What does pregnancy do to psoriasis?
People report it going both ways. The records I read do not measure pregnancy, so nobody can tell you in advance which way yours will go. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read the National Psoriasis Foundation first. It records psoriasis as an immune-mediated disease. An overactive immune system drives it. It causes inflammation in the body, and raised plaques with scale are the visible sign. It records psoriasis as chronic and long-term, with no cure. NICE guidance covers assessment of the skin, the nails, high-impact sites, daily life and joint concerns. Its treatment map includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I looked in both records for what pregnancy does to psoriasis, and neither states it. The NPF page does not predict whether one person will clear, stay the same, or flare. NICE is UK guidance, and it assesses nobody from a description. So the plan is built around your treatment, not around a forecast.
Questions for your dermatologist
Does my psoriasis pattern change how you would plan a pregnancy with me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which parts of this belong with you, and which with my maternity team?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
I take Soriatane (acitretin). How far ahead do I need to plan?
Further ahead than most people expect. The label sets a pregnancy avoidance period that runs for years after the last dose, so this conversation belongs at the start of family planning. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read the Soriatane (acitretin) label. It carries a boxed warning. It states that Soriatane must not be used by anyone who is pregnant. It also states that it must not be used by anyone who intends to become pregnant at any time within three years of stopping. The label requires two negative pregnancy tests before treatment starts. It requires two effective forms of birth control. It restricts alcohol for female patients of reproductive potential during treatment and after it. Alcohol converts the drug to a longer-lasting related compound. The National Psoriasis Foundation records the same contraindication and the same requirements.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label sets a rule for a drug. It does not assess you, set your date, or name what you take instead. I could not find how a plan should be rebuilt around an avoidance period this long, in either record. That is the prescriber conversation, and it is worth having early.
Questions for your dermatologist
I want to try for a baby. Given the Soriatane label, when would I need to stop?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would you put me on in the years between stopping this and trying?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What about Trexall (methotrexate), for me or for my partner?
The label contraindicates methotrexate in pregnancy for non-cancer use. It also sets contraception periods after the final dose, and it sets one for men as well as women. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read the Trexall (methotrexate) label next. It carries a boxed warning, its strongest warning. One part covers embryo-fetal toxicity, including fetal death. The label states contraception during treatment and for six months after the final dose for females of reproductive potential. It states three months after the final dose for males. The National Psoriasis Foundation records that men should be off methotrexate at least three months before trying to conceive, and women at least four months. The AAD and NPF guideline records methotrexate and acitretin among established systemic nonbiologic options.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I compared the label against the NPF page, and they state different periods for women. Neither record picks one of them for you. The guideline does not select or prescribe an option for an individual. A man planning a family has a question here too, and it is easy to miss because most of the advice is written for women.
Questions for your dermatologist
The label and the patient page give different waiting times. Which applies to me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.My partner takes methotrexate. What does that mean for us trying?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Is there a treatment I can keep using while pregnant?
Guidance covers topicals, phototherapy and systemic options as treatment families. Only one of those records names pregnancy directly, and it names narrowband UVB. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
I read the American Academy of Dermatology on light treatment. It records narrowband UVB as slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and quieting an overly active immune system. It records that it reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. It records the treatment as considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including pregnant women. The National Psoriasis Foundation records side effects of redness, stinging and burns, and an increased long-term risk of skin cancer. It recommends discussing risks with a health care provider.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The AAD page states no response percentage and no rate for any side effect. Neither phototherapy record sets sessions per week or a timeline. I could not find a topical product named as suiting pregnancy in either record. Being listed in guidance is not the same as being chosen for you, and only your prescriber can do that part.
Questions for your dermatologist
Would narrowband UVB be an option for me while I am pregnant?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Which of my current topicals would you keep, change, or stop?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
I am on a biologic. And what about breastfeeding?
Both answers live in the label for your exact product. The registered biologic records describe what biologics are and how they are given, and they carry no pregnancy or breastfeeding content. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
The American Academy of Dermatology records that a biologic targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. It records dosing given as a shot or an infusion. It records raised infection risk. It records blood tests and tuberculosis testing as typically required before starting. The National Psoriasis Foundation records biologics grouped by the immune target they block, and records pre-start infection screening.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Because neither page covers pregnancy, I state nothing here about what a biologic means in pregnancy or in breastfeeding. Neither page quotes a boxed warning for a named drug. Products in the same class can differ, so a general class answer will not settle it. Bring the product name to the appointment and ask for the label answer.
Questions for your dermatologist
What does the label for my biologic say about pregnancy and breastfeeding?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If I plan to breastfeed, does that change which treatment you would pick?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Will my child get psoriasis, and how do I raise all this at once?
The heredity question is fair, and no registered record here gives a family-risk number, so I have none to give. Ask it at the same visit as the treatment review. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Reasonably supported
Whether it is normal to feel depressed or anxious about psoriasis is one of the questions readers ask most. A new baby is not a gentle time to find that out. NICE guidance covers assessment of the skin, the nails, high-impact sites, daily life and joint concerns. The National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases records that psoriasis carries risk for mental-health concerns. It names low self-esteem, anxiety and depression among them. It records that managing common triggers, such as stress and skin injuries, helps keep symptoms under control. The NPF records psoriasis as chronic, with no cure.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I went through these records for pregnancy, birth and the months after, and none measures them. None counts how often mood changes in that period. So a dated record of your own flares and treatment changes is worth more here than a general pattern. Take it with you, and say plainly if the low mood is the bigger problem.
Questions for your dermatologist
What would you tell me about psoriasis running in my family?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Who do I call if my mood drops hard after the birth?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence detail: what these records can and cannot establish
Two drug labels set pregnancy requirements. Patient education and UK guidance cover treatment families. None of what I read measures a pregnancy.
- What is supported
- The Soriatane label states that it must not be used by anyone pregnant, or intending to become pregnant within three years of stopping. The Trexall label contraindicates methotrexate in pregnancy for non-cancer use and sets contraception periods for females and for males. AAD records narrowband UVB as considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including pregnant women. NICE records a treatment map of topical, phototherapy and systemic options.
- What is deliberately not claimed
- I print no drug amount, no strength and no schedule. The registered biologic records carry no pregnancy or breastfeeding content, so I give no biologic answer. I could not find a family-risk figure in any registered record, so I have none to give.
- What remains unmeasured
- No record I read follows people with psoriasis through a pregnancy or the months after a birth. None separates a flare from a stopped treatment, lost sleep or stress. So a change in your skin during pregnancy stays unexplained, and so does a quiet stretch.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that poor sleep quality is a listed symptom of psoriasis. Also lists patches of thick, red, scaly skin that itch or burn, and dry, cracked skin that itches or bleeds. Supports that psoriasis carries risk for mental-health concerns including low self-esteem, anxiety, and depression. Supports that managing common triggers, such as stress and skin injuries, can help keep symptoms under control. Supports, by subtype, that guttate psoriasis outbreaks are often triggered by an upper respiratory infection such as strep throat. Also supports that pustular psoriasis symptoms can be triggered by medications, infections, stress, or certain chemicals. Also supports that erythrodermic psoriasis can be triggered by a bad sunburn or certain medications including corticosteroids. Also supports, by subtype, that inverse psoriasis appears as smooth patches of inflamed skin in skin folds. It names the armpits, the groin, and under the breasts as those folds. It records that rubbing and sweating can make inverse psoriasis worse.
What it does not support
Does not give a percentage of patients affected. Does not measure how much sleep is lost. Does not establish that treating the skin fixes the sleep problem for any one person. Its trigger information is organized by psoriasis subtype, not as one general list for plaque psoriasis specifically. It counts nothing for inverse psoriasis either. It gives no share of people affected in a fold or genital site, and it names no treatment for one.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization publishes patient education, but the editorial and funding independence of this page was not separately reviewed.
What this source supports
Supports that psoriasis is an immune-mediated disease. It causes inflammation in the body. Raised plaques and scale on the skin are the visible sign. Supports that an overactive immune system speeds up skin-cell growth. Skin cells normally take about a month to grow and shed. With psoriasis they do so in three or four days. Supports that psoriasis is a chronic, long-term disease with no cure.
What it does not support
Does not predict whether one person will clear, stay the same, or flare. Does not give a share of people who reach a period with little or no psoriasis, or how long such a period lasts. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.
What it does not support
It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.
What it does not support
It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate binds to and inhibits an enzyme involved in the rapid growth of skin cells, slowing that growth. Supports that regular blood tests are required to confirm the drug is being safely processed by the liver, white blood cells, and bone marrow. Supports that less common long-term risks include liver damage and reversible liver scarring, a reduced white blood cell count with higher infection risk, and rare lymphoma or bone marrow toxicity. Supports that alcohol should be avoided to reduce liver problems. Supports that men should be off methotrexate at least three months, and women at least four months, before trying to conceive.
What it does not support
Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the boxed warning, the label’s strongest warning, in four parts. It covers embryo-fetal toxicity, including fetal death; the drug is contraindicated in pregnancy for non-cancer use. It covers contraindication after a prior severe hypersensitivity reaction. It covers serious, sometimes fatal, reactions affecting the bone marrow, GI tract, liver, lungs, skin, and kidneys, which is why close monitoring is required. It covers death reported when tablets were taken daily by mistake instead of weekly. Supports the labeled psoriasis dosage of 10 to 25 mg orally once weekly, raised gradually to a maximum of 30 mg weekly, with folic or folinic acid supplementation recommended. Supports contraception during treatment and for 6 months after the final dose for females of reproductive potential, and 3 months after the final dose for males. Supports an adverse-reaction table from 12-18 week rheumatoid arthritis studies. At 10% or greater: elevated liver tests (15%) and nausea or vomiting (10%). In the 3%-10% range: stomatitis and low platelet count. In the 1%-3% range: rash, diarrhea, hair loss, and low blood-cell counts.
What it does not support
The adverse-reaction rate table comes from rheumatoid arthritis trials, not a study of people with psoriasis, and does not state how often any reaction occurs in psoriasis treatment. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.
What this source supports
Supports that Soriatane (acitretin) is FDA-approved for severe plaque, guttate, pustular, erythrodermic, or palmoplantar psoriasis in adults, and that the exact way it controls psoriasis is not known. Supports that it comes in 10 mg and 25 mg capsules taken once daily with food, with the dose adjusted by individual response. Supports that skin improvement usually appears after eight to sixteen weeks, and that peak effect can take up to six months, especially for plaque psoriasis. Supports that it is often combined with phototherapy, and sometimes with biologics or used in rotation with cyclosporine or methotrexate. Supports the pregnancy contraindication and the requirement for two negative pregnancy tests and two forms of birth control. Supports the restriction against alcohol during treatment and for two months after stopping, to prevent conversion to a longer-lasting related compound. Supports common side effects including hair loss, dry skin and mouth, bleeding gums, nosebleeds, peeling fingertips, mood changes, headache, joint pain, night-vision changes, and elevated liver enzymes. Supports the three-year blood-donation restriction after stopping treatment.
What it does not support
Does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population size, does not report an exact reaction rate, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the boxed warning that Soriatane must not be used by anyone who is pregnant, or who intends to become pregnant at any time within three years of stopping. Supports contraindication in patients with severely impaired liver or kidney function, or abnormally elevated blood lipids, and contraindication for concurrent methotrexate (hepatitis risk) or tetracyclines (intracranial pressure risk). Supports that vitamin A and other oral retinoids must be avoided concurrently, and that phototherapy doses must be reduced when combined with Soriatane because of an increased burn risk. Supports initial dosing of 25 to 50 mg per day as a single dose with the main meal, with maintenance dosing adjusted by individual response. Supports the requirement for two negative pregnancy tests before starting, and two effective forms of birth control for at least one month before through three years after treatment. Supports a repeated pregnancy test every three months during that three-year window. Supports the alcohol restriction for female patients of reproductive potential during treatment and for two months after, due to conversion to a longer-lasting related compound. Supports common reactions in more than three-quarters of patients (cheilitis, dry eyes, skin peeling, dry skin, hair loss, nail disorder, joint pain). Supports serious reactions including hepatitis, pancreatitis, a pressure buildup around the brain, and depression. Supports liver-function and lipid testing before treatment and every one to two weeks until levels are stable.
What it does not support
This label, as currently published, does not itself state a fixed outer limit on how long a course of psoriasis treatment may run; it states only that maintenance dosing is adjusted by response. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing class-grouping, administration-route, and screening context.
What this source supports
Supports that biologics for psoriasis are identified by their immune target. Named groupings include TNF-alpha inhibitors (naming Enbrel, Humira, Remicade as examples), IL-17 inhibitors (blocking interleukin 17-A), IL-23 inhibitors (blocking interleukins 12 and 23), IL-36 inhibitors, and T-cell inhibitors. Supports that biologics are taken by injection or IV infusion depending on the label, and that some injections can be self-administered at home. Supports that screening for tuberculosis or other infectious disease is often required before starting, and that biologics can increase infection risk, with fever, cough, or flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.
What it does not support
Does not report a complete, single four-class taxonomy in one place, PASI or trial-response data, dosing frequency, cost, or a full side-effect list. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.
What it does not support
Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.