Oral and systemic treatments for psoriasis, compared

Methotrexate, cyclosporine, acitretin, apremilast, and deucravacitinib side by side: how they differ in mechanism, monitoring, and cost - each has its own full page.

Treatment snapshot

Start with the decision - not a ranked list.

  1. Name the goal
  2. Understand the option
  3. Keep the uncertainty visible
  4. Plan the review

What counts as an oral or systemic treatment, and how do the five options differ?

Five pill-form, non-biologic options exist for psoriasis: methotrexate, cyclosporine, acitretin, apremilast, and deucravacitinib. All five work throughout the body rather than on the skin alone, which is what separates them from a topical cream or phototherapy. They do not all work the same way. Methotrexate and cyclosporine are older immune-suppressing medicines - methotrexate slows skin-cell growth and calms immune overactivity, cyclosporine slows the growth of specific overactive immune cells. Acitretin is a retinoid, related to vitamin A. Unlike the other two, it does not suppress the immune system at all. That is why it is sometimes chosen for someone who cannot take an immune-suppressing drug. Apremilast and deucravacitinib are newer, more targeted oral drugs. Apremilast raises a molecule called cAMP inside immune cells to dial down several inflammatory signals. Deucravacitinib blocks a specific enzyme (TYK2) using a mechanism the label calls allosteric inhibition. Each one has its own full page with complete label detail. Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

The 2020 AAD-NPF systemic-therapy guideline lists methotrexate, cyclosporine, and acitretin among established systemic nonbiologic options for psoriasis. The current Otezla and Sotyktu labels state apremilast and deucravacitinib’s distinct mechanisms. AAD and National Psoriasis Foundation patient education describe each drug’s mechanism individually, as cited on each drug’s own page.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

None of these sources ranks the five options against each other, or predicts which one would work best for a given reader. Grouping by mechanism does not mean the drugs are interchangeable within a group.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Given my psoriasis pattern and health history, which of these five would you consider first?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Why an oral or systemic option instead of phototherapy or a biologic at this point?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What does each one treat, and what do they rule out combining with?

All five are generally used for moderate-to-severe psoriasis. Methotrexate can also treat psoriatic arthritis and nail psoriasis. Deucravacitinib is separately approved for active psoriatic arthritis. Apremilast is also approved for psoriatic arthritis and for the mouth ulcers of Behçet’s disease. Combination rules differ sharply between them. Cyclosporine’s label states it should not be given together with phototherapy, methotrexate, other immune-suppressing medicines, coal tar, or radiation therapy. Acitretin’s label rules out combining with methotrexate (raised liver-inflammation risk) and tetracycline antibiotics, and states that phototherapy doses need to be lowered if combined with it. Apremilast, by contrast, has been shown safe and effective combined with methotrexate, phototherapy, or topical treatments. Deucravacitinib’s label does not name phototherapy or topicals as a documented combination partner. It lists phototherapy as an alternative for the same eligible patients, not a partner drug. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

The current Neoral (cyclosporine), Soriatane (acitretin), Otezla (apremilast), and Sotyktu (deucravacitinib) labels each state their own combination rules as summarized above. AAD patient education states methotrexate can treat psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, and nail psoriasis.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

None of these labels states how combining a specific pair not already named here would play out. None says how these rules apply to a reader already taking another medicine not mentioned.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Would you combine this with something I am already using, and is that combination studied?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Does my joint disease change which of these five you would consider first?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

How often do you take each one, and how long until you know if it is working?

Dosing frequency varies more across this group than the name "oral" suggests. Methotrexate is taken once a week, never daily - the label warns that a mistaken daily dose has caused deaths. Cyclosporine is taken twice a day. Acitretin is taken once a day with food. Apremilast starts with a five-day dose increase before settling at twice a day (or once a day for the extended-release version). Deucravacitinib is a fixed once-a-day dose from day one, with no titration step. Response timelines also differ. Patient-education sources report visible improvement on cyclosporine as early as two weeks, while methotrexate and acitretin can take up to six months for full effect. Apremilast and deucravacitinib trial results are typically reported at week 16. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

Each drug’s own current label states its dosing schedule as summarized above, and AAD/NPF patient education state the response timelines cited on each drug’s own page.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

These are label schedules and group trial timelines, not a prediction of how quickly any one reader would respond.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Given the schedule for each option, which one fits how I actually take medicine day to day?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. When would we know if the one you are suggesting is working for me?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What monitoring does each one need, and which carry a boxed warning?

Monitoring burden is one of the biggest practical differences between these five. Methotrexate and cyclosporine both require regular blood testing throughout treatment - cyclosporine’s label calls for blood-pressure and kidney-function checks every two weeks for the first three months. Acitretin requires liver-function and cholesterol testing, plus - for anyone who can become pregnant - pregnancy tests and strict contraception continuing three years after stopping. Apremilast needs no routine blood testing, but its label calls for weight and mood monitoring. Deucravacitinib checks liver enzymes only if you have known or suspected liver disease, a lighter routine-testing burden than methotrexate or cyclosporine. It still calls for a tuberculosis check before starting. Three of the five - methotrexate, cyclosporine, and acitretin - carry an FDA boxed warning, the agency’s strongest kind. Apremilast and deucravacitinib do not carry a boxed warning, though each has its own real warnings. Apremilast’s cover depression and weight loss; deucravacitinib’s cover infection, shingles, and a small reported lymphoma rate. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

Each drug’s own current label states its monitoring schedule and whether it carries a boxed warning, as detailed on each drug’s own page.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

None of these labels states how a specific reader’s own health history changes their personal monitoring schedule or risk level.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Given how often I can realistically get blood work done, does that rule any of these out?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. Which warning on this list worries you most for someone with my history?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What does each one cost?

Cost splits sharply along the same old-versus-new line as monitoring burden. Methotrexate, cyclosporine, and acitretin are older, generic medicines: live pharmacy-price snapshots showed coupon prices around $13 (methotrexate), $41 (cyclosporine), and $89 (acitretin) for a defined prescription. Apremilast and deucravacitinib have no generic version yet; snapshots showed retail cash prices in the thousands of dollars for a 30-day supply. Both manufacturers run a co-pay program that can bring the cost to as little as $0 a month for commercially insured patients. Both programs explicitly exclude anyone on Medicare, Medicaid, or another government-funded plan. Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

GoodRx snapshots recorded the dated cash and coupon prices cited above for each drug. Each manufacturer’s own co-pay-program page states its $0 possibility and government-insurance exclusion, as detailed on each drug’s own page.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

These are commercial price-comparison and manufacturer-program snapshots for one strength and quantity each, not a survey of every pharmacy, plan, or eligibility outcome.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Does my insurance cover the option you are suggesting, and would I qualify for a copay program?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.
  2. If cost is a barrier, does that change which of these five you would recommend?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What do other people say about choosing among them?

SteadySkin does not yet have a documented community pattern comparing these five options against each other. No first-hand account from Ajith exists for any of them. Rather than guess, I say so honestly. Each drug’s own page says the same about that specific medicine. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

What is documented instead, from the sources above: how the five differ in mechanism, combination rules, monitoring, and cost.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

Without a documented pattern or first-hand account, this does not describe what choosing between these options feels like day to day. It also does not describe what living with any one of them feels like.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. Of the patients you have treated, what made them settle on one of these over another?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

What is worth tracking while you decide or start one of these?

Before starting, track which monitoring schedule applies to the option your dermatologist is suggesting. That ranges from none (apremilast, unless you have liver disease) to every two weeks (cyclosporine, for the first three months). If you start one, keep a dated dose log matching its schedule. That is weekly for methotrexate, twice daily for cyclosporine, once daily for acitretin or deucravacitinib, and through apremilast’s five-day titration. Add a same-conditions photo around that drug’s own response-timeline mark, so you and your dermatologist have something concrete to compare against your starting point. Evidence

Why this matters

  • Sources cited, not yet graded

A dated dose log and photo record are what let the response-timeline check-ins described on each drug’s own page actually answer whether a treatment is working.

Considerations

  • Depends on you

A dose log and photo do not replace the blood work, liver, kidney, weight, mood, or infection monitoring each option’s own label calls for. They cannot by themselves catch a problem early.

Questions for your dermatologist

  1. What should I track between now and my first check-in, whichever option we choose?

    Saving keeps this on your device and needs JavaScript, which is off in this browser.

Applicability check

Who was studied?

These fields show what the cited evidence reports about the people and body sites behind outcome or safety claims. “Not reported” means the reviewed source omitted the field; “Pending exact source review” means SteadySkin has not made that determination yet.

Monitoring burden is one of the biggest practical differences between these five. Methotrexate and cyclosporine both require regular blood testing throughout treatment - cyclosporine’s label calls for blood-pressure and kidney-function checks every two weeks for the first three months. Acitretin requires liver-function and cholesterol testing, plus - for anyone who can become pregnant - pregnancy tests and strict contraception continuing three years after stopping. Apremilast needs no routine blood testing, but its label calls for weight and mood monitoring. Deucravacitinib checks liver enzymes only if you have known or suspected liver disease, a lighter routine-testing burden than methotrexate or cyclosporine. It still calls for a tuberculosis check before starting. Three of the five - methotrexate, cyclosporine, and acitretin - carry an FDA boxed warning, the agency’s strongest kind. Apremilast and deucravacitinib do not carry a boxed warning, though each has its own real warnings. Apremilast’s cover depression and weight loss; deucravacitinib’s cover infection, shingles, and a small reported lymphoma rate.

Age range
Not reported
Condition subtype
Not reported
Severity or extent
Not reported
Sample size
Not reported
Geography and care setting
The sources are five separate US drug labels: methotrexate, cyclosporine, acitretin, apremilast, deucravacitinib. Each reports its own monitoring rules and warnings. None compares all five drugs in one study.
Skin tone or phototype
Not reported
Race
Not reported
Ethnicity
Not reported
Body sites
Not reported

What that means for this page: Each label covers only its own drug. None ranks the five drugs side by side. None says which warning matters most for one reader.

Evidence behind this page

Sources

Each evidence badge opens the source and its limits. The full list stays available here.

  1. American Academy of DermatologyGuideline · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: The guideline reports author relationships; it is not independent comparative proof for an individual choice.

    What this source supports

    Supports that methotrexate, apremilast, cyclosporine and acitretin are established systemic nonbiologic options considered in psoriasis care.

    What it does not support

    It does not select, rank or prescribe an option for an individual reader.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  2. American Academy of DermatologyPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that methotrexate works by suppressing the overactive immune system behind psoriasis, and can effectively treat severe psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, and nail psoriasis. Supports that most people taking methotrexate see less psoriasis in four to six weeks, with full clearing sometimes taking up to six months. Supports that methotrexate is usually taken once a week, never more often without a dermatologist saying so. Supports that it comes as a pill, liquid, or at-home injection, and that it should be supplemented with folic acid. Supports the common side effects of vomiting, nausea, appetite loss, mouth sores, mouth redness and swelling, and fatigue. Supports that these should be reported to a dermatologist right away.

    What it does not support

    Does not report an exact side-effect rate, does not report a psoriasis-specific clinical-trial population, and does not predict an individual reader’s dose, response, or timeline.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  3. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the boxed warning, the label’s strongest warning, in four parts. It covers embryo-fetal toxicity, including fetal death; the drug is contraindicated in pregnancy for non-cancer use. It covers contraindication after a prior severe hypersensitivity reaction. It covers serious, sometimes fatal, reactions affecting the bone marrow, GI tract, liver, lungs, skin, and kidneys, which is why close monitoring is required. It covers death reported when tablets were taken daily by mistake instead of weekly. Supports the labeled psoriasis dosage of 10 to 25 mg orally once weekly, raised gradually to a maximum of 30 mg weekly, with folic or folinic acid supplementation recommended. Supports contraception during treatment and for 6 months after the final dose for females of reproductive potential, and 3 months after the final dose for males. Supports an adverse-reaction table from 12-18 week rheumatoid arthritis studies. At 10% or greater: elevated liver tests (15%) and nausea or vomiting (10%). In the 3%-10% range: stomatitis and low platelet count. In the 1%-3% range: rash, diarrhea, hair loss, and low blood-cell counts.

    What it does not support

    The adverse-reaction rate table comes from rheumatoid arthritis trials, not a study of people with psoriasis, and does not state how often any reaction occurs in psoriasis treatment. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  4. GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price recorded for 24 tablets of generic methotrexate 2.5 mg: an average retail cash price of $97.15, and an average GoodRx-coupon price of $12.70.

    What it does not support

    It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  5. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports two boxed warnings, the label’s strongest warnings. The first states that only physicians experienced in immunosuppressive therapy should prescribe cyclosporine, because of an increased risk of infection and malignancy. The second, specific to psoriasis, states that patients previously treated with PUVA face an increased risk of skin cancer on cyclosporine, and that cyclosporine can cause hypertension and kidney damage (nephrotoxicity). Supports a labeled psoriasis dosing range of 2.5 mg/kg/day to a maximum of 4.0 mg/kg/day, split into two daily doses. Supports that blood pressure and serum creatinine/BUN should be evaluated every two weeks during the initial three months of therapy, then monthly if the patient is stable. Supports that psoriasis patients with abnormal kidney function, uncontrolled high blood pressure, or malignancy should not receive cyclosporine. Supports that concurrent PUVA, UVB, methotrexate, other immunosuppressive agents, coal tar, or radiation therapy should not be given with it. Supports that most patients relapse after stopping.

    What it does not support

    This label, as currently published, does not itself state a fixed outer limit on how long a course of psoriasis treatment may run; it states only that relapse is expected after stopping. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  6. GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price recorded for 30 capsules of generic cyclosporine modified 100 mg: an average retail cash price of $145.95, and an average GoodRx-coupon price of $40.82.

    What it does not support

    It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  7. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports the boxed warning that Soriatane must not be used by anyone who is pregnant, or who intends to become pregnant at any time within three years of stopping. Supports contraindication in patients with severely impaired liver or kidney function, or abnormally elevated blood lipids, and contraindication for concurrent methotrexate (hepatitis risk) or tetracyclines (intracranial pressure risk). Supports that vitamin A and other oral retinoids must be avoided concurrently, and that phototherapy doses must be reduced when combined with Soriatane because of an increased burn risk. Supports initial dosing of 25 to 50 mg per day as a single dose with the main meal, with maintenance dosing adjusted by individual response. Supports the requirement for two negative pregnancy tests before starting, and two effective forms of birth control for at least one month before through three years after treatment. Supports a repeated pregnancy test every three months during that three-year window. Supports the alcohol restriction for female patients of reproductive potential during treatment and for two months after, due to conversion to a longer-lasting related compound. Supports common reactions in more than three-quarters of patients (cheilitis, dry eyes, skin peeling, dry skin, hair loss, nail disorder, joint pain). Supports serious reactions including hepatitis, pancreatitis, a pressure buildup around the brain, and depression. Supports liver-function and lipid testing before treatment and every one to two weeks until levels are stable.

    What it does not support

    This label, as currently published, does not itself state a fixed outer limit on how long a course of psoriasis treatment may run; it states only that maintenance dosing is adjusted by response. Does not predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  8. GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price recorded for 30 capsules of generic acitretin 25 mg: an average retail cash price of $902.27, and an average GoodRx-coupon price of $89.19.

    What it does not support

    It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  9. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that Otezla (apremilast) is a PDE4 inhibitor that increases intracellular cAMP, and that its specific mechanism of therapeutic action is not well defined. Supports the plaque-psoriasis indication for adult and eligible pediatric patients who are candidates for phototherapy or systemic therapy, regardless of severity, and the separate psoriatic-arthritis and Behçet’s-disease-oral-ulcer indications. Supports the warning against strong CYP3A4 inducers such as rifampin, phenobarbital, carbamazepine, and phenytoin, since rifampin reduced apremilast’s AUC by 72% and loss of efficacy may occur. Supports the reduced maintenance dose (30 mg or 20 mg once daily, by age/weight) for severe renal impairment (creatinine clearance under 30 mL/min). Supports the exact five-day titration schedule (10 mg day 1 AM, up to 30 mg BID by day 6) and the Otezla XR 75 mg once-daily maintenance alternative. Supports the depression/suicidal-ideation warning, the weight-loss monitoring requirement (10-12% of adults lost 5-10% body weight in trials), and the dosage-reduction guidance for severe diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting. Supports the plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates: diarrhea 17%, nausea 17%, upper respiratory tract infection 9%, headache 6%. Supports that no boxed warning is present on this label.

    What it does not support

    This label does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of its plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates. It also does not state how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  10. AmgenManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: Amgen manufactures Otezla and operates this patient-access page. It is a first-party statement about its own copay program, not independent pricing evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports that eligible patients with commercial insurance may pay as little as $0 a month out of pocket through the Otezla Co-Pay Program. Supports that the program is available regardless of income level, and that it excludes patients on Medicare, Medicaid, or another government-funded plan. Supports that the Amgen Safety Net Foundation, a nonprofit patient-assistance program, can help qualifying uninsured or underinsured patients access Otezla at no cost.

    What it does not support

    A manufacturer copay-card page does not state a specific annual dollar maximum, does not guarantee any one reader would qualify, and does not establish what a reader would actually pay.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  11. GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price range recorded for 60 tablets of Otezla 30 mg: an average retail cash price between $6,965.58 and $7,116.84 across two independent search snapshots.

    What it does not support

    Supports a converged GoodRx-coupon price of $3,353.53. Also supports that no generic apremilast is commercially available as of this snapshot. It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  12. U.S. National Library of Medicine (DailyMed)Regulatory · Regulatory / guideline, tier 1Independent source
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    What this source supports

    Supports that Sotyktu (deucravacitinib) is a TYK2 inhibitor. Supports that it binds the regulatory domain of TYK2 rather than the catalytic domain, stabilizing an inhibitory interaction that produces allosteric inhibition of receptor-mediated TYK2 activation and downstream STAT signaling. Supports the moderate-to-severe plaque-psoriasis indication for adults who are candidates for systemic therapy or phototherapy. Supports the separate active-psoriatic-arthritis indication for adults. Supports the caution against combining it with other potent immunosuppressants and against live vaccines during treatment. Supports the recommendation to evaluate for tuberculosis before starting. Supports the precaution against starting during an active or serious infection, including active hepatitis B or C. Supports that no dose adjustment is needed for renal impairment or mild-to-moderate liver impairment. Supports that severe liver impairment is not recommended. Supports the fixed 6 mg once-daily dose with or without food and no titration schedule. Supports the instruction not to crush, cut, or chew the tablet. Supports the PASI 75 response rates at week 16 for deucravacitinib, placebo, and the apremilast comparator arm in both POETYK PSO-1 and PSO-2 trials (PSO-1: 58% vs 13% vs 35%; PSO-2: 53% vs 9% vs 40%). Supports the week 24 PASI 75 rates for deucravacitinib versus the apremilast arm (PSO-1: 69% vs 38%; PSO-2: 58% vs 38%). Supports the infection-risk warning and the herpes zoster reports, including a multidermatomal presentation. Supports the lymphoma reports (0.3 per 100 patient-years) and the creatine-phosphokinase/triglyceride/liver-enzyme monitoring guidance. Supports the plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates at week 16 (upper respiratory infection 19.2% vs 14.8% placebo, blood CPK increased 2.7% vs 1.2%, herpes simplex 2.0% vs 0.2%, mouth ulcers 1.9% vs 0%, folliculitis 1.7% vs 0%, acne 1.4% vs 0.2%). Supports that no boxed warning is present on this label.

    What it does not support

    This label does not report an age, skin-tone, race, or ethnicity breakdown of its plaque-psoriasis trial adverse-reaction rates. It also does not state how often a reaction leads to stopping treatment, or predict an individual reader’s dose or response.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  13. Bristol Myers SquibbManufacturer document · Manufacturer, tier 4Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: Bristol Myers Squibb manufactures Sotyktu and operates this patient-access page and its own patient assistance foundation. These are first-party statements about its own programs, not independent pricing evidence.

    What this source supports

    Supports that eligible patients with commercial insurance may pay as little as $0 per 30-day supply through the SOTYKTU 360 Support Co-Pay Assistance Program. Supports that this benefit is subject to monthly, annual, or per-claim maximums that vary by patient. Supports that the program explicitly excludes patients with prescription coverage through a state or federal healthcare program, including Medicare, Medicaid, Medigap, CHAMPUS, TRICARE, VA, or DOD programs. Supports that cash-paying patients without insurance are not eligible for this specific program. Supports that Bristol Myers Squibb separately operates the independent Bristol Myers Squibb Patient Assistance Foundation. Supports that this foundation can provide free medication to qualifying uninsured patients experiencing financial hardship.

    What it does not support

    A manufacturer copay-card page does not state a specific dollar maximum, does not guarantee any one reader would qualify for either program, and does not establish what a reader would actually pay.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

  14. GoodRxPatient education · Patient education, tier 5Relevant relationship disclosed
    Published
    SteadySkin last checked
    What this source can and cannot tell you

    Why the independence label says this: GoodRx is a commercial pharmacy-price and coupon marketplace. Displayed prices can vary by prescription, pharmacy, location, and time.

    What this source supports

    Supports only the dated retail-cash and coupon-discount price recorded for 30 tablets of Sotyktu 6 mg across two independent search snapshots.

    What it does not support

    Supports an average retail cash price of roughly $6,978, and a converged GoodRx-coupon price of roughly $6,832. Also supports that no generic deucravacitinib is commercially available as of this snapshot. It does not guarantee availability, coverage, coupon eligibility, or a personal price.

    Claim-specific review for this source is still in progress. Only the source-level evidence and limits are shown here.

The app currently supports vitiligo only. You can use every psoriasis guide without the app.

Evidence source

Evidence details

Review what this source supports, what it cannot establish, and any relevant relationships.