What is Zoryve, and how does it work?
Zoryve (roflumilast) cream is a phosphodiesterase-4 (PDE4) inhibitor - a steroid-free medicine built and FDA-approved specifically for psoriasis, not borrowed off-label from another condition. Inside an inflamed skin cell, PDE4 works like a foot pressing an inflammation gas pedal; roflumilast lifts that foot, letting a calming signal (cyclic AMP) build up instead. The label itself is honest that the exact way this translates into clearer skin is not fully mapped. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the FDA label. It states roflumilast is a PDE4 inhibitor that works by inhibiting PDE4 enzyme activity, letting cyclic AMP accumulate in cells. It notes the exact therapeutic mechanism remains incompletely understood. AAD separately confirms it is FDA approved for psoriasis and describes it working to reduce inflammation.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source claims to fully explain why lowering PDE4 activity clears psoriasis plaques for one person and not another.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is this a good fit given where my psoriasis is and what I have already tried?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is this meant to replace what I am using now, or add to it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Where can you use it, and who is it approved for?
The FDA approved Zoryve cream 0.3% for plaque psoriasis anywhere on the body, including intertriginous areas: skin folds like the armpits, groin, and under the breasts. It is approved for anyone 2 years of age and older. That intertriginous approval matters, because many other treatments, especially steroids, carry more risk on thin skin-fold skin. This one was tested there specifically rather than assumed to work. Because it is steroid-free, it does not carry the skin-thinning risk that limits how long a steroid can be used continuously in one spot. People I have heard from say a skin-fold patch is the one they least want to mention. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The label I read states the approved indication by name, including intertriginous areas and the 2-and-older age cutoff.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label does not map every individual body site or severity level to a specific instruction beyond "affected areas."
Questions for your dermatologist
Should I use this on my face, skin folds, or scalp specifically?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.I already use ___ on my skin. Can I use this alongside it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you apply it, and what did the approval studies show?
You apply it once a day, rubbed in completely. Two identical trials that led to approval, DERMIS-1 and DERMIS-2, checked results at 8 weeks. 42.4% and 37.5% of people using roflumilast reached clear or almost-clear skin, compared with 6.1% and 6.9% on the vehicle cream alone (the same cream without the active medicine). Roughly 4 in 10 people reached PASI 75 - at least 75% clearer - versus about 1 in 20 on vehicle in both trials. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read a CADTH (Canadian government) independent review of the same DERMIS-1 and DERMIS-2 pivotal trials. It reports these exact participant counts and percentages, each statistically significant versus vehicle.
Considerations
- Depends on you
These are trial averages for people 12 and older in the studies, not a prediction for one reader. The review does not break results down by which body area was treated.
Questions for your dermatologist
How long should I use this before we check whether it is working for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would count as a good result for my specific plaques?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
In the trials that led to approval, the most common effects were diarrhea (3.1%), headache (2.4%), trouble sleeping (1.4%), nausea (1.2%), and pain where you applied it (1.0%). There is no boxed warning on this medicine. It is not approved for anyone with moderate to severe liver problems, and it can interact with certain other medicines that affect the same liver enzymes. Call your dermatologist about diarrhea or any symptom that does not ease with continued use. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I checked the FDA label. It states these exact reported rates from its own psoriasis trials, the liver-impairment contraindication, and the drug-interaction caution.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label does not say how often any one side effect leads someone to stop treatment. Which symptom is expected irritation versus something to stop and call about is your dermatologist’s judgment, for your case.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which of these should make me call you right away versus just keep an eye on?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.I take ___. Does it change how my body processes this one?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
I could not capture a live retail price; GoodRx returned an access-blocked response on 2026-09-08. So I went to the manufacturer instead. The ZORYVE Direct savings card can bring the cost to as little as $0 per fill for people with commercial insurance. That offer explicitly does not apply if you have no insurance or if you are on Medicare, Medicaid, or another government plan. For people who are uninsured or government-insured and cannot afford their copay, the separate Arcutis Cares program provides the medicine at no cost. It requires meeting income limits: about $47,880 or less a year for one person, scaling up with household size. No generic version exists yet. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I checked both offers on the manufacturer’s own pages, savings card and patient-assistance program, including exactly who each one excludes.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I did not check a live pharmacy price for this figure, and program terms can change without notice.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which of these programs, if any, applies to me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What will my pharmacy actually charge with my insurance?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of roflumilast yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
It is steroid-free. That means it does not carry the skin-thinning or rebound concerns people often ask me about with a steroid. It is approved for continuous once-daily use.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has told me yet what using this treatment feels like day to day. That includes texture and how quickly itch eases for a given reader.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about the texture or the itch-relief timeline?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a simple, dated record: which areas you are treating and when you started. Add a same-conditions photo (same light, distance, and angle) each time. The approval trials checked results at 8 weeks, a reasonable point to compare your own dated photos against. That beats relying on memory of how a plaque or fold looked at the start. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated, comparable record is what lets an 8-week check-in actually answer whether the medicine is working, matching the timeline the approval trials themselves used.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo log does not replace a clinical exam and cannot by itself tell you whether a rarer side effect has started.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I photograph or note between now and my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
In the trials that led to approval, the most common effects were diarrhea (3.1%), headache (2.4%), trouble sleeping (1.4%), nausea (1.2%), and pain where you applied it (1.0%). There is no boxed warning on this medicine. It is not approved for anyone with moderate to severe liver problems, and it can interact with certain other medicines that affect the same liver enzymes. Call your dermatologist about diarrhea or any symptom that does not ease with continued use.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is the current US drug label for roflumilast cream, reporting its own psoriasis-trial adverse-reaction rates (diarrhea 3.1%, headache 2.4%, insomnia 1.4%, nausea 1.2%, application site pain 1.0%). The other is American Academy of Dermatology patient education, which lists the same reaction types in plain language. Neither source says how often any one reaction leads someone to stop treatment.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These sources describe the trial-reported rates of the most common local and systemic effects and the liver-impairment contraindication. They do not quantify how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment or judge one reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company (Arcutis Biotherapeutics) submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent psoriasis evidence.
What this source supports
Supports that ZORYVE cream 0.3% is FDA approved for topical treatment of plaque psoriasis, including intertriginous areas, in patients 2 years of age and older. Supports the mechanism (a phosphodiesterase-4, PDE4, inhibitor, working by inhibiting PDE4 enzyme activity and letting cyclic AMP build up inside cells, while stating the exact therapeutic mechanism remains incompletely understood). Supports the dosing (apply once daily to affected areas and rub in completely; topical use only, not for eye, mouth, or intravaginal use; wash hands after applying). Supports the most common adverse reactions reported in at least 1% of psoriasis trial participants: diarrhea (3.1%), headache (2.4%), insomnia (1.4%), nausea (1.2%), and application site pain (1.0%). Supports the contraindication in moderate to severe liver impairment (Child-Pugh B or C) and the drug-interaction caution with strong CYP3A4/CYP1A2 inhibitors.
What it does not support
The label does not carry a boxed warning, does not quantify how often any side effect leads someone to stop treatment, and does not state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that roflumilast (Zoryve) cream is FDA approved for patients with plaque psoriasis, applied once a day as instructed. Supports that in the studies that led to approval it worked quickly to reduce itch and clear psoriasis. Supports that a roflumilast foam version treats scalp and body psoriasis, applied once daily. Supports the patient-facing side-effect list for the cream: diarrhea, headache, and feeling sick to your stomach (nausea). Supports, for tapinarof (VTAMA) cream, that it is prescribed for adults with mild, moderate, or severe psoriasis and can be applied anywhere on the body, including the face. Supports that about 40% of patients were clear or almost clear after 12 weeks of using it, and that patients who stopped after clearing stayed clear for an average of 12 weeks. Supports that the most common side effect is a skin reaction.
What it does not support
The page does not name an exact response percentage, a specific check-in timeline, or a retail price for roflumilast. For tapinarof, the page does not name folliculitis specifically, break down its "skin reaction" side effect by exact rate, or state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH)Systematic review · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the DERMIS-1 and DERMIS-2 phase 3 trial results at week 8: IGA success (clear or almost clear) in 42.4% (108 of 286) of the roflumilast group versus 6.1% (8 of 153) on vehicle in DERMIS-1, and 37.5% (99 of 290) versus 6.9% (9 of 152) in DERMIS-2. Supports PASI 75 (at least 75% clearer) in 41.6% versus 7.6% in DERMIS-1, and 39.0% versus 5.3% in DERMIS-2, both statistically significant.
What it does not support
This is a Canadian government health-technology-assessment review of the same pivotal trials the FDA reviewed, not a US regulatory document. It does not report results for any group narrower than the trial population as a whole (ages 12 and older), and it does not predict an individual result.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Arcutis BiotherapeuticsManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The medicine manufacturer publishes its own savings-card terms and has a direct commercial interest in product access.
What this source supports
Supports that patients with commercial drug insurance may pay as little as $0 per prescription fill, up to a program savings limit. Supports that the offer is explicitly not valid for patients without commercial drug insurance, and not valid for anyone enrolled in a government healthcare program (Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, or other federal/state programs). Supports that the offer is subject to change or discontinuation without notice and is limited to the United States and Puerto Rico.
What it does not support
Does not state a retail list price or what an uninsured or government-insured patient would pay without the separate patient-assistance program.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Arcutis BiotherapeuticsManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The medicine manufacturer publishes its own patient-assistance program terms and has a direct commercial interest in product access.
What this source supports
Supports that Arcutis Cares provides Arcutis medicine, including ZORYVE, at no cost to patients who are uninsured or government-insured (Medicare or Medicaid) and cannot afford their copay. Eligibility also requires living in and being treated in the United States. Supports the income limit, based on 300% of the Federal Poverty Level: about $47,880 or less for one person, scaling up by household size. Supports that commercially insured patients are not eligible for this program and are directed to the separate ZORYVE Direct savings card instead.
What it does not support
Does not state a fixed coverage duration beyond "the benefit year" of enrollment, and does not guarantee approval for a given applicant.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.