Psoriasis phototherapy expectations by body area

A light cabinet treats the skin the light can reach. Scalp, plaque, fold, palm, nail and facial skin do not offer it the same surface.

Scalp, face, hands, feet, nails and folds count as high impact even when little skin is involved.

Body sites this covers: skin, nails.

Eight questions about psoriasis phototherapy and the body area you want to treat, answered below.

8questions answered belowFrom why the area changes the conversation to how to record each site separately

Why does the body area change the conversation?

Because the sites are already assessed on their own. Some areas count toward severity even when very little skin is involved. Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

Readers ask whether to use a clinic cabinet or a home unit, and either way the body area shapes what to expect. I read the National Psoriasis Foundation on that. It states that moderate-to-severe psoriasis is not set by body surface area alone. It names the face, scalp, hands, feet, nails and genitals as high-impact sites. Psoriasis on one of those counts as moderate-to-severe too. NICE records assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns. The Psoriasis Area and Severity Index splits the body into four scored regions: head, upper limbs, trunk and lower limbs.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

I looked for a ranking of the sites against each other, or a narrowband UVB response rate by body area, and found neither. NICE is UK guidance and sets no US order of treatment. I set out what the numbers measure on how severe is yours.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. Which of my areas are we actually aiming at with light treatment?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What about the scalp?

Hair sits over it, so the scalp usually gets its own route. The American Academy of Dermatology builds that route out of treatments applied to the skin, plus in-office options. Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the two AAD scalp pages. They ask you to lift hair out of the way when applying medicine, and for a salicylic-acid scale softener before scale comes off. Its treatment page records a topical corticosteroid as the most commonly prescribed scalp treatment. That can go on directly, or as a clobetasol propionate medicated shampoo. Scale softeners help medicine reach the skin. It records calcipotriene, tazarotene and coal tar as further options, plus corticosteroid injections and excimer laser in the office.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

Neither AAD page measures how much light reaches scalp skin under hair, says how fast any option works, or picks one for a given person. I put the full scalp picture on scalp psoriasis and hair loss.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. Does my scalp need its own treatment rather than the cabinet?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What about ordinary body plaques?

Plaques on the trunk, arms and legs are the usual target of a light cabinet. What sits on top of a plaque still matters, and that part is the prescriber’s call. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the AAD on narrowband UVB. It records that the light slows the growth of fast-growing skin cells and calms an overactive immune system. It also reduces inflammation and reduces or removes itch. A dermatologist sets the plan and adjusts it. NPF records that the light goes into the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells. AAD records scale softeners on the scalp so that medicine reaches the skin. A skin of color review reports that added topical treatment changed plaque outcomes.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

None of these sources measures how much thick scale blocks narrowband UVB, and I looked. The scale-softener record is about medicine on the scalp, not about light. Whether to soften scale, apply an emollient, or leave skin bare before a session belongs to the prescriber and the exact device instructions.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. Should I prepare my plaques before a session, or come in as they are?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Does my ___ cream go on before or after light treatment?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What about skin folds and the genital area?

Fold and genital skin is thin, and burns are a recorded effect of light treatment. Whether such an area is exposed, covered or left out of a cabinet is set by the prescriber. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

NPF counts the genitals as a high-impact site. The AAD record I read says strong products on thin skin carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. AAD also records the immediate effects of phototherapy: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, itching, and rare blisters or burns. NPF records redness, stinging and burns, and asks for check-ups under medical supervision. British Association of Dermatologists guidelines record a consent form naming the same clothing at each session.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

I could not find a burn rate for fold or genital skin in these sources, or a shielding method named for that area. The thin-skin record is about topical strength rather than light. I wrote what else that skin can be on skin folds and the genital area.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. Is my groin or fold area treated in the cabinet, or covered?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What exactly am I meant to wear at each session?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What about palms, soles and nails?

These are slow sites, and they carry their own treatment records. NPF counts the hands, feet and nails as high-impact sites. Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I went through the separate AAD treatment list for nails. It holds a strong topical corticosteroid, calcipotriol or tazarotene, injections into or near the nail, and systemic medicines for severe skin-and-nail disease. AAD records that laser therapy for nails is under-researched. Results are slow because nails grow slowly, and clearing debris usually takes six months or longer. For the scalp, AAD records excimer laser as a targeted in-office option.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

I checked the AAD nail list for narrowband UVB, and it is not named there. Silence in a patient-education list is not a measured result. None of these sources reports a palm or sole response rate, or compares a cabinet with a targeted device there. I put the nail route in full on nail psoriasis.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. Are my nails expected to respond to light treatment at all?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Is a targeted device an option for my palms or soles?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What happens to the face and the eyes?

Eye protection is a recorded part of a session, and it is product-specific. NPF counts the face as a high-impact site. Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the British Association of Dermatologists guidelines. They back UV-protective goggles, and keeping stray UV off people nearby. They record a consent form that names goggles and the same clothing at each session. They also record safety limits including sunburn-type reactions. NPF counts the face among the sites that raise severity on their own. AAD records that strong products on thin facial skin carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

The guidelines set no personal plan, and they do not replace the instructions for one device. None of these sources names a face-shielding method or says whether facial skin should be treated. I set out the exact-device questions on eye protection and eyelids.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. What eye protection is used for my face, and who checks the fit?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Does deeper skin tone change what to expect?

Pooled results in skin of color are recorded, and so is pigment change afterwards. Redness can also be harder to see, which affects what gets reported. Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

The systematic review I read pooled nine studies of narrowband UVB for psoriasis in skin of color. They covered roughly 1,334 participants with Fitzpatrick skin types III through V, mostly from Asia. The pooled PASI75 response rate was 70.5%, with a 95% confidence interval of 65% to 75%. It reports hyperpigmentation after treatment in darker skin tones, and notes that harder-to-see redness may leave side effects underreported. AAD records dark spots as more common in medium-to-dark complexions.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

I found no skin cancer data in the review, and no results for the lightest skin types. Its pooled rate is not a forecast for one person, and it is not broken down by body area. AAD gives no rate for any single effect. Say what you feel on the skin, rather than waiting for redness to show.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. How will we tell a burn from a normal reaction on my skin tone?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How do you record each area separately?

Keep one line per area rather than one verdict for your whole skin. That is the only way a review can see which areas moved and which did not. Evidence Evidence Evidence

What is known

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

The Psoriasis Area and Severity Index already works this way. It scores each region on its own, grading redness, thickness and scale from 0 to 4. The amount of skin involved is graded separately, from 0 to 6. NPF supports a worksheet for daily symptoms and their severity, on paper or on a phone. Its care-path page asks you to bring that record, share it, and note changes in severity and affected areas.

What is uncertain

  • Depends on you

The index is scored by a clinician, and a personal record is not a score. I could not find a figure for how much tracking changes an outcome. I put the method on measuring change and on tracking flares and photos. The urgent part is on reactions and when to call.

Questions about the areas you want to treat

  1. Which areas do you want recorded between now and my next visit?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. If one area responds and another does not, what changes?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence and update context

This optional layer shows the evidence boundary I reviewed as of 2026-09-19.

What this evidence supports
Readers ask whether to use a clinic cabinet or a home unit, and either way the body area shapes what to expect. I read the National Psoriasis Foundation on that. It states that moderate-to-severe psoriasis is not set by body surface area alone. It names the face, scalp, hands, feet, nails and genitals as high-impact sites. Psoriasis on one of those counts as moderate-to-severe too. NICE records assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns. The Psoriasis Area and Severity Index splits the body into four scored regions: head, upper limbs, trunk and lower limbs.
What it does not establish
I looked for a ranking of the sites against each other, or a narrowband UVB response rate by body area, and found neither. NICE is UK guidance and sets no US order of treatment. I set out what the numbers measure on how severe is yours.
Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The National Psoriasis Foundation names its corporate members on its own site (psoriasis.org/corporate-members/, checked 2026-09-09). They include AbbVie, Johnson & Johnson, Leo Pharma, Lilly, Novartis, UCB, Amgen, Sun Pharma, Arcutis, Bristol Myers Squibb, Takeda, and Alumis. Several of those firms make the drugs step therapy and copay-card rules affect. NPF also lobbies against both practices. This number and its framing come from a group with a stake in the fight, even though NPF says it does not back one drug over another.

    What this source supports

    Supports that NPF adopted a two-class definition. Mild psoriasis can be managed with topical therapies. Moderate-to-severe psoriasis makes a person a candidate for advanced therapies. Supports its statement that "Moderate-to-severe psoriasis is not determined solely by body surface area (BSA) involvement of 10%." Supports that psoriasis on a high-impact site counts too. NPF gives those sites as the face, scalp, hands, feet, nails or genitals. It says such patients "should also be considered as having 'moderate-to-severe' disease". Supports that the same holds for people who cannot get adequate control from topical therapies. Supports its statement that "People with psoriasis should never be denied advanced care because of outdated measures."

    What it does not support

    Does not set any health plan's coverage rule and does not bind a payer. Does not name prior authorization, appeals or denial steps. Gives no appeal deadline and no appeal process. Does not say how much topical treatment counts as inadequate control, or over what period. Does not establish that a given reader is a candidate for a named therapy. It predicts nothing about what a plan will decide.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports tiny dents (nail pits) and white-yellow-brown discoloration as signs of nail psoriasis. Supports crumbling or thickened nails and nails separating from the finger or toe as signs. Supports debris and blood under the nail as signs. Supports that it can appear years after skin psoriasis or on its own. Supports a topical treatment (a strong corticosteroid, calcipotriol, or tazarotene) needing 6 or more months of daily use. Supports corticosteroid injections into or near the nail every 4 to 6 weeks. Supports systemic medication (a biologic, methotrexate, acitretin, cyclosporine, or apremilast) for severe skin-and-nail disease. Supports that laser therapy is under-researched. Supports that results are slow because nails grow slowly. Supports that clearing debris typically takes six months or longer, and that many people need to try more than one treatment or a combination.

    What it does not support

    Does not rank the treatment options against each other or say which one a given person should start with. Does not give success-rate numbers for any option.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that a topical corticosteroid is the most commonly prescribed scalp psoriasis treatment. Supports applying it directly, or as a clobetasol propionate medicated shampoo. Supports using that shampoo daily for up to four weeks, or once or twice a week for maintenance. Supports salicylic-acid scale softeners to soften thick patches so medicine reaches the skin. Supports calcipotriene before bed under a shower cap, tazarotene before bed and washed off in the morning, and coal tar for itching. Supports that in-office options include corticosteroid injections and excimer laser. Supports that stronger systemic options exist for more severe cases.

    What it does not support

    Does not give a byline or last-reviewed date on the page itself. Does not say how quickly any option works or guarantee results outside of following the prescribed plan.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports avoiding scratching, which can worsen psoriasis, cause bleeding, and lead to noticeable hair loss. Supports avoiding picking off scale, which can trigger a flare. Supports gentle shampooing rather than vigorous rubbing or scrubbing. Supports a salicylic-acid scale softener before removing scale, and lifting hair out of the way when applying medicine. Supports managing stress, since stress can worsen psoriasis and add to hair shedding.

    What it does not support

    Does not give a byline or last-reviewed date on the page itself. Does not quantify how much any single habit reduces flares or hair loss.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that tracking symptoms and common triggers over time can help a person figure out their own specific triggers. Supports naming stress, alcohol, and diet as examples of common triggers to watch for. Supports naming discolored skin patches and itching as psoriasis symptoms, and joint swelling and fatigue as psoriatic arthritis symptoms, to watch for. Supports using a worksheet to record daily symptoms and their severity, and sharing that worksheet with a health care provider.

    What it does not support

    Does not give a percentage or timeline for how much tracking changes any one outcome. Does not name every possible trigger - stress, alcohol, and diet are examples, not a complete list. Does not measure whether tracking itself helps or burdens a given person.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports bringing a symptom tracker, kept on paper or on a phone, to share with a doctor at an appointment. Supports clearly describing symptoms and noting changes in severity and affected areas as part of preparing for a visit.

    What it does not support

    Does not mention photographing skin changes specifically. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. Dermatologica 1978;157(4):238-244 (Fredriksson T, Pettersson U)Observational study · Supporting research, tier 3Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: This 1978 paper is the first description of the Psoriasis Area and Severity Index. It is not open access. Any funding or competing-interest statement could not be read, and the study itself tested a drug.

    What this source supports

    Supports that the Psoriasis Area and Severity Index was first described here. Supports that the index scores three features of the skin: redness, thickness and scale. Supports that each of the three is graded on a scale of 0 to 4. Supports that the amount of skin involved is graded separately, on a scale of 0 to 6. Supports that the body is divided into four regions: the head, the upper limbs, the trunk and the lower limbs. Supports that each region carries its own weight, because each holds a different share of the skin. Supports that the four region scores are added, and that the total runs from 0 to 72.

    What it does not support

    Does not report how closely two clinicians scoring the same skin agree. Does not say how the redness grade behaves on brown or black skin. Does not set a score at which a person qualifies for any treatment. Does not say which health plans ask for the score. Does not diagnose a reader or predict what one person will score.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.

    What it does not support

    It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch, and slow skin-cell growth. They come in strengths from very mild to extremely strong and are typically applied twice daily. Strong products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. Most people see results with short twice-daily use, and no improvement after four to six weeks is a signal to return to the prescriber.

    What it does not support

    The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name potency classes by number, give a percentage of people who improve, or set a maximum course length.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  11. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  12. PMC (National Library of Medicine)Systematic review · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports a pooled PASI75 response rate of 70.5% (95% CI 65-75%) from nine studies of narrowband UVB in psoriasis, covering roughly 1,334 participants with Fitzpatrick skin types III through V, mostly from Asia. Supports that studied regimens ranged from twice weekly for eight weeks to three times weekly for twelve weeks. Supports that one included study reached 93.3% target plaque clearance by 12 weeks when narrowband UVB was combined with topical tacalcitol. Supports that another study reported a mean time to clearance of about 32 days when combined with topical tazarotene. Supports post-treatment hyperpigmentation as a reported consideration in darker skin tones, and notes that reduced visibility of erythema in some skin of color patients may lead to underreporting of side effects.

    What it does not support

    Does not report data on skin cancer risk or long-term safety monitoring, and does not report outcomes for Fitzpatrick I-II skin. Its pooled response rate should not be read as a prediction for every skin tone or population.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  13. British Journal of Dermatology (Goulden V, et al.)Guideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    It supports that traditional NB-UVB fluorescent lamps emit a narrow UVB band peaking around 311 nanometres. It backs wearing UV-protective goggles and keeping UV scatter off people nearby. It records the consent form naming goggles and the same clothing at each session. It also covers clinical uses, how it compares with other light treatments, safety limits including sunburn-type reactions, and the added safeguards home phototherapy needs.

    What it does not support

    It does not provide a personal treatment plan, approve a particular home setup, or replace the instructions for your own device. SteadySkin never reproduces its treatment schedules.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  14. British Association of DermatologistsPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    It supports a plain-language explanation that NB-UVB uses a small part of the UVB spectrum, is used for conditions including psoriasis, eczema, and vitiligo, and is distinct from sunlight or a sunbed. It also supports what a unit asks of its own patients during a course. It asks them not to sunbathe or use a sunbed for the whole of it, and to reduce sun exposure so that skin does not burn. It asks them to report a medicine, a cream, or newly exposed skin such as a haircut. It asks them to arrive without perfume, deodorant, aftershave or other cosmetics, because some of those raise light sensitivity and can leave patchy discolouration for months. It carries the unit’s own account of repeated courses. It states that the full risk of narrowband UVB is not known, and that roughly one in ten people in the UK develop skin cancer. It states that a review becomes usual practice past a stated number of treatments, and that many treatments can bring the wrinkling and discolouration of photoageing.

    What it does not support

    It is patient education, not primary evidence for an efficacy claim. Its printed next review date was June 2025 and it has not been updated since June 2022. It is therefore used only for what it plainly states, and never as current guidance. It is written for a UK hospital unit whose nurses examine skin at every visit, so it sets no rule for a device used at home. Its numbers stay in this record rather than in the copy. Those are the sun protection factor and star rating it names, the hours it names, the treatment count that triggers a review, and the multiple by which it estimates lifetime risk. That multiple is stated there as an assumption that narrowband UVB behaves like sunlight, not as a measurement.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

The app currently supports vitiligo only. You can use every psoriasis guide without the app.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.