What is VTAMA, and how does it work?
VTAMA (tapinarof) cream is an aryl hydrocarbon receptor (AhR) agonist - a steroid-free medicine that works through a different pathway than a steroid or a calcineurin inhibitor. Think of the AhR as a built-in control panel inside skin cells for inflammation and skin-barrier repair; tapinarof turns dials on that panel toward calm. The label itself is honest that the exact mechanisms by which this clears psoriasis are not fully mapped. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I read the FDA label. It states tapinarof is an aryl hydrocarbon receptor agonist. It also states the specific mechanisms by which VTAMA cream exerts its therapeutic actions in plaque psoriasis are unknown.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither the label nor patient-education material explains why activating this receptor clears plaques for one person and not another.
Questions for your dermatologist
Is this a good fit given where my psoriasis is and what I have already tried?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.Is this meant to replace what I am using now, or add to it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Where can you use it, and who is it approved for?
The FDA approved VTAMA cream 1% for plaque psoriasis in adults. The label sets no site restriction and no limit on how long you can use it continuously. That is unlike a steroid, which caps continuous use because of skin-thinning risk. People I have heard from worry most that a steroid will thin their skin or stop working. AAD patient education confirms it in plain terms: it can be applied anywhere on the body, including the face. It is topical only, not for oral, eye, or intravaginal use, and it is not approved for psoriasis in children. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The label I read states the adults-only plaque-psoriasis indication with no site or duration limit. AAD independently confirms it can be applied anywhere on the body, including the face.
Considerations
- Depends on you
Neither source maps every individual body site or severity level to a specific instruction beyond "affected areas." Neither addresses psoriasis in children - a separate pediatric indication exists, but only for a different condition, atopic dermatitis.
Questions for your dermatologist
Should I use this on my face, skin folds, or scalp specifically?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.I already use ___ on my skin. Can I use this alongside it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
How often do you apply it, what did the approval studies show, and how long does clearing last?
You apply it once a day. Two identical trials that led to approval, PSOARING 1 and PSOARING 2, checked results at 12 weeks using PGA success. That means a score of clear or almost clear, with at least a 2-grade improvement from baseline. 36% of people on tapinarof reached that mark in PSOARING 1 (versus 6% on vehicle cream alone), and 40% did in PSOARING 2 (versus 6% on vehicle). Among trial participants who cleared completely and then stopped treatment, skin stayed clear for a median of 114 days (about 16 weeks) before it started to worsen again. The label calls this a remittive effect. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
The FDA label I read reports these exact PSOARING 1 (n=340 tapinarof, n=170 vehicle) and PSOARING 2 (n=343 tapinarof, n=172 vehicle) week-12 percentages. It also reports the 114-day median time to first worsening among the 73 responders who achieved complete clearance and had treatment withdrawn. AAD patient education independently describes roughly 40% clear or almost clear at 12 weeks and clearing lasting on average about 12 weeks after stopping, in simpler patient-facing language.
Considerations
- Depends on you
These are trial averages for the adult study population, not a prediction for one reader. Neither source breaks results down by which body area was treated. The 114-day remittive-effect figure applies only to the subset of participants who reached complete clearance, not everyone who improved.
Questions for your dermatologist
How long should I use this before we check whether it is working for me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What would count as a good result for my specific plaques?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What are the side effects, and what should make you call your dermatologist?
In the trials that led to approval, the most common effect was folliculitis: inflamed hair follicles, which can look like small pimple-like bumps. It happened in 20% of people on tapinarof versus 1% on vehicle. Other reported effects: nasopharyngitis (11% vs 9%), contact dermatitis (7% vs 1%), headache (4% vs 1%), itching (3% vs 1%), and influenza (2% vs 1%). There is no boxed warning and no contraindication listed on the label. AAD describes the most common side effect in plain terms as a skin reaction. Call your dermatologist about any reaction that does not ease with continued use. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I checked the FDA label. It states these exact reported rates from its own combined PSOARING 1 and PSOARING 2 psoriasis-trial population (683 on tapinarof, 342 on vehicle). It lists no boxed warning or contraindication.
Considerations
- Depends on you
The label does not say how often any one side effect leads someone to stop treatment. Which reaction is expected irritation versus something to stop and call about is your dermatologist’s judgment, for your case.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which of these should make me call you right away versus just keep an eye on?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What does folliculitis look like, so I know it if I see it?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What does it cost?
I could not capture a live retail price; GoodRx returned an access-blocked response on 2026-09-08. So I went to the manufacturer instead. The MyVTAMA savings card can bring the cost to as little as $0 per fill (capped at $35) for people with commercial insurance. That offer explicitly does not apply if any part of the prescription claim is reimbursable by a government program (Medicare, Medicaid, or similar). For people who are uninsured and cannot afford their medicine, the separate Organon Patient Assistance Program is an option. It can provide the medicine at no cost for up to a year at a time. Eligibility is subject to a household-income limit of 250% of the Federal Poverty Level. No generic version exists yet. Evidence Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
I checked both offers on the manufacturer’s own pages, savings card and patient-assistance program, including exactly who each one excludes.
Considerations
- Depends on you
I did not check a live pharmacy price for this figure, and program terms can change without notice.
Questions for your dermatologist
Which of these programs, if any, applies to me?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.What will my pharmacy actually charge with my insurance?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What do other people say about using it?
No reader has sent me a first-hand account of tapinarof yet. Until someone does, here is what the label and the studies say about living with it. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
It is steroid-free and carries no stated site or duration restriction. In the trials that led to approval, clearing tended to last for months after stopping among people who reached complete clearance.
Considerations
- Depends on you
No one has told me yet what using this treatment feels like day to day. That includes texture and how the folliculitis reaction feels if it happens.
Questions for your dermatologist
What have your other patients told you about the texture or the folliculitis reaction?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
What is worth tracking while you use it?
Keep a simple, dated record: which areas you are treating and when you started. Add a same-conditions photo (same light, distance, and angle) each time. The approval trials checked results at 12 weeks, a reasonable point to compare your own dated photos against. If your skin clears and you and your dermatologist decide to pause treatment, note the date you stopped. The trials found clearing lasted a median of about 16 weeks after stopping among people who had cleared completely. A dated record helps you and your dermatologist notice if and when it starts to return. Evidence
Why this matters
- Sources cited, not yet graded
A dated, comparable record is what lets a 12-week check-in and a post-clearing pause actually answer whether the medicine is working. That matches the timelines the approval trials themselves used and reported.
Considerations
- Depends on you
A photo log does not replace a clinical exam and cannot by itself tell you whether a rarer side effect has started.
Questions for your dermatologist
What should I photograph or note between now and my next visit?
Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
Applicability check
Who was studied?
These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.
In the trials that led to approval, the most common effect was folliculitis: inflamed hair follicles, which can look like small pimple-like bumps. It happened in 20% of people on tapinarof versus 1% on vehicle. Other reported effects: nasopharyngitis (11% vs 9%), contact dermatitis (7% vs 1%), headache (4% vs 1%), itching (3% vs 1%), and influenza (2% vs 1%). There is no boxed warning and no contraindication listed on the label. AAD describes the most common side effect in plain terms as a skin reaction. Call your dermatologist about any reaction that does not ease with continued use.
- Age range
- Not reported
- Condition subtype
- Not reported
- Severity or extent
- Not reported
- Sample size
- Not reported
- Geography and care setting
- One source is the current US drug label for tapinarof cream, reporting its own combined PSOARING 1/PSOARING 2 psoriasis-trial adverse-reaction rates (folliculitis 20%, nasopharyngitis 11%, contact dermatitis 7%, headache 4%, itching 3%, influenza 2%). These rates come from 683 tapinarof and 342 vehicle participants. The other source is American Academy of Dermatology patient education, which names a skin reaction as the most common effect in plain language. Neither source says how often any one reaction leads someone to stop treatment.
- Skin tone or phototype
- Not reported
- Race
- Not reported
- Ethnicity
- Not reported
- Body sites
- Not reported
What that means for this page: These sources describe the trial-reported rates of the most common local and systemic effects. Neither lists a contraindication or boxed warning for this medicine. They do not quantify how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment or judge one reader’s risk.
Evidence behind this page
Sources
Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.
- American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
What this source supports
Supports that roflumilast (Zoryve) cream is FDA approved for patients with plaque psoriasis, applied once a day as instructed. Supports that in the studies that led to approval it worked quickly to reduce itch and clear psoriasis. Supports that a roflumilast foam version treats scalp and body psoriasis, applied once daily. Supports the patient-facing side-effect list for the cream: diarrhea, headache, and feeling sick to your stomach (nausea). Supports, for tapinarof (VTAMA) cream, that it is prescribed for adults with mild, moderate, or severe psoriasis and can be applied anywhere on the body, including the face. Supports that about 40% of patients were clear or almost clear after 12 weeks of using it, and that patients who stopped after clearing stayed clear for an average of 12 weeks. Supports that the most common side effect is a skin reaction.
What it does not support
The page does not name an exact response percentage, a specific check-in timeline, or a retail price for roflumilast. For tapinarof, the page does not name folliculitis specifically, break down its "skin reaction" side effect by exact rate, or state a retail price.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- DailyMed, U.S. National Library of MedicineRegulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The National Library of Medicine hosts DailyMed. The product company (Organon, formerly Dermavant Sciences) submits the label to FDA, so it is authoritative for product labeling but not independent psoriasis evidence.
What this source supports
Supports that VTAMA cream 1% is FDA approved for topical treatment of plaque psoriasis in adults, with no stated site or duration restriction, and is not for oral, ophthalmic, or intravaginal use. Supports the mechanism (an aryl hydrocarbon receptor, AhR, agonist), while stating the specific mechanisms by which VTAMA cream exerts its therapeutic actions in plaque psoriasis are unknown. Supports the dosing (apply a thin layer to affected areas once daily; wash hands after application unless treating the hands). Supports the PSOARING 1 and PSOARING 2 phase 3 trial results at week 12, defined as PGA success: a score of clear or almost clear with at least a 2-grade improvement from baseline. That was reached by 36% (n=340) of the tapinarof group versus 6% (n=170) on vehicle in PSOARING 1, and 40% (n=343) versus 6% (n=172) in PSOARING 2. Supports the remittive-effect finding: among the 73 trial responders who achieved complete clearance and had treatment withdrawn, the median time to first worsening (PGA of 2 or higher) was 114 days. Supports the most common adverse reactions in the combined psoriasis trials (683 on tapinarof, 342 on vehicle): folliculitis (20% vs 1%), nasopharyngitis (11% vs 9%), contact dermatitis (7% vs 1%), headache (4% vs 1%), itching (3% vs 1%), and influenza (2% vs 1%). Supports that the label lists no contraindications and carries no boxed warning.
What it does not support
The label does not approve tapinarof for psoriasis in anyone under 18, does not quantify how often any side effect leads someone to stop treatment, and does not state a retail price. Its pediatric approval is for a different condition (atopic dermatitis), not psoriasis.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- OrganonManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The medicine manufacturer publishes its own savings-card terms and has a direct commercial interest in product access.
What this source supports
Supports that patients with commercial drug insurance may pay as little as $0 per prescription fill, up to $35, for up to a 90-day supply. Supports that the offer is explicitly invalid for patients whose prescription claims are eligible to be reimbursed, in whole or in part, by any governmental program (Medicare, Medicaid, or similar). Supports that the offer is limited to residents of the United States, its territories, and Puerto Rico.
What it does not support
Does not state a retail list price or what an uninsured or government-insured patient would pay without the separate patient-assistance program.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.
- OrganonManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
- Published
- SteadySkin last checked
What this source can and cannot tell you
Why the independence label says this: The medicine manufacturer publishes its own patient-assistance program terms and has a direct commercial interest in product access.
What this source supports
Supports that the program provides Organon medicine, including VTAMA, at no cost to patients who have no insurance or other coverage for a prescription medicine and cannot afford to pay for it. Supports the income limit: household income that does not exceed 250% of the Federal Poverty Level. Supports the US-residency and US-licensed-prescriber requirements, and that a single approved application can provide up to a year of product free of charge, with reapplication allowed.
What it does not support
Does not cover patients who have any insurance or government coverage for the medicine, and does not guarantee approval for a given applicant.
Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.