What is cyclosporine, and how does it work?
Cyclosporine is a pill, taken twice a day, that suppresses the immune system. It was first developed to stop the body from rejecting a transplanted organ. Its psoriasis benefit was discovered by accident, in transplant patients whose psoriasis improved while taking it. At psoriasis doses, it slows the growth of certain overactive immune cells rather than the skin cells themselves, calming the immune response behind psoriasis. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the AAD and National Psoriasis Foundation patient education pages. Both describe cyclosporine as an immunosuppressant that slows the growth of certain immune cells. AAD says its psoriasis use was found in transplant patients being treated for organ rejection. I also checked the 2020 AAD-NPF systemic-therapy guideline, which lists cyclosporine among established systemic nonbiologic options for psoriasis.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither patient-education source explains why cyclosporine works faster for some people than others, and neither predicts an individual reader’s response.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is cyclosporine a reasonable option given my psoriasis and what I have already tried?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Why does suppressing my immune system help my skin, and what does that mean for my infection risk?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it treat, and what can it not be combined with?
Cyclosporine treats psoriasis in the skin, typically extensive or disabling disease where faster control is needed. Its current US label states that psoriasis patients should not receive it together with phototherapy (UVB or PUVA), methotrexate, other immune-suppressing medicines, coal tar, or radiation therapy. That is a real difference from most other psoriasis treatments, which are often combined. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the current Neoral label. It states that psoriasis patients should not receive concurrent PUVA, UVB, methotrexate, other immunosuppressive agents, coal tar, or radiation therapy. It also lists uncontrolled high blood pressure, abnormal kidney function, and malignancy as reasons not to use it. AAD patient education describes cyclosporine as working quickly for extensive or disabling psoriasis.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source says how cyclosporine compares with a specific alternative for you, or exactly how long after stopping phototherapy or another systemic medicine cyclosporine could safely start.
Questions for your dermatologist
If I have had phototherapy before, does that change whether cyclosporine is safe for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How long would I need to wait between stopping another treatment and starting cyclosporine?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you take it, and how long until you know if it is working?
People I have heard from worry most about what happens when a treatment stops working. The current label sets an initial range of 2.5 mg per kilogram of body weight a day, split into two doses. That range is raised gradually to a label maximum of 4.0 mg/kg/day. Patient-education sources report visible improvement as early as two weeks on stronger doses, with three to four months typically needed for the fullest response. AAD reports that 80% to 90% of people treated for 12 to 16 weeks had rapid improvement. Patient-education sources state that cyclosporine is not recommended for longer than one year at a time for psoriasis. Those same sources report that most people relapse within about 14 weeks after stopping. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the 2.5-4.0 mg/kg/day dosing range and the twice-daily split in the current Neoral label. AAD and National Psoriasis Foundation patient education both give the two-week-to-three-to-four-month response timeline and the roughly 14-week remission after stopping. Those same sources also give the one-year recommended outer limit. AAD reports the 80%-90% rapid-improvement figure for a 12-to-16-week course.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label itself, as currently published, does not state an explicit maximum-duration limit for psoriasis dosing the way the patient-education sources describe it. It states only that relapse is expected after stopping. The 80%-90% figure and the response timeline are patient-education summaries, not a report of one specific clinical trial, and do not predict your own timeline.
Questions for your dermatologist
What dose would you start me on, and how would you adjust it over time?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How long do you expect I would stay on cyclosporine, and what happens after that?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
The current label carries two boxed warnings, its strongest warnings. The first states that only physicians experienced in immunosuppressive therapy should prescribe cyclosporine, because of an increased risk of infection and certain cancers. The second, specific to psoriasis, states that people previously treated with PUVA face a higher skin-cancer risk on cyclosporine. That second warning also states that cyclosporine can cause high blood pressure and kidney damage. Because of that risk, the label requires checking blood pressure and kidney-function blood tests every two weeks for the first three months. After that, checks continue monthly once you are stable. Other reported effects include high cholesterol, excess hair growth, gum swelling, tingling, and stomach upset. Avoid grapefruit and grapefruit juice, which can raise cyclosporine levels, and tell your dermatologist before any vaccination. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read both boxed warnings in the current label, along with the required blood-pressure and kidney-function monitoring schedule. AAD and National Psoriasis Foundation patient education both list the more common side effects and the grapefruit interaction. National Psoriasis Foundation additionally states that vaccines may be less effective while on cyclosporine.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources gives an exact rate for any side effect in a psoriasis-specific trial population, and none predicts your own risk.
Questions for your dermatologist
What blood-pressure or lab result would make you lower my dose or stop treatment?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Given my own treatment history, does the PUVA-related cancer warning apply to me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
I checked one pharmacy-price snapshot. It showed an average cash price of about $146 for 30 capsules of generic cyclosporine modified 100 mg, dropping to about $41 with a common discount coupon. Actual pharmacy prices, insurance coverage, and coupon eligibility vary, and this is one strength and quantity, not a full monthly estimate at a weight-based dose. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The GoodRx snapshot I read records the dated cash and coupon price for a defined generic prescription.
Considerations
- Depends on you
This is one commercial price-comparison snapshot for one strength, not a survey of every pharmacy or plan. It is also not a full monthly cost at a weight-based dose, and it does not include the added cost of required blood-pressure and lab monitoring.
Questions for your dermatologist
Does my insurance cover cyclosporine, and what would monitoring visits and labs cost me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.At my dose, about how many capsules would I need each month?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of cyclosporine for psoriasis yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The twice-daily dosing schedule and the every-two-week monitoring visits for the first three months. Patient-education sources also describe a roughly one-year outer limit.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has written to me yet about what the frequent monitoring visits or a grapefruit-free diet feel like to live with.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about staying on top of the monitoring schedule?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a dated record of each dose and any dose change your dermatologist makes. Note every blood-pressure check and lab result, especially during the every-two-week schedule in the first three months. Track the date you started cyclosporine, since patient-education sources describe a roughly one-year outer limit for this medicine. Add a same-conditions photo around the three-to-four-month mark, then again at any later review your dermatologist sets. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated dose and monitoring record is what lets the three-to-four-month check-in the patient-education timeline describes actually answer whether the treatment is working. A photo record helps too. Together, they also let you and your dermatologist track time against the roughly one-year limit those same sources describe.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A dose log and photo record do not replace the required blood-pressure and kidney-function testing, and cannot by themselves catch a blood-pressure or kidney problem.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I track between now and my first check-in?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
The current label carries two boxed warnings, its strongest warnings. The first states that only physicians experienced in immunosuppressive therapy should prescribe cyclosporine, because of an increased risk of infection and certain cancers. The second, specific to psoriasis, states that people previously treated with PUVA face a higher skin-cancer risk on cyclosporine. That second warning also states that cyclosporine can cause high blood pressure and kidney damage. Because of that risk, the label requires checking blood pressure and kidney-function blood tests every two weeks for the first three months. After that, checks continue monthly once you are stable. Other reported effects include high cholesterol, excess hair growth, gum swelling, tingling, and stomach upset. Avoid grapefruit and grapefruit juice, which can raise cyclosporine levels, and tell your dermatologist before any vaccination.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is the current US drug label for cyclosporine (Neoral). Two sources are patient education (AAD, National Psoriasis Foundation), describing common reactions and the monitoring schedule in plain language. None reports an adverse-reaction rate table from a psoriasis-specific trial population.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These sources describe the two boxed-warning categories, the required blood-pressure and kidney-function monitoring schedule, common reactions, and the grapefruit interaction. None states how often a reaction happens in psoriasis care, and none judges one reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.
What it does not support
It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that cyclosporine is an immunosuppressant originally developed to prevent organ rejection in transplant recipients, and that its psoriasis benefit was found by accident in transplant patients. Supports that it is taken daily as a pill, at the same time each day, and that a course typically runs 12 to 16 weeks. Supports that 80% to 90% of patients treated for 12 to 16 weeks had rapid improvement, and that remission after stopping lasts about 14 weeks. Supports that the most serious possible side effects are kidney damage and high blood pressure, with blood pressure checked every other week initially. Supports an increased risk of squamous cell skin cancer, higher for people who have had more than 200 PUVA treatments. Supports avoiding grapefruit, grapefruit juice, St. John’s Wort, and heavy alcohol, and consulting a dermatologist before vaccination.
What it does not support
Does not report an exact side-effect rate, does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.
What this source supports
Supports that cyclosporine suppresses the immune system and slows the growth of certain immune cells. Supports that it is taken daily by mouth as a capsule or liquid, and that a lower dose may be used when combined with a topical treatment. Supports that the FDA recommends cyclosporine not be used for longer than one year, though some doctors prescribe it longer, and that there is no specific guideline for how long to wait before resuming it. Supports that some improvement can appear after two weeks on stronger doses, with three to four months typically needed to reach optimal control. Supports that people previously treated with methotrexate, PUVA, UVB, coal tar, or radiation therapy face an increased skin-cancer risk on cyclosporine. Supports that kidney function is monitored before and during treatment, blood pressure is checked frequently, grapefruit juice should be avoided, and vaccines may be less effective while on cyclosporine.
What it does not support
Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports two boxed warnings, the label’s strongest warnings. The first states that only physicians experienced in immunosuppressive therapy should prescribe cyclosporine, because of an increased risk of infection and malignancy. The second, specific to psoriasis, states that patients previously treated with PUVA face an increased risk of skin cancer on cyclosporine, and that cyclosporine can cause hypertension and kidney damage (nephrotoxicity). Supports a labeled psoriasis dosing range of 2.5 mg/kg/day to a maximum of 4.0 mg/kg/day, split into two daily doses. Supports that blood pressure and serum creatinine/BUN should be evaluated every two weeks during the initial three months of therapy, then monthly if the patient is stable. Supports that psoriasis patients with abnormal kidney function, uncontrolled high blood pressure, or malignancy should not receive cyclosporine. Supports that concurrent PUVA, UVB, methotrexate, other immunosuppressive agents, coal tar, or radiation therapy should not be given with it. Supports that most patients relapse after stopping.
What it does not support
This label, as currently published, does not itself state a fixed outer limit on how long a course of psoriasis treatment may run; it states only that relapse is expected after stopping. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.
What this source supports
Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price recorded for 30 capsules of generic cyclosporine modified 100 mg: an average retail cash price of $145.95, and an average GoodRx-coupon price of $40.82.
What it does not support
It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.