Does an FDA approval for psoriasis mean one option is better than another?
No. Roflumilast, tapinarof, deucravacitinib, and the biologics are approved specifically for psoriasis. Calcineurin inhibitors, including Protopic (tacrolimus) and Elidel (pimecrolimus), are approved for eczema and used on psoriasis off-label. Methotrexate, cyclosporine, and acitretin are established systemic options named in a joint dermatology guideline rather than newly approved for this use. None of that, by itself, ranks one option above another. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the FDA labels for these products and the 2020 AAD-NPF systemic-therapy guideline. They state their own approval basis and study population, and approval status and evidence strength are two different facts.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
A drug’s approval history does not predict how well it will work for your plaques, and off-label use is not automatically weaker evidence.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is this specific use approved, or off-label, for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.I have already tried ___. Does that change which options are realistic?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What should I compare besides how well something worked in a trial?
Compare material harms, required monitoring, day-to-day burden, and access or cost uncertainty alongside possible benefit. A treatment with a strong trial result can still be a poor fit if the monitoring schedule, cost, or restrictions do not work for your life. Evidence Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The labels, patient-education pages, and guidelines I read describe different parts of this picture, and none of them combines burden and benefit into a single score.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
Published sources may not describe how a monitoring schedule or a copay program actually feels to live with day to day. Coverage or program terms can also change without notice.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which differences in monitoring, burden, or cost matter most for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Does my insurance cover ___, and is there a copay program for it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What if a question is not answered for one of the options?
Treat it as missing, not as zero risk or no benefit. "Not established," "not reported in the reviewed source," and "not applicable" mean different things, and the matrix below uses each one on purpose. Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
Evidence gaps are common for head-to-head comparisons, long-term outcomes, and cost across every insurance plan. Naming the gap is more accurate than treating it as answered.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
"Not established" may mean no research was found, existing research does not settle the question, or I have not finished checking. The option’s own guide states which one applies.
Questions for your dermatologist
What is still unknown about this option for someone like me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence and update context
This optional layer shows the evidence boundary I reviewed as of 2026-09-19.
- What this evidence supports
- I read the FDA labels for these products and the 2020 AAD-NPF systemic-therapy guideline. They state their own approval basis and study population, and approval status and evidence strength are two different facts.
- What it does not establish
- A drug’s approval history does not predict how well it will work for your plaques, and off-label use is not automatically weaker evidence.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Pending clinical review
This statement has a dated source and is waiting for a clinician's sign-off.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.
What it does not support
It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that tacrolimus ointment and pimecrolimus cream are FDA approved to treat atopic dermatitis (eczema), not psoriasis, so dermatologists prescribe either for psoriasis off-label. Supports use on plaque psoriasis on the face and other delicate areas including the genitals, and on inverse psoriasis (armpits, under the breasts, groin, or face). Supports that most people apply either medicine twice a day, and that no improvement after six weeks is a signal to check back with a dermatologist. Supports that the FDA warns of a possible increased risk of lymphoma or skin cancer, while noting dermatologists have not observed this increased risk in day-to-day practice.
What it does not support
The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not explain the calcineurin mechanism of action, name a percentage of people who improve, or state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company (Arcutis Biotherapeutics) submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent psoriasis evidence.
What this source supports
Supports that ZORYVE cream 0.3% is FDA approved for topical treatment of plaque psoriasis, including intertriginous areas, in patients 2 years of age and older. Supports the mechanism (a phosphodiesterase-4, PDE4, inhibitor, working by inhibiting PDE4 enzyme activity and letting cyclic AMP build up inside cells, while stating the exact therapeutic mechanism remains incompletely understood). Supports the dosing (apply once daily to affected areas and rub in completely; topical use only, not for eye, mouth, or intravaginal use; wash hands after applying). Supports the most common adverse reactions reported in at least 1% of psoriasis trial participants: diarrhea (3.1%), headache (2.4%), insomnia (1.4%), nausea (1.2%), and application site pain (1.0%). Supports the contraindication in moderate to severe liver impairment (Child-Pugh B or C) and the drug-interaction caution with strong CYP3A4/CYP1A2 inhibitors.
What it does not support
The label does not carry a boxed warning, does not quantify how often any side effect leads someone to stop treatment, and does not state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that roflumilast (Zoryve) cream is FDA approved for patients with plaque psoriasis, applied once a day as instructed. Supports that in the studies that led to approval it worked quickly to reduce itch and clear psoriasis. Supports that a roflumilast foam version treats scalp and body psoriasis, applied once daily. Supports the patient-facing side-effect list for the cream: diarrhea, headache, and feeling sick to your stomach (nausea). Supports, for tapinarof (VTAMA) cream, that it is prescribed for adults with mild, moderate, or severe psoriasis and can be applied anywhere on the body, including the face. Supports that about 40% of patients were clear or almost clear after 12 weeks of using it, and that patients who stopped after clearing stayed clear for an average of 12 weeks. Supports that the most common side effect is a skin reaction.
What it does not support
The page does not name an exact response percentage, a specific check-in timeline, or a retail price for roflumilast. For tapinarof, the page does not name folliculitis specifically, break down its "skin reaction" side effect by exact rate, or state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company (Organon, formerly Dermavant Sciences) submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent psoriasis evidence.
What this source supports
Supports that VTAMA cream 1% is FDA approved for topical treatment of plaque psoriasis in adults, with no stated site or duration restriction, and is not for oral, ophthalmic, or intravaginal use. Supports the mechanism (an aryl hydrocarbon receptor, AhR, agonist), while stating the specific mechanisms by which VTAMA cream exerts its therapeutic actions in plaque psoriasis are unknown. Supports the dosing (apply a thin layer to affected areas once daily; wash hands after application unless treating the hands). Supports the PSOARING 1 and PSOARING 2 phase 3 trial results at week 12, defined as PGA success: a score of clear or almost clear with at least a 2-grade improvement from baseline. That was reached by 36% (n=340) of the tapinarof group versus 6% (n=170) on vehicle in PSOARING 1, and 40% (n=343) versus 6% (n=172) in PSOARING 2. Supports the remittive-effect finding: among the 73 trial responders who achieved complete clearance and had treatment withdrawn, the median time to first worsening (PGA of 2 or higher) was 114 days. Supports the most common adverse reactions in the combined psoriasis trials (683 on tapinarof, 342 on vehicle): folliculitis (20% vs 1%), nasopharyngitis (11% vs 9%), contact dermatitis (7% vs 1%), headache (4% vs 1%), itching (3% vs 1%), and influenza (2% vs 1%). Supports that the label lists no contraindications and carries no boxed warning.
What it does not support
The label does not approve tapinarof for psoriasis in anyone under 18, does not quantify how often any side effect leads someone to stop treatment, and does not state a retail price. Its pediatric approval is for a different condition (atopic dermatitis), not psoriasis.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- JAMA Dermatology (Kong EL, Buzney EA)Observational study · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports a modeling study of 500,000 simulated adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis (mean baseline PASI 20.2). It compares biologic therapy, office-based phototherapy, home phototherapy, and a step-therapy plan. Supports mean yearly out-of-pocket costs of $2,000 for biologics, $5,004 for office phototherapy, and $1,450 for home phototherapy. Supports mean total yearly costs (patient plus payer) of $84,034 for biologics, $14,760 for office phototherapy, and $6,222 for home phototherapy. Supports mean PASI drops at 32 weeks of 91.6% for biologics, 71.1% for phototherapy, and 95.2% for the step-therapy plan. Supports mean QALY gains of 0.24, 0.18, and 0.23 in that same order.
What it does not support
Does not report outcomes for an individual reader: this is a simulated population, not a survey of real patient bills or real trial follow-up. It does not state what one reader’s own insurance plan will charge.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that Sotyktu (deucravacitinib) is a TYK2 inhibitor. Supports that it binds the regulatory domain of TYK2 rather than the catalytic domain, stabilizing an inhibitory interaction that produces allosteric inhibition of receptor-mediated TYK2 activation and downstream STAT signaling. Supports the moderate-to-severe plaque-psoriasis indication for adults who are candidates for systemic therapy or phototherapy. Supports the separate active-psoriatic-arthritis indication for adults. Supports the caution against combining it with other potent immunosuppressants and against live vaccines during treatment. Supports the recommendation to evaluate for tuberculosis before starting. Supports the precaution against starting during an active or serious infection, including active hepatitis B or C. Supports that no dose adjustment is needed for renal impairment or mild-to-moderate liver impairment. Supports that severe liver impairment is not recommended. Supports the fixed 6 mg once-daily dose with or without food and no titration schedule. Supports the instruction not to crush, cut, or chew the tablet. Supports the PASI 75 response rates at week 16 for deucravacitinib, placebo, and the apremilast comparator arm in both POETYK PSO-1 and PSO-2 trials (PSO-1: 58% vs 13% vs 35%; PSO-2: 53% vs 9% vs 40%). Supports the week 24 PASI 75 rates for deucravacitinib versus the apremilast arm (PSO-1: 69% vs 38%; PSO-2: 58% vs 38%). Supports the infection-risk warning and the herpes zoster reports, including a multidermatomal presentation. Supports the lymphoma reports (0.3 per 100 patient-years) and the creatine-phosphokinase/triglyceride/liver-enzyme monitoring guidance. Supports the plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates at week 16 (upper respiratory infection 19.2% vs 14.8% placebo, blood CPK increased 2.7% vs 1.2%, herpes simplex 2.0% vs 0.2%, mouth ulcers 1.9% vs 0%, folliculitis 1.7% vs 0%, acne 1.4% vs 0.2%). Supports that no boxed warning is present on this label.
What it does not support
This label does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of its plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates. It also does not state how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or predict an individual reader’s dose or response.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.
What it does not support
Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education and its own navigation service, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for the quoted description of its own Patient Navigator service.
What this source supports
Supports that the National Psoriasis Foundation offers a Patient Navigator. The page describes it as available to "connect with a friendly, experienced Patient Navigator for personalized help getting the treatment you need."
What it does not support
Does not report specific manufacturer copay-program terms, patient-assistance-program eligibility, or pricing for any named biologic. Does not guarantee outcome or eligibility for a specific reader.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.