Deucravacitinib (Sotyktu) for psoriasis

An oral TYK2 inhibitor with no titration step. How it differs from JAK inhibitors, its trial results against apremilast, the infection and shingles warnings, and its cost.

Treatment snapshot

Start with the decision - not a ranked list.

  1. Name the goal
  2. Understand the option
  3. Keep the uncertainty visible
  4. Plan the review

What is deucravacitinib, and how does it work?

Deucravacitinib (brand name Sotyktu) is an oral medicine taken as a pill once a day, not an injection or infusion like most biologics. It is a tyrosine kinase 2 (TYK2) inhibitor, but it works differently from the JAK1/JAK2/JAK3 inhibitors used elsewhere in vitiligo and psoriasis care. It binds a regulatory part of the TYK2 enzyme rather than its active site, an approach called allosteric inhibition. That binding lowers signaling from several inflammatory pathways involved in psoriasis, including interleukin-23, interleukin-12, and type I interferon. The exact reason it works better for some people than others is not established. Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the current Sotyktu label. It describes deucravacitinib as binding the regulatory domain of TYK2 and stabilizing an inhibitory interaction. This produces allosteric inhibition of receptor-mediated TYK2 activation and downstream STAT signaling. I also read National Psoriasis Foundation patient education. It says the medicine targets the TYK2 part of the immune system to reduce the overactive immune response behind psoriasis, working similarly to biologics.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Neither source explains why deucravacitinib works better for some people than others, or predicts your own response.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Is deucravacitinib a reasonable option given what I have already tried?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. How is TYK2 inhibition different from the JAK inhibitors I have read about?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What does it treat, and what can it be combined with?

The current label approves deucravacitinib for adults with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis who are candidates for systemic therapy or phototherapy. It is separately approved for active psoriatic arthritis in adults. The label advises against combining it with other potent immunosuppressants, and against live vaccines while on treatment. It should not be started during an active or serious infection, including active tuberculosis or hepatitis B or C, and calls for a tuberculosis check before starting. Unlike apremilast’s label, it does not name phototherapy or topical treatments as things it can be combined with. It lists phototherapy as an alternative for the same eligible patients, not a documented combination partner. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I checked the same label for what it approves. It states the plaque-psoriasis and psoriatic-arthritis indications, plus the caution against other potent immunosuppressants and live vaccines. It also states the tuberculosis-screening recommendation and the active-infection/hepatitis B/C precaution. It says no dose adjustment is needed for renal impairment or mild-to-moderate liver impairment, and that severe liver impairment is not recommended.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

The label does not say how combining deucravacitinib with another medicine you already take would play out. It also does not say whether combining it with phototherapy has been studied.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Would deucravacitinib make sense given my infection history or liver or kidney function?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Do I need a tuberculosis or hepatitis screen before starting?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How often do you take it, and how long until you know if it is working?

People I have heard from ask what to do when the treatment they are on stops working. Deucravacitinib is one 6 mg tablet by mouth once a day, with or without food, at the full dose from day one. There is no step-up titration schedule like apremilast’s, and the tablet should not be crushed, cut, or chewed. In the label’s own phase 3 trials (POETYK PSO-1 and PSO-2), 58% and 53% of people taking deucravacitinib reached 75% or greater clearing (PASI 75) by week 16. Placebo reached 13% and 9%, and an apremilast comparator arm in the same trials reached 35% and 40%. By week 24, deucravacitinib’s PASI 75 rate rose to 69% (PSO-1) and 58% (PSO-2), versus 38% on apremilast in both trials. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the dosing section of the current Sotyktu label. It states the fixed 6 mg once-daily dose with no titration, and the no-crush/no-cut/no-chew instruction. It also reports the PASI 75 response rates at week 16 and week 24 for deucravacitinib, placebo, and the apremilast comparator arm in both POETYK PSO-1 and PSO-2 trials.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

These are group trial averages from two specific trials, not a prediction for you. Neither trial states an exact week when an individual would notice a difference.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. What response would you expect to see in me by 16 or 24 weeks?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. How does this compare with apremilast for someone with my history?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?

Deucravacitinib carries no boxed warning, but it does carry real warnings worth knowing. It can increase the risk of infections, including serious ones; the label advises against starting it during an active or serious infection. Herpes zoster (shingles) has been reported, including a multidermatomal form in some people with a normally functioning immune system. A small number of lymphoma cases were reported in trials (0.3 per 100 patient-years). It commonly raises a muscle enzyme called creatine phosphokinase (CPK), and the label says to discontinue if it rises markedly. Triglycerides are checked periodically. Liver enzymes are checked at baseline and during treatment only if you have known or suspected liver disease, unlike the routine bloodwork methotrexate or cyclosporine require for everyone. In the week-16 psoriasis trials, the most common reactions were upper respiratory infections (19.2% versus 14.8% on placebo) and CPK increase (2.7% versus 1.2%). Less common reactions were herpes simplex (2.0% versus 0.2%), mouth ulcers (1.9% versus 0%), folliculitis (1.7% versus 0%), and acne (1.4% versus 0.2%). Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I read the warnings and adverse-reaction sections of the same label. They state the infection-risk warning, the herpes zoster and lymphoma reports, and the CPK/triglyceride/liver-enzyme monitoring guidance. They also state the plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates at week 16.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

The label does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of those rates. It also does not state how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or predict your own risk.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Do I need a tuberculosis or hepatitis test before starting?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. What signs of infection or shingles should make me call you right away?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What does it cost?

Sotyktu has no generic version. Independent price snapshots put the average retail cash price for 30 tablets of Sotyktu 6 mg at roughly $6,978, with a GoodRx-coupon price around $6,832. Bristol Myers Squibb’s own SOTYKTU 360 Support Co-Pay Program states eligible patients with commercial insurance may pay as little as $0 for a 30-day supply. Monthly, annual, or per-claim maximums can apply. The program’s own terms exclude anyone with Medicare, Medicaid, Medigap, TRICARE, VA, or another government-funded plan. Uninsured or underinsured patients facing financial hardship can instead be referred to the separate, independent Bristol Myers Squibb Patient Assistance Foundation for free medicine. Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

I looked at a price-comparison snapshot. It records the dated cash and coupon price for a defined brand prescription, since no generic is commercially available. I read Bristol Myers Squibb’s own co-pay program terms. They state the $0-per-30-day-supply possibility, the commercial-insurance requirement, and the exact list of excluded government programs. Its patient-assistance page states the separate foundation referral for qualifying uninsured patients.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

These are commercial price-comparison and manufacturer-program snapshots for one strength and quantity, not a survey of every pharmacy, plan, or eligibility outcome.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Does my insurance cover Sotyktu, and would I qualify for the copay program?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. If I do not qualify for the copay card, what other assistance is available?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What do other people say about using it?

No reader has sent me a first-hand account of deucravacitinib for psoriasis yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

The fixed once-daily dose with no titration, and the week-16/week-24 trial results against placebo and apremilast.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

No one has sent me an account of what starting deucravacitinib feels like day to day. Nobody has described living with its infection or shingles warnings either.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. What have your other patients told you about the first few weeks on deucravacitinib?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What is worth tracking while you use it?

Since there is no titration step to log, track how you feel day to day from the start instead. Note any signs of infection, such as fever, unusual fatigue, or a cough, and report them promptly, since the label flags an increased infection risk. Watch for a rash that follows a band on one side of the body, a possible sign of shingles, even without a prior history of it. If you have known liver disease, keep any scheduled liver-enzyme test appointments. Add a same-conditions photo around the sixteen-week mark, matching the trial timeline the PASI 75 results describe. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

An infection and shingles symptom log gives your dermatologist the information the label’s monitoring guidance calls for. A photo record lets you and your dermatologist compare against the sixteen-week and twenty-four-week trial timeline.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

A symptom log and photo do not replace clinical judgment about infection, shingles, or liver risk. They cannot by themselves catch a problem early.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. What should I track between now and my first check-in?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Applicability check

Who was studied?

These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.

Deucravacitinib carries no boxed warning, but it does carry real warnings worth knowing. It can increase the risk of infections, including serious ones; the label advises against starting it during an active or serious infection. Herpes zoster (shingles) has been reported, including a multidermatomal form in some people with a normally functioning immune system. A small number of lymphoma cases were reported in trials (0.3 per 100 patient-years). It commonly raises a muscle enzyme called creatine phosphokinase (CPK), and the label says to discontinue if it rises markedly. Triglycerides are checked periodically. Liver enzymes are checked at baseline and during treatment only if you have known or suspected liver disease, unlike the routine bloodwork methotrexate or cyclosporine require for everyone. In the week-16 psoriasis trials, the most common reactions were upper respiratory infections (19.2% versus 14.8% on placebo) and CPK increase (2.7% versus 1.2%). Less common reactions were herpes simplex (2.0% versus 0.2%), mouth ulcers (1.9% versus 0%), folliculitis (1.7% versus 0%), and acne (1.4% versus 0.2%).

Age range
Not reported
Condition subtype
Not reported
Severity or extent
Not reported
Sample size
Not reported
Geography and care setting
The source is the current US drug label for Sotyktu (deucravacitinib), reporting its own plaque-psoriasis-trial adverse-reaction rates from the POETYK PSO-1 and PSO-2 trials. It does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of those rates.
Skin tone or phototype
Not reported
Race
Not reported
Ethnicity
Not reported
Body sites
Not reported

What that means for this page: These rates come from the label’s own plaque-psoriasis clinical trials, but do not break results down by age, skin tone, race, or ethnicity. They also do not quantify how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or judge one reader’s risk.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that Sotyktu (deucravacitinib) is a TYK2 inhibitor. Supports that it binds the regulatory domain of TYK2 rather than the catalytic domain, stabilizing an inhibitory interaction that produces allosteric inhibition of receptor-mediated TYK2 activation and downstream STAT signaling. Supports the moderate-to-severe plaque-psoriasis indication for adults who are candidates for systemic therapy or phototherapy. Supports the separate active-psoriatic-arthritis indication for adults. Supports the caution against combining it with other potent immunosuppressants and against live vaccines during treatment. Supports the recommendation to evaluate for tuberculosis before starting. Supports the precaution against starting during an active or serious infection, including active hepatitis B or C. Supports that no dose adjustment is needed for renal impairment or mild-to-moderate liver impairment. Supports that severe liver impairment is not recommended. Supports the fixed 6 mg once-daily dose with or without food and no titration schedule. Supports the instruction not to crush, cut, or chew the tablet. Supports the PASI 75 response rates at week 16 for deucravacitinib, placebo, and the apremilast comparator arm in both POETYK PSO-1 and PSO-2 trials (PSO-1: 58% vs 13% vs 35%; PSO-2: 53% vs 9% vs 40%). Supports the week 24 PASI 75 rates for deucravacitinib versus the apremilast arm (PSO-1: 69% vs 38%; PSO-2: 58% vs 38%). Supports the infection-risk warning and the herpes zoster reports, including a multidermatomal presentation. Supports the lymphoma reports (0.3 per 100 patient-years) and the creatine-phosphokinase/triglyceride/liver-enzyme monitoring guidance. Supports the plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates at week 16 (upper respiratory infection 19.2% vs 14.8% placebo, blood CPK increased 2.7% vs 1.2%, herpes simplex 2.0% vs 0.2%, mouth ulcers 1.9% vs 0%, folliculitis 1.7% vs 0%, acne 1.4% vs 0.2%). Supports that no boxed warning is present on this label.

    What it does not support

    This label does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of its plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates. It also does not state how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing mechanism and treatment-category context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that Sotyktu is the brand name for deucravacitinib, an oral systemic treatment taken once daily by mouth. Supports that it works similarly to biologics by targeting the TYK2 part of the immune system, reducing the overactive immune response behind psoriasis. Supports that it was the first tyrosine kinase inhibitor approved for psoriasis. Supports that it was the first novel oral therapy for psoriasis in a decade. Supports the plain-language list of common side effects: upper respiratory infection, elevated blood creatine phosphokinase, herpes simplex, mouth ulcers, folliculitis, and acne.

    What it does not support

    Does not report titration details, PASI or trial-response data, dosing adjustments for organ impairment, or cost. Does not report comparative-effectiveness data against other psoriasis treatments, or assess an individual reader’s risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. Bristol Myers SquibbManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: Bristol Myers Squibb manufactures Sotyktu and operates this patient-access page and its own patient assistance foundation. These are first-party statements about its own programs, not independent pricing evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports that eligible patients with commercial insurance may pay as little as $0 per 30-day supply through the SOTYKTU 360 Support Co-Pay Assistance Program. Supports that this benefit is subject to monthly, annual, or per-claim maximums that vary by patient. Supports that the program explicitly excludes patients with prescription coverage through a state or federal healthcare program, including Medicare, Medicaid, Medigap, CHAMPUS, TRICARE, VA, or DOD programs. Supports that cash-paying patients without insurance are not eligible for this specific program. Supports that Bristol Myers Squibb separately operates the independent Bristol Myers Squibb Patient Assistance Foundation. Supports that this foundation can provide free medication to qualifying uninsured patients experiencing financial hardship.

    What it does not support

    A manufacturer copay-card page does not state a specific dollar maximum, does not guarantee any one reader would qualify for either program, and does not establish what a reader would actually pay.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price recorded for 30 tablets of Sotyktu 6 mg across two independent search snapshots.

    What it does not support

    Supports an average retail cash price of roughly $6,978, and a converged GoodRx-coupon price of roughly $6,832. Also supports that no generic deucravacitinib is commercially available as of this snapshot. It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

The app currently supports vitiligo only. You can use every psoriasis guide without the app.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.