, where HealthCare.gov says a case qualifies.

Appeal stages from HealthCare.gov, with the file described above.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. HealthCare.gov, U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid ServicesRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports a general US individual and group health-plan distinction between internal appeal and eligible external review, and the need to use the denial notice for instructions.

    What it does not support

    Rights, deadlines, urgent pathways and external-review availability vary by plan and jurisdiction, so this source does not supply a universal deadline or guarantee review.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. AetnaPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: This is Aetna's own coverage policy about its own plans, not an independent evaluation of vitiligo treatment.

    What this source supports

    Supports that Aetna covers photochemotherapy (PUVA), excimer laser, and office-based or home narrow-band UVB for vitiligo. Coverage is medically necessary only after an inadequate response to at least one of topical Protopic (tacrolimus), topical or systemic corticosteroids, or topical Opzelura (ruxolitinib). Continued PUVA or NB-UVB is not considered medically necessary unless some follicular pigmentation appears within six months. The page's own "Policy History" shows a last review date of 07/16/2026 and a next review of 04/22/2027.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a dollar cost or an approval turnaround time. Does not say what a specific Aetna plan will actually decide for a specific member. Its own text defers Opzelura (ruxolitinib) coverage specifics to a separate pharmacy-benefit policy I have not located a text version of.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. VA Pharmacy Benefits Management ServicesPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the VA's own rules for ruxolitinib cream in nonsegmental vitiligo. It requires proof that topical corticosteroids and topical calcineurin inhibitors, or phototherapy, failed or caused a bad reaction. An adequate trial is at least six months of use. The VA can skip this step if the prior treatment is unwise, unavailable, or not possible. Also supports the 10%-of-body-surface application limit and that a dermatologist must prescribe or be involved.

    What it does not support

    This is a VA-only policy, not a private, Medicare Part D, or Medicaid rule. It does not say what any other payer requires. It also gives no national step-therapy standard, and does not state turnaround time, appeal steps, or cost. It does not prove these rules stayed the same after June 2023. The VA's own document says it gets updated as new facts appear.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. Dermatology and Therapy (Prajapati VH, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: Incyte funded the study, journal fee, and medical-writing support. The article says Incyte had no editorial control; authors also disclosed relevant company relationships.

    What this source supports

    Supports a current consensus map in which treatment choices depend on activity, extent, site, age, goals and burden, and in which selected systemic medicines may be considered off-label for unstable or rapidly progressing disease.

    What it does not support

    It is Canadian expert consensus with disclosed relationships, not US regulatory approval, comparative proof, a dosing guide or an individual treatment sequence.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the defined US nonsegmental-vitiligo indication, limitations of use, boxed warnings, skin-cancer and ultraviolet precautions, and clinical-study labeling.

    What it does not support

    It also supports the labeled dosing instruction: "Apply a thin layer of OPZELURA topically twice daily to affected areas of up to 10% body surface area." It further supports the labeled re-evaluation point: "If the patient does not find the repigmentation meaningful by 24 weeks, the patient should be re-evaluated by the healthcare provider." It also supports the vitiligo-trial adverse-reaction rates at 1% incidence or greater: application-site acne 6%, application-site itching 5%, a common-cold-type illness (nasopharyngitis) 4%, headache 4%, urinary tract infection 2%, application-site redness (erythema) 2%, and fever (pyrexia) 1%. It does not guarantee benefit, establish suitability beyond the labeled population, authorize adding phototherapy, or state which reaction should prompt a call to the prescriber beyond directing patients to the Medication Guide and their healthcare provider.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and VenereologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The journal is the publisher. This label refers to extensive author relationships disclosed for the recommendation, not to the journal itself.

    What this source supports

    It supports current expert-consensus terminology, clinical assessment, disease-activity evaluation, treatment-goal discussion, and shared decision-making. Its modified assessment check list names where the patches are as a disease feature, and gives genital involvement as its own example. It records white hairs as an item of its own, apart from what the vitiligo has done in the past six months. Its classification table keeps mucosal vitiligo as a subtype, both across more than one site and at one site alone. It supports planning care around what is there to work with, and its example is hair that still has its color. It names stable vitiligo and active vitiligo as two different states that change the care plan. Its shared-decision steps ask what the patient wants from care. At the time it was written, one cream form of a newer drug type had just been approved. Pill forms of that same drug type were still being studied.

    What it does not support

    It is not independent comparative proof. It cannot diagnose a reader from a description or photograph. It gives no figure for genital involvement, and it does not name lichen sclerosus. It does not set out the Vitiligo European Task Force grading scale. It puts no figure on white hairs and predicts nothing for one person.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. British Journal of Dermatology (Eleftheriadou V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the clinical history and assessment domains, evaluation of associated autoimmune conditions, its recommendation for thyroid function and antithyroid antibody screening, current classification context, treatment-option map, psychosocial assessment, medical photography and the limits of pediatric evidence. Its classification table defines mucosal vitiligo as the oral or genital mucosae. One mucosal site alone is filed as undetermined or unclassified. Its differential diagnosis table lists genital or extragenital lichen sclerosus among the conditions that can be mistaken for vitiligo. That table also lists eczema, psoriasis, lichen planus, pityriasis alba and piebaldism. It calls autoimmunity a contributor to the pathogenesis of vitiligo. It reports an earlier review finding a possible negative impact on intimacy and sexual functioning. It tells clinicians to discuss the psychosocial impact of living with the condition. R28 offers a skin camouflage visit to people who want one. R10 to R14 name potent or very potent topical steroids as the first choice, with a topical calcineurin-inhibitor cream as an option for the face. These are different creams with different proof behind them. R20 names narrowband UVB as the first light option. It says the skin often does better on the face and trunk than on hands and feet. It says there is not enough proof to use any one current pill alone for vitiligo that is not changing. R25 and Table 2 keep cell grafting for vitiligo that is not changing and did not respond to other care. They also say a doctor cannot always tell if the vitiligo has truly stopped changing.

    What it does not support

    It was designed for UK care and reviewed literature through May 2019; it does not establish a universal testing plan, prescribe an individual plan, or establish current US labeling or coverage. Its differential diagnosis table is a list, not a method a reader can apply to their own skin. It does not say how to tell any two of those conditions apart. It gives no figure for how often vitiligo affects genital skin.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The page carries a line thanking Incyte Dermatology for its support. Incyte sells a topical medicine for vitiligo, so the page is not independent of a commercial interest in the subject, even though the AAD states that it developed the content itself.

    What this source supports

    Supports that vitiligo can develop anywhere on a person’s skin, and that the patches usually appear first on the face, arms, hands or feet. It supports that some people lose color in areas called mucous membranes, which the page says includes the genitals and the inside of the mouth and nose. It supports that vitiligo can affect the hair, and that it can develop inside the ear.

    What it does not support

    It is a patient-education page rather than a study. It counts nothing: it does not say how many people lose color in the genital area, in whom, or when in the course of the condition. It does not diagnose a reader, and it names no treatment for any site. It is a US page, last updated 15 April 2026, and it acknowledges support from Incyte Dermatology.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

Join the waitlist

Hear when SteadySkin is available

We send only your email address and Buttondown’s non-personal embed control. We do not send a topic tag, condition, reading history, or page path, and we never sell your address. You will get a confirmation email - click the link in it to finish joining. This waitlist is not directed to children under 13. See the privacy policy. Your address is stored by Buttondown (opens in a new tab), who send the mail on our behalf and show the confirmation page.

Confirm your address, then get one email when SteadySkin is available.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.