What are Protopic and Elidel, and why would a dermatologist prescribe an eczema medicine for psoriasis?
Protopic (tacrolimus) ointment and Elidel (pimecrolimus) cream are calcineurin inhibitors. The FDA approved both to treat atopic dermatitis (eczema), not psoriasis, so using either on psoriasis is off-label - a real, documented practice, not an error. They work by blocking calcineurin, a step immune cells need to switch on the inflammatory signals that drive a plaque. Unlike a steroid, they do not thin the skin, which is the reason dermatologists reach for them at all. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
AAD states plainly that these medicines are FDA approved for eczema, not psoriasis, and describes dermatologists prescribing either off-label for psoriasis. I read the tacrolimus label. Its own mechanism section says the drug binds FKBP-12 to block calcineurin phosphatase, preventing the T-cell activation step.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Off-label use means no FDA psoriasis-specific efficacy review backs a dose or duration for this condition. How well it works for your plaques is not established the way an approved indication would be.
Questions for your dermatologist
Why are you recommending an eczema medicine for my psoriasis?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is this meant to replace a steroid here, or work alongside one?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Where is it used, and can it be combined with a steroid?
AAD describes these medicines used on plaque psoriasis on the face and other delicate areas including the genitals. They are also used on inverse psoriasis - the armpits, under the breasts, groin, or face - either alone or alongside a topical steroid. Because they do not thin skin the way a steroid can, they suit areas and durations where a strong steroid would carry more risk. People I have heard from find the hardest part is raising a skin-fold or genital patch at all. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
AAD names the same delicate-area and inverse-psoriasis pattern for both monotherapy and steroid-combination use. Neither drug label is written for psoriasis, so neither publishes its own body-site instructions for this condition.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source maps every body site to a specific product or combination. Whether to combine with a steroid here, and exactly where to apply or avoid either medicine, is a call your dermatologist makes for your case.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is this meant for a specific area, like my face or a skin fold, or my psoriasis generally?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Should I use this together with a steroid, or in place of one?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you apply it, and how long before you know if it is working?
AAD says most people apply either medicine twice a day. No improvement after six weeks is a signal to check back with your dermatologist - the same check-in window as topical corticosteroids. There is no single published percentage for how many people clear or improve using either drug for psoriasis, since neither has an FDA psoriasis efficacy review behind it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
AAD ties the six-week check-in to both medicines used for psoriasis. The tacrolimus label I read separately confirms the twice-daily dosing pattern for its own approved eczema indication.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Because this use is off-label, no psoriasis-specific clinical-trial timeline backs an expected result. What counts as "working" for your case is not a fixed rule I can supply.
Questions for your dermatologist
When should I expect to see a difference, and when should I come back if I do not?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which of the two medicines are you starting me on, and why that one?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
The most common early effects with either Protopic (tacrolimus) or Elidel (pimecrolimus) are burning and itching where you apply it. The tacrolimus label reports burning in roughly 46% to 58% and itching in roughly 41% to 46% of people in its own studies. Most episodes start in the first few days, last minutes, and ease as treatment continues or the skin clears. Both drugs carry an FDA boxed warning against continuous long-term use. Rare cases of lymphoma or skin cancer have been reported, though AAD notes dermatologists have not observed this increased risk in everyday practice. Both labels tell you to minimize sun exposure during treatment and avoid tanning beds, sunlamps, and UV therapy. Call your dermatologist about persistent burning, or anything that feels like more than the expected early reaction. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The tacrolimus label states its own boxed warning, local-reaction rates, and sun-exposure instructions as documented fact from its own trials and labeling. AAD separately confirms the boxed warning exists while noting it has not seen the increased cancer risk reflected in day-to-day dermatology practice.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The reported local-reaction rates come from eczema trials, not a psoriasis-specific study, and neither source quantifies how often the rarer boxed-warning risk actually occurs. Whether a specific reaction is expected irritation or something to stop and call about is a judgment your dermatologist makes for your case.
Questions for your dermatologist
How worried should I be about the boxed warning for what you are prescribing me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How much burning or itching is expected versus something I should call about?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
I could not capture a live retail price. GoodRx returned an access-blocked response to a direct check on 2026-09-08. So I went to the two FDA labels instead. The pimecrolimus cream label cited above is itself a generic, not the original brand Elidel. A separate generic tacrolimus ointment, in both 0.03% and 0.1% strengths, is currently marketed under its own label, distinct from the brand Protopic label cited above. Ask your pharmacy to run both the insurance price and a discount-card price for what you were actually prescribed. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The pimecrolimus and generic-tacrolimus labels each confirm a currently marketed generic product as of the dates recorded above.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I did not check a live pharmacy price for this figure. The number here is the published one, with its date.
Questions for your dermatologist
What will this specific product cost me with my insurance?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is the generic version available for what you are prescribing?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of calcineurin inhibitors for psoriasis yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Early burning or itching is common and typically eases with continued use. Your dermatologist chooses this medicine specifically because it will not thin the skin the way a steroid can.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has told me yet what using this treatment feels like day to day.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about using this day to day?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a simple, dated record: which medicine and strength you are using, which areas you are treating, and when you started. Add a same-conditions photo (same light, distance, and angle) each time. That gives you and your dermatologist something concrete to compare at the six-week check-in AAD describes, rather than relying on memory. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated, comparable record is what lets the six-week check-in actually answer whether the medicine is working. Memory of how a delicate area looked at the start is not reliable enough on its own.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo log does not replace a clinical exam and cannot by itself tell you whether a rarer effect has started.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I photograph or note between now and my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
The most common early effects with either Protopic (tacrolimus) or Elidel (pimecrolimus) are burning and itching where you apply it. The tacrolimus label reports burning in roughly 46% to 58% and itching in roughly 41% to 46% of people in its own studies. Most episodes start in the first few days, last minutes, and ease as treatment continues or the skin clears. Both drugs carry an FDA boxed warning against continuous long-term use. Rare cases of lymphoma or skin cancer have been reported, though AAD notes dermatologists have not observed this increased risk in everyday practice. Both labels tell you to minimize sun exposure during treatment and avoid tanning beds, sunlamps, and UV therapy. Call your dermatologist about persistent burning, or anything that feels like more than the expected early reaction.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is American Academy of Dermatology patient education. Two are current US drug labels (tacrolimus ointment, pimecrolimus cream). The tacrolimus label reports burning and itching rates from its own trials (roughly 46-58% and 41-46%). That is a trial rate for eczema, not a study of either drug used for psoriasis. Neither label nor AAD says how often the rarer boxed-warning risk happens.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These sources describe the range of possible local side effects, the reported rates from eczema trials, and the boxed-warning language on long-term use and rare cancer reports. They do not say how often the rarer risk happens, show it for psoriasis, or judge one reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
Protopic (tacrolimus) ointment: US prescribing information and Medication Guide (opens in a new tab)
DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent efficacy evidence.
What this source supports
It establishes the US atopic-dermatitis indication, boxed warning, local effects, long-term-use precaution, and ultraviolet instructions for this product. Its mechanism-of-action section supports that tacrolimus binds FKBP-12 to block calcineurin phosphatase, preventing the T-cell activation that its boxed warning and local-effect data describe. Its local-adverse-reaction data supports burning in roughly 46-58% and itching in roughly 41-46% of studied patients, most often in the first few days and easing as treatment continues. Its Dosage and Administration section supports applying a thin layer twice daily and re-examining the patient if signs and symptoms do not improve within six weeks.
What it does not support
It does not approve tacrolimus for vitiligo or psoriasis, establish efficacy for either, or resolve off-label guideline discussion of supervised combinations. Its dosing and six-week re-examination window are stated for its approved atopic-dermatitis indication, not as a vitiligo-specific schedule.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent efficacy evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the US atopic-dermatitis indication, boxed warning, application-site effects, long-term-use precaution and instructions to avoid ultraviolet treatment and minimize natural or artificial sunlight. This label itself is a generic pimecrolimus cream filing (packager Oceanside Pharmaceuticals, a division of Bausch Health US, LLC), not the original brand Elidel label, so it also supports that a generic pimecrolimus cream is currently marketed. Its Dosage and Administration section supports applying a thin layer twice daily and re-examining the patient if signs and symptoms persist beyond six weeks; its boxed warning separately supports that continuous long-term use should be avoided. Its adult 1-year active-comparator adverse-reaction table (328 pimecrolimus-treated subjects) supports application-site burning in about 25.9%, headache in about 25.4%, nasopharyngitis in about 7.6%, and influenza in about 9.8% of that adult trial population.
What it does not support
It does not approve pimecrolimus for vitiligo or psoriasis, establish efficacy for either, or resolve off-label guideline discussion of supervised combinations. Its dosing and six-week re-examination window, and its adult adverse-reaction percentages, are stated for its approved atopic-dermatitis indication and trial population, not as a vitiligo-specific schedule or vitiligo-trial safety rate.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that tacrolimus ointment and pimecrolimus cream are FDA approved to treat atopic dermatitis (eczema), not psoriasis, so dermatologists prescribe either for psoriasis off-label. Supports use on plaque psoriasis on the face and other delicate areas including the genitals, and on inverse psoriasis (armpits, under the breasts, groin, or face). Supports that most people apply either medicine twice a day, and that no improvement after six weeks is a signal to check back with a dermatologist. Supports that the FDA warns of a possible increased risk of lymphoma or skin cancer, while noting dermatologists have not observed this increased risk in day-to-day practice.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not explain the calcineurin mechanism of action, name a percentage of people who improve, or state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent psoriasis evidence.
What this source supports
Supports that a generic tacrolimus ointment, in both 0.03% and 0.1% strengths, is currently marketed under this label (packager Padagis Israel Pharmaceuticals Ltd, manufacturer LEO Laboratories Ltd), separate from the brand Protopic label cited above.
What it does not support
This label covers the atopic-dermatitis indication only; it does not approve tacrolimus for psoriasis or state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.