What does complementary actually mean here?
Alongside your prescribed plan, not instead of it. The word says where a thing sits, not whether it works. Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The National Psoriasis Foundation states plainly that no diet cures psoriatic disease. It states that supplements should never replace medication. It asks you to talk with your provider before you change how you eat. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health adds the general picture. Supplement evidence varies. So does what is actually in the bottle. Interactions, contamination and health-condition risks are all possible.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
Neither body rates a named product for you. Words like natural, traditional and clinically tested say nothing about the quality of the evidence. What helps sleep or stress is worth having on its own terms. That is a different claim from clearing plaques.
Questions for your dermatologist
What is this approach supposed to help with in my case?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.I want to try ___. Does it belong alongside what I already take?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Do moisturizers and bathing habits count?
They do, and this is the part with the least argument attached. Skin care is where daily comfort is won. Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The American Academy of Dermatology records warm water rather than hot. It records a gentle cleanser made for sensitive skin. It records washing with your hands rather than a loofah or a washcloth. It records blotting skin dry, leaving it a little damp, then using a fragrance-free moisturizer soon after. On itch, AAD puts treating the psoriasis itself first. Then moisturizing instead of scratching, and a cool, damp washcloth. Skin care carries the full method.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
AAD does not say how much any of this reduces flares for one person. It does not quantify how much itch a step relieves. It names no product to buy. A moisturizer sits beside your treatment rather than standing in for it.
Questions for your dermatologist
What kind of moisturizer suits my skin and the areas I have?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Should I put ___ on before or after my prescribed treatment?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Is sitting in the sun the same as light treatment?
No. Narrowband UVB is measured, prescribed and supervised. A sunny afternoon is none of those. Evidence Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
AAD records that narrowband UVB slows the growth of rapidly growing skin cells. It calms an overly active immune system, lowers inflammation and eases itch. A dermatologist sets the schedule and adjusts it. The National Psoriasis Foundation records that narrowband UVB uses a smaller slice of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Both bodies record redness, stinging and burns, and a raised long-term skin cancer risk. AAD separately lists sunburn as something that worsens a flare, and skin injury as a reported trigger.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
These pages give no response percentage and no rate for any single side effect. They do not compare outdoor sun against a prescribed course. So the honest position is that sun is unmeasured and a burn can cost you. Narrowband UVB phototherapy sets out what a supervised course involves. Evaluating claims covers the tanning bed pitch.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is time outdoors sensible for my skin, or a risk with my treatment?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Would phototherapy be worth discussing for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Will changing how I eat help?
It may help how you feel, and it is not a cure. The registered guidance is general, and it says so. Evidence Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
NPF states that no diet cures psoriatic disease. It states that eating patterns may lessen symptom severity for some people. It describes a Mediterranean-style pattern: fish, fruits, vegetables, whole grains, low-fat dairy and lean meat. It advises limiting alcohol, sodium, trans and saturated fats, refined sugar and processed food. It recommends a gluten-free diet only for confirmed gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. It supports gradual weight loss for people who are overweight. AAD adds that limiting alcohol is linked to treatment working better and lasting longer. Diet carries the detail.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
NPF gives no effect size for any food pattern or weight change in one person. AAD gives no percentage and no timeline. NICE reads skin, nails, high-impact sites, daily life and joints together, and it is UK guidance. Neither body ranks one named diet over another. A change that improves your health generally is worth making for that reason alone.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is weight or alcohol worth working on alongside my treatment?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Should I be tested before I cut ___ out of my diet?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Does stress or bad sleep matter?
Both are recorded alongside psoriasis, and both are worth naming out loud at your next visit. Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
AAD lists stress among reported psoriasis flare triggers, and records that triggers differ from person to person. A 2023 study measured sleep in 200 people with psoriasis. Poor sleep quality ran at 16% overall. It rose to 50% among people with severe psoriasis, and 25% with moderate psoriasis, against 11.8% with mild psoriasis. People with worse itching had worse sleep on every measure checked. Itch and sleep carries that ground.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
The AAD page cites no study for its list and counts nobody. It does not establish that avoiding a trigger prevents a flare. The 2023 study ran at one hospital in Egypt, with no comparison group and a questionnaire rather than a sleep lab. It shows a pattern across a group, not a cause. Flares and triggers covers what a personal pattern can and cannot settle.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is my sleep bad enough to treat in its own right?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Does the itch keeping me awake change what you would offer me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What about fish oil, turmeric, aloe or Oregon grape?
These are the four that come up most. What the registered sources establish is the caution, not a result. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
NPF reports that omega-3 supplement research is mixed and needs more long-term controlled studies. It reports that vitamin D research in psoriasis is small and limited, and that too much vitamin D can be dangerous. It reports that no study has found glucosamine or chondroitin reduce psoriatic arthritis symptoms. It states again that supplements should never replace medication. NCCIH adds that product content varies and that interactions and contamination are possible.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
That leaves turmeric, aloe and Oregon grape resting on the general caution rather than a psoriasis result. The interaction question is the sharp one if you take methotrexate or another systemic. NPF records that methotrexate needs regular blood tests to confirm the liver, white cells and bone marrow are coping. It records liver damage and reversible liver scarring among the long-term risks, and advises avoiding alcohol. The label carries a boxed warning, the strongest warning a label holds, covering serious reactions that include the liver.
Questions for your dermatologist
I am taking ___. Could it interact with my psoriasis medicine?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.If I add ___, does that change the blood tests you want?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How do you add something without losing track of it?
Tell your dermatologist first. Keep the prescribed plan running. Write down what you added and when. Evidence Evidence
What is known
- Sources cited, not yet graded
NPF says to bring a symptom tracker to your appointment, on paper or on a phone, and to share it. It asks you to describe symptoms clearly and to note changes in severity and in the areas affected. Its flare guide offers a worksheet for daily symptoms and their severity, and says to share that too. Tracking flares and photos carries the camera method and the dated record.
What is uncertain
- Depends on you
These pages give no percentage and no timeline for what tracking changes. Neither lists what a supplement record should contain. A start date, a product name and what you noticed is usually enough for your dermatologist to work with. Changing two things at once is what makes the answer unreadable later.
Questions for your dermatologist
Would you like me to bring the product label to my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.How long should I give this before we look at it together?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Evidence and update context
This optional layer shows the evidence boundary I reviewed as of 2026-09-19.
- What this evidence supports
- The National Psoriasis Foundation states plainly that no diet cures psoriatic disease. It states that supplements should never replace medication. It asks you to talk with your provider before you change how you eat. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health adds the general picture. Supplement evidence varies. So does what is actually in the bottle. Interactions, contamination and health-condition risks are all possible.
- What it does not establish
- Neither body rates a named product for you. Words like natural, traditional and clinically tested say nothing about the quality of the evidence. What helps sleep or stress is worth having on its own terms. That is a different claim from clearing plaques.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that stress can trigger a psoriasis flare. Supports that skin injury - a cut, scrape, sunburn, tattoo, piercing, bug bite, or shaving nick - can trigger a flare near or at that spot. Typically this appears about 10 to 14 days after the injury. Supports that an infection such as strep throat, an earache, or bronchitis can trigger a flare, reported 2 to 6 weeks later. Supports that starting a medication - including lithium, antimalarial drugs, strong corticosteroids, or some blood pressure drugs - can trigger a flare about 2 to 3 weeks after starting it. Supports that cold, dry weather (such as winter or fall) can worsen flares, and that sunburn or spending time in air conditioning can also worsen them. Supports that smoking, or spending time around secondhand smoke, is a reported trigger. Supports that drinking daily, or more than two drinks on several days a week, can make psoriasis treatment have little or no effect. Supports that triggers differ from person to person.
What it does not support
Does not cite a specific study for its trigger list or timing windows, and does not state how many patients experience each trigger. This page displays no revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis disease microsite's treatment-and-diagnosis page, checked the same day. Does not establish that avoiding a listed trigger will prevent a flare for any one person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- Scientific Reports (Zaky MS, Elgamal EA, Mohamed DH, Abd Al Maksoud AA, Elsaie ML)Observational study · Clinical research, tier 2Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: Government research-funding acknowledgment only (Egypt STDF/EKB); the authors state no competing interests.
What this source supports
Supports that in a study of 200 people with psoriasis, 16% had poor sleep quality overall. That rose to 50% among people with severe psoriasis and 25% with moderate psoriasis, against 11.8% with mild psoriasis. Supports that people with worse itching had much worse sleep on every measure checked. Supports that higher disease-severity scores lined up with worse sleep quality, shorter sleep, and more sleep disturbance. Both links were strong enough that chance alone is an unlikely explanation.
What it does not support
A single-hospital study in Egypt. It had no comparison group and mostly mild-to-moderate cases. Sleep was measured with a questionnaire, not a sleep lab. It shows a pattern across a group, not that itching causes poor sleep. It does not predict any one person’s sleep.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports bathing once a day, showers of about 5 minutes, and baths of about 15 minutes or less. Supports warm, not hot, water, and a gentle cleanser made for sensitive skin, not a deodorant soap or scrub. Supports washing with hands, not a loofah, buff puff, or washcloth, then rinsing well. Supports blotting skin dry while leaving it a little damp, then applying a fragrance-free moisturizer within about five minutes of finishing.
What it does not support
Does not give a byline or last-reviewed date on the page itself. Does not state how much these steps reduce flares for a given person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports treating the psoriasis itself as the most effective way to relieve itch. Supports moisturizing instead of scratching, especially after washing. Supports warm water, and showers of about 5 minutes or baths of about 15 minutes. Supports a cool, damp washcloth on itchy skin. Supports an anti-itch product with menthol or camphor as ingredients that tend to work well.
What it does not support
Does not quantify how much itch a given step relieves. Does not say an anti-itch product replaces psoriasis treatment.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that no diet cures psoriatic disease, and that eating patterns may lessen symptom severity for some people. Supports a Mediterranean-style pattern: cold-water fish at least twice a week, plus fruits, vegetables, whole grains, low-fat dairy, and lean meat and poultry without skin. Supports limiting alcohol, sodium, trans and saturated fats, and refined sugar and processed food. The alcohol limit is one drink a day for women and two for men, or none for severe psoriasis. The sodium limit is under 1,500 mg a day. Supports that a gluten-free diet is recommended only for confirmed gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Supports gradual weight loss, about 1 to 2 pounds a week, for people who are overweight. Supports using the CDC BMI calculator to find a target weight, as one part of managing the disease. Supports that omega-3 supplement research is mixed and needs more long-term controlled studies. Supports that vitamin D research is small and limited, and that too much vitamin D can be dangerous. Supports that no study has found glucosamine or chondroitin reduce psoriatic arthritis symptoms. Supports that supplements should never replace medication, and that you should talk with your health care provider before starting any diet change.
What it does not support
Does not give an effect size for how much any food pattern, weight change, or supplement changes symptoms for a given person. Does not recommend a single named diet over another beyond referencing Mediterranean-style eating. Does not substitute for a treatment plan.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that quitting smoking is linked to fewer flares and less palmoplantar psoriasis. Supports that it is linked to more remissions. Supports that quitting also lowers the risk of heart, blood vessel, liver, and gum disease. Supports that it lowers the risk of an autoimmune disease like Crohn's disease. Supports the caution that a nicotine patch can make psoriasis flare, and to ask a dermatologist before using one. Supports that limiting alcohol is linked to treatment working better and lasting longer. Supports that it is linked to a lower risk of psoriatic arthritis in women. Supports that it is linked to a lower risk of fatty liver disease and liver damage from some psoriasis medications. Supports a named threshold: more than 2 drinks a day for men, or more than 1 for women. Supports that above that threshold, treatment may stop working, work less well, or lead to fewer remissions.
What it does not support
Does not give a percentage or timeline for one person. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that tracking symptoms and common triggers over time can help a person figure out their own specific triggers. Supports naming stress, alcohol, and diet as examples of common triggers to watch for. Supports naming discolored skin patches and itching as psoriasis symptoms, and joint swelling and fatigue as psoriatic arthritis symptoms, to watch for. Supports using a worksheet to record daily symptoms and their severity, and sharing that worksheet with a health care provider.
What it does not support
Does not give a percentage or timeline for how much tracking changes any one outcome. Does not name every possible trigger - stress, alcohol, and diet are examples, not a complete list. Does not measure whether tracking itself helps or burdens a given person.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports bringing a symptom tracker, kept on paper or on a phone, to share with a doctor at an appointment. Supports clearly describing symptoms and noting changes in severity and affected areas as part of preparing for a visit.
What it does not support
Does not mention photographing skin changes specifically. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports general US consumer context that supplement evidence and product content vary and that interactions, contamination and health-condition risks are possible.
What it does not support
It is not vitiligo-specific efficacy evidence, a product-quality verification service or an individual safety determination.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.
What it does not support
It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.
What it does not support
Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.
What this source supports
Supports that methotrexate binds to and inhibits an enzyme involved in the rapid growth of skin cells, slowing that growth. Supports that regular blood tests are required to confirm the drug is being safely processed by the liver, white blood cells, and bone marrow. Supports that less common long-term risks include liver damage and reversible liver scarring, a reduced white blood cell count with higher infection risk, and rare lymphoma or bone marrow toxicity. Supports that alcohol should be avoided to reduce liver problems. Supports that men should be off methotrexate at least three months, and women at least four months, before trying to conceive.
What it does not support
Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports the boxed warning, the label’s strongest warning, in four parts. It covers embryo-fetal toxicity, including fetal death; the drug is contraindicated in pregnancy for non-cancer use. It covers contraindication after a prior severe hypersensitivity reaction. It covers serious, sometimes fatal, reactions affecting the bone marrow, GI tract, liver, lungs, skin, and kidneys, which is why close monitoring is required. It covers death reported when tablets were taken daily by mistake instead of weekly. Supports the labeled psoriasis dosage of 10 to 25 mg orally once weekly, raised gradually to a maximum of 30 mg weekly, with folic or folinic acid supplementation recommended. Supports contraception during treatment and for 6 months after the final dose for females of reproductive potential, and 3 months after the final dose for males. Supports an adverse-reaction table from 12-18 week rheumatoid arthritis studies. At 10% or greater: elevated liver tests (15%) and nausea or vomiting (10%). In the 3%-10% range: stomatitis and low platelet count. In the 1%-3% range: rash, diarrhea, hair loss, and low blood-cell counts.
What it does not support
The adverse-reaction rate table comes from rheumatoid arthritis trials, not a study of people with psoriasis, and does not state how often any reaction occurs in psoriasis treatment. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.