What does Aetna require before it pays for phototherapy?
Aetna covers narrow-band UVB, including a home unit, for both conditions. Topical treatment has to fail first. For vitiligo, that means trying at least one of three things: topical Protopic (tacrolimus), a topical or systemic corticosteroid, or topical Opzelura (ruxolitinib). Aetna added the home-unit option to this vitiligo policy in July 2026. For psoriasis, PUVA requires severe disease: 10% or more of the body, or the hands, feet, or scalp. Home UVB for psoriasis is for frequent flares when in-office sessions are not possible. Evidence Evidence Evidence
- Vitiligo: inadequate response to topical Protopic (tacrolimus), topical/systemic corticosteroids, or topical Opzelura (ruxolitinib) required first.
- Vitiligo: continued PUVA or home UVB stays medically necessary only if some follicular pigmentation shows up within six months.
- Psoriasis: PUVA requires 10%+ body surface area, or hand/foot/scalp involvement, after conventional therapy has failed.
- Psoriasis: continued treatment stops being considered necessary if there is no improvement within two months.
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read both bulletins. These are Aetna's own written rules, and both were last reviewed in mid-2026.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither bulletin states a cost or a wait time. Your specific Aetna plan may decide differently. The Opzelura reference points to a separate pharmacy policy I could not find.
Questions for your plan, its prior-auth line, or your Medicaid caseworker
I've already tried ___ - does that count as the treatment failure your policy is asking for?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Where in this process do I need a letter from my dermatologist versus just chart notes?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does UnitedHealthcare say?
UnitedHealthcare's "Light and Laser Therapy" medical policy is effective January 2026. It does not name psoriasis or vitiligo anywhere in its coverage rationale. It sets rules for other light and laser procedures instead: pulsed dye laser for port-wine stains and hemangiomas, laser treatment for burn scars and pilonidal sinus disease. It states phototherapy is unproven for acne, onychomycosis, rhinophyma, and rosacea by name. Evidence
- Covered by this specific policy: pulsed dye laser for port-wine stains or hemangiomas, laser for certain burn scars, and laser hair removal tied to pilonidal disease.
- Stated unproven by this policy: light phototherapy, photodynamic therapy, and IPL for acne, onychomycosis, rhinophyma, and rosacea.
- Not mentioned anywhere in this policy: psoriasis, vitiligo.
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read this straight off the one UnitedHealthcare document itself.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A policy's silence is not a denial. A separate guideline for home light equipment likely covers this instead. I could not find a current, linkable copy of it.
Questions for your plan, its prior-auth line, or your Medicaid caseworker
Since this policy does not mention my condition, which document actually decides my phototherapy request?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is a home light unit handled as durable medical equipment on my plan, and does that have its own separate criteria?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does Blue Cross Blue Shield say?
Blue Cross Blue Shield is not one company. It is a group of independent local companies, each writing its own medical policy. Premera Blue Cross is the one for Washington. Premera covers home UVB light therapy for a named list of conditions, including psoriasis and vitiligo. The condition must be severe. It must have resisted other treatment for more than four months. Evidence
- Condition must be severe, extensive, and refractory for more than four months.
- Treatment needed several times a week, on a long-term maintenance basis.
- Device must be FDA-approved, UVB-only, and prescribed by a dermatologist.
- Member must be able to operate the device, and either unable to travel for office-based therapy or home therapy must be more cost-effective.
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
People I have heard from are weighing a clinic course against a home unit, and this is one payer's answer. I read Premera's own written policy, effective April 2026.
Considerations
- Depends on you
This is one state company, not a national standard. Another state can set its own rule. Office visits, not done at home, are not covered by this specific text.
Questions for your plan, its prior-auth line, or your Medicaid caseworker
Does the Blue Cross Blue Shield company that actually covers me use the same four-month and three-times-a-week rule, or its own version?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What counts as "unable to travel" for your review - is a long drive enough, or does it need to be documented some other way?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does Cigna say?
Cigna removed prior restrictions on home phototherapy coverage, effective July 15, 2025. This opened access for members with psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo. That description comes from an announcement distributed by Phothera, a home-phototherapy device maker, not from Cigna itself. Cigna’s own general patient page on phototherapy for psoriasis mentions home treatment as a possibility, without stating a coverage rule. Evidence Evidence
- Policy change: home phototherapy restrictions removed, effective 7/15/2025, per the device-maker announcement.
- Cigna's own patient page (last reviewed December 2024): mentions home treatment as possible, states no specific criteria.
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
More than one outlet I checked reported the same July 2025 change.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The exact paperwork or prior-treatment rule a member must meet is not confirmed here. I could not find a public copy of Cigna's own coverage text for phototherapy.
Questions for your plan, its prior-auth line, or your Medicaid caseworker
Can you send me the actual coverage-policy document this decision is based on, not just a summary?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What documentation does my prior-authorization request need to include?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does Kaiser Permanente say?
Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Washington covers excimer laser for psoriasis of the scalp, face, neck, or hands, after two topical treatments have failed over 12 weeks. For vitiligo of the face, neck, or hands, it requires both a topical corticosteroid and a topical calcineurin inhibitor to have failed over at least 12 weeks. Home narrowband UVB is covered for qualifying conditions when a dermatology provider orders it. Evidence
- Excimer laser, psoriasis: scalp, face, neck, or hands. Two topicals from a named list must have failed over 12 weeks.
- Excimer laser, vitiligo: face, neck, or hands. Both a topical corticosteroid and a topical calcineurin inhibitor must have failed over 12+ weeks.
- Home narrowband UVB: covered when dermatology-ordered and the member has durable-medical-equipment coverage.
- Not covered, stated explicitly: tattooing, depigmentation, and melanocyte transplant for vitiligo, as cosmetic.
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read Kaiser's own 2009 review. Citing a real trial, it found home UVB met its evidence bar for psoriasis. A 2008 review had said the evidence was not enough.
Considerations
- Depends on you
This is Washington-only. Kaiser's other regions can set their own rule.
Questions for your plan, its prior-auth line, or your Medicaid caseworker
Does my region use the same 12-week topical-failure rule for excimer laser, or a different one?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What paperwork does my dermatologist need to submit to show the durable-medical-equipment requirement is met?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What about Medicaid?
Medicaid is not one program. Each state runs its own within federal rules. One example: AmeriHealth Caritas Louisiana, a Louisiana Medicaid managed-care plan, covers office-based UVB and PUVA for psoriasis and vitiligo after conventional therapy has failed. It covers home UVB only for severe, extensive, long-resistant disease treated several times a week, when the member cannot travel for office care. It does not cover home PUVA at all. Evidence
- Office-based UVB, UVB narrowband, and PUVA: covered for a named list of conditions including psoriasis and vitiligo, after conventional therapy fails.
- Home UVB: covered only when severe, extensive, refractory 4+ months, needing several treatments a week, and the member cannot travel for office-based care.
- Home PUVA: not covered under any circumstance in this specific plan.
Why this matters
- Limited evidence
I read one Louisiana plan's own written policy, reviewed February 2023.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Its own "next review" date, May 2024, has already passed. A newer version may exist. This is one state's one plan, not a national Medicaid rule.
Questions for your plan, its prior-auth line, or your Medicaid caseworker
I'm on Medicaid in ___ - where do I find my own state's actual phototherapy policy, not a general description of one?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Does my specific managed-care plan use the same four-month and three-times-a-week rule as this one, or its own version?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- AetnaPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is Aetna's own coverage policy about its own plans, not an independent evaluation of vitiligo treatment.
What this source supports
Supports that Aetna covers photochemotherapy (PUVA), excimer laser, and office-based or home narrow-band UVB for vitiligo. Coverage is medically necessary only after an inadequate response to at least one of topical Protopic (tacrolimus), topical or systemic corticosteroids, or topical Opzelura (ruxolitinib). Continued PUVA or NB-UVB is not considered medically necessary unless some follicular pigmentation appears within six months. The page's own "Policy History" shows a last review date of 07/16/2026 and a next review of 04/22/2027.
What it does not support
Does not state a dollar cost or an approval turnaround time. Does not say what a specific Aetna plan will actually decide for a specific member. Its own text defers Opzelura (ruxolitinib) coverage specifics to a separate pharmacy-benefit policy I have not located a text version of.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- AetnaPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is Aetna's own coverage policy about its own plans, not an independent evaluation of phototherapy.
What this source supports
Supports that Aetna covers PUVA for severely disabling psoriasis after conventional therapy has failed. That means 10% or more of the body, or hands, feet, or scalp involvement. Continued PUVA is not considered necessary if psoriasis has not improved after two months. Office-based narrow-band UVB is covered without the same prior-failure language. Home UVB is medically necessary for people with severe, frequently flaring psoriasis who cannot attend on-site therapy, or who need to start treatment immediately. The page's own "Policy History" shows a last review date of 05/18/2026 and a next review of 02/11/2027.
What it does not support
Does not state a dollar cost or a specific plan's actual decision. Does not describe Aetna's vitiligo-specific criteria, which sit in a separate bulletin (CPB 0422).
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Aetna (via PR Newswire)Payer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is Aetna's own announcement of its own policy change.
What this source supports
Supports that Aetna added home NB-UVB phototherapy to its vitiligo coverage policy, effective around July 2026. It is covered as medically necessary for members who have not responded adequately to topical therapy. That matches the same step-therapy shape CPB 0422 itself states.
What it does not support
Does not add any criteria beyond what CPB 0422 already states. Is a press release, not the policy text itself. CPB 0422 is cited separately as the primary document.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- UnitedHealthcarePayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is UnitedHealthcare's own coverage policy about its own plans.
What this source supports
Supports that this specific UnitedHealthcare policy (number 2026T0337GG, effective January 1, 2026) covers pulsed dye laser for port-wine stains and hemangiomas. It also covers laser hair removal or fractional ablative laser for named conditions. It states light phototherapy, photodynamic therapy, and related light or laser treatments are unproven and not medically necessary for acne, onychomycosis, rhinophyma, and rosacea by name. It does not name psoriasis or vitiligo anywhere in its coverage rationale.
What it does not support
Does not prove UnitedHealthcare denies phototherapy for psoriasis or vitiligo generally. A policy's silence on a condition is not the same as a denial. A separate coverage-determination guideline for home ultraviolet-light durable medical equipment likely applies instead. This site could not locate a current, directly linkable text version of that guideline.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Premera Blue CrossPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is Premera Blue Cross's own coverage policy about its own plans. Premera is one independent Blue Cross Blue Shield Association licensee, not a national Blue Cross Blue Shield authority.
What this source supports
Supports that Premera Blue Cross covers home UVB light box therapy, effective April 1, 2026 and last revised March 23, 2026. Covered conditions include a named list that includes psoriasis and vitiligo. The condition must be severe, extensive, and refractory for more than four months. It requires several treatments a week on a long-term maintenance basis. The device must be FDA-approved, UVB-only, and dermatologist-prescribed. The member must be able to operate it, or be unable to travel for office-based therapy, or home therapy must be more cost-effective. Home UVB is explicitly not covered for Seasonal Affective Disorder, convenience, or cosmetic use such as tanning.
What it does not support
Does not state office-based, non-home NB-UVB criteria. Does not represent any other Blue Cross Blue Shield company's policy. Each of the 34 independent Blue Cross Blue Shield companies publishes its own.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Phothera (distributed via Newswise)Manufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Phothera manufactures home phototherapy devices and has a direct commercial interest in payers covering them. This describes Cigna's own policy change but is not published by Cigna.
What this source supports
Supports that Cigna removed prior restrictions on home phototherapy coverage, effective July 15, 2025, for members nationwide. It names psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo as eligible conditions. This followed a similar decision by Elevance Health/Anthem.
What it does not support
Does not state the exact documentation, prior-treatment, or geographic-barrier criteria a member must meet. It is a device manufacturer's summary of Cigna's decision, not Cigna's own published policy text, which I could not locate.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- CignaPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is Cigna's own general patient-education content, not a coverage-policy document.
What this source supports
Supports that Cigna's own general patient-education page, current as of December 4, 2024, mentions that some people may be able to do phototherapy at home.
What it does not support
Does not state any Cigna coverage rule, criterion, or cost. Is general medical information, not a policy document.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of WashingtonPayer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Washington's own coverage criteria about its own plans, not a national Kaiser Permanente policy.
What this source supports
Supports that Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Washington covers excimer laser for psoriasis of the scalp, face, neck, or hands. Two topical treatments from a named list must have failed first, over 12 weeks. For vitiligo of the face, neck, or hands, both a topical corticosteroid and a topical calcineurin inhibitor must have failed, over at least 12 weeks. Home narrowband UVB phototherapy is covered for qualifying conditions when ordered by a dermatology provider and the member has durable-medical-equipment coverage. Its own 2009 Medical Technology Assessment Committee review, citing the PLUTO randomized trial, found home NB-UVB phototherapy for psoriasis met its evidence criteria. That reversed a 2008 review that had found the evidence insufficient. Tattooing, depigmentation, and melanocyte transplant for vitiligo are excluded as cosmetic.
What it does not support
Does not represent any other Kaiser Permanente region's criteria. Kaiser Permanente operates as separate regional health plans. This document's own top-level last-updated date was not visible in the pages I could access. The 2008 and 2009 dates are its own cited review-history dates, used here as the closest available anchor, not confirmation the whole document is current as of 2026.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- AmeriHealth Caritas Louisiana (Louisiana Medicaid managed care)Payer policy · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This is one Louisiana Medicaid managed-care plan's own coverage policy, not a national Medicaid standard.
What this source supports
Supports that AmeriHealth Caritas Louisiana covers UVA phototherapy, UVB phototherapy, and PUVA photochemotherapy as medically necessary for a named list of skin conditions, including psoriasis and vitiligo. Conventional therapy must fail first. UVB home phototherapy is medically necessary only for a diagnosed member unable to travel for office-based therapy. The condition must be severe, extensive, and refractory for at least four months. Treatment must be needed several times a week. PUVA home therapy is investigational and not medically necessary under any circumstance in this policy.
What it does not support
Does not represent any other state's Medicaid program, or any other Louisiana Medicaid managed-care plan. The document's own "recent review date" is 2/2023 and "next review date" is 5/2024. Both are earlier than when this claim was checked, so a newer version may exist that I have not seen.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.