Psoriasis starting later in life

Psoriasis can arrive at 50, 65 or later. What changes with age is rarely the skin. It is the other medicines, the other test results, and what a dermatologist has to weigh.

What changes with age

Four things to raise · not a forecast

  • Bring one list of every medicine you take, including ones other doctors prescribe.
  • Kidney and liver results shape which pill treatments stay on the table.
  • Infection risk and screening come up before a biologic starts.
  • Long use of a strong steroid cream carries its own skin risks.

Each of these is a thing to raise, not a thing to settle alone. Your clinician can say what applies.

Last updated

How to use this page

I wrote this one for psoriasis that starts, or is first found, later in adult life. It is also for living with psoriasis in older age.

Much psoriasis material is written for someone young. The skin part is the same condition at any age. The choices around it often are not.

Community ideas are labeled because they vary by person. They are options, not promises about how another person will respond.

What the sources record, and what they do not

Psoriasis is a long-term immune-mediated disease. I found nothing in the sources I read that puts an upper age on it.

I read the National Psoriasis Foundation page, which records psoriasis as an immune-mediated disease with no cure. An overactive immune system speeds up skin-cell growth, and plaques and scale are the visible sign.

NIAMS lists thick, red, scaly patches that itch or burn, and dry, cracked skin. Those are the same symptoms at any age.

NICE records that an assessment covers the skin, the nails, high-impact sites, daily life and any joint concerns. Age removes no part of that.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence Evidence Evidence

Methotrexate, blood tests and your liver

Methotrexate is watched through blood tests. Later life often brings other medicines and other results that change the picture.

People I have heard from ask whether methotrexate will damage the liver, and how much monitoring it takes.

I checked the National Psoriasis Foundation page on methotrexate: it records that regular blood tests are required. They confirm the liver, the white blood cells and the bone marrow are handling the drug safely.

It records less common long-term risks. Those are liver damage, reversible liver scarring, a lower white blood cell count with higher infection risk, and rare bone marrow toxicity.

I read the Trexall (methotrexate) label. It carries a boxed warning, its strongest warning, and it covers serious reactions affecting the bone marrow, gut, liver, lungs, skin and kidneys.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence Evidence Evidence

Ask your care team

Cyclosporine, kidneys and blood pressure

Cyclosporine is watched through kidney results and blood pressure. Many people are already managing both in later life.

The National Psoriasis Foundation records that cyclosporine suppresses the immune system. It records that kidney function is monitored before and during treatment, and that blood pressure is checked frequently.

It records that vaccines may work less well. It records a higher skin-cancer risk after earlier methotrexate, PUVA, UVB, coal tar or radiation therapy.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence Evidence

Ask your care team

Biologics, infection risk and screening

A biologic quiets the overactive part of the immune system. Screening before it starts is routine, and age is named in the risk picture.

I read the American Academy of Dermatology page on biologics, which records that they raise infection risk. It names diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history and advanced age as things that raise that risk further.

It records that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before a biologic starts. It lists chest and nose infections, an injection-site reaction and flu-like symptoms among common side effects.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence

Ask your care team

Steroid creams and thinner skin

Topical steroids work, and strength matters. Strong products on thin skin carry risks worth naming.

The American Academy of Dermatology records that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch. They come in strengths from very mild to extremely strong.

It records that strong products used on thin skin, such as the face, carry a risk of skin thinning, spider veins and stretch marks.

It records that no change after four to six weeks is a signal to go back to the prescriber. Strength, amount and course length stay there.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence

Light treatment, and a past skin cancer

Narrowband UVB (NB-UVB) is used across ages. A past skin cancer is a specific thing to raise before a first session.

The American Academy of Dermatology records that narrowband UVB slows the growth of fast-growing skin cells. It records the treatment as safe and effective for most people with psoriasis.

It also records long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging and increased skin cancer risk. The National Psoriasis Foundation records the same long-term risk, and advises regular check-ups under medical supervision.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence Evidence

Ask your care team

Is this psoriatic arthritis, or is it wear and tear?

Stiff, sore joints are common in later life. That is why a joint change tied to psoriasis is easy to file under age.

I read NIAMS saying joint, tendon, swelling, stiffness and nail concerns are worth bringing to a clinician. Diagnosis uses clinical assessment, and it may need further evaluation.

No checklist can sort one cause from another. Naming the change, and when it started, is the part that helps.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence

Ask your care team

Itch, dry skin and a broken night

Older skin is often drier to start with. Psoriasis adds to that, and the cost often shows up at night.

NIAMS lists dry, cracked skin that itches or bleeds among psoriasis symptoms. It also lists poor sleep quality as a symptom.

So a broken night is part of the condition, not a separate complaint to leave at home.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence

Lived experience - varies by person

Medicare, plans and what a treatment costs you

Coverage often decides which option is realistic, and that shifts when your plan shifts.

Moving onto Medicare, or onto a new plan, can change what is covered and what you pay. Rules differ by plan and by year.

I cover what a plan asks for, and how plan types differ, in the two coverage guides below. If cost is shaping what you take, say so plainly at your visit.

Mood, isolation and when to get help

Later life can already be quieter. Psoriasis that keeps you home makes that worse, and mood belongs in a skin appointment.

NIAMS records that psoriasis carries risk for mental-health concerns, and it names low self-esteem, anxiety and depression.

NICE records that an assessment covers the impact on daily life. So one sentence about mood is enough to open it, and I cover what help looks like in the support guide below.

  • Low mood that stays most days, rather than lifting when the skin settles.
  • Turning down plans you want, week after week, because of your skin.
  • Losing touch with people you used to see regularly.
  • Hopelessness, or a sense that nothing is going to change.
  • Any thoughts of harming yourself.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence Evidence

Ask your care team

If you are in danger right now

If you are in danger right now, treat it as an emergency - that comes before anything else.

In the United States, call or text 988 for crisis support by call, text, or chat. If you think you are in immediate danger of harming yourself, contact emergency services or a crisis line where you are.

Crisis services differ by location; nothing here can identify the right local service or assess your safety. If you are not sure it counts as an emergency, treat it as one and reach out anyway.

Sources for the facts above: Evidence Evidence

One record that covers every medicine

Later life often means more than one prescriber. One list is the most useful thing you can carry in.

I cover the camera method and what a dated record settles in the tracking guide below.

  • Every prescription medicine, from every doctor, not only the skin ones.
  • Medicines you buy without a prescription, including supplements.
  • Dated photos of a patch, so a change is visible rather than remembered.
  • What you tried before, and what happened.

The honest limits

Some of this has no clean answer yet, and it helps to know which parts.

  • None of the sources I read records a typical starting age.
  • None names a strength, an amount, a frequency or a course length.
  • None counts side-effect risk by age, so age alone settles nothing.

Bring to your next visit

You can use these as written or change the words. Saving keeps a question on this device.

  1. I take medicines from two other doctors. Would any of them rule a psoriasis treatment out for me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. My kidney and liver results are not perfect. Does that change which pill treatment you would offer?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  3. I had a skin cancer removed years ago. Is narrowband UVB still reasonable for me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  4. My hands stiffen every morning. Is that psoriatic arthritis, or more likely wear and tear?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization publishes patient education, but the editorial and funding independence of this page was not separately reviewed.

    What this source supports

    Supports that psoriasis is an immune-mediated disease. It causes inflammation in the body. Raised plaques and scale on the skin are the visible sign. Supports that an overactive immune system speeds up skin-cell growth. Skin cells normally take about a month to grow and shed. With psoriasis they do so in three or four days. Supports that psoriasis is a chronic, long-term disease with no cure.

    What it does not support

    Does not predict whether one person will clear, stay the same, or flare. Does not give a share of people who reach a period with little or no psoriasis, or how long such a period lasts. The page shows no visible byline or update date. The site copyright year, 2026, is used here.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that poor sleep quality is a listed symptom of psoriasis. Also lists patches of thick, red, scaly skin that itch or burn, and dry, cracked skin that itches or bleeds. Supports that psoriasis carries risk for mental-health concerns including low self-esteem, anxiety, and depression. Supports that managing common triggers, such as stress and skin injuries, can help keep symptoms under control. Supports, by subtype, that guttate psoriasis outbreaks are often triggered by an upper respiratory infection such as strep throat. Also supports that pustular psoriasis symptoms can be triggered by medications, infections, stress, or certain chemicals. Also supports that erythrodermic psoriasis can be triggered by a bad sunburn or certain medications including corticosteroids. Also supports, by subtype, that inverse psoriasis appears as smooth patches of inflamed skin in skin folds. It names the armpits, the groin, and under the breasts as those folds. It records that rubbing and sweating can make inverse psoriasis worse.

    What it does not support

    Does not give a percentage of patients affected. Does not measure how much sleep is lost. Does not establish that treating the skin fixes the sleep problem for any one person. Its trigger information is organized by psoriasis subtype, not as one general list for plaque psoriasis specifically. It counts nothing for inverse psoriasis either. It gives no share of people affected in a fold or genital site, and it names no treatment for one.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. National Institute for Health and Care ExcellenceGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports psoriasis assessment across skin, nails, high-impact sites, life impact and joint concerns; same-day specialist assessment for generalised pustular psoriasis or erythroderma; and a treatment map that includes topical, phototherapy and systemic options.

    What it does not support

    It is UK guidance and does not diagnose a reader, create a US treatment sequence, determine personal urgency from a description, or establish current US labeling or coverage.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that methotrexate binds to and inhibits an enzyme involved in the rapid growth of skin cells, slowing that growth. Supports that regular blood tests are required to confirm the drug is being safely processed by the liver, white blood cells, and bone marrow. Supports that less common long-term risks include liver damage and reversible liver scarring, a reduced white blood cell count with higher infection risk, and rare lymphoma or bone marrow toxicity. Supports that alcohol should be avoided to reduce liver problems. Supports that men should be off methotrexate at least three months, and women at least four months, before trying to conceive.

    What it does not support

    Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the boxed warning, the label’s strongest warning, in four parts. It covers embryo-fetal toxicity, including fetal death; the drug is contraindicated in pregnancy for non-cancer use. It covers contraindication after a prior severe hypersensitivity reaction. It covers serious, sometimes fatal, reactions affecting the bone marrow, GI tract, liver, lungs, skin, and kidneys, which is why close monitoring is required. It covers death reported when tablets were taken daily by mistake instead of weekly. Supports the labeled psoriasis dosage of 10 to 25 mg orally once weekly, raised gradually to a maximum of 30 mg weekly, with folic or folinic acid supplementation recommended. Supports contraception during treatment and for 6 months after the final dose for females of reproductive potential, and 3 months after the final dose for males. Supports an adverse-reaction table from 12-18 week rheumatoid arthritis studies. At 10% or greater: elevated liver tests (15%) and nausea or vomiting (10%). In the 3%-10% range: stomatitis and low platelet count. In the 1%-3% range: rash, diarrhea, hair loss, and low blood-cell counts.

    What it does not support

    The adverse-reaction rate table comes from rheumatoid arthritis trials, not a study of people with psoriasis, and does not state how often any reaction occurs in psoriasis treatment. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.

    What this source supports

    Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.

    What it does not support

    It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independence not established
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The organization provides patient education, but its editorial and funding independence for this page was not independently reviewed. It is used only for patient-facing treatment-category and monitoring context.

    What this source supports

    Supports that cyclosporine suppresses the immune system and slows the growth of certain immune cells. Supports that it is taken daily by mouth as a capsule or liquid, and that a lower dose may be used when combined with a topical treatment. Supports that the FDA recommends cyclosporine not be used for longer than one year, though some doctors prescribe it longer, and that there is no specific guideline for how long to wait before resuming it. Supports that some improvement can appear after two weeks on stronger doses, with three to four months typically needed to reach optimal control. Supports that people previously treated with methotrexate, PUVA, UVB, coal tar, or radiation therapy face an increased skin-cancer risk on cyclosporine. Supports that kidney function is monitored before and during treatment, blood pressure is checked frequently, grapefruit juice should be avoided, and vaccines may be less effective while on cyclosporine.

    What it does not support

    Does not report an exact monitoring interval as a single universal schedule, does not report a psoriasis-specific trial population, and does not assess an individual reader’s risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that a biologic specifically targets, or quiets, the part of the immune system that is overactive because of psoriasis. Supports the twelve named FDA-approved biologics (Cimzia/certolizumab pegol, Cosentyx/secukinumab, Enbrel/etanercept, Humira/adalimumab, Ilumya/tildrakizumab, Remicade/infliximab, Siliq/brodalumab, Simponi/golimumab, Skyrizi/risankizumab, Stelara/ustekinumab, Taltz/ixekizumab, Tremfya/guselkumab). Supports that dosing is given as a shot or an infusion, with dosing frequency ranging from twice a week to once every three months. Supports that infliximab specifically requires an in-office or infusion-center IV infusion rather than a self-administered shot. Supports that biologics can stop psoriatic-arthritis joint pain, stiffness, and swelling and prevent it from worsening. Supports the common side effects of upper respiratory tract infection, injection-site skin reaction, flu-like symptoms, urinary tract infection, and headache. Supports that biologics raise infection risk, particularly for people with diabetes, tobacco use, an infection history, or advanced age. Supports that blood tests and tuberculosis testing are typically required before starting, with some patients needing additional tests. Supports that four biologics are FDA-approved for children with moderate-to-severe psoriasis from around age four to six and up, depending on the drug.

    What it does not support

    Does not report PASI or other trial-response data, a boxed-warning quote for any specific drug, an exact screening protocol, or cost/pricing information. Does not predict an individual reader’s response or risk.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that topical corticosteroids reduce redness, swelling, scaling and itch, and slow skin-cell growth. They come in strengths from very mild to extremely strong and are typically applied twice daily. Strong products on thin skin such as the face carry skin-thinning, spider-vein and stretch-mark risk. Most people see results with short twice-daily use, and no improvement after four to six weeks is a signal to return to the prescriber.

    What it does not support

    The page does not display its own separate revision date; the date recorded here matches the same AAD psoriasis treatment section’s dated overview page checked the same day. It does not name potency classes by number, give a percentage of people who improve, or set a maximum course length.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB works by slowing the growth of rapidly growing skin cells and suppressing an overly active immune system. Supports that it also reduces inflammation and reduces or eliminates itch. Supports that most patients need regular sessions across several weeks, on a schedule the dermatologist sets and adjusts, and that steady improvement follows a consistent schedule. Supports that dermatologists typically evaluate response after the first several treatments. Supports the immediate side effects: a sunburn-like reaction, mild stinging or burning, dark spots more common in medium-to-dark complexions, itching, and rare blisters or burns. Supports the long-term effects: freckles, early skin aging, and increased skin cancer risk. Supports that the treatment is considered safe and effective for most people with psoriasis, including children, pregnant women, and people who are immunocompromised, without stating an exact success percentage.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific response percentage, does not quantify the rate of any individual side effect, and does not give a retail price or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  11. National Psoriasis FoundationPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that narrowband UVB penetrates the skin and slows the growth of affected skin cells, using a smaller range of ultraviolet light than broad-band UVB. Supports that narrowband UVB may require fewer treatments per week than broad-band UVB, may clear psoriasis faster, and may produce longer remissions. Supports that phototherapy overall has high success rates in improving psoriasis symptoms without stating an exact percentage. Supports the side effects of redness, stinging, and burns, and the increased long-term risk of skin cancer, and recommends discussing risks with a healthcare provider and keeping regular check-ups under medical supervision.

    What it does not support

    Does not state a specific number of sessions per week, a timeline to results, an exact side-effect rate, or pricing or insurance-coverage detail.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  12. National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin DiseasesPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports bringing joint, tendon, swelling, stiffness and nail concerns to a clinician because diagnosis uses clinical assessment and may require further evaluation.

    What it does not support

    It is not an online screening result and cannot diagnose psoriatic arthritis from a checklist.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  13. National Institute of Mental HealthPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports seeking professional help when mental-health concerns interfere with life and using the U.S.

    What it does not support

    988 Lifeline or emergency services when there are thoughts of self-harm or immediate danger. The source gives only a 2025 revision year; it does not diagnose a condition, assess an individual’s safety or provide crisis services outside the United States.

  14. World Health OrganizationPatient education · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports contacting emergency services or a crisis line when a person thinks they are in immediate danger of self-harm.

    What it does not support

    It does not identify a local service, assess an individual’s safety, or replace emergency help.