What is a vitamin D analogue, and how does it work on psoriasis?
A vitamin D analogue is a synthetic (calcipotriene) or naturally occurring active (calcitriol) form of vitamin D3 you apply directly to a plaque. It is not the oral supplement people take for vitamin D levels. Think of it as slowing down a factory line: psoriasis pushes skin cells to grow and shed far faster than normal. This medicine slows that overproduction, which flattens plaques and removes scale. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the AAD page on synthetic vitamin D. It describes the medicine as slowing rapidly growing skin cells, flattening thick psoriasis, and removing scale, with specific use on nail and scalp psoriasis. NPF describes calcipotriene (Dovonex) the same way and calcitriol (Vectical) as helping control excessive skin cell production.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Both sources describe the drug class, not a guaranteed result for one plaque. How completely your plaques respond depends on which product, body site, and plan your dermatologist chooses.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which exact product are you prescribing for me, calcipotriene or calcitriol?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is this meant for a specific area, like my scalp or nails, or my psoriasis generally?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Where is it used, and why is it often paired with a steroid?
Calcipotriene is commonly used on the scalp and for nail psoriasis. Calcitriol cannot be applied to the face, lips, or eyes. Vitamin D analogues can be safely combined with a strong corticosteroid - a fixed combination product (Taclonex) pairs calcipotriene with a steroid in one application. AAD notes the combination tends to work better than either alone. It can also reduce the steroid-related side effects that come with using a strong steroid, which allows longer-term use than a steroid alone. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Both sources I read describe vitamin D analogues as steroid-sparing. Pairing the two lets you get more benefit from the steroid course without the same duration of steroid exposure. They describe which body sites suit which product in general terms, not as a single table.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source publishes an exact map of every product to every body site. Whether a combination product fits your plaques, and where to apply or avoid it, is a call your dermatologist makes for your case.
Questions for your dermatologist
Where on my body is this product meant to be used, and where should I avoid it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Would a combination product make sense for me, and why or why not?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you apply it, and how long before you know if it is working?
AAD says most people apply synthetic vitamin D twice a day, and most notice improvement within about two weeks. I found no single published percentage for how many people clear or improve on "vitamin D analogues" as a class. The class spans more than one molecule (calcipotriene, calcitriol) and several combination products, each with its own studies, so a number for one would not describe the others. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Both patient-education sources I read tie improvement to a rough early timeframe (about two weeks) rather than an open-ended regimen with no check-in.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Exactly how long your own course should run is a plan your dermatologist sets and reviews. What counts as "working" for your case is not a fixed rule I can supply.
Questions for your dermatologist
When should I expect to see a difference, and when should I come back if I do not?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What does improvement look like for the specific plaques we are treating?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
Common local effects include irritated skin, burning, itching, swelling, peeling, dryness, and redness, which typically ease with continued use. The FDA label for calcipotriene cream lists local irritation and dermatitis, and tells you not to use the cream on the face. The more serious but low-risk concern is hypercalcemia - too much calcium in the blood, which can weaken bones, cause kidney stones, or affect the heart and brain. NPF specifically flags excessive calcium in urine as a common effect of calcitriol. An extremely uncommon change in calcium-metabolism limits means stopping treatment until calcium normalizes. Call your dermatologist about persistent irritation, or anything that feels like it might be more than a local skin reaction. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
AAD and NPF both name hypercalcemia-related risk as the more serious concern with this drug class, distinct from the common local skin irritation. I checked the calcipotriene label separately. It confirms local irritation and dermatitis reports, and the current contraindications for hypercalcemia or vitamin D toxicity.
Considerations
- Depends on you
None of these sources is a study reporting how often a given side effect actually occurs. They describe the range of what can happen, not your personal risk. Calcitriol in particular carries a light-sensitivity and skin-tumor-risk note on its label; how much that matters for you is your prescriber’s call.
Questions for your dermatologist
How would I know if I am absorbing too much of this, and what would you check?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which of these side effects should make me stop and call rather than wait for my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
I could not capture a live retail price. The pharmacy-price sites I normally check, GoodRx and Drugs.com, returned access-blocked responses to a direct check on 2026-09-08. So I went to the FDA label instead. A generic calcipotriene cream product is currently marketed under this exact label, separate from any single brand name. Vitamin D analogue products span more than one molecule and several combination formulations, so price varies by exact product. Ask your pharmacy to run both the insurance price and a discount-card price for what you were actually prescribed. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The calcipotriene label I read confirms a currently marketed generic product exists under FDA prescribing information current as of the date recorded above.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I did not check a live pharmacy price for this figure. The number here is the published one, with its date.
Questions for your dermatologist
What will this specific product cost me with my insurance?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is a generic available for what you are prescribing?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of vitamin D analogues for psoriasis yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Local irritation is common and typically eases with continued use. Hypercalcemia is the rarer but more serious concern this class carries as a whole.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has told me yet what using this treatment feels like day to day.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about using this day to day?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a simple, dated record: which product and which areas you are treating, when you started, and a same-conditions photo (same light, same distance, same angle). That lets you and your dermatologist compare visit to visit instead of relying on memory, especially around the roughly two-week point AAD ties to early improvement. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated, comparable record is what lets an early check-in point actually answer whether the product is working. Memory of how things looked at the start is not reliable enough on its own.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo log does not replace a clinical exam and cannot by itself tell you whether a rarer effect like hypercalcemia has started.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I photograph or note between now and my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
Common local effects include irritated skin, burning, itching, swelling, peeling, dryness, and redness, which typically ease with continued use. The FDA label for calcipotriene cream lists local irritation and dermatitis, and tells you not to use the cream on the face. The more serious but low-risk concern is hypercalcemia - too much calcium in the blood, which can weaken bones, cause kidney stones, or affect the heart and brain. NPF specifically flags excessive calcium in urine as a common effect of calcitriol. An extremely uncommon change in calcium-metabolism limits means stopping treatment until calcium normalizes. Call your dermatologist about persistent irritation, or anything that feels like it might be more than a local skin reaction.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- Two sources are patient education (AAD, NPF). One is a current US drug label (calcipotriene cream). None is a study. None reports how often a side effect occurs.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These sources describe the range of possible local side effects and the rarer calcium-related risk this drug class carries. They do not quantify how often any one side effect occurs, compare products, or assess an individual reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent vitiligo evidence.
What this source supports
Supports the psoriasis indication, 0.005% cream strength, current tube presentations, local irritation and dermatitis reports, the instruction not to use the cream on the face, contraindications for hypercalcemia or vitamin D toxicity, and calcium-related and ultraviolet precautions. Its Dosage and Administration section supports applying a thin layer twice daily, and that the label’s own safety and efficacy data cover an 8-week psoriasis treatment period. It supports that the label advises patients to avoid excessive natural or artificial sunlight and separately tells physicians they may wish to limit or avoid phototherapy in patients using this product. Its clinical-trial adverse-reaction data support skin irritation in about 10%-15% of patients (the most frequent reaction) and rash, itching, dermatitis, or worsening of psoriasis in about 1%-10%; post-approval reports separately support contact dermatitis, including allergic contact dermatitis.
What it does not support
It does not approve calcipotriene for vitiligo, establish vitiligo benefit, support a self-directed combination, or state a vitiligo-specific frequency, duration, or adverse-reaction rate. Its 8-week duration and adverse-reaction percentages are from psoriasis clinical trials, not a vitiligo population.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that synthetic vitamin D (vitamin D analogues) slows rapidly growing skin cells, flattens thick psoriasis, and removes scale, and can treat nail and scalp psoriasis specifically. Most people apply it twice a day and notice improvement within about two weeks. It can be safely combined with a strong corticosteroid. The combination tends to work better than either alone and can reduce the side effects that come with using a strong steroid, which allows longer-term use. Common side effects are irritated skin, burning, itching, swelling, peeling, dryness, and redness, which typically resolve with continued use. A more serious but low-risk side effect is hypercalcemia, which can weaken bones, cause kidney stones, or affect the heart and brain.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name a specific percentage of people who improve, quantify how often hypercalcemia occurs, or set a maximum course length.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed.
What this source supports
Supports that Dovonex (calcipotriene), a synthetic vitamin D3, slows skin cell growth, flattens plaques, and removes scale, and treats scalp and nail psoriasis. Supports that Vectical (calcitriol), the naturally occurring active form of vitamin D3, helps control excessive skin cell production and cannot be applied to the face, lips, or eyes. Supports that Taclonex combines calcipotriene with a steroid. Calcipotriene side effects listed: skin irritation, stinging, burning, dry skin, peeling, rash, dermatitis, and worsening of psoriasis. Calcitriol side effects: excessive calcium in urine is common. An extremely uncommon side effect is a change in calcium metabolism limits, which should stop treatment until calcium normalizes. Increased skin tumor risk from light sensitivity is also noted. Supports that Tazorac (tazarotene), a vitamin A derivative topical retinoid, slows skin cell growth. It is normal for psoriasis plaques to become very red, often intensely so but generally not painful, before clearing when using tazarotene. Tazarotene side effects include skin irritation, dry skin, and increased sun sensitivity; sunscreen and protective clothing are recommended during use.
What it does not support
It does not give an application frequency for calcitriol, name a percentage of people who improve, or publish pricing. It does not mention combining tazarotene with a steroid or include a pregnancy warning for tazarotene on this page.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.