Compare these realistic paths consistently
These paths are not ranked. Use the same factors for each option that remains realistic after clinical review.
What should a real claim be able to tell you?
Five plain things. Who was studied. What the treatment was compared with. How the change was measured. Who paid for the work. And whether the study was registered before it began.
Registered studies are listed in public. I checked ClinicalTrials.gov, a US government database. Sponsors submit the records, and a record can carry status, eligibility, locations and contacts. A US product also moves through set stages. Discovery comes first, then preclinical research, then clinical research, then FDA review, then post-market monitoring. Who was studied matters too. I read the FDA guidance that asks sponsors to plan enrollment for groups long left out of studies, and to write those goals down. How change was measured has set answers in psoriasis. The Psoriasis Area and Severity Index comes out as one number. The Dermatology Life Quality Index totals ten questions about your past week. I go through both in full on measuring change and on how severe is yours.
A listing is not approval. It is not proof of benefit, and it does not say whether you qualify. The FDA page on approvals is an overview of the stages, not a verdict on any product. The enrollment guidance is draft and nonbinding, and it describes no particular psoriasis study. If a pitch cannot answer these five questions, that is the finding. It is a reason to slow down, not a verdict on the product.
Compare the time, follow-up, daily effort, and practical burden of this exact path.
Confirm current availability, qualified support, coverage, and personal cost before relying on this path.
Ask what can be stopped or revisited and which outcomes remain uncertain.
Why can a true story still mean nothing?
Because psoriasis moves on its own. It can quiet down and come back with nothing to do with what you bought. So a person can be honest about what happened and wrong about the cause.
Psoriasis is an immune-mediated disease, and it is long term. There is no cure. An overactive immune system speeds up skin-cell growth. Cells that normally take about a month take three or four days instead. Flares have reported triggers. I read the American Academy of Dermatology list, which names stress, skin injury, infection, starting certain medicines, and cold dry weather. A flare after a skin injury usually shows about 10 to 14 days later. A flare after an infection such as strep throat is reported 2 to 6 weeks later. NIAMS records that handling common triggers, such as stress and skin injuries, can help keep symptoms under control. So a trigger that passes can be followed by calmer skin, whatever the person was taking that month.
None of these sources says whether one person will clear, stay the same or flare. NPF gives no share of people who reach a quiet spell, and no length for one. The AAD list cites no study for its timing windows, and counts nobody. Avoiding a listed trigger is not shown to stop a flare for any one person. A single story has nothing to compare itself with. That is why it cannot separate the product from the disease. I set out what is known about the pattern on will it clear or flare.
Compare the time, follow-up, daily effort, and practical burden of this exact path.
Confirm current availability, qualified support, coverage, and personal cost before relying on this path.
Ask what can be stopped or revisited and which outcomes remain uncertain.
Is a tanning bed the same as prescribed light treatment?
No. Prescribed narrowband UVB is a medical device used under a dermatologist. A tanning bed is sold as a cosmetic service, and a salon sets nothing about your skin.
I checked how the FDA classifies ultraviolet lamps for skin disorders: Class II medical devices. Narrowband UVB slows the growth of fast-growing skin cells and calms an overactive immune system. It also reduces inflammation and reduces or removes itch. I read the AAD, which records that a dermatologist sets the plan and adjusts it. It also records real costs. Immediate ones include a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark skin tones, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Longer-term ones include freckles, early skin aging and raised skin cancer risk. NPF records redness, stinging and burns, and asks for regular check-ups under medical supervision. I carry the full picture on the psoriasis narrowband UVB page.
None of these sources compares a tanning device with prescribed narrowband UVB. None of them measures what a salon session does to psoriasis. The FDA record describes a device category, and validates no single unit. Neither patient page gives a success percentage or a rate for any one side effect. If cost, travel or scheduling is what makes prescribed treatment hard, that barrier is the thing to raise at your next visit.
Compare the time, follow-up, daily effort, and practical burden of this exact path.
Confirm current availability, qualified support, coverage, and personal cost before relying on this path.
Ask what can be stopped or revisited and which outcomes remain uncertain.
Do supplements or a diet clear psoriasis?
People I have heard from ask whether a supplement or a diet cure is worth the money. No diet cures psoriatic disease. Eating patterns may lessen symptoms for some people, and that is a much smaller claim than a cure.
I read the National Psoriasis Foundation, which says plainly that no diet cures psoriatic disease. It reports that omega-3 supplement research is mixed and needs more long-term controlled studies. It reports that vitamin D research is small and limited, and that too much vitamin D can be dangerous. It reports that no study has found glucosamine or chondroitin reduce psoriatic arthritis symptoms. It says supplements should never replace medication, and to talk with your provider before changing how you eat. It advises a gluten-free diet only for confirmed gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. I checked NCCIH, which adds that supplement evidence and product content vary, and that interactions and contamination are possible. AAD links limiting alcohol to treatment working better and lasting longer. I carry the detail on the psoriasis diet page.
None of these sources says how much any food pattern or supplement changes symptoms for one person. NCCIH is not psoriasis evidence, and it checks no product for quality. The AAD page gives no percentage and no timeline for one person. A claim that a diet clears psoriasis for everyone goes past all three. So does a broad gluten claim, which NPF ties to a confirmed diagnosis.
Compare the time, follow-up, daily effort, and practical burden of this exact path.
Confirm current availability, qualified support, coverage, and personal cost before relying on this path.
Ask what can be stopped or revisited and which outcomes remain uncertain.
What about a natural, steroid-free cream?
If a product will not say what is in it, nobody can judge it, including your dermatologist. A cream is not safer for being called natural. It is only unread.
I read NCCIH, which records that product content varies and that contamination is possible. I checked the FDA page on compounding. It records that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and that the agency does not check their safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed. Here is why the ingredient list matters. Topical steroids are real medicine with recorded effects. They run from least potent to super-potent. Reported side effects include skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and dilated blood vessels. Absorption into the body is a risk with widespread, prolonged or covered use. Stopping one abruptly can set off a flare. AAD records that stronger products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk.
None of these sources tests a named over-the-counter cream. None of them says what any particular unlabeled product holds, or how often a mislabeled one turns up. The general rule stands without them. What cannot be read cannot be assessed. So take the actual jar or tube to your appointment, with the full ingredient list, rather than trying it alone. NPF already asks you to bring a record of your symptoms and share it. A product you are weighing belongs in the same bag.
Compare the time, follow-up, daily effort, and practical burden of this exact path.
Confirm current availability, qualified support, coverage, and personal cost before relying on this path.
Ask what can be stopped or revisited and which outcomes remain uncertain.
What should a real claim be able to tell you?
Five plain things. Who was studied. What the treatment was compared with. How the change was measured. Who paid for the work. And whether the study was registered before it began. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Registered studies are listed in public. I checked ClinicalTrials.gov, a US government database. Sponsors submit the records, and a record can carry status, eligibility, locations and contacts. A US product also moves through set stages. Discovery comes first, then preclinical research, then clinical research, then FDA review, then post-market monitoring. Who was studied matters too. I read the FDA guidance that asks sponsors to plan enrollment for groups long left out of studies, and to write those goals down. How change was measured has set answers in psoriasis. The Psoriasis Area and Severity Index comes out as one number. The Dermatology Life Quality Index totals ten questions about your past week. I go through both in full on measuring change and on how severe is yours.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A listing is not approval. It is not proof of benefit, and it does not say whether you qualify. The FDA page on approvals is an overview of the stages, not a verdict on any product. The enrollment guidance is draft and nonbinding, and it describes no particular psoriasis study. If a pitch cannot answer these five questions, that is the finding. It is a reason to slow down, not a verdict on the product.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is there a registered study behind this, and can we look at it together?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Who paid for the research this claim rests on?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Why can a true story still mean nothing?
Because psoriasis moves on its own. It can quiet down and come back with nothing to do with what you bought. So a person can be honest about what happened and wrong about the cause. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Psoriasis is an immune-mediated disease, and it is long term. There is no cure. An overactive immune system speeds up skin-cell growth. Cells that normally take about a month take three or four days instead. Flares have reported triggers. I read the American Academy of Dermatology list, which names stress, skin injury, infection, starting certain medicines, and cold dry weather. A flare after a skin injury usually shows about 10 to 14 days later. A flare after an infection such as strep throat is reported 2 to 6 weeks later. NIAMS records that handling common triggers, such as stress and skin injuries, can help keep symptoms under control. So a trigger that passes can be followed by calmer skin, whatever the person was taking that month.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources says whether one person will clear, stay the same or flare. NPF gives no share of people who reach a quiet spell, and no length for one. The AAD list cites no study for its timing windows, and counts nobody. Avoiding a listed trigger is not shown to stop a flare for any one person. A single story has nothing to compare itself with. That is why it cannot separate the product from the disease. I set out what is known about the pattern on will it clear or flare.
Questions for your dermatologist
Could my skin have quieted down on its own around the time I started this?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would you expect to see if this product were doing the work?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Is a tanning bed the same as prescribed light treatment?
No. Prescribed narrowband UVB is a medical device used under a dermatologist. A tanning bed is sold as a cosmetic service, and a salon sets nothing about your skin. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I checked how the FDA classifies ultraviolet lamps for skin disorders: Class II medical devices. Narrowband UVB slows the growth of fast-growing skin cells and calms an overactive immune system. It also reduces inflammation and reduces or removes itch. I read the AAD, which records that a dermatologist sets the plan and adjusts it. It also records real costs. Immediate ones include a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark skin tones, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Longer-term ones include freckles, early skin aging and raised skin cancer risk. NPF records redness, stinging and burns, and asks for regular check-ups under medical supervision. I carry the full picture on the psoriasis narrowband UVB page.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources compares a tanning device with prescribed narrowband UVB. None of them measures what a salon session does to psoriasis. The FDA record describes a device category, and validates no single unit. Neither patient page gives a success percentage or a rate for any one side effect. If cost, travel or scheduling is what makes prescribed treatment hard, that barrier is the thing to raise at your next visit.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is supervised narrowband UVB an option for my psoriasis?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If getting to a clinic is my barrier, what else could we look at?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Do supplements or a diet clear psoriasis?
People I have heard from ask whether a supplement or a diet cure is worth the money. No diet cures psoriatic disease. Eating patterns may lessen symptoms for some people, and that is a much smaller claim than a cure. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the National Psoriasis Foundation, which says plainly that no diet cures psoriatic disease. It reports that omega-3 supplement research is mixed and needs more long-term controlled studies. It reports that vitamin D research is small and limited, and that too much vitamin D can be dangerous. It reports that no study has found glucosamine or chondroitin reduce psoriatic arthritis symptoms. It says supplements should never replace medication, and to talk with your provider before changing how you eat. It advises a gluten-free diet only for confirmed gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. I checked NCCIH, which adds that supplement evidence and product content vary, and that interactions and contamination are possible. AAD links limiting alcohol to treatment working better and lasting longer. I carry the detail on the psoriasis diet page.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources says how much any food pattern or supplement changes symptoms for one person. NCCIH is not psoriasis evidence, and it checks no product for quality. The AAD page gives no percentage and no timeline for one person. A claim that a diet clears psoriasis for everyone goes past all three. So does a broad gluten claim, which NPF ties to a confirmed diagnosis.
Questions for your dermatologist
Would checking my vitamin D level make a supplement worth trying?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Could this supplement get in the way of the treatment I am on?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What about a natural, steroid-free cream?
If a product will not say what is in it, nobody can judge it, including your dermatologist. A cream is not safer for being called natural. It is only unread. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read NCCIH, which records that product content varies and that contamination is possible. I checked the FDA page on compounding. It records that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and that the agency does not check their safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed. Here is why the ingredient list matters. Topical steroids are real medicine with recorded effects. They run from least potent to super-potent. Reported side effects include skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and dilated blood vessels. Absorption into the body is a risk with widespread, prolonged or covered use. Stopping one abruptly can set off a flare. AAD records that stronger products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources tests a named over-the-counter cream. None of them says what any particular unlabeled product holds, or how often a mislabeled one turns up. The general rule stands without them. What cannot be read cannot be assessed. So take the actual jar or tube to your appointment, with the full ingredient list, rather than trying it alone. NPF already asks you to bring a record of your symptoms and share it. A product you are weighing belongs in the same bag.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is there a specific ingredient on this label you would want flagged before I try it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If I use this and my skin changes, how would we know what caused it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the current FDA classification of ultraviolet lamps for dermatologic disorders as Class II medical devices.
What it does not support
It does not validate a marketplace listing, establish that a particular unit is genuine or cleared, determine a lawful transfer pathway, or show that a used device remains serviceable.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that ClinicalTrials.gov is a U.S. government database whose sponsor-submitted study records can include status, eligibility, locations and contacts.
What it does not support
A listing is not government approval, scientific validation, proof of benefit, a completeness guarantee or a determination that a reader qualifies.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the importance of planning enrollment for populations historically underrepresented in clinical studies and making enrollment goals explicit.
What it does not support
It is draft, nonbinding guidance restored with a federal-site notice; it does not describe representation in any particular Vitiligo trial or prove applicability to an unstudied group.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the distinction between discovery, preclinical research, clinical research, FDA review and post-market monitoring in U.S. product development.
What it does not support
It is a high-level process overview, not a verdict on a specific emerging therapy, a statement that every research stage succeeds or a substitute for the current product label.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that poor sleep quality is a listed symptom of psoriasis. Also lists patches of thick, red, scaly skin that itch or burn, and dry, cracked skin that itches or bleeds. Supports that psoriasis carries risk for mental-health concerns including low self-esteem, anxiety, and depression. Supports that managing common triggers, such as stress and skin injuries, can help keep symptoms under control. Supports, by subtype, that guttate psoriasis outbreaks are often triggered by an upper respiratory infection such as strep throat. Also supports that pustular psoriasis symptoms can be triggered by medications, infections, stress, or certain chemicals. Also supports that erythrodermic psoriasis can be triggered by a bad sunburn or certain medications including corticosteroids. Also supports, by subtype, that inverse psoriasis appears as smooth patches of inflamed skin in skin folds. It names the armpits, the groin, and under the breasts as those folds. It records that rubbing and sweating can make inverse psoriasis worse.
What it does not support
Does not give a percentage of patients affected. Does not measure how much sleep is lost. Does not establish that treating the skin fixes the sleep problem for any one person. Its trigger information is organized by psoriasis subtype, not as one general list for plaque psoriasis specifically. It counts nothing for inverse psoriasis either. It gives no share of people affected in a fold or genital site, and it names no treatment for one.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that stress can trigger a psoriasis flare. Supports that skin injury - a cut, scrape, sunburn, tattoo, piercing, bug bite, or shaving nick - can trigger a flare near or at that spot. Typically this appears about 10 to 14 days after the injury. Supports that an infection such as strep throat, an earache, or bronchitis can trigger a flare, reported 2 to 6 weeks later. Supports that starting a medication - including lithium, antimalarial drugs, strong corticosteroids, or some blood pressure drugs - can trigger a flare about 2 to 3 weeks after starting it. Supports that cold, dry weather (such as winter or fall) can worsen flares, and that sunburn or spending time in air conditioning can also worsen them. Supports that smoking, or spending time around secondhand smoke, is a reported trigger. Supports that drinking daily, or more than two drinks on several days a week, can make psoriasis treatment have little or no effect. Supports that triggers differ from person to person.
What it does not support
Does not cite a specific study for its trigger list or timing windows, and does not state how many patients experience each trigger. This page displays no revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis disease microsite's treatment-and-diagnosis page, checked the same day. Does not establish that avoiding a listed trigger will prevent a flare for any one person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that no diet cures psoriatic disease, and that eating patterns may lessen symptom severity for some people. Supports a Mediterranean-style pattern: cold-water fish at least twice a week, plus fruits, vegetables, whole grains, low-fat dairy, and lean meat and poultry without skin. Supports limiting alcohol, sodium, trans and saturated fats, and refined sugar and processed food. The alcohol limit is one drink a day for women and two for men, or none for severe psoriasis. The sodium limit is under 1,500 mg a day. Supports that a gluten-free diet is recommended only for confirmed gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Supports gradual weight loss, about 1 to 2 pounds a week, for people who are overweight. Supports using the CDC BMI calculator to find a target weight, as one part of managing the disease. Supports that omega-3 supplement research is mixed and needs more long-term controlled studies. Supports that vitamin D research is small and limited, and that too much vitamin D can be dangerous. Supports that no study has found glucosamine or chondroitin reduce psoriatic arthritis symptoms. Supports that supplements should never replace medication, and that you should talk with your health care provider before starting any diet change.
What it does not support
Does not give an effect size for how much any food pattern, weight change, or supplement changes symptoms for a given person. Does not recommend a single named diet over another beyond referencing Mediterranean-style eating. Does not substitute for a treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that quitting smoking is linked to fewer flares and less palmoplantar psoriasis. Supports that it is linked to more remissions. Supports that quitting also lowers the risk of heart, blood vessel, liver, and gum disease. Supports that it lowers the risk of an autoimmune disease like Crohn's disease. Supports the caution that a nicotine patch can make psoriasis flare, and to ask a dermatologist before using one. Supports that limiting alcohol is linked to treatment working better and lasting longer. Supports that it is linked to a lower risk of psoriatic arthritis in women. Supports that it is linked to a lower risk of fatty liver disease and liver damage from some psoriasis medications. Supports a named threshold: more than 2 drinks a day for men, or more than 1 for women. Supports that above that threshold, treatment may stop working, work less well, or lead to fewer remissions.
What it does not support
Does not give a percentage or timeline for one person. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports bringing a symptom tracker, kept on paper or on a phone, to share with a doctor at an appointment. Supports clearly describing symptoms and noting changes in severity and affected areas as part of preparing for a visit.
What it does not support
Does not mention photographing skin changes specifically. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization publishes patient education, but the editorial and funding independence of this page was not separately reviewed.
What this source supports
Supports that psoriasis is an immune-mediated disease. It causes inflammation in the body. Raised plaques and scale on the skin are the visible sign. Supports that an overactive immune system speeds up skin-cell growth. Skin cells normally take about a month to grow and shed. With psoriasis they do so in three or four days. Supports that psoriasis is a chronic, long-term disease with no cure.
What it does not support
Does not predict whether one person will clear, stay the same, or flare. Does not give a share of people who reach a period with little or no psoriasis, or how long such a period lasts. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Dermatologica 1978;157(4):238-244 (Fredriksson T, Pettersson U)Observational study · Supporting research, tier 3Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This 1978 paper is the first description of the Psoriasis Area and Severity Index. It is not open access. Any funding or competing-interest statement could not be read, and the study itself tested a drug.
What this source supports
Supports that the Psoriasis Area and Severity Index was first described here. Supports that the index scores three features of the skin: redness, thickness and scale. Supports that each of the three is graded on a scale of 0 to 4. Supports that the amount of skin involved is graded separately, on a scale of 0 to 6. Supports that the body is divided into four regions: the head, the upper limbs, the trunk and the lower limbs. Supports that each region carries its own weight, because each holds a different share of the skin. Supports that the four region scores are added, and that the total runs from 0 to 72.
What it does not support
Does not report how closely two clinicians scoring the same skin agree. Does not say how the redness grade behaves on brown or black skin. Does not set a score at which a person qualifies for any treatment. Does not say which health plans ask for the score. Does not diagnose a reader or predict what one person will score.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Clinical and Experimental Dermatology 1994;19(3):210-216 (Finlay AY, Khan GK)Observational study · Supporting research, tier 3Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: This 1994 paper is the first description of the Dermatology Life Quality Index. It is not open access, so any funding or competing-interest statement could not be read.
What this source supports
Supports that the Dermatology Life Quality Index was first described here. Supports that it is a ten-question form a person fills in themselves. Supports that every question asks about the last seven days. Supports that it was designed to be quick, and to be used in a routine clinic. Supports that the questions cover symptoms and feelings, daily activities, leisure, work or study, personal relationships, and the trouble of the treatment itself. Supports that each answer scores 0 to 3, and that the total runs from 0 to 30. Supports that a higher total means a heavier effect on life.
What it does not support
Is a first validation of a questionnaire, not a study of psoriasis treatment. Does not set a score at which a person qualifies for any treatment. Does not say which health plans ask for the score. A form about one week does not capture a better or worse week. Does not diagnose a reader or predict what one person will score.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports general US consumer context that supplement evidence and product content vary and that interactions, contamination and health-condition risks are possible.
What it does not support
It is not vitiligo-specific efficacy evidence, a product-quality verification service or an individual safety determination.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the general US boundary that compounded drugs are not FDA-approved and FDA does not verify their safety, effectiveness, or quality before marketing.
What it does not support
It does not determine whether compounding is appropriate or lawful in an individual case, assess a particular pharmacy, or establish the quality of a particular monobenzone preparation.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch, and slow skin-cell growth. They come in strengths from very mild to extremely strong and are typically applied twice daily. Strong products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. Most people see results with short twice-daily use, and no improvement after four to six weeks is a signal to return to the prescriber.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name potency classes by number, give a percentage of people who improve, or set a maximum course length.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed.
What this source supports
Supports that topical steroids range from super-potent to least potent, and that guidance advises not using one for longer than three weeks without checking with a clinician. Side effects include skin thinning, pigment change, easy bruising, stretch marks, redness and dilated blood vessels. Systemic absorption is a risk with widespread, prolonged or occluded use, and abruptly stopping a topical steroid can cause a psoriasis flare.
What it does not support
It does not name which specific product falls in which potency class, quantify how often a side effect occurs, or set a course length for any specific product or body site.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.