What are biologics, and how are they grouped by class?
Biologics are lab-made proteins, given by injection or IV infusion, that block one specific part of the immune system involved in psoriasis. That differs from an older pill like methotrexate or cyclosporine, which suppresses immune function more broadly. Dermatology groups biologics by the exact target they block. TNF-alpha inhibitors (etanercept/Enbrel, adalimumab/Humira, infliximab/Remicade, certolizumab pegol/Cimzia, golimumab/Simponi) block tumor necrosis factor-alpha. The IL-12/23 inhibitor ustekinumab (Stelara) blocks a subunit shared by two different inflammatory signals. IL-23 inhibitors (guselkumab/Tremfya, risankizumab/Skyrizi, tildrakizumab/Ilumya) block only the newer, more specific IL-23 pathway. IL-17 inhibitors (secukinumab/Cosentyx, ixekizumab/Taltz, bimekizumab/Bimzelx, and brodalumab/Siliq) act further downstream in the same inflammatory cascade. Brodalumab is the exception: it blocks the IL-17 receptor itself rather than the cytokine. All of them lower the same underlying immune overactivity. They differ mainly in which exact protein they interrupt, and that difference changes dosing, side-effect pattern, and response speed. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the American Academy of Dermatology and National Psoriasis Foundation patient-education pages. Both name TNF-alpha, IL-17, IL-23, and IL-12/23 as the main targets, and both list the FDA-approved drugs in each class. Independent clinical literature confirms the same four-class grouping. It adds that IL-23 inhibitors currently show the most favorable long-term risk-benefit profile among the classes studied.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither patient-education source ranks the classes for you. Neither explains why one person responds better to one target than another. A more favorable profile in aggregate trial data is not a guarantee for one person.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which class fits my psoriasis pattern, joint symptoms, and other health conditions?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Why this specific drug within its class instead of another one in the same class?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do biologics treat, and what screening happens before starting?
Biologics are generally used for moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis that has not responded well enough to topical treatment, phototherapy, or oral systemic medicines. Several are separately approved for psoriatic arthritis. Before starting any biologic, standard practice is a tuberculosis skin or blood test and often a hepatitis B blood test, since these medicines can reactivate a latent infection. Live vaccines are avoided during treatment, and starting is generally delayed if you have an active infection. These are class-wide precautions, not specific to any one drug. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read AAD’s patient-education page. It states that TB testing, other infectious-disease screening, and additional blood tests are typically required before starting a biologic. MedlinePlus’s summary of the adalimumab label states a doctor will perform a TB skin test and may order a hepatitis B blood test. It also states a doctor may treat a latent infection before starting.
Considerations
- Depends on you
These sources describe the adalimumab label and general AAD guidance. They do not describe the twelve listed drugs’ own individual label language. An exact screening or vaccine-timing plan is a clinician’s call, and not something I can set out for you.
Questions for your dermatologist
Do I need a TB or hepatitis B test before starting, and how recent does it need to be?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is there a live vaccine I should get out of the way first?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you take it, and how long until you know if it is working?
Most biologics are given by subcutaneous injection, and dosing frequency varies widely by class and drug, from twice a week down to once every three months. Many people learn to give the injection themselves at home. Infliximab is the one exception on this list, requiring an IV infusion at a doctor’s office or infusion center rather than a self-administered shot. In clinical trials, response is usually measured by PASI, the standard psoriasis-severity score, at week 12 to 16. Reported response rates differ by class and by which PASI threshold is measured. TNF-class trials report roughly 49% to 80% reaching PASI 75 (75% clearing). The IL-12/23 drug ustekinumab reports roughly 66% to 75% PASI 75. IL-17 drugs report roughly 77% to 91% reaching the higher PASI 90 bar, and IL-23 drugs report roughly 70% to 75% PASI 90. These figures come from different trials of different drugs, not one head-to-head study. Mixing a PASI 75 figure against a PASI 90 figure is not an apples-to-apples comparison. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read AAD’s patient page for the twice-weekly-to-once-every-three-months dosing range, and for the fact that infliximab requires an infusion. I also read a clinical-guidance summary of the joint AAD-NPF biologics guideline. It reports the week 12-16 PASI response ranges by class cited above.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source predicts your own response speed or level. The response ranges come from separate trials with different designs and populations. They are not a single controlled comparison across classes.
Questions for your dermatologist
Given my psoriasis pattern, how long should I expect to wait before we know if this is working?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How does this drug’s own trial data compare with what you’ve seen in your own patients?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
People I have heard from ask about the infection risk before they ask how well a biologic clears skin. Every biologic listed here can raise the risk of infection, because each one calms down a piece of the immune system on purpose. Report a fever, cough, flu-like symptoms, or any other infection sign to your dermatologist right away. TNF-class biologics carry a specific FDA boxed warning. MedlinePlus’s summary of the adalimumab (Humira) label states that using it may decrease your ability to fight infection and increase the chance of a serious infection. That same label states some children, teenagers, and young adults who received adalimumab or a similar medicine developed severe or life-threatening cancers. It also states adults face an increased risk of skin cancer, lymphoma, and other cancers. Two IL-17-class drugs carry their own distinct warning. Brodalumab’s label carries a boxed warning for suicidal ideation and behavior that calls for regular evaluation of suicide risk. Bimekizumab’s current label carries a similar warning and precaution. Common, non-boxed side effects reported across the group include upper respiratory infection, injection-site reactions, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Evidence Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read MedlinePlus’s summary of the adalimumab label. It states the serious-infection and cancer/lymphoma warning language quoted above. A clinical-guidance summary of the joint AAD-NPF biologics guideline states the brodalumab and bimekizumab suicidal-ideation warning language. AAD’s patient-education page lists the common, non-boxed adverse reactions.
Considerations
- Depends on you
These sources describe the adalimumab label and two IL-17 drugs’ specific psychiatric warning language. They are not an individual label for the other drugs or the other classes. None of them says how often a serious reaction happens to you, or which class is safest for someone with your health history.
Questions for your dermatologist
Does my own health history raise or lower my risk with this class compared to another?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What signs of infection or mood change should make me call you right away?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
A JAMA Dermatology modeling study compared biologic therapy with phototherapy in a simulated population of adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis. It found a mean yearly out-of-pocket cost of about $2,000 for biologics, against a mean total yearly cost (patient plus payer combined) of about $84,034. Every biologic named here has its own list price, insurance-coverage rules, and often its own manufacturer copay card or patient-assistance program. No single number applies to one drug or to your plan. The National Psoriasis Foundation offers a free Patient Navigator service, described as giving “personalized help getting the treatment you need.” It can help work through cost and access questions for a specific biologic. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the JAMA Dermatology modeling study for the simulated cost figures above. I also read NPF’s own page describing its Patient Navigator service in the quoted language.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The JAMA Dermatology figures come from a simulated population, not real patient bills. They do not break cost down by individual biologic drug or class. Neither source states what your insurance plan will actually charge, or which manufacturer program a specific drug offers.
Questions for your dermatologist
Does my insurance cover this specific drug, and is there a manufacturer copay card or assistance program for it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Would NPF’s Patient Navigator service help with my situation?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using biologics?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of a specific biologic yet, and I have no documented pattern for any one drug or class. I will not generalize across twelve very different medicines to fill that gap. Until someone writes, here is what the labels and the studies say about living with one. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
What is documented instead, from the sources above: how the classes are grouped, dosing frequency ranges, and the week 12-16 trial response ranges by class.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has sent me an account of what starting a specific biologic feels like day to day. Nobody has described living with its warnings either.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about starting a biologic in this class?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Track any sign of infection: fever, unusual fatigue, a cough, a wound that will not heal. Report it promptly, since every biologic named here carries that risk. If you are on brodalumab or bimekizumab, also track your mood. Tell your dermatologist about any new or worsening depression or thoughts of self-harm right away; their labels call for regular evaluation of that specific risk. Note any injection-site reaction (redness, swelling, itching where you inject) and how long it lasts. Add a same-conditions photo around the twelve-to-sixteen-week mark, matching the trial timeline the response-rate ranges above describe. That gives you and your dermatologist something concrete to compare against your own starting point. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
An infection and mood-symptom log gives your dermatologist the information the labels’ own monitoring guidance calls for. A photo record lets you and your dermatologist compare against the week 12-16 trial timeline reported by these sources.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A symptom log and photo do not replace clinical judgment about infection, mood, or injection-site risk. They cannot by themselves catch a problem early.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I track between now and my first check-in on this biologic?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
People I have heard from ask about the infection risk before they ask how well a biologic clears skin. Every biologic listed here can raise the risk of infection, because each one calms down a piece of the immune system on purpose. Report a fever, cough, flu-like symptoms, or any other infection sign to your dermatologist right away. TNF-class biologics carry a specific FDA boxed warning. MedlinePlus’s summary of the adalimumab (Humira) label states that using it may decrease your ability to fight infection and increase the chance of a serious infection. That same label states some children, teenagers, and young adults who received adalimumab or a similar medicine developed severe or life-threatening cancers. It also states adults face an increased risk of skin cancer, lymphoma, and other cancers. Two IL-17-class drugs carry their own distinct warning. Brodalumab’s label carries a boxed warning for suicidal ideation and behavior that calls for regular evaluation of suicide risk. Bimekizumab’s current label carries a similar warning and precaution. Common, non-boxed side effects reported across the group include upper respiratory infection, injection-site reactions, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is MedlinePlus’s summary of the current US adalimumab label, covering only that one TNF-class drug. Two sources are patient education (AAD, National Psoriasis Foundation) and one is a secondary clinical-guidance summary of the joint AAD-NPF biologics guideline (Healio), naming the brodalumab and bimekizumab suicidal-ideation warnings. None reports an enrolled study population or how often a given reaction occurs across all twelve named drugs.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These sources describe one TNF drug’s boxed-warning language, two IL-17 drugs’ psychiatric warning language, and general infection-risk and common-reaction language across the class. They do not report a class-wide adverse-reaction rate table, quantify how often any one reaction happens, or judge one reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- JAMA Dermatology (Kong EL, Buzney EA)Observational study · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports a modeling study of 500,000 simulated adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis (mean baseline PASI 20.2). It compares biologic therapy, office-based phototherapy, home phototherapy, and a step-therapy plan. Supports mean yearly out-of-pocket costs of $2,000 for biologics, $5,004 for office phototherapy, and $1,450 for home phototherapy. Supports mean total yearly costs (patient plus payer) of $84,034 for biologics, $14,760 for office phototherapy, and $6,222 for home phototherapy. Supports mean PASI drops at 32 weeks of 91.6% for biologics, 71.1% for phototherapy, and 95.2% for the step-therapy plan. Supports mean QALY gains of 0.24, 0.18, and 0.23 in that same order.
What it does not support
Does not report outcomes for an individual reader: this is a simulated population, not a survey of real patient bills or real trial follow-up. It does not state what one reader’s own insurance plan will charge.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing class-grouping, administration-route, and screening context.
What this source supports
Supports that biologics for psoriasis are identified by their immune target. Named groupings include TNF-alpha inhibitors (naming Enbrel, Humira, Remicade as examples), IL-17 inhibitors (blocking interleukin 17-A), IL-23 inhibitors (blocking interleukins 12 and 23), IL-36 inhibitors, and T-cell inhibitors. Supports that biologics are taken by injection or IV infusion depending on the label, and that some injections can be self-administered at home. Supports that screening for tuberculosis or other infectious disease is often required before starting, and that biologics can increase infection risk, with fever, cough, or flu-like symptoms as signs to report right away.
What it does not support
Does not report a complete, single four-class taxonomy in one place, PASI or trial-response data, dosing frequency, cost, or a full side-effect list. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.
What it does not support
Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (MedlinePlus)Patient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the adalimumab (Humira) label’s boxed-warning language. It states adalimumab injection may decrease the ability to fight infection and increase the chance of developing a serious infection. Supports that some children, teenagers, and young adults who received adalimumab or a similar medication developed severe or life-threatening cancers. Supports that adults receiving adalimumab may be more likely to develop skin cancer, lymphoma, and other cancers. Supports that a doctor will perform a TB skin test and may order a hepatitis B blood test before starting, and may treat a latent infection first if one is found.
What it does not support
Reports only on adalimumab, one drug in the TNF class, not on every TNF-class drug’s own label or on any IL-17, IL-23, or IL-12/23 drug. Does not report PASI/trial-response data, dosing frequency, or cost. Does not predict an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- HealioPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports week 12-16 PASI response ranges by biologic class, summarized from the joint AAD-NPF biologics guideline and related clinical literature. Anti-TNF agents: roughly 49%-80% PASI 75. The IL-12/23 drug ustekinumab: roughly 66%-75% PASI 75. IL-17 agents: roughly 77%-91% PASI 90. IL-23 p19 agents: roughly 70%-75% PASI 90. Supports that brodalumab’s label carries a boxed warning calling for regular evaluation of suicide risk, and that bimekizumab’s current US prescribing information includes a Warning and Precaution for suicidal ideation and behavior. Supports a general statement that TNF-class registries and studies warn that these medicines could potentially increase infection risk.
What it does not support
Is a secondary clinical-guidance summary, not the primary guideline document or a primary trial report itself. Does not report a single head-to-head trial comparing classes on the same PASI threshold, a specific reader’s risk, or cost.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education and its own navigation service, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for the quoted description of its own Patient Navigator service.
What this source supports
Supports that the National Psoriasis Foundation offers a Patient Navigator. The page describes it as available to "connect with a friendly, experienced Patient Navigator for personalized help getting the treatment you need."
What it does not support
Does not report specific manufacturer copay-program terms, patient-assistance-program eligibility, or pricing for any named biologic. Does not guarantee outcome or eligibility for a specific reader.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.